| Home >> Politics

Tolerance, Or Active Glorification?

Lucas Cranach the Younger. Christ and the Woman Taken in Adultery.
(Lucas Cranach the Younger. Christ and the Woman Taken in Adultery. Source)

Please read A Reading List for Persons With Same-Sex Attractions before reading this text.

1) Introduction

In Canada, as we speak, Parliament has enacted a law on homosexual "marriage". People who still oppose themselves to this law are often called "intolerant". Is this true?

2) Society tends to produce what it glorifies

We all know at least one teenager, who wears his hair very long, who tries to play the electric guitar or the drums, and who tries to sing in English, even if he's a "dyed-in-the-wool" French-Canadian.

Is it because parents enjoy punishing their ears while they're quietly reading in the living-room? Maybe for some. But I claim it's mostly because of the active efforts that are deployed to glorify the "music" bands that the teenagers listen to.

What would happen if we surrounded a teenager with luxurious magazines on glossy paper, high-energy radio and TV programs, and throngs of other teenagers, and that all of these surroundings praised and glorified Gregorian chant? What would happen if Gregorian chant singers earned ten, one hundred or one thousand times more than the average worker? What would happen if a Gregorian singer could just snap his fingers and be mobbed by a crowd of admiring young girls?

What would happen? I claim there would be a statistically significant increase in the number of teenagers sporting a tonsure!

3) We can actively encourage or discourage people from getting married and having children

Marriage is like the "music" of teenagers or Gregorian chant. We can make active efforts to either run it down, or glorify it, or simply tolerate it. Suppose you're a politician, and you decide to encourage people to get married and have children. You could, among others:

- set up the taxation system so as to reduce the tax burden on married couples;
- severely punish adultery (since it's a violation of the written and public promise of the spouses);
- maintain a very high esteem for marriage, celebrate it publicly, and grant it legal value;
- censor films which attack the institution of marriage;
- encourage the election of politicians who are married, faithful to their spouse, and who have many well-raised kids;
- Etc., etc.

4) Sometimes, we have to tolerate some negative behaviors

Notice that society has roughly three choices when faced with a behavior: active glorification, its opposite active discouragement, and simple tolerance. If a behavior is anti-social, but that its repression would cause more harm than good, a society can decide to simply tolerate it.

For example, it isn't nice to forget to change your cat's litter. It would be better if all cats always had fresh litter, but if we had to send the "Litter Police" at all hours of the day and night, to kick down your door and go check your litter, let's say you'd be rather unhappy!

Should we do the same thing for homosexual couples? If we suppose, for the sake of the argument, that sodomy is bad for society, we can imagine that, even in that case, we would probably want to tolerate consensual homosexual relations that occur in private, to avoid transforming our society into a police-State.

5) Conclusion

Are opponents of homosexual "marriage" homophobes? Maybe for some! On the other hand, all these people are not necessarily homophobes. It can be scientifically demonstrated that the health of a society depends on the health of marriage. It can also be shown that the legal glorification of relations that are intrinsically sterile and deprived of sexual complementarity, is an indirect way of attacking marriage.

A society that chooses to tolerate homosexual relations, while avoiding their active glorification, is only protecting itself. In other words, it's possible to be "in-glorifiant", without being "in-tolerant"!

| Home >> Politics

| Accueil >> Politique

Tolérance, ou glorification active?

Lucas Cranach le Jeune. Le Christ et la femme adultère.
(Lucas Cranach le Jeune. Le Christ et la femme adultère. Source)

SVP lire Une liste de lecture pour les personnes ayant des attirances envers le même sexe avant de lire ce texte.

1) Introduction

Au Canada, au moment où on se parle, le Parlement a promulgué une loi sur le «mariage» homosexuel. Les gens qui s'opposent encore à cette loi sont souvent traités «d'intolérants». Est-ce vrai?

2) La société tend à produire ce qu'elle glorifie

Nous connaissons tous au moins un adolescent, qui porte les cheveux très longs, qui essaie de jouer de la guitare électrique ou de la batterie, et qui s'efforce de chanter en anglais, même s'il est un Canadien-français «pure laine».

Est-ce parce que les parents aiment se faire raboter les oreilles pendant qu'ils lisent tranquillement dans leur salon? Peut-être pour certains. Mais moi je prétends que c'est surtout à cause des efforts actifs qui sont déployés pour glorifier les groupes de «musique» que les ados écoutent.

Qu'arriverait-il si on entourait un ado de revues luxueuses sur papier glacé, d'émissions de télévision et de radio trépidantes, et d'une foule d'autres ados, et que tout cet entourage louangeait et glorifiait le chant grégorien? Qu'arriverait-il si les chanteurs de chant grégorien gagnait dix, cent ou mille fois plus que la moyenne des travailleurs? Qu'arriverait-il si un chanteur grégorien n'avait qu'à claquer des doigts pour être attaqué par une foule de jeunes filles pleines d'admiration?

Qu'arriverait-il? Moi je prétends qu'il y aurait une augmentation statistiquement significative d'adolescents portant la tonsure! (La «tonsure» est le petit cercle rasé au sommet de la tête des vrais moines catholiques.)

3) On peut activement encourager ou décourager les gens à se marier et à avoir des enfants

Le mariage, c'est comme la «musique» des ados ou le chant grégorien. On peut faire des efforts actifs pour soit dénigrer, soit glorifier le mariage, ou soit simplement le tolérer. Supposons que vous soyez un politicien, et que vous décidiez d'encourager les gens à se marier et avoir des enfants, vous pourriez entre autres:

- disposer le système fiscal de manière à moins imposer les couples mariés;
- punir sévèrement l'adultère (qui est une violation de la promesse écrite et publique des mariés);
- tenir en très haute estime le mariage, le célébrer publiquement, et lui accorder une valeur juridique;
- censurer les films qui attaquent l'institution du mariage;
- encourager l'élection de politiciens qui sont mariés, fidèles à leur épouse, et qui ont de nombreux enfants bien élevés;
- Etc., etc.

4) Parfois, il faut tolérer certains comportements négatifs

Remarquez bien que la société a en gros trois choix devant un comportement: la glorification active, son contraire le découragement actif, et la simple tolérance. Si un comportement est anti-social, mais que sa répression causerait plus de mal que de bien, une société peut décider de simplement le tolérer.

Par exemple, ne pas changer assez souvent la litière de son chat n'est pas bien. Il serait préférable que tous les chats aient toujours une litière propre, mais s'il fallait envoyer «La police des litières» à toute heure du jour et de la nuit, pour défoncer la porte et aller vérifier la litière de votre chat, disons que vous seriez plutôt malheureux!

Devrait-on faire la même chose pour les couples homosexuels? Si on suppose, pour les fins de la discussion, que la sodomie est mauvaise pour la société, on peut imaginer que, même dans ce cas, on voudrait probablement tolérer les relations homosexuelles consensuelles et en privé, pour éviter de transformer notre société en État-policier.

5) Conclusion

Les gens qui s'opposent au «mariage» homosexuel sont-ils homophobes? Peut-être pour certains! Par contre, tous ces gens ne sont pas nécessairement homophobes. On peut démontrer scientifiquement que la santé d'une société dépend de la santé du mariage. On peut aussi montrer que la glorification juridique des relations foncièrement stériles et dénuées de la complémentarité sexuelle, est une manière indirecte d'attaquer le mariage.

Une société qui choisit de tolérer les relations homosexuelles, en évitant de les glorifier activement, ne fait que se protéger elle-même. En d'autres mots, on peut être «in-glorifiant», sans être «in-tolérant»!

| Accueil >> Politique