| Home >> Politics

The Gross National Product And The Ten Commandments

Guido Reni. Moses and the Tables of the Law.
(Guido Reni. Moses and the Tables of the Law. Source)

1) Introduction

What relationship is there between the GNP of a country (the "Gross National Product", i.e. a way of measuring economic prosperity) and the Ten Commandments that God gave to Moses on Mount Sinai)? Why do some persons claim respect for the Ten Commandments is a necessary but not sufficient condition for economic prosperity? Should we even mention the Ten Commandments in Politics?

2) The Ten Commandments: Summary of Morality accessible to reason

First of all, despite the unbelievable lack of culture of some journalists, the Ten Commandments are not something purely religious. On the contrary, they are a summary of Natural Law.

The Bible talks about the Ten Commandments, but it's a bit as if the Bible talked about mathematics! If the Bible said that "2+2=4", should the Government change all its accounting methods? No, of course! (But then, why do the Ten Commandments "repeat" the conclusions of the Science of Ethics? The answer to this question would take us outside of Politics and into Theology, so we won't deal with it here. See among others CCC #2070, etc.).

3) Economic activity is human, and therefore moral

Economic activity is fundamentally a human activity. Despite some jokes, it's not the bacteria that prepare meals in a restaurant, it's the cook. Moreover, it's not potted plants in the office of the boss that make decisions, but a man.

But human activity is moral, because of the very definition of "moral". Acting humanly, strictly speaking, is acting with one's reason and one's will. When we act, we try to reach some good (sometimes only an apparent good, unfortunately). We can of course imagine a situation where an abstract man would act without us being able to talk about good or evil (like bending down to pick up a straw), but in reality, concretely, each one of our truly human acts tends toward some good or some evil. We can therefore say that all economic activities are also moral activities.

4) Examples of micro-economic damages caused by immorality

Hot crossed buns
Hot crossed buns (Source)

How can the economy by harmed by disrespect for the Ten Commandments? Let's start by looking from a rather "micro-economic" point of view. Let's imagine you're in business, and that you have a small store that sells, let's say, hot crossed buns (little breads made with milk, associated with the day Jesus was crucified, i.e. Good Friday). What would happen if people around you stopped respecting the Ten Commandments?

4.2) "Thou shalt not take the Name of the Lord in vain". The Second Commandment says we have to respect our promises (including the most solemn promises, when we take God as a witness, i.e. when we swear on the Lord's Name). For example, what will happen to your hot crossed buns if one of your employees promises he'll take them out of the oven in one hour, but he doesn't keep his promises? Your buns, and your profits, will go up in smoke! As another example, think of your money deposited at the bank. A deposit, by definition, is entrusting something to someone, because they promise they will give it back to us intact when we'll ask for it!

4.3) "Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day". The Third Commandment tells us among others to respect Sunday as a day of rest. What will happen to your hot crossed buns, if you force your employees to work every day, without giving them rest on Sunday? Of course, physically and mentally exhausted people will make inferior-quality buns!

4.4) "Honor your father and your mother". The Fourth Commandment orders us to respect our superiors (firstly our parents, but by extension our teachers, our political leaders, our bosses, etc.). How can you make good hot crossed buns, if your employees are insolent? If you ask them to wash their hands after going to the bathroom, before they start kneading the dough, they will mock you. If you ask them to be polite to the customers, they will tell you to go take a flying leap, etc.

4.5) "Thou shalt not kill". The Fifth Commandment has an obvious meaning: if your clients are busy killing each other, you'll have less buyers for your buns! But this Commandment also includes everything which leads to death, like the destruction of the environment. How can you make a profit selling hot crossed buns, if you can't buy any flour, or milk, or raisins, because the agricultural sector is ravaged by pollution?

4.6) "Thou shalt not commit adultery". The Sixth Commandment forbids attacks on the family. Of course, men are not just cogs in the economy, but the economy still needs "cogs"! Honest, hard-working, educated and stable employees (and clients!) are "manufactured" by good, loving, stable families.

4.7) "Thou shalt not steal". The Commandment most obviously related to the economy is the Seventh. If your customers take your hot crossed buns without paying, you'll go bankrupt quite fast! Moreover, you'll also go bankrupt if your employees steal lots of flour from the kitchen, or if they steal minutes of work by arriving late, by leaving early, and by working slowly and badly, etc.

4.8) "Thou shalt not bear false witness". The Eighth Commandment forbids us to lie (including lying to a court of justice, since false witness is the worst lie). Your store that sells hot crossed buns can easily go bankrupt, if you're constantly being sued because of false accusations! But even far from the courts, lies can still destroy your small business. For example, imagine if an evil client started to spread the rumor that some of your buns were poisoned! And don't forget the immense category of lies told to clients! Dig into your memories: have you ever stopped going to a store, because the owner lied to you? (Maybe a lie like: "Yes, yes, mister customer, it's an excellent product! It will never break! And moreover, it has a wall-to-wall guarantee!")

4.9) "Thou shalt not covet your neighbor's wife". The Ninth Commandment in a way repeats the Sixth, and therefore has all its importance to protect the economy from threats against the family. Except the Ninth targets the source of these threats: the heart of man filled with carnal cravings. Think about it. Have you ever calculated all the time and money that is wasted on pornographic movies, immoral video games, etc.? Imagine if all of those efforts were invested into developing clean energy sources, or improving mass transit, or raising the level of schooling of all workers, etc.

4.10) "Thou shalt not covet anything which belongs to your neighbor". The Tenth Commandment is similar to the Ninth, in that it repeats in a way another Commandment (this time the Seventh). It too targets the source of the problem: the heart of man filled with material cravings. An old joke says that: "A Capitalist doesn't enjoy, he invests". Seriously, if the owner of the hot crossed buns store dedicates his life to material goods, then his store will go bankrupt! Instead of investing to buy new bread-making machines, he'll take holidays in the South! Instead of paying decent salaries to his employees, he'll buy a luxury car! Instead of taking a course on the new bread-making technologies, he'll buy himself a fancy ring, etc.

5) Examples of macro-economic damages caused by immorality

Macro-economics
Macro-economics (Source)

We can study the harm done to the economy, but from a more "macro-economic" point of view. In other words, we can look at the harm caused by disobedience to the Ten Commandments, but citizen after citizen, day after day, city after city, etc.! Let's look at a few Commandments:

5.2) "Thou shalt not take the Name of the Lord in vain". We've already seen that the Second Commandment tells us to keep our promises. But if we think about it, we can see the economy (and the whole country!) totally depends on respected promises. Indeed, a society is a "moral being", and not a physical being. A physical being (like a chimney) is made of bricks, but a moral being is built up of resolutions (who are themselves the foundation of trust, promises, contracts, etc.).

5.3) "Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day". The Thirds Commandment doesn't just tell us to rest on Sunday. It's like a milestone, a limit, a lighthouse that reminds all society: "No, money isn't everything, there's more to life than the routine of work!" In other words, it reminds us that the economy exists for men, not men for the economy. And if you study history, you'll see all the harm caused by this "priority inversion", when men are sacrificed on the altar of the Economy...

5.4) "Honor your father and your mother". Respect for superiors, of which the Fourth Commandment speaks, also applies to all of society. Anarchy is almost synonymous with "destroyed country" (and hence destroyed economy), and anarchy is precisely this general rejection of authority.

5.6) "Thou shalt not commit adultery". Attacks on the family, forbidden by the Sixth Commandment, can obviously destroy a country (and its economy along the way). If families are under attack because of abortion, contraception, extra-marital sex, the glorification of pseudo-marriages, etc., then eventually a country's economy will suffer from a labor shortage, and what workers will be available will be of lower quality. (If you don't believe me, come and visit the Province of Quebec...)

5.7) "Thou shalt not steal". It's not just people who take hot crossed buns without paying who can steal! A government can rob a whole people! A government can rob its citizens in obvious ways, like for example with a crushing tax burden, or by having a fire sale of natural resources to foreigners who will exploit them in a non-sustainable way, etc. But the government can also steal in a more underhanded way, for example by printing too many banknotes. Suppose the government wants to steal your money in your bank account, does it need to hold-up your bank? No, it just needs to push on a button to start the big printer! You can get up one morning, and your money in the bank will be worth half less, or even nothing at all! A famous economist John Maynard Keynes, reportedly said: "There is no more positive, or subtle or surer means of destroying the existing basis of society than to debauch the currency. By a continuing process of inflation, governments can confiscate, secretely and unobserved, an important part of the wealth of the citizens."

5.8) "Thou shalt not bear false witness". Lies forbidden by the Eight Commandment aren't limited to what your clients or your employees can say! The government also can lie to all its citizens! To use the same example here above on inflation, the government can try to hide its corruption by fiddling with the statistics, in order to make citizens believe it's governing well. Let's take the example of the CPI ("Consumer Price Index"). The CPI is used to measure inflation, but the government can keep it apparently low by playing with the principles of substitution, weighing and hedonics. In reality, inflation remains the same, but it's camouflaged with statistical lipstick. Same thing with the unemployment rate, if for example the goverment stops counting all the discouraged people who are not even looking for a job anymore. Other accounting tricks can let the government claim the GNP is increasing, even though it's actually leveling off or even going down.

5.10) "Thou shalt not covet anything which belongs to your neighbor". Think of all the economies (and the human lives!) destroyed by wars, because one country coveted the wealth of another country! (Remember oil can be considered a source of wealth in certain periods of mankind's history...)

5.1) "Thou shalt not have other gods besides Me". I put the First Commandement last in this article, because it's the foundation for all other Commandements. (See If God Is Dead, Nothing Is Forbidden.)

(Sections 5.7 and 5.8 here above are largely taken from "The Crash Course" by Chris Martenson.)

6) Conclusion

After reading this, some people will say:

"Yes but, we don't need the Bible to understand these negative impacts on the GNP! It's just common sense!"

But that's exactly what I'm saying, and what the Catholic Church has always taught! The Ten Commandments are an overview of Natural Law, it's not something only religious, even if the Catholic religion talks about it. People who say otherwise just violate the Eighth Commandment!

| Home >> Politics

| Accueil >> Politique

Le Produit national brut et les Dix commandements

Guido Reni. Moïse et les Tables de la Loi.
(Guido Reni. Moïse et les Tables de la Loi. Source)

1) Introduction

Quel est le rapport entre le PNB d'un pays (le «Produit National Brut», c'est-à-dire une façon de mesurer la prospérité d'une économie) et les Dix commandements que Dieu a donné à Moïse sur le Mont Sinaï? Pourquoi certaines personnes prétendent-elles que le respect des Dix commandements est la condition nécessaire mais non suffisante de la prospérité économique d'un pays? Devrait-on même parler des Dix commandements en politique?

2) Les Dix commandements: résumé de la morale accessible à la raison

Tout d'abord, malgré l'incroyable inculture de certains journalistes, les Dix commandements ne sont pas quelque chose de purement religieux. Au contraire, ils sont un résumé de la Loi naturelle.

La Bible parle des Dix commandements, mais c'est un peu comme si la Bible parlait des mathématiques! Si la Bible disait que «2+2=4», le Gouvernement devrait-il changer toutes ses méthodes de comptabilité? Non, bien sûr! (Mais alors, pourquoi les Dix commandements «répètent-ils» les conclusions de la science éthique? La réponse à cette question sort du domaine de la Politique pour entrer dans celui de la Théologie, alors nous n'en parlerons pas ici. Voir entre autres CÉC, N° 2070, etc.)

3) L'activité économique est une activité humaine, donc morale

L'activité économique est fondamentalement une activité humaine. Même si on fait des blagues à ce sujet, il demeure que ce ne sont pas des bactéries qui préparent les repas dans un restaurant, c'est le cuisinier. De plus, ce ne sont pas les plantes en pot dans le bureau du patron qui prennent les décisions, mais bien un homme.

Or, l'activité humaine est morale, de par la définition de «morale». Agir humainement, strictement parlant, c'est agir avec sa raison et sa volonté. Lorsqu'on agit, on cherche à atteindre un bien (parfois seulement apparent, malheureusement). On peut bien sûr imaginer une situation où un homme abstrait agirait sans qu'on puisse parler de bien ou de mal (comme se pencher pour ramasser une brindille), mais en réalité, dans le concret, chacun de nos actes vraiment humains tend vers un bien ou un mal. On peut donc dire que toute activité économique est aussi une activité morale.

4) Exemples de dommages micro-économiques causés par l'immoralité

Brioches du Vendredi Saint
Brioches du Vendredi Saint (Source)

Comment peut-on endommager l'économie en violant les Dix Commandements? Commençons par regarder d'un point de vue plutôt «micro-économique». Imaginons que vous êtes en affaires, et que vous avez un petit magasin qui vend, disons, des brioches du Vendredi Saint (une sorte de petit pain au lait associé au jour de la crucifixion de Jésus). Qu'arriverait-il si les gens autour de vous cessaient de respecter les Dix Commandements?

4.2) «Tu ne prononceras pas le Nom du Seigneur à faux». Le Deuxième Commandement dit qu'il faut respecter nos promesses (incluant les promesses les plus solennelles, lorsqu'on prend Dieu à témoin, c'est-à-dire qu'on «jure sur le Nom du Seigneur»). Par exemples, qu'arrivera-t-il à vos brioches du Vendredi Saint, si un de vos employés vous promet qu'il va les sortir du four dans une heure, mais qu'il ne tient pas sa promesse? Vos pains, et vos profits, vont s'envoler en fumée! Comme autre exemple, pensez à votre argent déposé à la banque. Un dépôt, par définition, c'est confier quelque chose à quelqu'un, parce qu'il nous promet qu'il va nous le redonner intact lorsqu'on va le redemander!

4.3) «Observe le jour du Sabbat pour le sanctifier». Le Troisième Commandement nous dit entre autres de respecter le repos du dimanche. Qu'arrivera-t-il à vos brioches du Vendredi Saint, si vous faites travailler vos employés à chaque jour, sans leur accorder le repos du Dimanche? Bien sûr, des gens épuisés physiquement et mentalement vont faire des brioches de qualité inférieure!

4.4) «Honore ton père et ta mère». Le Quatrième Commandement nous ordonne de respecter nos supérieurs (d'abord nos parents, mais par extension nos professeurs, nos chefs politiques, nos patrons, etc.). Comment pourrez-vous fabriquer de bonnes brioches du Vendredi Saint, si vos employés sont insolents? Si vous leur demandez de se laver les mains après avoir été à la salle de bains, avant de commencer à pétrir la pâte, ils vont se moquer de vous. Si vous leur dites d'être polis avec les clients, ils vont vous envoyer paître, etc.

4.5) «Tu ne tueras pas». Le Cinquième Commandement à un sens évident: si vos clients sont occupés à s'entre-tuer, vous aurez moins d'acheteurs pour vos brioches! Mais ce Commandement comprend aussi tout ce qui mène à la mort, comme la destruction de l'environnement. Comment faire du profit en vendant des brioches du Vendredi Saint, si vous ne pouvez plus acheter de farine, de lait ou de raisins parce que le secteur agricole est ravagé par la pollution?

4.6) «Tu ne commettras pas d'adultère». Le Sixième Commandement défend d'attaquer la famille. Bien sûr, les hommes sont bien plus que des engrenages dans l'économie, mais l'économie a quand même besoin «d'engrenages»! Les employés (et les clients!) qui sont honnêtes, travaillants, éduqués et stables sont «fabriqués» par des bonnes familles aimantes et stables.

4.7) «Tu ne voleras pas». Le Commandement le plus manifestement relié à l'économie est le Septième. Si vos clients prennent vos brioches du Vendredi Saint sans payer, vous allez faire faillite rapidement! De plus, vous ferez aussi faillite si vos employés volent beaucoup de farine dans la cuisine, ou s'ils volent des minutes de travail en arrivant en retard, en partant de bonne heure, et en travaillant lentement et mal, etc.

4.8) «Tu ne porteras pas de faux témoignage». Le Huitième Commandment défend de mentir (incluant devant un tribunal de justice, car le faux témoignage est le pire mensonge). Votre magasin de brioches du Vendredi Saint peut facilement faire faillite, à de se débattre devant les tribunaux à cause d'accusations injustes! Mais même loin des tribunaux, le mensonge peut quand même détruire votre petite entreprise. Par exemple, imaginez si un client méchant se mettait à répandre la rumeur que certains de vos petits pains sont empoisonnés! Et n'oubliez pas l'immense catégorie des mensonges racontés aux clients! Fouillez dans vos souvenirs: avez-vous déjà cessé de fréquenter un magasin, et encouragé toutes vos connaissances à fuir ce même magasin, parce que le propriétaire vous avait menti? (Peut-être un mensonge du genre: «Oui, oui, monsieur le client, c'est un excellent produit! Il ne se brisera jamais! Et en plus la garantie est blindée!»)

4.9) «Tu ne convoiteras pas la femme de ton prochain». Le Neuvième Commandement reprend d'une certaine façon le Sixième, et en a donc toute l'importance pour protéger l'économie des menaces contre la famille. Sauf que le Neuvième vise la source de ces menaces: le coeur de l'homme rempli de convoitise charnelle. Pensez-y. Avez-vous déjà calculé tout le temps et l'argent qui sont gaspillés sur les films pornographiques, les jeux vidéo immoraux, etc.? Imaginez si tous ces efforts étaient investis pour développer des sources d'énergie propres, ou pour améliorer le transport en commun, ou pour augmenter le niveau de scolarité de tous les travailleurs, etc.

4.10) «Tu ne désireras rien de ce qui est à ton prochain». Le Dixième Commandement ressemble au Neuvième, en ce qu'il reprend d'une certaine façon un autre Commandement (cette fois-ci le Septième). Lui aussi vise la source du problème: le coeur de l'homme rempli de convoitise matérielle. Une vieille blague dit: «Un capitaliste ne jouit pas, il investit». Sérieusement, si le propriétaire du magasin de brioches du Vendredi Saint consacre sa vie aux biens matériels, alors son magasin va faire faillite! Plutôt que d'investir pour acheter de nouvelles machines pour faire du pain, il va se payer des voyages dans le Sud! Plutôt que de payer ses employés un bon salaire, il va s'acheter une voiture de luxe! Plutôt que de suivre un cours sur les nouvelles techniques de boulangerie, il va s'acheter une grosse bague, etc.

5) Exemples de dommages macro-économiques causés par l'immoralité

Macro-économie
Macro-économie (Source)

On peut étudier le tort fait à l'économie, mais d'un point de vue plus «macro-économique». En d'autres mots, regarder tout le tort causé par la désobéissance aux Dix commandements, mais citoyen après citoyen, jour après jour, ville après ville, pour tout le pays! Considérons quelques Commandements:

5.2) «Tu ne prononceras pas le Nom du Seigneur à faux». Nous avons déjà vu que le Deuxième Commandement nous dit de tenir nos promesses. Mais si on y réfléchit soigneusement, on voit que l'économie (et le pays tout entier) dépendent entièrement du respect des promesses. En effet, une société est un «être moral», et non pas un être physique. Un être physique (comme une cheminée) est faite de briques, mais un être moral est construit avec des résolutions (elles-mêmes le fondement de la confiance, des promesses, des contrats, etc.).

5.3) «Observe le jour du Sabbat pour le sanctifier». Le Troisième Commandement ne fait pas que dire de se reposer le dimanche. Il est comme une borne, une limite, un phare qui rappelle à toute la société: «Non, l'argent n'est pas tout, la vie n'est pas seulement métro-boulot-dodo!» En d'autres mots, il nous rappelle que l'économie existe pour les hommes, pas les hommes pour l'économie. Et si vous étudiez l'histoire, vous verrez tout le tort causé par cette «inversion de priorités», lorsqu'on sacrifie les hommes sur l'autel de l'Économie...

5.4) «Honore ton père et ta mère». Le respect des supérieurs, dont parle le Quatrième Commandement, s'applique à toute la société. L'anarchie est presque un synonyme pour «pays détruit» (et donc économie détruite), et l'anarchie est précisément ce refus global de l'autorité.

5.6) «Tu ne commettras pas d'adultère». Les attaques contre la famille, proscrites par le Sixième Commandement, peuvent manifestement détruire un pays (et son économie du même coup). Si les familles sont attaquées par l'avortement, la contraception, les relations sexuelles hors-mariage, la glorification des pseudo-mariages, etc., alors éventuellement l'économie d'un pays va souffrir d'un manque de main-d'oeuvre, et les quelques travailleurs qui seront disponibles seront de moins bonne qualité. (Si vous ne me croyez pas, venez visiter le Québec...)

5.7) «Tu ne voleras pas». Il n'y a pas que les gens qui prennent des brioches du Vendredi Saint sans payer qui peuvent voler! Un gouvernement peut voler son peuple tout entier! Un gouvernement peut voler ses citoyens de façon évidente, par exemple avec des impôts écrasants, ou en faisant une vente de feu des ressources naturelles à des étrangers qui les exploitent de façon non-durable, etc. Mais le gouvernement peut aussi voler plus surnoisement, par exemple en imprimant trop de billets de banque. Supposons que le gouvernement veut voler votre argent dans votre compte de banque, a-t-il besoin de faire un hold-up dans votre banque? Non, il lui suffit de pousser sur un bouton pour faire marcher la grosse imprimante! Vous pouvez vous réveiller un matin, et votre argent en banque va valoir moitié moins, ou même rien du tout! Un célèbre économiste, John Maynard Keynes, aurait dit: «Il n'y a pas de moyen plus certain, plus subtile ou plus infaillible de détruire les fondements d'une société que de débaucher sa devise. Par un processus continu d'inflation, les gouvernements peuvent confisquer, secrètement et à l'insu, une partie importante de la richesse des citoyens».

5.8) «Tu ne porteras pas de faux témoignage». Le mensonge défendu par le Huitième Commandment ne se limite pas à ce que vos clients ou vos employés peuvent vous dire! Le gouvernement peut mentir à tous les citoyens! Pour reprendre notre exemple ci-haut sur l'inflation, le gouvernement peut tenter de masquer sa corruption en tripotant les statistiques, afin de faire croire aux citoyens qu'il gouverne bien. Prenons l'exemple du IPC («Indice des prix à la consommation»). Le IPC permet de mesurer l'inflation, mais le gouvernement peut le maintenir apparemment bas en jouant avec les principes de substitition, de pondération et d'hédonistique. En réalité, l'inflation reste la même, mais on la camoufle avec du maquillage statistique. Même chose avec le taux de chômage, si par exemple le gouvernement cesse de compter tous les gens découragés qui ne cherchent même plus un emploi. D'autres permutations comptables peuvent permettre au gouvernement de prétendre que le PNB augmente, alors qu'il plafonne ou même qu'il baisse.

5.10) «Tu ne désireras rien de ce qui est à ton prochain». Pensez à toutes les économies (et les vies humaines!) détruites par les guerres, parce qu'un pays convoitait les richesses d'un autre pays! (N'oubliez pas que le pétrole peut être considéré comme une richesse durant certaines périodes de l'histoire de l'humanité...)

5.1) «Tu n'auras pas d'autres dieux devant Moi». J'ai placé le Premier Commandement en dernier dans cet article, car il est le fondement de tous les autres Commandements. (Voir Si Dieu est mort, tout est permis.)

(Les sections 5.7 et 5.8 sont en grande partie tirées de «The Crash Course» de Chris Martenson.)

6) Conclusion

Après avoir lu ceci, certains diront:

«Oui mais, on n'a pas besoin de la Bible pour comprendre ces effets négatifs sur le PNB! C'est juste du gros bon sens!»

Mais c'est exactement ce que je dis, et ce que l'Église catholique a toujours enseigné! Les Dix Commandements sont un résumé de la Loi naturelle, ce n'est pas quelque chose d'uniquement religieux, même si la religion catholique en parle. Les gens qui disent autrement ne font qu'enfreindre le Huitième Commandement!

| Accueil >> Politique