| Home >> Politics

A Crucifix For Pagans?

Crucis

1) Introduction

We all agree that the State has no business imposing a religion on its citizens. Someday, I have to find or write articles extolling the beauty and appropriateness of a just freedom of religion, and a just autonomy of the State relative to the Church.

Secondly, we also all agree that the State has no business engaging in bad proselytism. Even if the State doesn't force a religion down the throat of its citizens, it can still make their life miserable by constantly insinuating they should "convert".

That being said, a State still has the political responsibility of doing everything it can to edify its citizens. It's impossible to have a healthy State, if all citizens are lazy, stupid, hateful, etc.

This is why in this article, I want to explore the following political question:

"What non-religious reasons would the State have to respectfully encourage non-Christian families to hang a Crucifix in their house?"

For the sake of the argument, let's try to list a few.

2) To fight against "Acute Horizontalitis"

"Acute Horizontalitis" is the social disease which causes the loss of all traces of verticality. It makes lives become totally "horizontal", i.e. we only think of paying the bills, buying food at the grocery store, giving a new coat of paint to the living room, catching the bus to go to work, etc.

There is nothing wrong with such "horizontal" activities! On the contrary, they are necessary! But they have no ultimate meaning in themselves. Whether you are a Christian or not, you must make room in your life for questions which are more "vertical" or "existential", like: "Is there more to life than food, sex, paying taxes, and so on?", or "What makes life worth living?", or "What do my kids need, apart from physical and financial health?", or "Why pain and death?", etc.

Of course, many sophists will try to make you believe that life is only "horizontal", and that asking "vertical" questions is useless (See among others "The Poisoned Pill of Doctor Patch Adams"). Even if that were the case, you would still need to ask yourself: "Is it true that "vertical" questions are useless?", and then make a reasonable inquiry into the topic, which includes hearing both sides of the story. So even in that case, your duty would be to have at least one "vertical" investigation!

A Crucifix, having a horizontal, but also a vertical component, can help remind us that we are more than "horizontal" beings.

3) To teach the difference between oblative and captative love

One of the most important factors in the health of any society is the capacity of its citizens to truely love one another. It isn't much use balancing the State's budget or keeping the hospital waiting lists short if citizens want to strangle each other!

Politicians have many means at their disposal to encourage true love in their country, but none of them are of any use if the average citizen doesn't even know the difference between true love and false love!

True love is sometimes called "oblative love", because you want the loved one to be happy, even if you have to make some sacrifices yourself. False love is called "captative love", because you're only interested in yourself, and willing to disregard or even hurt other persons, if that can get you some base advantage. See also Vive La Différence Between Charity And Emotions Of Love.

A Crucifix reminds us of oblative love, the true love of somebody who was willing to suffer and even die (i.e. "give himself up in oblation") for the good of his fellow citizens.

4) To help us choose the harder but better way

If you think about it, there is only one difference between a poor and polluted country ravaged by civil war, and a rich, healthy and peaceful country. That difference is the daily choices made by all citizens. If you accumulate enough bad choices, made by enough citizens, you can destroy any country.

But what is a good choice? That's a difficult question, but one thing is clear: if the best choice was always the most immediately pleasant one, then everybody would choose well, all the time! What makes choosing difficult is that often we must accept some temporary pain now, in order to gain a better good which is in the future.

We could give endless examples of this. Before you can enjoy playing the piano, you first have to endure an initial learning period in which you won't sound too good. Before you can be at your healthy weight, you have suffer a bit while you improve your eating habits. Before we can enjoy a cleaner, greener environment, we'll have to suffer while we change our economy, so it won't be oriented toward consumption and destruction. Etc, etc.

A Crucifix reminds us that we often need to choose temporary little "deaths" in our lives, if we want to gain more durable "resurrections".

5) To make more honest money

A country cannot help its citizens be humanely happy if nobody makes an honest profit. Money is necessary to pay for schools, hospitals, roads, etc.

As we can show, a country cannot prosper if its citizens do not respect the basic rules of morality. See among others "The Gross National Product And The Ten Commandments".

Definitely, a Crucifix is an excellent reminder of the Ten Commandments.

6) To provide shared metaphors of widsom

Of course, I'm absolutely not saying that the Bible contains only metaphors, or that Christianity is just a culture! As Tertullian said: "Dominus noster Christus veritatem se, non consuetudinem cognominavit" [quoted in Ratzinger, Josef. Introduction to Christianity, San Francisco, Ignatius Press, 2004, p. 141].

Whether you believe the Bible is the Word of God or not, all citizens in a country still need to share a common language of wisdom, so they can communicate effectively. It's somewhat comparable to the story of the "Three Little Pigs", which can teach us about the importance of building well on good foundations, etc.

Few would disagree that the Gospels contain little gems, which can be used to express important snippets of wisdom, so we can teach them and communicate them. Many examples could be given, but let's just list:

6.1) Love of our neighbors (The parable of the Good samaritan, [Lk 10:25]). A man is attacked by robbers and nearly beaten to death. Rich and supposedly holy men pass by without stopping to help. A lowly samaritan does stop, and behaves as a true neighbor to that injured person.

6.2) Forgiveness and Tolerance (The Adulteress, [Jn 8:1]). A crowd gathers to stone a guilty woman, but changes its mind when one who is without sin is invited to throw the first stone.

6.3) Care for the poor (Judgment Day, [Mt 25:31]). God gives us the answers to the "Really Final, Final Exam". Did we give food to those who were hungry? Did we give something to drink to those who were thirsty? Did we take care of the sick? Etc.

(See also Dear Schoolchildren, Here Is Your Homework For Next Week!)

7) Conclusion

An air conditioner is useless if you don't install it in your window, plug it in and turn it on. It's the same thing with a Crucifix: there is no magic involved. If you want it to gradually edify everybody in your house, you have to hang it up in a very visible place, and explain to others what it should remind them of.

A politician, faced with the huge challenge of edifying each citizen individually, while encouraging those same citizens to build themselves a collective identity, must not neglect the effectiveness of the Crucifix.

| Home >> Politics

| Accueil >> Politique

Un Crucifix pour les païens?

Crucis

1) Introduction

Nous sommes tous d'accord que l'État n'a pas d'affaire à imposer une religion à ses citoyens. Un jour, il va falloir que je trouve ou que j'écrive des articles chantant la beauté et la justesse d'une bonne liberté de religion, et d'une juste autonomie de l'État par rapport à l'Église.

Deuxièmement, nous sommes tous d'accord que l'État n'a pas d'affaire à faire du mauvais prosélytisme. Même si un État n'impose pas de religion à ses citoyens, il peut quand même rendre leur vie pénible en insinuant continuellement qu'ils devraient se «convertir».

Cela étant dit, un État a quand même la responsabilité politique de faire tout en son pouvoir pour édifier ses citoyens. C'est impossible d'avoir un État sain, si tous les citoyens sont paresseux, stupides, haïneux, etc.

C'est pourquoi dans cet article je veux explorer la question politique suivante:

«Quelles raisons non-religieuses un État aurait-il pour encourager respectueusement les familles non-chrétiennes à accrocher un Crucifix dans leur maison?»

Pour les fins de la discussion, essayons d'en énumérer quelques-unes.

2) Pour lutter contre l'«Horizontalite aigüe»

L'«Horizontalite aigüe» est la maladie sociale qui cause la perte de toute trace de verticalité. Elle rend les vies totalement «horizontales», c'est-à-dire qu'on ne pense qu'à payer les comptes, à acheter la nourriture à l'épicerie, à donner une nouvelle couche de peinture dans le salon, à ne pas manquer l'autobus pour aller travailler, etc.

Il n'y a rien de mal avec de telles activités «horizontales»! Au contraire, elles sont nécessaires! Mais elles n'ont aucune signification ultime en elles-mêmes. Que vous soyez chrétien ou non, vous devez ménager un espace dans votre vie pour des questions qui sont plus «verticales», ou «existentielles», comme: «La vie est-elle plus que la nourriture, le sexe, les impôts, etc?», ou «Qu'est-ce qui fait que la vie vaut la peine d'être vécue?», ou «De quoi mes enfants ont-ils besoin, à part la santé physique et financière?», ou «Pourquoi la souffrance et la mort?», etc.

Bien sûr, plusieurs sophistes vont essayer de vous faire croire que la vie n'est qu'«horizontale», et que de poser des questions «verticales» est une perte de temps (Voir entre autres La pilule empoisonnée du Docteur Patch Adams). Même si c'était le cas, vous auriez encore besoin de vous demander: «Est-ce vrai que les questions verticales sont inutiles?», et ensuite faire un effort raisonnable pour élucider cette question, ce qui inclut l'exigence de regarder les deux côtés de la médaille. Alors même dans ce cas, votre devoir serait d'avoir au moins un questionnement «vertical»!

Un Crucifix, ayant une composante horizontale, mais aussi une composante verticale, peut nous aider à nous rappeler que nous sommes plus que des êtres «horizontaux».

3) Pour enseigner la différence entre l'amour oblatif et l'amour captatif

Un des facteurs les plus importants pour la santé de toute société est la capacité des citoyens de s'aimer vraiment les uns les autres. Il ne sert pas à grand chose d'équilibrer le budget de l'État, ou de raccourcir les files d'attente des hôpitaux, si les citoyens veulent s'entre-déchirer!

Les politiciens ont plusieurs moyens à leur disposition pour encourager l'amour vrai dans leur pays, mais aucun de ces moyens n'est utile si le citoyen moyen ne connaît même pas la différence entre l'amour vrai, et l'amour faux!

L'amour vrai est parfois appelé «amour oblatif», parce qu'on veut que la personne aimée soit heureuse, même si on doit faire certains sacrifices pour cela. L'amour faux est appelé «amour captatif», parce qu'on s'intéresse seulement à soi-même, et qu'on est prêt à négliger, et même blesser les autres, si cela peut nous procurer un quelconque vil avantage. Voir aussi Vive la différence entre la charité et les émotions amoureuses.

Un Crucifix nous rappelle l'amour oblatif, l'amour vrai de quelqu'un qui a voulu souffrir et même mourir (c'est-à-dire «se donner en oblation») pour le bien de ses concitoyens.

4) Pour nous aider à choisir la voie plus difficile, mais meilleure

Pensez-y: quelle est la seule différence entre un pays pauvre, pollué et déchiré par la guerre civile, et un pays riche, en santé et en paix? La différence se trouve dans les choix quotidiens faits par les citoyens. Si vous accumulez suffisamment de mauvais choix, fait par suffisamment de citoyens, vous pouvez détruire n'importe quel pays.

Mais qu'est-ce qu'un bon choix? Voilà une question difficile, mais une chose est certaine: si le meilleur choix était toujours le plus immédiatement plaisant, tout le monde choisirait bien, tout le temps! Ce qui rend les choix difficiles, c'est qu'on doit souvent accepter une douleur temporaire maintenant, afin d'obtenir un bien supérieur dans l'avenir.

On pourrait en donner d'abondants exemples. Avant d'apprendre à jouer au piano, vous devez d'abord endurer une période d'apprentissage initiale durant laquelle vous ne serez pas très agréable à écouter. Avant d'atteindre votre poids-santé, vous devez souffrir un peu pendant que vous améliorez vous habitudes alimentaires. Avant que nous puissions jouir d'un environement plus propre et plus vert, nous aurons à souffrir pendant qu'on changera notre économie, pour qu'elle ne soit plus orientée vers la consommation et la destruction. Etc., etc.

Un Crucifix nous rappelle que souvent on doit choisir des petites «morts» temporaires dans nos vies, si on veut obtenir des «résurrections» plus durables.

5) Pour faire plus d'argent honnêtement

Un pays ne peut pas aider ses citoyens à être humainement heureux si personne ne fait de profits honnêtes. L'argent est nécessaire pour payer les écoles, les hôpitaux, les routes, etc.

Comme on peut le montrer, un pays ne peut pas être prospère si ces citoyens ne respectent pas les règles élémentaires de la morale. Voir entre autres «Le Produit national brut et les Dix commandements».

Assurément, un Crucifix est une manière excellente de se souvenir des Dix commandements.

6) Pour fournir des métaphores communes de la sagesse

Bien sûr, je ne suis absolument pas en train de dire que la Bible ne contient que des métaphores, ou que le christianisme n'est qu'une culture! Comme Tertullien l'a dit: «Dominus noster Christus veritatem se, non consuetudinem cognominavit» [cité dans Ratzinger, Josef. Introduction to Christianity, San Francisco, Ignatius Press, 2004, p. 141].

Que vous croyiez ou non que la Bible est la Parole de Dieu, il demeure que tous les citoyens dans un pays doivent partager une langue commune de la sagesse, pour qu'ils puissent communiquer efficacement. C'est un peu comme l'histoire des «Trois petits cochons», qui nous enseigne l'importance de bien bâtir sur des fondations solides, etc.

La plupart des gens seraient d'accord pour dire que les Évangiles contiennent des petites perles, qui peuvent servir à exprimer des morceaux importants de sagesse afin de les enseigner et de les communiquer. On pourrait donner plusieurs exemples, mais disons seulement:

6.1) L'amour du prochain (La parabole du Bon Samaritain, [Lc 10:25]). Un homme est attaqué par des bandits et battu presque à mort. Des hommes riches et supposément saints passent leur chemin sans arrêter. Un simple Samaritain, lui, s'arrête et se comporte comme un vrai prochain pour ce blessé.

6.2) Le pardon et la tolérance (La femme adultère, [Jn 8:1]). Une foule se rassemble pour lapider une femme coupable, mais change d'idée lorsque celui qui est sans péché se fait inviter à lancer la première pierre.

6.3) Le souci de soulager les pauvres (Le Jugement dernier, [Mt 25:31]). Dieu nous donne les réponses à «l'examen vraiment, vraiment final». Avons-nous donné à manger à ceux qui avaient faim? Avons-nous donné à boire à ceux qui avaient soif? Avons-nous soigné les malades? Etc.

(Voir aussi Chers écoliers, voici votre devoir pour la semaine prochaine!)

7) Conclusion

Un climatiseur ne sert à rien si vous ne l'installez pas dans votre fenêtre, et que vous ne le branchez pas et ne l'allumez pas. C'est la même chose avec un Crucifix: il n'y a rien de magique là-dedans. Si vous voulez graduellement édifier tout le monde dans la maisonnée, vous devez l'accrocher à un endroit bien en vue, et expliquer aux autres ce qu'il devrait leur rappeler.

Un politicien, placé devant l'immense défi d'édifier chaque citoyen individuellement, tout en encourageant ces mêmes citoyens à se bâtir une identité collective, ne doit pas négliger l'efficacité du Crucifix.

| Accueil >> Politique