| Home >> Politics

The EYE Was In The Bedroom And It Stared At Trudeau

Max Ernst. The Whole City.
(Max Ernst. The Whole City. Source)

1) Explanation of the title

The title of this article is a double oblique reference. Firstly, a former prime minister of Canada, Pierre Eliot Trudeau, is famous for having said that the State had no business in the bedroom of consenting adults.

The second oblique reference concerns "Conscience", a famous poem by Victor Hugo which talks about the punishment of Cain, Mankind's first murderer [Gn 4:8]. Even summarized, this poem is a bit long, and to make things worst, there is no way my sloppy English translation can duplicate the chilling doom of the French original, but nevertheless, give it a try, it's worth it!


CONSCIENCE

[When] Cain had fled from Jehovah's face,
As the night was falling, the sad man arrived
At the foot of a hill set in a rolling plain;
His exhausted wife and out-of-breath sons
Told him: "Let us lie on the ground and sleep."
Cain, unable to sleep, pondered at the foot of the mountain.
Having raised his head, far away in the dark skies,
He saw an EYE, wide open in the darkness,
Which stared at him in a fixed way.
"I am too close", said he, trembling.
He woke up his sleeping sons, his tired wife,
And once more began to flee through the dark spaces.

[...]

And, as he sat down, he saw in the gloomy skies
The EYE in the same place at the bottom of the horizon.
So he shook, grasped by a dark trembling.
"Hide me!" he screamed

[...]

So Tubalcain, Father of blacksmiths,
Built a huge and superhuman city.

[...]

They gave to the walls the thickness of mountains;
On the door they engraved: "God Not Admitted".
When they had finished walling in and shutting out,
They put the ancestor in the center of a stone tower;
And he remained gloomy and gaunt. "Oh, my Father!
Has the EYE disappeared?" said Tsilla in a shaky voice.
And Cain answered: "No, it is still there."
Then he said: "I want to live underground
Like a solitary man in his tomb;
Nothing will see me, and I won't see anything anymore."
So they dug a ditch, and Cain said: "That's good!"
Then he descended alone into that dark hole.
Then when he had sat down on his chair in the shadows
And that over his head they had closed the vault,

The EYE was in the grave and it stared at Cain.

2) The State must respect the privacy of consenting adults

Everybody agrees that, in general, the State has no business sticking its nose in the bedroom of consenting adults.

Why? It seems that the general principle is that the State exists for the good of the citizens. But the private life of citizens is a great good, since it's one of the elements of the peace and freedom required by citizens to fulfill themselves. The State must therefore respect the private life of consenting adults.

On the other hand, I think this principle has been often abused over the past few years.

3) Pierre Eliot Trudeau's magic wallpaper

The consent of adults is not some kind of "magic wallpaper" which covers the walls of Canadian bedrooms, and which prevents the notions of good and evil from penetrating inside.

Let's imagine a few examples to convince ourselves:

3.1) Smoking. If all Canadian adults decided to smoke in their bedrooms, it wouldn't change a thing if they were all consenting! The lungs of Canadians would deteriorate, the costs for the health care system would rise, absenteeism at work would increase, and so on.

3.2) Obesity. If all Canadian adults started to gulp down huge quantities of junk food in their bedrooms, once again, the consent of adults wouldn't protect Canada against the harmful social effects of generalized bad eating habits.

3.3) TV brain softening. If all Canadian adults decided to stop reading, and only learn in bed by watching silly TV programs, our country would suffer sooner or later. Among other things, citizens would become easier to manipulate by large multinational corporations who produce the ads, and who also often decide of the contents of the programs.

3.4) Collective suicide. As an extreme case, we could imagine the case of a religious cult which would spread to the whole country, and which would manage to convince all citizens to commit suicide in their bedrooms (between consenting adults, of course!).

It seems obvious to me that on the one hand, the State must respect people's private lives, but on the other hand, the State can't just do as if nothing was going on, when the Common Good is threatened by private behaviors between consenting adults.

4) What is the Golden Mean between the Bedroom and Parliament?

That's a good question! It appears to me reasonable to assert that:

If a sufficient proportion of consenting adults embrace private behaviors which threaten the Common Good, and that the State can detect and correct (or at least mitigate) these behaviors without overstepping the just limits of people's private lives, then the State must intervene.

The actual application of this principle seems delicate. On the other hand, the State is not powerless, even when not "overstepping the just limits". See among others The Three Different Kinds Of Political Power.

5) Conclusion

So far, we haven't mentioned sex in this article, even if Trudeau's statement specifically targeted immoral sexual behaviors.

Some persons might have laughed when they read item #3.4 above, where I talked about the case of a religious cult which convinced citizens to commit a consensual collective suicide.

Is that case really so far-fetched? Keep in mind that as we speak, French-Canadians are quite simply committing collective suicide, with the contraceptive pill, abortion, divorce, unmarried cohabitation, and the legal glorification of homosexual acts. This "suicide" occurs in private, between consenting adults, but the disastrous results are public and can be observed by anyone.

Trudeau might be in his grave, but the EYE hasn't stopped staring at him.

| Home >> Politics

| Accueil >> Politique

L'Oeil était dans la chambre à coucher et regardait Trudeau

Max Ernst. La cité entière.
(Max Ernst. La cité entière. Source)

1) Explication du titre

Le titre de cet article est une double allusion. D'abord, un ancien premier ministre du Canada, Pierre Eliot Trudeau, est resté célèbre pour avoir dit que l'État n'avait pas d'affaires à se mettre le nez dans la chambre à coucher des adultes consentants.

La deuxième allusion concerne «La conscience», ce célèbre poème de Victor Hugo qui parle de la punition de Caïn, le premier meurtrier de l'histoire de l'humanité [Gn 4:8]. Même résumé, ce poème est un peu long, mais prenez le temps; il en vaut la peine!


LA CONSCIENCE

[Lorsque] Caïn se fut enfui de devant Jéhovah,
Comme le soir tombait, l'homme sombre arriva
Au bas d'une montagne en une grande plaine ;
Sa femme fatiguée et ses fils hors d'haleine
Lui dirent : «Couchons-nous sur la terre, et dormons.»
Caïn, ne dormant pas, songeait au pied des monts.
Ayant levé la tête, au fond des cieux funèbres,
Il vit un oeil, tout grand ouvert dans les ténèbres,
Et qui le regardait dans l'ombre fixement.
«Je suis trop près», dit-il avec un tremblement.
Il réveilla ses fils dormant, sa femme lasse,
Et se remit à fuir sinistre dans l'espace.

[...]

Et, comme il s'asseyait, il vit dans les cieux mornes
L'oeil à la même place au fond de l'horizon.
Alors il tressaillit en proie au noir frisson.
«Cachez-moi !» cria-t-il

[...]

Alors Tubalcaïn, père des forgerons,
Construisit une ville énorme et surhumaine.

[...]

Ils donnèrent aux murs l'épaisseur des montagnes ;
Sur la porte on grava : «Défense à Dieu d'entrer.»
Quand ils eurent fini de clore et de murer,
On mit l'aïeul au centre en une tour de pierre ;
Et lui restait lugubre et hagard. «Ô mon père !
L'oeil a-t-il disparu ?» dit en tremblant Tsilla.
Et Caïn répondit : " Non, il est toujours là.»
Alors il dit: «je veux habiter sous la terre
Comme dans son sépulcre un homme solitaire ;
Rien ne me verra plus, je ne verrai plus rien.»
On fit donc une fosse, et Caïn dit «C'est bien !»
Puis il descendit seul sous cette voûte sombre.
Quand il se fut assis sur sa chaise dans l'ombre
Et qu'on eut sur son front fermé le souterrain,

L'oeil était dans la tombe et regardait Caïn.

2) L'État doit respecter la vie privée des adultes consentants

Tout le monde est d'accord que, en général, l'État n'a pas d'affaires à se mettre le nez dans la chambre à coucher des adultes consentants.

Pourquoi? Il me semble que le principe général est que l'État existe pour le bien des citoyens. Or, le respect de la vie privée des citoyens est un grand bien, car il est un des éléments de la paix et de la liberté dont les citoyens ont besoin pour s'épanouir. L'État doit donc respecter la vie privée des citoyens consentants.

Par contre, je pense qu'on abuse souvent de ce principe depuis quelques années.

3) La tapisserie magique de Pierre Eliot Trudeau

Le consentement des adultes n'est pas une sorte de «tapisserie magique» qui recouvre les murs des chambres à coucher au Canada, et qui empêche les notions de bien et de mal d'y pénétrer!

Imaginons quelques exemples pour s'en convaincre:

3.1) Le tabagisme. Si tous les adultes Canadiens décidaient de se mettre à fumer dans leur chambre à coucher, cela ne changerait rien si tous étaient consentants! Les poumons des Canadiens se détérioreraient, les coûts pour le système de santé augmenteraient, l'absentéisme au travail aussi, et ainsi de suite.

3.2) L'obésité. Si tous les adultes Canadiens se mettaient à enfourner des quantités immenses de malbouffe dans leur chambre à coucher, encore là, le consentement entre adultes ne protégerait pas le Canada contre les effets sociaux néfastes d'une mauvaise alimentation généralisée.

3.3) L'abrutissement télévisuel. Si tous les adultes Canadiens décidaient d'arrêter de lire, et de s'instruire seulement au lit en regardant des émissions idiotes à la télévision, notre pays en souffrirait tôt ou tard. Entre autres, les citoyens deviendraient plus facilement manipulables par les grosses sociétés transnationales qui font les messages publicitaires, et qui décident aussi souvent du contenu des émissions.

3.4) Le suicide collectif. À la limite, on pourrait imaginer le cas d'une secte religieuse cinglée qui se propagerait à travers tout le pays, et qui réussirait à convaincre les citoyens de tous se suicider dans leur chambre à coucher (entre adultes consentants, bien sûr!).

Il me semble évident que d'un côté, l'État doit respecter la vie privée des gens, mais que d'un autre côté, l'État ne peut pas faire comme si de rien n'était, lorsque le Bien commun est menacé par des comportements privés entre adultes consentants.

4) Quel est le juste milieu entre la chambre à coucher et le Parlement?

Voilà une bonne question! Il m'apparaît raisonnable d'affirmer que:

Si une proportion suffisante d'adultes consentants adopte des comportements privés qui menacent le bien commun, et que l'État peut détecter et corriger (ou au moins atténuer) ces comportements sans enfreindre les justes limites de la vie privée des gens, alors l'État doit intervenir.

L'application de ce principe semble délicate. Par contre, l'État n'est pas impuissant, même si l'État agit «sans enfreindre les justes limites». Voir entre autres Les trois différentes sortes de pouvoir politique.

5) Conclusion

Jusqu'à maintenant, nous n'avons pas mentionné la sexualité dans cet article, même si l'affirmation de Trudeau visait spécifiquement les comportements sexuels immoraux.

Certaines personnes ont peut-être ri en lisant le point No. 3.4 ci-haut, où je parlais du cas d'une secte religieuse qui entraînait les citoyens dans un suicide collectif consensuel.

Ce cas est-il si farfelu que ça? Songez qu'en ce moment, le peuple québécois est tout bonnement en train de se suicider, avec la pilule anticonceptionnelle, l'avortement, le divorce, le concubinage, et la glorification juridique des actes homosexuels. Le «suicide» se passe en privé, entre adultes consentants, mais les résultats désastreux sont publics et peuvent être constatés par n'importe qui.

Trudeau est peut être dans sa tombe, mais l'Oeil n'a pas cessé de le regarder.

| Accueil >> Politique