| Home >> Philosophy

Error: "To Act Well, We Just Need To Obey Our Conscience!"

Pablo Picasso. Young Tormented Girl.
"My conscience told me to get an abortion out of love for my child!"
(Pablo Picasso. Young Tormented Girl. Source)

1) Introduction

We often hear people claim that if we obey our conscience, we act well. Is this true? Let's try to scrutinize this assertion.

2) Maybe Adolf Hitler was listening to his conscience!

If our conscience "created" moral law, then anybody could do anything, as long as they were "authentic" with their conscience. Adolf Hitler could act well, as he was exterminating Jews!

The slightest intellectual effort to understand what conscience is shows us that, in itself, obeying our conscience is not enough to act well. In fact, a good definition of immorality, of moral perversion, is to take one's conscience as a kind of faculty which "invents" the standards of good and evil:

In a way, it's like the Tree of knowledge of Good and Evil, in the Garden of Eden: "The Lord God commanded the man, saying, 'You may eat freely of every tree of the garden; but of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil you shall not eat, for in the day that you eat of it you shall die' [Gen 2:16-17]. With this imagery, Revelation teaches that the power to decide what is good and what is evil does not belong to man, but to God alone."
[Veritatis Splendor, #35. See also #32] .

3) What is conscience?

Some people, when they explain to children what's "conscience", use pretty metaphors like "conscience is a little voice in your heart that tells you what you must do", or "Conscience is the most secret core and sanctuary of a man. There he is alone with God, Whose voice echoes in his depths" [Gaudium et Spes, #16]. There is nothing wrong with using metaphors, as long as you eventually give a real explanation.

"Moral conscience is a judgment of reason whereby the human person recognizes the moral quality of a concrete act" [CCC, #1778, but see also Summa Theologica, I, q. 79, a. 13].

For example, right now, you are reading this text. You don't only exist biologically, but also mentally. You are in front of this text, and you know that you are in front of it. You are conscious of your mental existence. Philosophers will tell you that you are a person. If all of a sudden you spill your cup of tea, and you see the puddle of tea heading for your computer (or your hardcopy of this text), you will react. You know the general rule: "Computers (or books) are easily damaged by aqueous solutions". You also know that your computer is expensive, and that as far as possible you mustn't damage it. And of course you know the most general rule of action: "We must do good, and avoid evil". You reason will therefore apply this knowledge to this specific situation, and your will will "give an order": "QUICK! Get the computer (or the book) off the table, and get a rag!" There! Your "conscience" has just told you to remove your computer and get a rag.

4) A few connections between the pretty metaphors, and the philosophical concept

The first time, it might seem strange to think our "moral conscience" is not only used for noble and heroic things like dying for the Motherland, or choosing to be fired, rather than obeying our boss who orders us to commit a crime. It can also seem strange that something as important as our moral conscience is nothing more than ourselves, when we are acting as persons (and more specifically the act of our reason which compares its situation with the relevant moral knowledge).

On the other hand, if we dig deeper, we can see a few connections between the rather dull philosophical concepts, and the better metaphors. Indeed, as a person, you are incommunicable. Nobody, apart from God, can "hear" what is going on when you exist mentally. This is why it's said that your conscience is "your most secret core".

Moreover, it can be shown that, in the final analysis, the rules of morality are based on God. Of course, normally we don't have to have God in the equation to know we must get a rag (and quickly!), but eventually, to understand why murder, rape, lying, etc., are bad, we have to dig down to the Author of Natural Law, i.e. God [See among others Summa Theologica, I-II, q. 93, a. 3]. We can therefore understand why good metaphors say that our conscience is the place where "God's voice can be heard".

5) Do we act well when our conscience is wrong?

What happens when our reason uses incorrect knowledge to make its judgment? Must we obey our conscience? and if so, do we act well when we obey our erring conscience?

To answer these questions, we must first remember that "Bonum ex integra causa, malum ex quolibet defectu". In other words, for something to be good, everything which is necessary for that thing must be there. But for that thing to be bad, all it needs is one essential shortcoming, any one.

For example, to score a goal in hockey, many conditions must be satisfied:

- the puck must cross the goal line;
- there must be time left on the clock;
- the net must still be on its moorings;
- the puck must not have been deliberately pushed with the hand;
- and so on.

On the other hand, for a goal to be refused, you just need to be missing one of these conditions (and of course, many can be missing at the same time).

It's the same thing for a man to be able to act well. To act well, we must obey our conscience, AND our conscience must not be erring. If we don't obey our conscience, OR if our conscience is erring, we act badly.

6) Are we guilty when we obey our erring conscience?

Let's take an example. Suppose a nurse kills a patient, because she injects a poison into him. The nurse acts badly, but she might not be guilty. If an assassin broke into the hospital during the night, and put poison in the bottle of medication (in a way that nobody could see it had been tampered with), then the nurse could not have known she was injecting a poison into the patient.

"Does an erring conscience excuse? Now this question depends on what has been said above about ignorance. For it was said that ignorance sometimes causes an act to be involuntary, and sometimes not. And since moral good and evil consist in action in so far as it is voluntary, as was stated above; it is evident that when ignorance causes an act to be involuntary, it takes away the character of moral good and evil; but not, when it does not cause the act to be involuntary. [...] If then reason or conscience err with an error that is involuntary, either directly, or through negligence, so that one errs about what one ought to know; then such an error of reason or conscience does not excuse the will, that abides by that erring reason or conscience, from being evil. But if the error arise from ignorance of some circumstance, and without any negligence, so that it cause the act to be involuntary, then that error of reason or conscience excuses the will, that abides by that erring reason, from being evil."
[Summa Theologica, I-II, q. 19, a. 6].

Note that even when ignorance is involuntary and we are exempt from guilt, nevertheless we act badly even when we obey our erring conscience: "It is possible that the evil done as the result of invincible ignorance or a non-culpable error of judgment may not be imputable to the agent; but even in this case it does not cease to be an evil, a disorder in relation to the truth about the good." [Veritatis Splendor, #63].

7) What can be done to "shed light" into our conscience?

I can't fully answer this question here, but I can give a few indications. First, since our moral conscience is nothing more than our reason, the rules used to direct the proper operation of our reason will also be the rules that will tell us how to "illuminate" our conscience. Thus, in a certain way, the first "flashlight" which can start to "illuminate" our conscience is "The Philosopher's Glove", and the fullness of light (humanly speaking) is Philosophy, more specifically Ethics, the fourth part of Philosophy.

To illustrate, take for example young people who cohabit without being married. Often, these couples will emphatically assert there is nothing wrong with unmarried cohabitation. But if you ask them what is the definition of marriage, or of Morality, or of good and evil, they won't know what to answer. And if you tell them that information exists, in good Philosophy books, often they will refuse to go educate themselves. We can see, in similar cases, that the ignorance is probably voluntary (and therefore that it doesn't excuse), and that these people don't want to make the effort of using their reason properly, in order to educate their conscience.

There is also a kind of "shortcut" to educate one's conscience. If God exists, and if God has founded a Church which faithfully transmits His teachings, then we'll be able to "illuminate" or educate our conscience by listening to this "teacher", this Magisterium. Indeed, God knows everything, and He knows all the possible circumstances of all of our lives. If God asserts a law, for example that "Thou shalt not kill the innocent man", we'll know how to act well in all cases when an innocent life is at stake. We'll be able to act well, even if we are unable to provide the long philosophical demonstration which shows why this law is good. This shortcut partially explains why many persons have become saints, without being highly-trained philosophers.

8) Conclusion

Strictly speaking, the simple fact of obeying one's conscience isn't enough to act well, even if it's a very good start!

| Home >> Philosophy

| Accueil >> Philosophie

Erreur: «Pour bien agir, il suffit d'obéir à sa conscience!»

Pablo Picasso. Jeune fille tourmentée.
«Ma conscience m'a dit de me faire avorter par amour pour mon enfant!»
(Pablo Picasso. Jeune fille tourmentée. Source)

1) Introduction

On entend souvent des gens affirmer que si on obéit à sa conscience, on agit bien. Est-ce vrai? Essayons d'examiner cette affirmation un peu plus en détail.

2) Peut-être qu'Adolf Hitler obéissait à sa conscience!

Si notre conscience «créait» les normes morales, alors n'importe qui pourrait faire n'importe quoi, d'abord qu'il soit «authentique» face à sa conscience. Adolf Hitler pourrait bien agir, tout en exterminant les juifs!

Le moindre effort de réflexion sur ce qu'est la conscience nous montre que, en soi, obéir à sa conscience ne suffit pas pour bien agir. De fait, une bonne définition de l'immoralité, de la perversion morale, c'est de prendre sa conscience comme une sorte de faculté qui «invente» les normes de bien et de mal:

«Le Seigneur Dieu fit à l'homme ce commandement : "Tu peux manger de tous les arbres du jardin. Mais de l'arbre de la connaissance du bien et du mal, tu ne mangeras pas, car le jour où tu en mangeras, tu deviendras passible de mort" [Gn 2:16-17]. Par cette image, la Révélation enseigne que le pouvoir de décider du bien et du mal n'appartient pas à l'homme, mais à Dieu seul
[Veritatis Splendor, No. 35. Voir aussi No. 32] .

3) Qu'est-ce que la conscience?

Certaines personnes, pour expliquer aux enfants ce qu'est «la conscience», utilisent des métaphores fleuries comme «la conscience, c'est une petite voix dans ton coeur qui te dit ce qu'il faut faire», ou «La conscience est le centre le plus secret de l'homme, le sanctuaire où il est seul avec Dieu et où Sa voix se fait entendre» [Gaudium et Spes, No. 16]. Il n'y a rien de mal à employer des métaphores, d'abord qu'à un moment donné, on donne une vraie explication.

«La conscience morale est un jugement de la raison par lequel la personne humaine reconnaît la qualité morale d'un acte concret» [CÉC, No. 1778, mais voir aussi Summa Theologica, I, q. 79, a. 13].

Par exemple, en ce moment vous lisez ce texte. Vous existez non seulement biologiquement, mais aussi mentalement. Vous êtes devant ce texte, et vous savez que vous êtes devant ce texte. Vous êtes conscients de votre existence mentale. Les philosophes vous diront que vous êtes une personne. Si tout à coup vous renversez votre tasse de thé, et que vous voyez la flaque de thé se diriger vers votre ordinateur (ou votre copie papier de ce texte), vous allez réagir. Vous connaissez la règle générale: «Les ordinateurs (ou les livres en papier) sont facilement endommagés par les solutions aqueuses». Vous savez aussi que votre ordinateur coûte cher, et qu'il faut autant que possible ne pas le briser. Et bien sûr vous connaissez la règle la plus générale de l'agir: «Il faut faire le bien, et éviter le mal». Votre raison va donc appliquer ces connaissances à cette situation particulière, et votre volonté va «donner un ordre»: «VITE! Enlève l'ordinateur (ou le livre) de la table, et va chercher une guenille!». Voilà! Votre «conscience» vous a dit d'enlever votre ordinateur et d'aller chercher une guenille.

4) Quelques liens entre les métaphores fleuries, et le concept philosophique

La première fois, on peut trouver ça bizarre de penser que notre «conscience morale» ne nous sert pas seulement pour des choses nobles et héroïques comme se sacrifier pour la patrie, ou préférer perdre notre emploi, plutôt que d'obéir à notre patron qui nous demande de poser un geste criminel. On peut aussi trouver ça bizarre que quelque chose d'aussi important que notre conscience morale soit en fait rien d'autre que nous-mêmes, lorsqu'on agit en tant que personne (et plus précisément l'acte de notre raison qui compare sa situation avec les connaissances morales qui y sont pertinentes).

Par contre, si on poursuit nos réflexions, on peut voir quelques liens entre les concepts un peu ternes de la philosophie, et les meilleures métaphores fleuries. En effet, en tant que personne, vous êtes incommunicable. Nul, à part Dieu, ne peut «entendre» ce qui se passe quand vous existez mentalement. C'est pourquoi on dit que votre conscience est votre «centre le plus secret».

De plus, on peut montrer que, en dernière analyse, les règles de moralité sont fondées sur Dieu. Bien sûr, normalement on n'a pas besoin de faire entrer Dieu dans l'équation pour savoir qu'il faut aller chercher une guenille (et vite!), mais en fin de compte, pour comprendre pourquoi le meurtre, le viol, le mensonge, etc., sont mauvais, il faut remonter à l'Auteur de la Loi naturelle, Dieu [Voir entre autres Summa Theologica, I-II, q. 93, a. 3]. On comprend donc mieux pourquoi les bonnes métaphores disent que la conscience est le lieu où «la voix de Dieu se fait entendre».

5) Agit-on bien quand notre conscience se trompe?

Qu'arrive-t-il quand notre raison utilise des connaissances erronées pour faire son jugement? Doit-on obéir à sa conscience? et si oui, est-ce qu'on agit bien quand on obéit à sa conscience erronée?

Pour répondre à ces questions, il faut d'abord se rappeler que «Bonum ex integra causa, malum ex quolibet defectu». En d'autres mots, pour que quelque chose soit bon, tout ce qui est nécessaire à cette chose doit être présent. Mais pour que cette chose soit mauvaise, il suffit d'un seul défaut essentiel, n'importe lequel.

Par exemple, pour compter un but au hockey, il faut que plusieurs conditions soient satisfaites:

- la rondelle doit traverser la ligne rouge des buts ;
- il doit rester du temps sur le chronomètre ;
- le filet doit être sur ses amarres;
- la rondelle ne doit pas avoir été poussée délibérément avec la main ;
- et ainsi de suite.

Par contre, pour que le but soit refusé, il suffit qu'une seule de ces conditions soit incorrecte (et bien sûr, plusieurs peuvent être incorrectes en même temps).

C'est la même chose pour qu'un homme puisse bien agir. Pour agir bien, il faut obéir à sa conscience, ET il faut que notre conscience soit droite. Si on n'obéit pas à sa conscience, OU si notre conscience est dans l'erreur, on agit mal.

6) Est-on coupable quand on obéit à sa conscience erronée?

Prenons un exemple. Supposons qu'une infirmière tue un patient, parce qu'elle lui injecte un poison mortel. L'infirmière agit mal, mais par contre elle pourrait ne pas être coupable. Si un assassin est entré par effraction dans l'hôpital pendant la nuit, et a mis du poison dans la bouteille de médicament (de manière à ce qu'on ne puisse pas voir que la bouteille avait été trafiquée), l'infirmière ne pouvait pas savoir qu'elle injectait un poison au patient.

«La conscience erronée excuse-t-elle? Cette question dépend de ce que nous avons dit sur l'ignorance. Car nous avons vu que l'ignorance produit parfois l'involontaire, et parfois ne le produit pas. Et parce que le bien et le mal moral dépendent du caractère volontaire de l'acte, il est évident que l'ignorance qui rend un acte involontaire lui enlève sa valeur de bien et de mal moral, mais non l'ignorance qui ne le rend pas involontaire. [...] Si la raison ou la conscience se trompe volontairement, soit directement, soit indirectement, par une erreur portant sur ce qu'on est tenu de savoir, une telle erreur n'excuse pas du mal la volonté qui agit conformément à cette raison ou conscience erronée. Mais, si l'erreur qui cause l'involontaire provient de l'ignorance d'une circonstance quelconque, sans qu'il y ait eu négligence, cette erreur excuse du mal.»
[Summa Theologica, I-II, q. 19, a. 6].

Remarquez bien que même quand l'ignorance est involontaire et qu'on est exempt de culpabilité, on agit quand même mal en obéissant à sa conscience erronée: «Le mal commis à cause d'une ignorance invincible ou d'une erreur de jugement non coupable peut ne pas être imputable à la personne qui le commet ; mais, même dans ce cas, il n'en demeure pas moins un mal, un désordre par rapport à la vérité sur le bien.» [Veritatis Splendor, No. 63].

7) Que faire pour «éclairer» sa conscience?

Je ne peux pas répondre complètement à cette question ici, mais je peux donner quelques indications. D'abord, comme notre conscience morale n'est rien d'autre que notre raison, les règles pour bien diriger notre raison seront aussi les règles qui nous disent comment «éclairer» notre conscience. Ainsi, d'une certaine manière, la première «lampe de poche» qui puisse commencer à «éclairer» notre conscience, c'est «Le Gant du philosophe», et la pleine lumière (humainement parlant), c'est la philosophie, plus spécifiquement l'Éthique, quatrième partie de la philosophie.

On peut prendre un cas plus concret. Prenez des jeunes qui vivent en concubinage, en refusant le mariage. Souvent, ces couples vont affirmer péremptoirement qu'il n'y a rien de mal à vivre en concubinage. Mais si vous leur demandez quelle est la définition du mariage, ou de la moralité, ou du bien et du mal, ils ne sauront pas quoi vous répondre. Et si vous leur faites remarquer que cette information existe, dans de bons livres de philosophie, souvent ils refuseront de s'informer. On peut voir, dans des cas semblables, que l'ignorance est probablement volontaire (donc elle n'excuse pas), et que ces gens ne veulent pas faire l'effort pour utiliser leur raison correctement, afin d'éclairer leur conscience.

Il y a aussi une sorte de «raccourci» pour éclairer sa conscience. Si Dieu existe, et si Dieu a fondé une Église qui transmet fidèlement Ses enseignements, alors on pourra éclairer sa conscience en écoutant docilement ce «professeur», ce Magistère. En effet, Dieu sait tout, et il connaît toutes les circonstances possibles de toutes nos vies. Si Dieu énonce une loi, comme par exemple: «Tu ne tueras pas l'homme innocent», on saura comment agir dans tous les cas où une vie innocente est en jeu. On pourra bien agir, sans pour autant être capable de refaire la longue démonstration philosophique qui explique le bien-fondé de cette loi. Ce raccourci explique en partie pourquoi de nombreuses personnes ont pu devenir des saints, sans être des philosophes chevronnés.

8) Conclusion

Strictement parlant, le simple fait d'obéir à sa conscience ne suffit pas pour bien agir, même si c'est un très bon commencement!

| Accueil >> Philosophie