| Home >> Lost Sermons

Prayer To St. Michael The Archangel

Saint Michel Archange
Source

1) Prayer

Sancte Michael Archangele, defende nos in praelio. Contra nequitiam et insidias diaboli esto praesidium.

Imperet illi Deus, supplices deprecamur. Tuque princeps militiae caelestis, Satanam aliosque spiritus malignos, qui ad perditionem animarum pervagantur in mundo divina virtute in infernum detrude.

Amen.

Saint Michael the Archangel, defend us in battle, be our protection against the malice and snares of the devil.

May God rebuke him we humbly pray; and do thou, O Prince of the Heavenly host, by the power of God, thrust into Hell Satan and all evil spirits who wander through the world for the ruin of souls.

Amen.

2) Explanations

One day, after celebrating Mass, the aged Pope Leo XIII was in conference with the Cardinals when suddenly he sank to the floor in a deep swoon. Physicians who hastened to his side could find no trace of his pulse and feared that he had expired. However, after a short interval the Holy Father regained consciousness and exclaimed with great emotion: "Oh, what a horrible picture I have been permitted to see!"

He had been shown a vision of evil spirits who had been released from Hell and their efforts to destroy the Church. But in the midst of the horror the archangel St. Michael appeared and cast Satan and his legions into the abyss of hell. Soon afterwards Pope Leo XIII composed the prayer to Saint Michael (the version here above is not the original, but the abbreviated version).
[Source]

Pope John Paul II said:

May prayer strengthen us for the spiritual battle we are told about in the Letter to the Ephesians: "Draw strength from the Lord and from His mighty power" [Ep 6:10]. The Book of Revelation refers to this same battle, recalling before our eyes the image of St. Michael the Archangel [Ap 12:7]. Pope Leo XIII certainly had a very vivid recollection of this scene when, at the end of the last century, he introduced a special prayer to St. Michael throughout the Church. Although this prayer is no longer recited at the end of Mass, I ask everyone not to forget it and to recite it to obtain help in the battle against forces of darkness and against the spirit of this world.
[St. Peter's Square, Sunday, April 24 1994]

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Prière à Saint Michel Archange

Saint Michel Archange
Source

1) Prière

Sancte Michael Archangele, defende nos in praelio. Contra nequitiam et insidias diaboli esto praesidium.
 

Imperet illi Deus, supplices deprecamur. Tuque princeps militiae caelestis, Satanam aliosque spiritus malignos, qui ad perditionem animarum pervagantur in mundo divina virtute in infernum detrude.
 
 

Amen.

Saint Michel Archange, défendez-nous dans le combat; soyez notre protecteur contre les méchancetés et les embûches du démon.

Que Dieu lui commande, nous vous en supplions; et vous, prince de la milice céleste, par le pouvoir divin qui vous a été confié, précipitez au fond des enfers Satan et les autres esprits mauvais qui parcourent le monde pour la perte des âmes.

Amen.

2) Explications

Un jour, après avoir célébré la Messe, le Pape Léon XIII, alors très âgé, était en conférence avec les Cardinaux lorsque, tout-à-coup, il s'écroula sans connaissance. Les médecins qui se précipitèrent à son côté ne trouvèrent pas trace de son pouls, et craignirent qu'il était mort. Toutefois, après quelques moments, le Saint Père reprit connaissance et s'exclama tout ému: «Oh, quelle horrible vision on m'a permi de voir!»

Il avait eu une vision des esprits mauvais qui avaient été relâchés de l'Enfer, ainsi que leurs efforts pour détruire l'Église. Mais au milieu de cette horreur, saint Michel Archange apparût et précipita Satan et ses légions dans les abîmes de l'Enfer. Peu de temps après, le Pape Léon XIII composa la Prière à saint Michel (la version ci-haut n'est pas l'originale, mais la version abrégée).
[Source]

Le Pape Jean-Paul II a dit:

Que la prière nous fortifie pour la bataille spirituelle dont il est question dans la Lettre aux Éphésiens: «Devenez forts dans le Seigneur, grâce à sa force et sa puissance» [Ep 6:10]. Le Livre de l'Apocalypse parle de cette même bataille, rappelant à notre mémoire l'image de saint Michel Archange [Ap 12:7]. Le Pape Léon XIII a certainement eu un vif rappel de cette scène lorsque, à la fin du dernier siècle, il a introduit une prière spéciale à saint Michel dans toute l'Église. Même si cette prière n'est plus récitée à la fin de la Messe, je demande à tous de ne pas l'oublier et de la réciter pour obtenir de l'aide dans la bataille contre les forces des ténèbres et contre l'esprit de ce monde.
[Place Saint-Pierre, Dimanche 24 avril 1994]

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus