| Home >> Lost Sermons

Excommunication, That Gesture Of Love!

Piero della Francesca. Madonna of Mercy.
Mary, refuge of sinners (including heretics and schismatics!).
(Piero della Francesca. Madonna of Mercy. [Source])

1) Introduction

Many people think that all you need to be a Catholic is a Baptism Certificate. This is not true. You have to be baptized, but you also have to believe everything the Catholic Church believes and teaches, otherwise you are excommunicated.

2) What is excommunication, loosely speaking?

Loosely speaking, "excommunication" is a sociological concept, which necessarily appears as soon as institutions arise. Allow me to repeat. I'm not talking here about the beliefs of some "fundamentalist". I'm talking about one of the most basic laws of the science of sociology. This law is so basic and so pervasive, that you could call it: "The Law of Sociological Gravity". (See the article with the same name.)

3) What is excommunication, strictly speaking?

Strictly speaking, excommunication is an ecclesiastical punishment used in the Catholic Church. In a way, it is the official observation by the Catholic Church that a baptized person has kicked himself or herself out of the Church. Take a deep breath, imagine you're a world-famous lawyer, and read the following excerpts from the Church's "Rulebook", i.e. the Code of Canon Law:

Canon 750 of (our emphasis):

2. Each and every thing which is proposed definitively by the magisterium of the Church concerning the doctrine of faith and morals, that is, each and every thing which is required to safeguard reverently and to expound faithfully the same deposit of faith, is also to be firmly embraced and retained; therefore, one who rejects those propositions which are to be held definitively is opposed to the doctrine of the Catholic Church.

Canon 751:

Heresy is the obstinate denial or obstinate doubt after the reception of Baptism of some truth which is to be believed by divine and Catholic faith"

Note that to be a heretic, it is only necessary to reject one single truth of faith or morals proposed by the Magisterium as to be held definitively.

4) When and how does an excommunication happen?

Do we need to receive an e-mail from the Pope to know whether we are excommunicated? Once again, our common sense can help us out here. Imagine a Muslim who, for whatever reason, decided to firmly believe that Allah was an eggbeater and Mahomet was a hair dryer. You would concur in saying that this person would cease to be a Muslim, starting from the very moment when he or she would decide to embrace these beliefs incompatible with Islam.

It's the same thing in the Catholic Church:

Canon 1364:

an apostate from the faith, a heretic, or a schismatic incurs a latae sententiae excommunication" (that is to say automatic excommunication)

Notice that excommunication is instantaneous, automatic. Also notice that the Church never kicks anybody out. All the Church does is to observe that someone has kicked himself or herself outside of the communion with Christ.

5) What tangible examples could we give?

You can consult the "Top Ten Heresies" chart, for a few examples of heresies that are common in the Province of Quebec these days.

6) How can excommunication be seen as a gesture of love?

Doesn't this whole thing about excommunication contradict the very words of Jesus?

"If a man have a hundred sheep, and one of them be gone astray, doth he not leave the ninety and nine, and goeth into the mountains, and seeketh that which is gone astray? [...] Even so it is not the will of your Father which is in heaven, that one of these little ones should perish."
[Mt 18:14]

Yes and no. It depends how this tool is used (see also [He 12:11]).

You've surely at least once had to find a shop in the shopping mall. Perhaps you consulted the maps indicating the layout of the shops on each floor. A very important element of that map was the big red arrow saying: "You are here!"

Excommunication is like a big red arrow saying: "You are here!", right down in the sewers of the shopping mall! The Catholic Church wants everybody to find the Shop of Eternal Life, in the Great Mall of Beliefs. If someone is lost, we have to give that person a map that says "You are here!", so this person can find his or her way. As long as a lost sheep doesn't know it's lost, it can't make an effort to come back to the sheepfold!

7) Conclusion

Of course, I don't claim that the Pope should excommunicate everybody, or that a baptized person "should be considered as excommunicated, until he has proven his innocence"! On the other hand, I think that these days in Quebec we often fall into the opposite excess, which endangers the eternal life of heretics and faithful alike.

"[The Catholic Church, like the Virgin Mary,] understands sinful man and loves him with a Mother's love. Precisely for this reason she is on the side of truth and [has the burden of] recalling always and to everyone the demands of morality. Nor does she permit sinful man to be deceived by those who claim to love him by justifying his sin, for she knows that the sacrifice of Christ her Son would thus be emptied of its power. No absolution offered by beguiling doctrines, even in the areas of philosophy and theology, can make man truly happy: only the Cross and the glory of the Risen Christ can grant peace to his conscience and salvation to his life."
[Veritatis Splendor, No. #120]

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

L'Excommunication, ce geste d'amour!

Piero della Francesca. Madone de la miséricorde.
Marie, refuge des pécheurs (incluant les hérétiques et les schismatiques!).
(Piero della Francesca. Madone de la miséricorde. [Source])

1) Introduction

Plusieurs personnes s'imaginent que pour être catholique il suffit d'avoir un Certificat de Baptême. Ceci est faux. Il faut être baptisé, mais il faut aussi croire tout ce que l'Église catholique croit et enseigne, sinon on est excommunié.

2) Qu'est-ce que l'excommunication, au sens large?

Au sens large, «l'excommunication» est un concept sociologique, qui apparaît nécessairement dès qu'on a des institutions. Permettez-moi de répéter. Je ne parle pas ici des croyances d'un quelconque «fondamentaliste». Je parle d'une des lois les plus fondamentales de la science sociologique. Cette loi est si fondamentale et si omniprésente, qu'on pourrait l'appeler: «La Loi de la gravité sociologique». (Voir l'article du même nom.)

3) Qu'est-ce que l'excommunication, au sens strict?

Au sens strict, l'excommunication est une peine ecclésiastique utilisée dans l'Église catholique. D'une certaine manière, c'est la constatation officielle par l'Église catholique qu'une personne baptisée s'est jetée elle-même hors de l'Église. Prenez une grande respiration, imaginez-vous que vous êtes un célèbre avocat, et lisez ces quelques extraits du «Livre de règlements» de l'Église, c'est-à-dire le Code de droit canonique:

Canon 750 (nos gras):

§2. On doit aussi adopter fermement, et faire siens tous les points, et chacun d'eux, de la doctrine concernant la Foi ou les moeurs que le Magistère de l'Église propose comme définitifs, c'est-à-dire qui sont exigés pour conserver saintement et exposer fidèlement le dépôt de la Foi ; celui qui repousse ces points qui doivent être tenus pour définitifs s'oppose donc à la doctrine de l'Église catholique

Canon 751:

On appelle hérésie la négation obstinée, après la réception du Baptême, d'une vérité qui doit être tenue de foi divine et catholique, ou le doute obstiné sur cette vérité.

Remarquez qu'il suffit de rejeter une seule vérité de Foi ou de morale que le Magistère propose comme devant être tenu définitivement, pour être hérétique.

4) Quand et comment l'excommunication se produit-elle?

Doit-on attendre de recevoir un courriel du Pape pour savoir si on est excommunié? Ici encore, notre gros bon sens peut nous éclairer. Imaginez un musulman qui, pour une raison ou une autre, décidait de croire fermement et obstinément que Allah est un batteur à oeufs, et que Mahomet est un séchoir à cheveux. Vous serez d'accord pour dire que à partir du moment même où cette personne déciderait d'adopter des croyances incompatibles avec l'Islam, elle cesserait d'être musulmane.

C'est la même chose dans l'Église catholique:

Canon 1364:

L'apostat de la foi, l'hérétique ou le schismatique encourent une excommunication latae sententia (c'est-à-dire automatique)

Remarquez que l'excommunication est instantanée, automatique. Remarquez aussi que l'Église ne jette jamais qui que ce soit en dehors d'elle-même. L'Église ne fait que constater qu'un de ses membres s'est lui-même jeté hors de la communion d'avec le Christ.

5) Quels exemples concrets pourrait-on donner?

Vous pouvez consulter le «Palmarès des hérésies», pour quelques exemples d'hérésies fréquentes au Québec de nos jours.

6) Comment l'excommunication peut-elle être vue comme un geste d'amour?

Mais toutes ces histoires d'excommunication ne contredisent-elle pas les paroles même de Jésus?

«Un homme a cent brebis: l'une d'elle s'égare. Ne laisse-t-il pas dans la montagne les quatre-vingt-dix-neuf autres, pour aller à la recherche de celle qui s'est égarée? [...] De même, c'est la volonté de votre Père céleste, que ne se perde aucun de ces petits.»
[Mt 18:14]

Oui et non. Ça dépend comment on se sert de cet outil (voir aussi [He 12:11]).

Vous avez sûrement déjà cherché une boutique dans un centre d'achats. Peut-être avez-vous consulté une des cartes indiquant la disposition des boutiques à chaque étage. Une partie très importante de cette carte était la grosse flèche rouge qui disait: «Vous êtes ici!»

L'excommunication est comme une grosse flèche rouge qui dit: «Vous êtes ici!», dans les égouts sous le centre d'achats! L'Église catholique veut que tous réussissent à trouver la Boutique de la Vie éternelle, dans le très grand Centre d'achat des croyances. Si quelqu'un s'est perdu, il faut lui donner une carte qui dise «Vous êtes ici!», afin que cette personne puisse retrouver son chemin. Tant qu'une brebis perdue ne sait pas qu'elle s'est perdue, elle ne peut pas faire un effort pour revenir au troupeau!

7) Conclusion

Bien sûr, je ne prétends pas que le Pape devrait excommunier tout le monde, ou qu'un baptisé «devrait être considéré comme excommunié, jusqu'à ce qu'il prouve son innocence»! Par contre, je pense que de nos jours au Québec on tombe souvent dans l'excès contraire, ce qui met en danger la vie éternelle autant des hérétiques que des fidèles.

«[L'Église catholique, tout comme la Vierge Marie] comprend l'homme pécheur et elle l'aime d'un amour maternel. Voilà pourquoi elle est du côté de la vérité et [porte le fardeau de] rappeler les exigences morales à tous et en tout temps. Pour la même raison, elle n'accepte pas que l'homme pécheur soit trompé par quiconque prétendrait l'aimer en justifiant son péché, car elle sait qu'ainsi le sacrifice du Christ, son Fils, serait rendu inutile. Aucun acquittement, fût-il prononcé par des doctrines philosophiques ou théologiques complaisantes, ne peut rendre l'homme véritablement heureux: seules la Croix et la gloire du Christ ressuscité peuvent pacifier sa conscience et sauver sa vie.»
[Veritatis Splendor, No. 120]

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus