| Home >> Philosophy

The Two Crutches Of Human Action: Law And Sanctions

Thomas Gainsborough. The Painter's Daughters, Margaret and Mary, Chasing Butterfly.
(Thomas Gainsborough. The Painter's Daughters, Margaret and Mary, Chasing Butterfly. Source)

1) Introduction

What is a Law? Why do we have Sanctions (or punishments and rewards)?

I don't have the time or the expertise to provide you with a complete explanation of Laws and Sanctions. Please refer to some real philosophers, among others the whole Treatise on Law by Saint Thomas Aquinas [Ia-IIae, q. 90 et al.], and Thonnard). In the meantime, here is my best attempt at a quick primer.

2) Laws and Sanctions are vastly insufficient substitutes for virtue

Right from the start, we have to realize that Laws and Sanctions are a bit like "crutches" for the two "legs" of human action: the reason and the will. If your reason is somehow not able to show you clearly what you should do, laws are supposed to support it. In the same way, if your will is not fully capable of making you do your duty, sanctions are supposed to support it. (We say "supposed" because Law and Sanctions can fail. For example, a human law can be unjust, or a sanction poorly enforced or inappropriate, etc.)

We are all more or less aware of this intrinsic insufficiency of Laws and Sanctions. Suppose for example that you are driving in the residential area of a brand-new town, in a brand-new country which hasn't had time yet to enact a Traffic Regulation Act. There might not even be a law forcing you to drive slowly through a residential area, but you will think that driving fast is not a good idea, that "it just makes sense" to avoid speeding. You won't need big traffic signs ordering you to drive slowly.

In the same way, after your reason has shown you that speeding in a residential area is bad, your will probably will make you slow down, even though there are no speeding fines or policemen in that country yet. You won't need to be threatened by sanctions to act well.

This is because, in a limited way, your two "legs" (your reason and your will) are "strong enough" to make you act well. As you probably know, "virtue" comes from a word meaning "strength" or "force", and your reason and will are being strengthened by the virtues of Prudence and Justice.

If we were all perfectly prudent and just, as soon as we were born, we wouldn't need Laws and Sanctions.

3) A law is the conclusion of a prudential poly-syllogism

Let's take a simple example of a law: "Thou shalt not stick a fork in the electrical outlet!" Why do mothers of young children "enact" such laws? Because the reason of a young child is not normally capable of generating what is technically known as a "prudential poly-syllogism". Let's look at an informal example of such a beast:

Men are made for happiness, so they have to act in a way that will make them attain this goal (happiness), or at least get them closer to it. If you cease to live, apparently you cannot be happy, so normally we should try to avoid death.

Now, bringing a metallic object (such as an eating implement called a "fork") into contact with a terminal of an electrical outlet carrying the electromagnetic sine-wave of 120V at 60Hz has many possible outcomes. If the terminal that is touched is the Ground or Neutral, no observable effects will occur. If the terminal is the actual Hot one, then the outcome will depend on the actual circuit established and its ohmic resistance.

If, for example, two prongs of the fork simultaneously touch the Neutral and Hot terminals, a very short circuit of low-ohmic resistance should be established, rapidly exceeding the current-carrying capacity of the fuse or breaker normally in series with this outlet. Often a large spark will occur, along with a partial melting of the fork, and nothing else.

If, on the other hand, only the Hot terminal is touched, and no dielectric substance is interposed between the fork and the person holding it, the circuit established could pass through the body of the person, and exit the body where it contacts a low-voltaic potential and high current-carrying capacity object (such as a wet floor). In such circumstances, a current above 0.10 amperes could put the human heart into a state of fibrillation, stopping blood circulation and rapidly causing infarction of encephalic tissue, leading to death.

Therefore, for very young children, Thou shalt not stick a fork in the electrical outlet.

As you can imagine, this kind of inference takes some skill (and remember it is just an informal summary of a real prudential poly-syllogism). But young children are able to understand and remember only the conclusion of this syllogism! Equipped with this conclusion, with this "crutch" for their reason, they can know how to act in such circumstances!

As I've said, I'm giving you a simplified explanation. There are two other aspects of a law which are implicit in this example, and which complicate things a bit. First of all, the mother teaches this law to her child. How could the child's reason be perfected by this knowledge, if it's never transmitted to him? That is why laws need to be "promulgated", i.e. the citizens need to be notified of it. (For certain laws, like the Natural Law, the promulgation is "automatic" because this Law is "written in our hearts".)

The second implicit aspect is the whole problem of "who makes the law". For a mother and her baby, the answer is obvious. For a whole country, it's "whoever is in charge of the Common Good", but after that things can get more complicated. Still, it's a good start to remember the general definition of a law as "the conclusion of a prudential poly-syllogism, promulgated by the leader for the Common Good".

4) A sanction is a double artificial effect-reduction: reduction of it's "causal distance", and reduction of it's severity

Let's continue with our young child who is immensely attracted to electrical outlets. Providing him with a "crutch" for his reason (a law) might not be sufficent to make him behave. You also have to make that child want to obey the law.

Typically, the mother will do this by artificially modifying the effect of the bad behavior, in order to bring this effect "closer" to the child's will, and also to make this effect far less severe.

In our example, the mother will reduce the "causal distance" by warning the child very sternly that he will get "lots and lots of smack-bottom" if he goes anywhere near a plug with a fork. There is no longer a long chain of events that needs to occur, and there is no longer an uncertainty of the outcome. "Fork near plug" now equals "mucho, mucho pain" for this child. Not only that, but (despite what the child might think), the severity of the outcome has been greatly reduced, from death by electrocution to very temporary, highly localized, and non-threatening pain.

Of course, a mother can often achieve this same result by just talking louder and lowering her voice, but I'm assuming that this first recourse hasn't worked with this child. (I'm not advocating child-beating, but just taking an extreme case to make a point).

Notice also that the "type of causal distance" can vary immensely. For example, it can be "social distance", i.e. the bad behavior hurts somebody else (like a surgeon who botches an operation), or "probability distance", i.e. the bad behavior has a relatively small chance of causing serious harm (like a teenager driving while drunk), or "spiritual distance", i.e. the bad behavior doesn't cause visible, bodily damage, even though it causes great non-physical harm (like a man treating a woman like an object), etc.

5) Conclusion

This overly-brief introduction to the topic of laws and sanctions is not enough to guide you through life, so don't stop reading good Philosophy books (even though you might not currently see the rationale behind this conclusion of a prudential poly-syllogism!).

| Home >> Philosophy

| Accueil >> Philosophie

Les Deux béquilles de l'agir humain: la loi et les sanctions

Thomas Gainsborough. Les filles du peintre, Marguerite et Marie, qui poursuivent un papillon.
(Thomas Gainsborough. The Painter's Daughters, Margaret and Mary, Chasing Butterfly. Source)

1) Introduction

Qu'est-ce qu'une loi? Pourquoi avons-nous des sanctions (ou des punitions et des récompenses)?

Je n'ai ni le temps ni l'expertise pour vous donner une explication complète des lois et des sanctions. Veuillez vous référer à de vrais philosophes, entre autres tout le Traité sur la loi de saint Thomas d'Aquin [Ia-IIae, q. 90 et suiv.], et Thonnard). En attendant, voici voici ma meilleure tentative de vous donner quelques rudiments.

2) Les lois et les sanctions sont des succédanés vastement insuffisants pour la vertu

Dès le départ, nous devons nous rendre compte que les lois et les sanctions sont un peu comme des «béquilles» pour les deux «jambes» de l'agir humain: la raison et la volonté. Si votre raison n'est pas capable de vous montrer clairement ce que vous devriez faire, les lois sont supposées la soutenir. De la même manière, si votre volonté n'est pas tout à fait capable de vous faire faire votre devoir, les sanctions sont supposées l'appuyer. (On dit «supposé» parce que les lois et les sanctions peuvent défaillir. Par exemple une loi humaine peut être injuste, ou une sanction peut être mal appliquée ou inappropriée, etc.)

Nous sommes tous plus ou moins conscients de cette insuffisance intrinsèque des lois et des sanctions. Supposons par exemple que vous conduisez dans un quartier résidentiel d'une toute nouvelle ville, située dans un pays flambant neuf qui n'a même pas eu le temps de promulguer un Code de la route. Il n'y a peut-être pas de loi qui vous force à conduire lentement dans un quartier résidentiel, mais vous allez penser que conduire vite n'est pas une bonne idée, que «cela a du sens» d'éviter de faire de la vitesse. Vous n'aurez pas besoin de grosses affiches vous ordonnant de conduire lentement.

De la même manière, après que votre raison vous ait montré que faire de la vitesse dans un quartier résidentiel était mauvais, votre volonté va probablement vous faire ralentir, même s'il n'y a pas encore d'amendes ou de policiers dans ce pays. Vous n'aurez pas besoin de vous faire menacer par des punitions pour agir bien.

C'est parce que, d'une manière restreinte, vos deux «jambes» (votre raison et votre volonté) sont «assez fortes» pour vous faire agir bien. Comme vous le savez probablement, le mot «vertu» vient d'un mot qui signifie «force», et votre raison et votre volonté se font fortifier par les vertus de Prudence ou «Butance» et de Justice.

Si nous étions tous parfaitement «butants» et justes, dès notre naissance, nous n'aurions pas besoin des lois et des sanctions.

3) Une loi est la conclusion d'un poly-syllogisme «butanciel» (ou prudentiel)

Prenons un exemple de loi: «Tu ne piqueras pas une fourchette dans une prise électrique!» Pourquoi les mères de jeunes enfants «promulguent-elles» de telles lois? Parce que la raison d'un jeune enfant n'est pas normalement capable de produire ce qu'on appelle techniquement un «poly-syllogisme butanciel». Considérons un exemple informel d'une telle bestiole:

Les hommes sont fait pour le bonheur, alors ils doivent agir de manière à leur faire atteindre ce but (le bonheur), ou du moins de s'en rapprocher. Si on cesse de vivre, apparemment on ne peut pas être heureux, alors normalement on devrait essayer d'éviter la mort.

Or, toucher avec un objet métallique (comme un ustensile communément appelé «fourchette») une borne d'une prise électrique, qui transporte la sinusoïdale électromagnétique de 120V à 60Hz, peut avoir plusieurs résultats. Si la borne qu'on touche est la Masse ou le Neutre, aucun effet observable ne se produira. Si la borne est celle sous Tension, alors le résultat va dépendre du circuit qui sera établi, ainsi que de sa résistance ohmique.

Par exemple, si deux broches de la fourchette touchent simultanément les bornes Tension et Neutre, un très court circuit de faible résistance ohmique devrait s'établir, ce qui dépassera rapidement la capacité de transport de courant du fusible ou disjoncteur normalement en série avec cette prise. Souvent, une grosse étincelle se produira, de même qu'une fusion partielle de la fourchette, et rien d'autre.

Si, par contre, seul la borne Tension est touchée, et qu'aucune matière diélectrique s'interpose entre la fourchette et la personne qui la tient, le circuit établi pourrait passer au travers du corps de la personne, et quitter le corps là où il entre en contact avec un objet ayant un faible potentiel voltaïque et une bonne capacité de transport de courant (comme un plancher mouillé). Dans de telles circonstances, un courant de plus de 0,10 ampères pourrait placer le coeur humain en état de fibrillation, arrêtant la circulation sanguine et causant rapidement l'infarction des tissus encéphaliques, conduisant au décès.

Donc, pour les très jeunes enfants, Tu ne piqueras pas une fourchette dans une prise électrique!

Comme vous pouvez vous l'imaginer, ce genre de raisonnement exige une certaine habileté (et n'oubliez pas que ce n'est qu'un résumé d'un vrai poly-syllogisme butanciel). Mais les jeunes enfants sont capables de comprendre et retenir seulement la conclusion de ce syllogisme! Équipés d'une telle conclusion, avec cette «béquille» pour leur raison, ils peuvent savoir comment agir dans de telles circonstances!

Comme je l'ai dit, je vous donne une explication simplifiée. Il y a deux autres aspects de la loi qui sont implicites dans cet exemple, et qui viennent compliquer les choses un peu. D'abord, la mère enseigne cette loi à son enfant. Comment la raison de l'enfant pourrait-elle être perfectionnée par cette connaissance, si elle ne lui était jamais transmise? C'est pourquoi les lois doivent être «promulguées», c'est-à-dire que les citoyens doivent être avertis de leur existence. (Pour certaines lois, comme la Loi naturelle, la promulgation est «automatique» parce que cette Loi est «écrite dans nos coeurs».)

Le deuxième aspect implicite est tout le problème de «qui fait la loi». Pour une mère et son enfant, la réponse est évidente. Pour tout un pays, c'est «quiconque est responsable du Bien commun», mais après ça les choses peuvent se compliquer. Néanmoins, c'est quand même un bon commencement de se rappeler la définition générale d'une loi comme «la conclusion d'un poly-syllogisme butanciel, promulgué par le chef en vue du Bien commun».

4) Une sanction est une double réduction d'effet artificielle: réduction de sa «distance causale», et réduction de sa gravité

Continuons avec notre jeune enfant qui est irrésistiblement attiré par les prises électriques. Lui fournir une «béquille» pour sa raison (une loi) pourrait ne pas être suffisant pour qu'il cesse d'être malcommode. Il faut aussi s'arranger pour que cet enfant veuille obéir à la loi.

Typiquement, la mère s'y prendra en modifiant artificiellement l'effet du mauvais comportement de manière à le «rapprocher» de la volonté de l'enfant, et aussi pour diminuer la gravité de cet effet.

Dans notre exemple, la mère va réduire la «distance causale» en avertissant très sévèrement l'enfant qu'il aura «beaucoup, beaucoup de grosses tapes sur les foufounes» s'il ose même s'approcher d'une prise avec une fourchette. Il n'est plus nécessaire qu'un long enchaînement d'événements se produise, et il n'y a plus d'incertitude sur le résultat. «Fourchette près d'une prise» est maintenant égal à «ouille! ouille! mes foufounes!» pour cet enfant. Non seulement ça, mais (quoi qu'en pense l'enfant), la gravité du résultat a été grandement diminué, passant de la mort par électrocution, à une douleur très temporaire, très localisée, et non menaçante.

Bien sûr, une mère peut souvent en arriver au même résultat simplement en parlant plus fort et en baissant le ton de sa voix, mais je présume que ce premier recours n'a pas fonctionné avec cet enfant. (Je ne fais pas la promotion des sévices exercés sur les enfants, mais je prends seulement un cas extrême pour des raisons pédagogiques).

Remarquez aussi que le «type de distance causale» est très variable. Par exemple, ça peut être la «distance sociale», c'est-à-dire que le mauvais comportement fait du tort à quelqu'un d'autre (comme un chirurgien qui bâcle une opération), ou une «distance de probabilité», c'est-à-dire que le mauvais comportement a une probabilité relativement faible de faire du tort à quelqu'un (comme un adolescent qui conduit en état d'ébriété), ou une «distance spirituelle», c'est-à-dire que le mauvais comportement ne cause pas un dommage visible et physique, même s'il cause un grand tort non physique (comme un homme qui traite une femme comme un objet), etc.

5) Conclusion

Cette trop brève introduction au sujet des lois et des sanctions n'est pas suffisante pour vous guider durant le reste de votre vie, alors n'arrêtez pas de lire des bons livres de philosophie (même si vous ne voyez pas pour l'instant le bien-fondé de cette conclusion d'un poly-syllogisme butanciel!).

| Accueil >> Philosophie