| Home >> Lost Sermons

The "P-2865" Test

Catechism of the Catholic Church

Scientists have all kinds of tests. They might want to test drinking water for the presence of PCB (polychlorinated biphenyl), or test a sample of concrete for buckling under compression, or test a chemical compound to find out its enthalpy change using a constant-pressure adiabatic flame calorimeter, etc.

Catholic theologians have tests too, of which the most important is probably the "P-2865 Test". It's a rather simple test. You just take the 2865 Paragraphs of the Catechism of the Catholic Church (they are numbered) and three colored pens, then read all the paragraphs, circling their numbers as you go: red if you disagree, green if you agree, and yellow otherwise.

Once you are finished, the results are fairly easy to interpret. If you didn't even use the yellow and red pens, you're a Catholic. If you used another color apart from green, a competent theologian can probably tell you, not only what is your major religion (or lack thereof), but if you're a non-Catholic Christian, he can probably tell which type you are. Indeed, by plotting your answers on a chart, the characteristics of the resulting curve will tell the theologian whether you are an Evangelical Christian, or a Born-Again Christian, or a Baptist, or an Anglican, etc.

Some people will argue that they can be Catholics, even if they pop the caps off the yellow or red pen. This is almost certainly not true (see among others "Excommunication, that Gesture of Love!"). In fact, one of the defining characteristics of a Catholic is that he or she will have the firm intention of circling all the paragraph numbers in green, before even reading them! If you are a non-Catholic, you can take my word for this: for whatever mysterious reason, when you truly convert to Catholicism, you discover the teachings of the Catholic Church as if they were old friends. Even things you had never thought about, when you come across them in the official teachings of the Church, will at once seem appropriate, logical, even obvious!

Why then would non-Catholics take this "P-2865" test? There is at least one good reason, and one slightly silly reason. The good reason is that God loves us, that He sent His only son Jesus Christ to redeem us from our sins, and open the gates of Heaven to those who convert and believe in the teachings of Christ, faithfully transmitted by the Catholic Church:

A detailed study of the Catechism of the Catholic Church will prove of great benefit, for the Catechism presents faithfully and systematically [...] the teaching of Sacred Scripture, the living Tradition of the Church and the authentic Magisterium, as well as the spiritual heritage of the Fathers, Doctors and Saints of the Church, to allow for a better knowledge of the Christian mystery and for enlivening the Faith of the People of God
[Tertio Millennio Adveniente, #42].

The slightly silly reason is to avoid looking silly! Indeed, one of the best ways to lose face in front of a crowd is to rant against the Catholic Church, then have a smart aleck Catholic ask whether you've actually seen the official teachings of the Catholic Church. It's difficult to be more silly than somebody who asserts without knowing what they are talking about! On the contrary, if you've taken the P-2865 test, you can avoid instant humiliation (but remain cautious, some of those smart aleck Catholics might still be able to show serious inconsistencies in your facts and logic).

So, do you have three pens?

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Le Test «P-2865»

Catéchisme de l'Église catholique

Les scientifiques ont toutes sortes de tests. Ils peuvent vouloir tester l'eau potable pour la présence de BPC (biphényle polychloré), ou tester un échantillon de béton pour le flambage sous compression, ou tester un composé chimique pour trouver son enthalpie en utilisant un calorimètre à flamme adiabatique à pression constante, etc.

Les théologiens catholiques ont des tests aussi, parmi lesquels le plus important est probablement le «Test P-2865». C'est un test fort simple. Vous prenez les 2865 Paragraphes du Catéchisme de l'Église catholique (ils sont numérotés) et trois plumes de couleur, puis vous lisez tous les paragraphes, en encerclant leur numéros au fur et à mesure: rouge si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vert si vous êtes d'accord, et jaune autrement.

Une fois que vous avez terminé, les résultats sont faciles à interpréter. Si vous n'avez même pas utilisé la plume rouge, vous êtes catholique. Si vous avez utilisé d'autres couleurs à part le vert, un théologien compétent peut probablement déterminer non seulement votre grande religion (ou son absence), mais si vous êtes chrétien non-catholique, il peut probablement dire quel type vous êtes. En effet, en traçant vos réponses sur un graphique, les caractéristiques de la courbe résultante diront au théologien si vous êtes un chrétien évangélique, ou un chrétien rené, ou un baptiste, ou un anglican, etc.

Certaines personnes vous diront qu'ils peuvent être catholiques, même s'ils décapuchonnent la plume rouge. Ceci est presque certainement faux (voir entre autres «L'Excommunication, ce geste d'amour!»). En fait, une des caractéristiques qui définit un ou une catholique est que cette personne aura la ferme intention d'encercler tous les numéros de paragraphe en vert, avant même de les avoir lus! Si vous êtes un non-catholique, vous pouvez me croire sur parole: quelle qu'en soit la raison mystérieuse, lorsque vous vous convertissez vraiment au catholicisme, vous découvrez les enseignements de l'Église catholique comme s'ils étaient de vieux amis. Même les choses auxquelles vous n'aviez jamais pensé, quand vous les rencontrez dans les enseignements officiels de l'Église, semblent d'emblée être appropriées, logiques, même évidentes!

Pourquoi alors est-ce que les non-catholiques prendraient ce test «P-2865»? Il y a au moins une bonne raison, et une raison un peu sotte. La bonne raison est que Dieu nous aime, qu'Il a envoyé son propre Fils Jésus-Christ pour nous racheter de nos péchés, et ouvrir les portes du Ciel à ceux qui se convertissent et croient aux enseignements du Christ, tels que fidèlement transmis par l'Église catholique:

Il s'avérera très utile d'approfondir le Catéchisme de l'Église catholique, qui présente fidèlement et organiquement l'enseignement de l'Écriture sainte, de la Tradition vivante dans l'Église et du Magistère authentique, de même que l'héritage spirituel des Pères, des saints et des saintes de l'Église, pour permettre de mieux connaître le mystère chrétien et de raviver la Foi du peuple de Dieu
[Tertio Millennio Adveniente, No. 42].

La raison un peu sotte est d'éviter de passer pour un sot! En effet, la meilleure manière de perdre la face devant une foule est d'attaquer l'Église catholique, puis d'avoir un petit futé Catholique nous demander si on a vu les enseignements officiels de l'Église catholique. Il est difficile d'être plus sot que quelqu'un qui affirme sans savoir de quoi il parle! Mais au contraire, si vous avez fait le Test P-2865, vous pouvez éviter l'humiliation instantanée (mais restez sur vos gardes, certains de ces petits futés catholiques pourraient quand même signaler des incohérences graves dans vos faits et votre raisonnement).

Alors, avez-vous trois plumes?

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus