| Home >> Varia >> Bachelor's Kit

[previous] [next]

Gunshot Wound Kit

Contents of the Gunshot Wound Kit.
Contents of the Gunshot Wound Kit.

1) Introduction

I was told that gunshot wounds sometimes cause mortalities which could have been avoided, if the proper tools and skills had been available. A frequently quoted statistic is that the three leading causes of preventable combat deaths are extremity hemorrhage (60%), tension pneumothorax (33%) and airway obstruction (6%).

I have no medical training, but the contents of this "Gunshot Wound Kit" is supposedly appropriate to reduce such preventable fatalities.

2) Contents

The product numbers are those of CTOMS (exept for the Israeli bandages). I'm sorting as far as possible in decreasing importance:

4" Israeli Bandage with Pressure Bar and Second Mobile Pad (quantity = 2). Replaces single "30204 - Olaes Modular Bandage, 4 inch, Flat" in picture above. I can't claim one is better than the other. I do prefer to have 2 such bandages, and they were a bit smaller.
30001 - Combat Application Tourniquet
44008 - Celox RAPID Hemostatic Dressing
40060 - Halo Chest Seal
40070-14 - ARS Needle Decompression Kit (14 gauge x 3.25 in.)
40001-28 - Nasopharyngeal Airway, Adj Flange 28 Fr
40100 - Gauze, S-Rolled, 4.5" X 4.1YD
80111-CB - CTOMS Trauma Shears, 7.25", BK blade
68199-LG - CTOMS Gloves, Nitrile, 2 Pairs, Large

3) How to use the contents

Don't forget the ESSENTIAL oils!

I repeat, I have no medical training, and I insist on this web site's Disclaimer. That being said, such a Kit is useless without the know-how to use it. Here's the best I was able to find by digging a bit on YouTube (not my favorite watering hole for knowledge...).

Israeli Emergency Bandage
ARS For Needle Decompression (very professional video)
HALO Seals (more like an infomercial, but better than nothing)
Celox Rapid Z Folded Gauze
ACLS NPA nasopharyngeal airway Insertion (not very good)

A more theoretical article seems to be: Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC): Guidelines For The Provision Of Prehospital Trauma Care In High Threat Environments

4) Errors

Pouch for the Gunshot Wound Kit.

I wanted to order the "Tactical Operator Response Kit - TORK" from North American Rescue, but they told me their Canadian distributor was CTOMS, who themselves told me that for Health Canada red tape reasons, I couldn't directly import the TORK, but that they could order the TORK pouch, and fill it with an equivalent content. (In 2016, I ordered some things from Israeli bandages, and they send everything from Israel, without going through Health Canada.)

When the box arrived, I was surprised to see the contents was not in the pouch. Actually, after many efforts, I gave up fitting everything into the pouch, it was just too small (or I have the I.Q. of a tea bag!). Fortunately for me, the first aid pouch #386808 of the MEC costs 14$ rather than 77$, and everything fits into it.

If I had to do it again, I think I wouldn't take the scissors (they are of poor quality, and they can be found everywhere), but I'd take two or even three "Olaes Modular Bandage" or equivalent, not just one. Also, I think the tube for the nasopharyngeal airway should have had water-based lubricant included in the package.

[previous] [next]

| Home >> Varia >> Bachelor's Kit

| Accueil >> Varia >> Trousse du célibataire

[précédente] [suivante]

Trousse pour blessures par balles («Gunshot Wound Kit»)

Contenu de la Trousse pour blessures par balles.
Contenu de la Trousse pour blessures par balles.

1) Introduction

Je me suis laissé dire que les blessures par balles causent parfois des décès qui auraient pu être évités, si les bons outils et les bonnes habiletés avaient été disponibles. Une statistique souvent cité est que les trois causes les plus fréquentes de mortalités évitables au combat sont les hémorrhagies d'extrémité (60%), le pneumothorax à soupape ou suffocant («tension pneumothorax» en anglais) à 33% et l'obstruction des voies respiratoires à 6%.

Je n'ai aucune formation médicale, mais le contenu de cette «Trousse pour blessures par balles» est supposément approprié pour diminuer ces décès évitables.

2) Contenu

Voir version anglaise de cet article (c'est juste une liste de morceaux avec leur codes).

3) Comment utiliser le contenu

Ne pas oublier d'utiliser les huiles ESSENTIELLES!

Je le répète, je n'ai aucune formation médicale, et j'insiste sur l'Avis de non-responsabilité de ce site web. Cela étant dit, une telle trousse est inutile sans les connaissances pour s'en servir. Voici le mieux que j'ai pu trouver en fouillant un peu sur YouTube (pas mon lieu de prédilection pour le savoir...).

Bandage Israélien
ARS For Needle Decompression (vidéo très professionnel)
HALO Seals (plutôt une info-pub, mais mieux que rien)
Celox Rapid Z Folded Gauze
ACLS NPA nasopharyngeal airway Insertion (pas fameux)

Un article plus théorique semble être: Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC): Guidelines For The Provision Of Prehospital Trauma Care In High Threat Environments

4) Erreurs

Sac de la Trousse pour blessures par balles.

Je voulais commander le «Tactical Operator Response Kit - TORK» de North American Rescue, mais ils m'ont dit que leur distributeur au Canada était CTOMS, qui eux-mêmes m'ont dit que pour des raisons de paperasserie bureaucratiques de Santé Canada, je ne pouvais pas importer directement le TORK, mais que eux pouvaient commander la petite sacoche TORK, et la remplir avec un contenu équivalent. (En 2016, j'ai commandé directement de Israeli bandages, et ils envoient tout d'Israel, sans passer par Santé Canada.)

Quand la boîte est arrivé, j'ai été surpris de voir que le contenu n'était pas dans la petite sacoche. En fait, après bien des efforts, j'ai renoncé à y faire entrer le contenu: la sacoche était trop petite (ou j'ai le Q.I. d'un sac de thé!). Heureusement pour moi, la sacoche pour premiers soins #386808 de la MEC coûtait 14$ plutôt que 77$, et tout y entre.

Si c'était à refaire, je pense que je ne prendrais pas les ciseaux (ils sont de mauvaise qualité, et on peut en trouver partout), mais je prendrais au moins deux sinon trois «Olaes Modular Bandage» ou l'équivalent, pas juste un. Aussi, je pense que le tube pour voie aérienne nasopharyngienne aurait du avoir un lubrifiant à base d'eau inclus dans le paquet.

[précédente] [suivante]

| Accueil >> Varia >> Trousse du célibataire