| Home >> Lost Sermons

Culture, Custom, Tradition

Ange-Louis Janet. France illuminating the world.
Take the torch of tradition, to illuminate yourselves with reason.
(Ange-Louis Janet. La France illuminant le Monde. [Source])

1) Introduction

The Media constantly bombards our ears with expressions like "our cultural identity", or "the enrichment caused by contact with other cultures", or "we have to protect our culture", etc. But what does the word "culture" mean?

First, a few disclaimers. I'm far from an expert on the topic. Moreover, vague and fashionable words like "culture" can often have many meanings, without one being officially better than the other. And I'm not the Oxford English Dictionary!

2) Culture-custom or culture-tradition?

In my opinion, the word "culture" has at least two meanings: "culture-custom" and "culture-tradition". "Culture-custom" is "We've always done it that way, so let's continue". The "weight" of a custom is only composed of the inertia of habits.

"Culture-tradition" is more complicated. Tradition has all the weight of a custom, but there is something more. Not only "have we always done things this way", but on top of that there is a good reason to do things like that!

3) Should we always respect other people's cultures?

This distinction between "culture-custom" and "culture-tradition" is very important for the Catholic Church. Indeed, the Church is sometimes confronted with cultures at least partially incompatible with the Gospel. For example, the culture of Aztec indians included, since time immemorial, human sacrifices. Ripping out the guts of poor innocent persons, in order to "apease the gods", was part of the cultural identity of this people, of its history, of its fundamental values.

Except this was a completely crazy "culture-custom". There was no reason justifying this practice. God doesn't drink human blood, and if you want good harvests, it's more logical to make these poor innocents work to install a modern irrigation system, rather than gutting them and throwing them down a long stairway. The Catholic missionaries who taught these indians to reject that "culture-custom" were perfectly right to do so. They didn't respect this culture, fortunately!

If you're too bogged down in political correctness to be able to digest the example of Aztec indians, take another example. Suppose you're a green missionary, and you must "evangelize" the USA. You'll observe that the "culture of the automobile" is dominant, that for many generations, car tires have been going round and round on the asphalt, while the US economy goes round and round around cars, and Nature goes round in a downward spiral towards disaster. Will these natives suffer cultural shock if you try to convert them to the bicycle? Yes, but you'll do well to convert them. Their "culture-custom" is not reasonable.

4) Is Jesus a custom?

Putting a Crucifix in a public place is not a "culture-custom". There are good reasons to keep the tradition of Crucifixes in our public spaces, even if most Quebecers became non-Christians. See: A Crucifix For Pagans?

Moreover, Jesus is not a "culture-custom". Even if no inhabitant of Quebec were Catholic, it would still be good to convert them all to Catholicism. Without Jesus, we are spiritually blind men who aimlessly walk in a completely dark room. Without Jesus, we are condemned to a painful life here on Earth, and to an eternity of suffering in Hell:

All men having lost innocence in Adam's prevarication [Rm 5:12; 1Co15:22], "having become impure" [Is 64:6] and [...] "children of wrath by nature" [Ep 2:3] [...], they were so "slaves of sin" [Rm 6:20] and under the power of the Devil and death, that not only Pagans, by the force of nature, but also Jews, by the very letter of Moses' Law, could not liberate themselves or get out of this state, even if free will was by no means extinguished in them, even though it was weakened and deviated in its force.

Whereupon the heavenly Father, "Father of mercies and God of all consolation" [2Co 1:3], sent to men Jesus Christ His Son, announced and promised both before the Law and during the time of the Law to many holy Fathers [Gn 49:10-18], when came this blessed "fulness of time" [Ep 1:10; Ga 4:4], so that, on the one hand, "He might redeem the Jews subject to the Law" [Ga 4:5] and that on the other hand, "the Pagans who did not seek justice, would attain justice" [Rm 9:30], and that all would receive filial adoption [Ga 4:5]. It is He whom "God set forth as propitiatory victim, through Faith, by His blood" [Rm 3:25] "for our sins, and not for our sins only but for those of the whole world" [1Jn 2:2].
[Council of Trent, 6th Ses., decree on Justification, Dz 1521-1522]

5) Conclusion

Maybe you have the custom of always using the word "culture". Take rather the torch of tradition, to illuminate yourself with reason.

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Culture, coutume, tradition

Ange-Louis Janet. La France illuminant le Monde.
Prenez la torche de la tradition, pour vous illuminer avec la raison.
(Ange-Louis Janet. La France illuminant le Monde. [Source])

1) Introduction

Les médias nous rabotent constamment les oreilles avec des expressions comme «notre identité culturelle», ou «les richesses des autres cultures», ou «il faut sauvegarder notre culture», etc. Mais que veut dire le mot «culture»?

D'abord, quelques mises-en-garde. Je suis loin d'être un expert en la matière. De plus, les mots vagues et à la mode comme «culture» peuvent souvent avoir plusieurs significations, sans qu'il y en ait une qui soit officiellement meilleure que l'autre. Et je ne suis pas l'Académie française!

2) Culture-coutume ou culture-tradition?

Selon moi, le mot «culture» a au moins deux significations: «culture-coutume», et «culture-tradition». La «culture-coutume», c'est «On a toujours fait ça comme ça, alors continuons». Le «poids» d'une coutume n'est composé que de l'inertie des habitudes.

La «culture-tradition» est plus compliquée. La tradition a tout le poids d'une coutume, mais il y a quelque chose de plus. Non seulement «On a toujours fait ça comme ça», mais en plus, il y a une bonne raison pour le faire comme ça!

3) Faut-il respecter la culture des autres?

Cette distinction entre la «culture-coutume», et la «culture-tradition» est très importante pour l'Église catholique. En effet, l'Église est parfois confrontée à des cultures au moins partiellement incompatibles avec l'Évangile. Par exemple, la culture des indiens Aztèques incluait, depuis des temps immémoriaux, les sacrifices humains. Arracher les tripes de pauvres personnes innocentes, afin «d'apaiser les dieux», faisait partie de l'identité culturelle de ce peuple, de son histoire, de ses valeurs fondamentales.

Sauf que c'était une «culture-coutume» complètement cinglée. Il n'y avait pas de raison pour justifier cette pratique. Dieu ne boit pas de sang humain, et si on veut de bonnes récoltes, il est bien plus logique de faire travailler ces pauvres innocents à poser un système d'irrigation moderne, plutôt que de les étriper et de les jeter en bas d'une montée d'escaliers. Les missionnaires catholiques qui ont enseigné aux indiens à rejeter cette «culture-coutume» ont eu parfaitement raison de le faire. Ils n'ont pas respecté cette culture, et heureusement!

Si vous êtes trop embourbés dans la rectitude politique pour pouvoir digérer l'exemple des indiens Aztèques, prenez un autre exemple. Supposez que vous êtes un missionnaire écologique, et que vous devez «évangéliser» les USA. Vous constatez que règne la «culture de l'automobile», que depuis de longues générations, les pneus d'auto tournent en rond sur l'asphalte, l'économie des USA tourne en rond autour de l'auto, et la Nature tourne en spirale déscendante vers la catastrophe. Ces autochtones vont-ils subir un choc culturel si vous tentez de les convertir à la bicyclette? Oui, mais vous faites bien de les convertir. Leur «culture-coutume» n'est pas raisonnable.

4) Jésus est-il une coutume?

Le Crucifix dans les lieux publiques n'est pas une «culture-coutume». Il y a de bonnes raisons pour conserver la tradition des Crucifix dans nos espaces publiques, même si la plupart des Québécois devenaient non-chrétiens. Voir: Un Crucifix pour les païens?

De même, Jésus n'est pas une «culture-coutume». Même si aucun habitant du Québec n'était catholique, il serait quand même bon de tous les convertir au catholicisme. Sans Jésus, nous sommes des aveugles spirituels qui errent dans une chambre plongée dans une obscurité totale. Sans Jésus, nous sommes condamnés à une vie pénible ici sur terre, et à une éternité de souffrances en Enfer:

Tous les hommes ayant perdu l'innocence dans la prévarication d'Adam [Rm 5:12; 1Co15:22], «devenus impurs» [Is 64:6] et [...] «enfants de colère par nature» [Ep 2:3] [...] ils étaient à ce point «esclaves du péché» [Rm 6:20] et sous le pouvoir du Diable et de la mort, que non seulement les païens, par la force de la nature, mais aussi les juifs, par la lettre même de la Loi de Moïse, ne pouvaient se libérer ou se relever de cet état, même si le libre arbitre n'était aucunement éteint en eux, bien qu'affaibli et dévié en sa force.

D'où il arriva que le Père céleste, «Père des miséricordes et Dieu de toute consolation» [2Co 1:3], envoya aux hommes le Christ Jésus, Son Fils, annoncé et promis aussi bien avant la Loi qu'au temps de la Loi à de nombreux saints Pères [Gn 49:10-18], lorsque vint cette bienheureuse «plénitude des temps» [Ep 1:10; Ga 4:4], afin que, d'une part, «Il rachète les juifs sujets de la Loi» [Ga 4:5] et que de l'autre, «les païens qui ne poursuivaient pas de justice, atteignent la justice» [Rm 9:30], et que tous reçoivent l'adoption filiale [Ga 4:5]. C'est Lui que «Dieu a établi victime propitiatoire par Son sang moyennant la Foi» [Rm 3:25] «pour nos péchés, non seulement pour les nôtres, mais aussi pour ceux du monde entier» [1Jn 2:2].
[Concile de Trente, 6e Ses., décret sur la justification, Dz 1521-1522]

5) Conclusion

Peut-être que vous avez coutume de toujours utiliser le mot «culture». Prenez plutôt la torche de la tradition, pour vous illuminer avec la raison.

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus