| Home >> Lost Sermons

Pastoral Letter Of Cardinal Marc Ouellet On The Practice Of The Sacrament Of Penance And Reconciliation

Vasily Vereshchagin. Mortally Wounded.
The soldier of Christ, when wounded, must go to the divine Physician,
so he may return to combat as soon as possible.
(Vasily Vereshchagin. Mortally Wounded. Source)

Sorry, this is my very imperfect translation from the French original letter. Also, for an explanation of the colors, see " The Critical Traffic Light".

[Green] "Christ entrusts to the Apostles the mission of proclaiming the Kingdom of God and preaching the Gospel of conversion"
[Mc 16,15 ; Mt 28, I8-20, quoted in Misericordia Dei, Introduction]

Dear faithful of the Diocese,

[Green] Trusting in the grace of Lent for the Year of the Eucharist, I invite you to a new effort of conversion and adjustment for our practice of the Sacrament of Penance and Reconciliation. The proclamation of the Gospel includes a constant reminder of God's faithfulness to His Alliance, and a call to conversion which touches the whole Church, pastors and faithful, especially during the annual celebration of the Lord's Passover. Celebrations with collective absolution have in general been appreciated in the Diocese

[Red] because of their good quality and the absence of the notorious abuses which have been seen elsewhere.

:-)

The whole circus of collective absolution in this Diocese was one large abuse! The Cardinal probably got an earful from the Pope himself, a few weeks before this letter was published!

[Red] We can now take one more step in continuity with the effort to foster greater appreciation of the Sacrament of Forgiveness, which was initiated a few years ago by my predecessor, Monsignor Maurice Couture,

Monsignor Maurice Couture is the cause of the problem to begin with! He started the circus, against the very explicit orders of the Pope. But we can understand that the Cardinal is trying to be charitable.

[Green] and the reminder given by Pope John Paul II in April 2002, concerning the ordinary form of the Sacrament.

[Green] During this Lenten period of 2005, I confirm the previous orientation I had given by my decision to suspend the practice of collective absolution in the Diocese. Please believe that this decision aims to foster, not a step backward, but a deeper personal conversion in the Spirit of the Church. To help you understand this, I'd invite you to reflect upon three particular aspects: communion with the Church, the truth of the Sacrament as sign of the Alliance, and the personal encounter with Christ.

1. Communion with the Church

[Green] In his Motu Proprio Misericordia Dei dated April 7, 2002, Pope John Paul II reasserts the necessity for personal confession of sins during the celebration of the Sacrament of Penance. "Through the centuries, the celebration of the Sacrament of Penance has developed in different forms, but it has always kept the same basic structure: it necessarily entails not only the action of the minister - only a Bishop or priest, who judges and absolves, tends and heals in the name of Christ - but also the actions of the penitent: contrition, confession and satisfaction." Following this reminder, many Dioceses of our country divided their practice of collective absolution which had been widely established here.

[Green] During Fall of 2003, I did a tour of the Diocese's pastoral regions to think about this issue with the ministers of the Sacrament, and I gave orientations so that we'd progressively advance toward the general adoption of confession of sins and individual absolution in the near future.

Quite true. But several people who attended those meetings also told me that the majority of Priests were totally opposed to the Pope's order, and "gave Hell" to the Cardinal. Of course, in a way this doesn't need to be said in a Pastoral Letter, but in another way, I claim it greatly harms the Church to avoid telling the faithful how bad things really are.

[Yellow] I observed and appreciated that, following these meetings, various initiatives were taken to emphasize the importance of confession and individual absolution, among others during last year's Lenten homilies.

This could be true. I certainly didn't notice any improvements during that time, but that doesn't mean much.

[Green] The time has now come to set down clearly that: "Individual and integral confession and absolution are the sole ordinary means by which the faithful, conscious of grave sin, are reconciled with God and the Church". This personal confession can occur either during a communal celebration with individual absolution, or during an individual celebration of the Sacrament. I therefore ask all the pastors and ministers of this Sacrament to suspend collective absolution everywhere in the Diocese, and to make sure they offer the faithful clearly defined times and places to facilitate the communal or individual celebration of the Sacrament of Penance. This measure is necessary to emphasize personal conversion as well as to cultivate the necessary dispositions required to profitably receive the Sacrament of the Eucharist.

[Yellow] Such a measure is not a disavowal of what was done in the Christian communities to develop the Ecclesial dimension of the Sacrament, which was expressed by well-prepared and unctuous communal celebrations.

Of course it is not a disavowal, since nothing was done to "develop the Ecclesial dimension of the Sacrament" in the first place! On the contrary, the faithful were carefully kept in the dark about Misericordia Dei! But some argue that such a "white lie" is appropriate, given the difficult circumstances, and the Cardinal's "unctuous" approach to dealing with a Diocese on the brink of schism.

[Green] Nevertheless, the universal practice of the Church never dispenses from confession, except in completely exceptional circumstances of danger of death and grave necessity which do not correspond to our situation. Communal celebrations with individual absolution let us maintain the gains of Ecclesial enhancement of the Sacrament. They also provide Priests with opportunities to increase their fraternal bonds when they meet to help each other during these celebrations.

The main weakness of his argumentation in Part 1 of this Letter, in my opinion, is his lack of a vigorous defence of the Holy Father and his authority. Yes, we have to eliminate collective absolution in order to remain in communion with the Church. But he should have insisted more: the Holy Father is the boss, because Christ said so. We can't be in the Church of Jesus if we tell the Pope to get lost! This is the disease gnawing away at the Diocese! He should at least mention it!

2. The truth of the Sacrament, sign of the Alliance

[Green] It's important to observe that all the Church's Sacraments are first of all Christ's actions for a person He introduces into the Alliance through the Church. By Baptism, He touches each individual with water and a few words to signify by a tangible sign his incorporation into the Church. It's the same for the anointing of the Holy Spirit during Confirmation, or for the imposition of hands during sacerdotal ordination. It's always a single person who is touched by the Lord's love and grace. This can also be seen in the Sacrament of Forgiveness, where each person receives a very personal grace corresponding to their confession of failures to keep the Alliance.

[Green] For the truth of the Sacrament, it's not enough for a crowd to hear a general declaration of mercy on the part of God, following a generic admission of our condition as sinners.

How true! To bad he doesn't insist on this because, after the necessity to obey the Pope, it's the second strongest argument against collective absolution.

Imagine a husband who would tell his wife: "Dear, I went to a meeting of the Men's Club, and there we listened to a Priest admit for us that we, as a group, were not quite perfect yet, and that God loved us unconditionally, whatever we did".

Hello?

Do you think his wife would consider that to be an apology for having had sex with his secretary?

Yet this is exactly the same kind of idiocy perpetrated by collective absolutions. It is all part of Satan's master plan to make people believe sin doesn't exist anymore. If sin doesn't exist, you can't confess your sins. If sin doesn't exist, you can't say: "I'm terribly sorry, dear, I had sex five times with my secretary, right here in this house, in our own bedroom". You can't precisely name the species of the sin, the number of occurrences, or the important circumstances.

Collective absolution is not "just another flavor of the Sacrament of Forgiveness". It is an outright attack against Jesus Christ. If sin doesn't exist, then Christ is an idiot, because he wasted his life dying on a Cross, instead of playing golf and drinking beer with the Apostles. But if sin does indeed exist, then we had better open our eyes, see it, confess it, and beg for God's mercy.

[Green] The Crucified Christ atones for the sins of each person, and He expresses through absolution the merciful love of God for each person who precisely needs to feel personally loved and forgiven by God. The Sacrament of Reconciliation specifically reaches into the intimate sphere of each person's wounds and lapses, in a way which restores the dialogue of love and the relation of friendship with Christ.

[Green] We therefore understand the Church's wisdom when She requires confession of faults as an integral part of the Sacrament, unless very exceptional circumstances prevent it, and therefore oblige the penitent to delay the gesture of confession, which can never be totally omitted. Moreover, even from the strictly human perspective, Psychologists and other Human Science experts consider the expression of the wounded person as being a condition of their cure. This can be seen by the importance of listening to people following all kinds of traumas. A Physician cannot give a good diagnosis if a person doesn't tell him where it hurts. Even though it's recognized with more difficulty these days, confession of sins against the love of God and our neighbor is a need and a necessary condition to restore the truth of the Alliance.

3. A personal encounter with Christ

[Green] Christ's very attitude in the Gospels makes us understand this real requirement of dialogue with Him. Many scenes describe the merciful Christ individually meeting a sinner to tell him or her the Good News of Mercy: the adulteress, Mary Magdalene, the Samaritan woman, Zaccheus, the paralytic lowered through the roof, etc... Each time, Jesus establishes a bond of love and tenderness which liberates the person and even spares them from death, as in the case of the adulteress threatened with stoning. By the way He welcomes her, and by His words of forgiveness, Jesus opens for her the path of freedom and conversion: "Go, and sin no more".

[Green] The very evening of the Resurrection, Christ gave the Holy Spirit to his disciples so they could perpetuate his merciful actions. "Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained" [Jn 20:22-23]. The ministers of forgiveness, obeying the Good Shepherd and the Physician of souls [Mc 2:17], receive the humble and sincere confession of sins which lets the faithful meet the resurrected Christ in the joy of His Spirit. The ministers of the Lord's forgiveness cannot change by themselves the conditions established by Him and His Church for the exercise of this Ministry. Let's not forget the price He paid on the Cross, out of love, in order to reconcile the world with God. Confessing our sins, with a contrite heart, means confessing our grateful love for Him, and receiving the gift of His peace.

Conclusion : a call to conversion

[Green] We know there won't be a shortage of challenges for living together a more thorough conversion and an adjustment to the orientations given in the Motu Proprio Misericordia Dei of the Holy Father, John Paul II.

I would have helped if Priests had publicly mentioned the existence of that document, not to mention all the other documents coming from the Pope! I'm willing to bet this Pastoral Letter won't end up at the back of churches, either.

[Green] Prayer to the Holy Spirit will help us accomplish, pastors and laypersons together, a new development of sacramental confession in its ordinary form. If we open our hearts to this call, the Spirit will make us feel even more "this privileged bond of spiritual paternity and filial growth" which is expressed in this Sacrament.

[Yellow] The communal celebrations of forgiveness which have permitted the development of a rich teaching inspired by the Word of God and made tangible by appropriate gestures

Please. We are not idiots. Probably never in the 300-year history of this Diocese have there been more sacrilegious communions than during this collective absolution circus.

[Green] will continue by adding confession to a Priest with individual absolution. This will be done during the celebration itself or afterward.

[Green] As ministers ordained to the service of this ministry of sacramental reconciliation, we'll make sure we offer a greater spectrum of possibilities for individual encounters for the reception of the Sacrament of Forgiveness. In each region* venues will be designated to facilitate the penitent's access to this Sacrament in a welcoming atmosphere. I've personally begun to periodically receive at the Cathedral people who desire to meet with me briefly, for the Sacrament of Penance or for other reasons. Other initiatives are to be encouraged, among others catechesis about the Good News of God's mercy.

[Green] Lent is a time of grace favorable to personal conversion and the following of Christ into the desert after humbly receiving the Ashes. Our daily efforts turn us away from the darkness of our sins, and turn us toward the light of Merciful Christ. May the Year of the Eucharist help us live this process of transformation which will make us commune more deeply to the mystery of His Body given up for us, and His Blood shed for the forgiveness of our sins. This will enliven our answer to the invitation of communion: "This is the Lamb of God that takes away the sins of the world", thanks to an evermore true and personal embrace of Christ, Lord of the New Alliance: "Lord, I am not worthy to receive you, but only say the word, and I shall be healed".

Given in Quebec City, Ash Wednesday, February 9 of the year 2005.

Our assessment of this Pastoral Letter

Goodness gracious! The Quebec Diocese might finally have a Catholic Bishop! Praise the Lord!

Apart from rewriting a large chunk of history, just like the worst communist regimes, this Pastoral Letter appears excellent.

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Lettre Pastorale du Cardinal Marc Ouellet sur la pratique du Sacrement de pénitence et de réconciliation

Vasily Vereshchagin. Blessé mortellement.
Le soldat du Christ, lorsque blessé, doit aller voir le divin Médecin,
afin de pouvoir retourner au combat le plus vite possible.
(Vasily Vereshchagin. Blessé mortellement. Source)

Pour l'explication des couleurs, voir «Le feu de circulation critique».

[Vert] «La mission confiée par le Christ aux Apôtres, c'est l'annonce du règne de Dieu et la prédication de l'Évangile en vue de la conversion» [Mc 16,15 ; Mt 28, I8-20, cité dans Misericordia Dei, Introduction]

Chers diocésains et diocésaines,

[Vert] Confiant en la grâce du Carême de l'année de l'Eucharistie, je vous invite à un nouvel effort de conversion et d'ajustement de notre pratique du sacrement de la pénitence et de la réconciliation. L'annonce de l'Évangile comporte un rappel constant de la fidélité de Dieu à Son Alliance et un appel à la conversion qui touche toute l'Église, pasteurs et fidèles, surtout lors de la célébration annuelle de la Pâque du Seigneur. Les célébrations avec absolution collective ont été en général appréciées dans le diocèse

[Rouge] à cause de leur bonne qualité et de l'absence des abus notoires qui ont été notés ailleurs.

:-)

Tout le cirque de l'absolution collective au diocèse n'était qu'un gros abus! Le Cardinal s'est d'ailleurs probablement fait enguirlander par le Pape lui-même, quelques semaines avant que cette lettre soit publiée!

[Rouge] Nous pouvons maintenant faire un pas de plus dans la continuité de l'effort de revalorisation du sacrement du pardon qui a été entrepris il y a quelques années par mon prédécesseur, Mgr Maurice Couture

Monseigneur Maurice Couture est la cause du problème pour commencer! Il a démarré le cirque, contre les ordres explicites du Pape. Mais on peut comprendre que le Cardinal tente d'être charitable.

[Vert] et du rappel de la forme ordinaire du sacrement par le pape Jean Paul II en avril 2002.

[Vert] En ce Carême 2005, je confirme l'orientation donnée antérieurement, par ma décision de suspendre la pratique de l'absolution collective dans le diocèse. Veuillez croire que cette décision veut favoriser, non pas un retour en arrière, mais un approfondissement de la conversion personnelle dans l'esprit de l'Église. Pour aider à le comprendre je vous invite à réfléchir sur trois aspects en particulier : la communion avec l'Église, la vérité du sacrement, signe de l'Alliance, et la rencontre personnelle avec le Christ.

1. La communion avec l'Église

[Vert] Dans son Motu Proprio Misericordia Dei du 7 avril 2002, le pape Jean Paul réaffirme la nécessité de l'aveu personnel des fautes lors de la célébration du sacrement de Pénitence. «La célébration du sacrement de Pénitence s'est développée au cours des siècles selon différentes modalités d'expression, mais eu conservant toujours la même structure fondamentale, qui comprend nécessairement, outre l'intervention du ministre - seulement un évêque ou un prêtre, qui et absout, qui soigne et guérit au nom du Christ - les actes du pénitent : la contrition, la confession et la satisfaction.» À la suite de ce rappel, plusieurs diocèses de notre pays ont divisé leur pratique de l'absolution collective qui s'était largement établie chez-nous. À l'automne 2003, j'ai fait la tournée des régions pastorales du diocèse pour réfléchir sur ce sujet avec les ministres du sacrement et j'ai donné des orientations pour qu'on s'achemine progressivement vers la reprise générale de l'aveu des fautes et de 1'absolution individuelle dans un avenir prochain.

Tout à fait vrai. Mais plusieurs personnes qui étaient présentes à ces réunions m'ont dit que la majorité des prêtres étaient complètement opposés aux ordres du Pape, et ont «crié des bêtises» au Cardinal. Bien sûr, d'une certaine manière on n'a pas besoin de dire ce genre de choses dans une Lettre pastorale, mais d'une autre manière, je prétends que cela fait un grand tort à l'Église de ne pas dire aux fidèles jusqu'à quel point les choses vont mal.

[Jaune] J'ai constaté et apprécié qu'à la suite de ces rencontres, diverses initiatives ont été prises pour souligner l'importance de l'aveu et de l'absolution individuelle, notamment lors des homélies du Carême de l'an dernier.

C'est peut-être vrai. Je n'ai pas remarqué d'améliorations durant cette période, mais cela ne veut pas dire grand chose.

[Vert] L'heure est maintenant venue de marquer nettement que «la confession individuelle et intégrale avec l'absolution constitue l'unique mode ordinaire par lequel un fidèle conscient d'un péché grave est réconcilié avec Dieu et avec l'Église». Cette confession personnelle peut se réaliser soit dans le cadre d'une célébration communautaire avec absolution individuelle, soit dans le cadre d'une célébration individuelle du sacrement. Je demande par conséquent à tous les pasteurs et à tous 1es ministres du sacrement de suspendre l'absolution collective partout dans le diocèse, et de veiller à offrir aux fidèles des lieux et des temps clairement définis pour faciliter la célébration communautaire ou individuelle du sacrement de pénitence. Cette mesure est nécessaire pour approfondir la conversion personnelle de même que pour mieux cultiver les dispositions requises pour recevoir avec fruit le sacrement de l'Eucharistie.

[Jaune] Une telle mesure ne désavoue pas ce qui a été fait dans les communautés chrétiennes pour développer la dimension ecclésiale du sacrement qui s'exprimait par des célébrations communautaires bien préparées et onctueuses.

Bien sûr que ce n'est pas un désaveu, puisque rien n'a été fait «pour développer la dimension ecclésiale du sacrement» au départ! Au contraire, on a soigneusement gardé les fidèles dans l'ignorance de Misericordia Dei! Mais certains disent qu'un tel «pieu mensonge» est approprié, étant donné les circonstances difficiles, et l'approche «onctueuse» du Cardinal au problème d'un diocèse au bord du schisme.

[Vert] Cependant, la pratique universelle de l'Église ne dispense jamais de l'aveu, sauf en des circonstances tout à fait exceptionnelles de danger de mort et de grave nécessité qui ne correspondent pas à notre situation. Les célébrations communautaires avec absolution individuelle permettent de conserver les acquis de la revalorisation ecclésiale du sacrement. Elles donnent aussi aux prêtres l'opportunité d'entretenir leurs liens fraternels lorsqu'ils se rencontrent pour s'entraider à l'occasion de ces célébrations.

La principale faiblesse de l'argumentation de cette première partie, selon moi, est l'absence d'une défense vigoureuse du Saint-Père et de son autorité. Oui, nous devons éliminer l'absolution collective afin de demeurer en communion avec l'Église. Mais il aurait dû insister d'avantage: le Saint-Père est le patron, parce que le Christ l'a dit. Nous ne pouvons pas être dans l'Église de Jésus si on dit au Pape d'aller se faire voir ailleurs! Voilà la maladie qui ronge le diocèse! Il devrait au moins le mentionner!

2. La vérité du sacrement, signe d'Alliance

[Vert] Il est important de noter que tous les sacrements de l'Église sont d'abord des gestes du Christ à l'endroit d'une personne qu'il introduit dans le cadre de l'Alliance par la médiation de l'Église. Par le baptême, il touche chaque individu avec de l'eau et quelques paroles pour signifier par un signe concret son incorporation à l'Église. Il en va de même pour l'onction de l'Esprit Saint à la confirmation ou pour l'imposition des mains lors de l'ordination sacerdotale. C'est toujours une personne singulière qui est touchée par l'amour et la grâce du Seigneur. Cela se vérifie aussi pour le sacrement du pardon où chaque personne reçoit une grâce très personnelle correspondant à l'aveu de ses manquements à l'Alliance.

[Vert] Pour la vérité du sacrement, il ne suffit pas qu'une foule entende une déclaration générale de miséricorde de la part de Dieu faisant suite à une reconnaissance générique de notre condition de pécheurs.

Que c'est vrai! Dommage qu'il n'insiste pas plus, car après la nécessité d'obéir au Pape, c'est le deuxième argument le plus fort contre l'absolution collective.

Imaginez un mari qui dirait à son épouse: «Chérie, je suis allé à une réunion du Club des gars, et là nous avons écouté un prêtre avouer en notre nom que nous, en tant que groupe, n'étions pas encore tout à fait parfaits, et que Dieu nous aimait sans conditions, quoi qu'on fasse.»

Allô?

Pensez-vous que sa femme considérerait cela comme une demande de pardon, pour avoir couché avec sa secrétaire?

Sauf que c'est exactement le même genre d'idiotie véhiculée par l'absolution collective. Cela fait partie du grand plan de Satan pour faire croire aux gens que le péché n'existe plus. Si le péché n'existe plus, vous ne pouvez pas confesser vos péchés. Si le péché n'existe plus, vous ne pouvez pas dire: «Chérie, je m'excuse, j'ai couché cinq fois avec ma secrétaire, ici même dans cette maison, dans notre propre lit». Vous ne pouvez pas nommer l'espèce du péché, le nombre d'occurrences, ou les circonstances importantes.

L'absolution collective n'est pas «juste une autre saveur du Sacrement du Pardon». C'est une attaque flagrante contre Jésus-Christ. Si le péché n'existe pas, alors le Christ est un idiot, car il a perdu sa vie à mourir sur une Croix, plutôt que de jouer au golf et boire de la bière avec les Apôtres. Mais si en fait le péché existe, alors on est mieux de s'ouvrir les yeux, de le voir, de le confesser, et de demander pardon à Dieu.

[Vert] Le Christ expie sur la Croix le péché de chacun et chacune et il exprime par l'absolution l'amour miséricordieux de Dieu pour chaque personne qui a justement besoin de se sentir aimée et pardonnée personnellement par Dieu. Le sacrement de la réconciliation touche précisément la sphère intime des blessures et des fautes de chaque personne d'une façon qui restaure le dialogue d'amour et la relation d'amitié avec le Christ.

[Vert] On comprend alors la sagesse de l'Église qui exige l'aveu des fautes comme une partie intégrante du sacrement, à moins que des circonstances très exceptionnelles ne le permettent pas et obligent le pénitent à remettre à plus tard le geste de l'aveu qui ne peut jamais être totalement omis. D'ailleurs, même sur le plan humain, les psychologues et autres experts en sciences humaines considèrent l'expression de la personne blessée comme étant une condition de sa guérison. Nous le voyons à l'importance de l'écoute des personnes à la suite de drames de toutes sortes. Un médecin ne peut pas émettre un bon diagnostic si la personne ne lui dit pas où elle sent le mal. Bien qu'elle soit aujourd'hui plus difficilement reconnue, la confession des fautes contre l'amour de Dieu et du prochain est un besoin et une condition nécessaire à la restauration de la vérité de l'Alliance.

3. La rencontre personnelle avec le Christ

[Vert] L'attitude même de Jésus dans l'Évangile nous fait comprendre cette exigence concrète du dialogue avec lui. Plusieurs scènes décrivent le Christ miséricordieux rencontrant individuellement une pécheresse ou un pécheur pour lui annoncer la Bonne Nouvelle de la miséricorde : la femme adultère, Marie Madeleine, la Samaritaine, Zachée, le paralytique descendu par le toit, le bon larron, etc... À chaque occasion, Jésus établit un lien d'amour et de tendresse qui libère la personne et la fait échapper même à la mort, comme dans le cas de la femme adultère menacée de lapidation. Par Son accueil et Sa parole de pardon, Jésus ouvre devant elle le chemin de la liberté et de la conversion: «Va, et désormais ne pèche plus».

[Vert] Dès le soir de la résurrection, le Christ donne à ses disciples l'Esprit Saint afin qu'ils perpétuent ses gestes de miséricorde. «Recevez l'Esprit Saint. Tout homme à qui vous remettrez ses péchés, ils lui seront remis; tout homme à qui vous maintiendrez ses péchés ils lui seront maintenus » [Jn 20:22-23]. Les ministres du pardon, obéissant au Bon pasteur et au Médecin des âmes [Mc 2:17], reçoivent donc l'aveu humble et sincère des fautes qui permet aux fidèles de rencontrer le Seigneur ressuscité dans la joie de son Esprit. Les ministres du pardon du Seigneur ne peuvent changer d'eux-mêmes les conditions établies par Lui et Son Église pour l'exercice de ce ministère. Souvenons-nous du prix qu'il a payé sur la croix par amour, pour opérer la réconciliation du monde avec Dieu. Confesser nos fautes, le coeur contrit, signifie confesser notre amour reconnaissant à son égard et accueillir le don de Sa paix.

Conclusion : un appel à la conversion

[Vert] Les défis, nous le savons, ne manqueront pas pour vivre ensemble une conversion plus profonde et un ajustement aux orientations contenues dans le Motu proprio Misericordia Dei du Saint Père Jean Paul II.

Les choses auraient été plus faciles si les prêtres avaient mentionné publiquement l'existence de ce document, sans parler de tous les autres documents venant du Pape! Je suis prêt à parier que cette Lettre pastorale n'aboutira pas non plus à l'arrière des églises.

[Vert] La prière à l'Esprit Saint nous aidera à réaliser ensemble, pasteurs et fidèles, un nouveau développement de la confession sacramentelle dans sa forme ordinaire. Si nous accueillons de bon coeur cet appel, l'Esprit nous fera goûter encore davantage «ce lien privilégié de paternité spirituelle et de croissance filiale» qui s'exprime dans ce sacrement.

[Jaune] Les célébrations communautaires du pardon qui ont permis le développement d'un riche enseignement inspiré de la Parole de Dieu et concrétisé par des gestes appropriés

S'il-vous-plaît. Nous ne sommes pas des imbéciles. Il est probable que jamais, dans les 300 années d'histoire du diocèse, il y a eu autant de communions sacrilèges que durant ce cirque des absolutions collectives.

[Vert] se poursuivront en ajoutant une démarche de confession à un prêtre avec l'absolution individuelle. Cette démarche pourra se faire pendant la célébration elle-même ou après.

[Vert] Comme ministres ordonnés au service de ce ministère de la réconciliation sacramentelle, nous veillerons à offrir un éventail plus large de possibilités de rencontres individuelles pour le sacrement du pardon. Dans chaque région* des lieux seront désignés pour faciliter l'accès des pénitents à ce sacrement dans une atmosphère accueillante. J'ai commencé personnellement à recevoir périodiquement à la cathédrale les personnes désireuses de me rencontrer brièvement, pour le sacrement du pardon ou pour un autre motif. D'autres initiatives sont à encourager, entre autre des catéchèses sur la Bonne nouvelle de la miséricorde de Dieu.

[Vert] Le Carême est un temps de grâce propice à la conversion personnelle et à la marche à la suite du Seigneur au désert après le geste d'humilité des Cendres. Les efforts de chaque jour nous détournent des ténèbres de nos fautes et nous tournent vers la lumière du Christ Miséricordieux. Que l'année de l'Eucharistie nous aide à vivre cette démarche de transformation ultérieure qui nous fera communier plus profondément au mystère de Son Corps livré et de Son Sang versé pour la rémission de nos péchés. Nous répondrons ainsi plus vivement à l'invitation à la communion : «Voici l'Agneau de Dieu qui enlève le péché du monde», par une adhésion toujours plus vraie et plus personnelle au Christ, le Seigneur de la Nouvelle Alliance : «Seigneur je ne suis pas digne de te recevoir, mais dis seulement une Parole et je serai guéri».

Donné à Québec, le mercredi des Cendres, 9 février de l'An 2005.

Mon évaluation de cette lettre pastorale

Bonté divine! Le diocèse de Québec a peut-être enfin un évêque catholique! Gloire à Dieu!

À part une bonne dose de réécriture de l'histoire, digne des pires régimes communistes, cette lettre pastorale semble excellente.

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus