| Home >> Politics

If God Is Dead, Everything Is Permitted

Alexey Savrasov. Sea of Mud.
If only matter exists, then you and I are mere arrangements of mud.
(Alexey Savrasov. Sea of Mud. Source)

1) Introduction

Why should politicians bother with Atheism? Shouldn't politicians just leave religion and God to the Priests?

Let me start answering that question with a metaphor. Imagine a soccer league for little girls. Should the referees of that league worry about a strange group of girls who claim that winning is everything, even if you have to break the legs of the other team's best scorer with a baseball bat? Should the referees just let these strange girls try to convince all the other players in the league? Of course not! The referees are responsible for the Common Good of that soccer league. They must deal with this problem.

Does this metaphor really apply to Atheists in our society? I'm now going to try to answer that question. The following text is a bit long, so brace yourselves. Also, remember that the whole question of Atheism is very complex, and in this short essay, I'll just scratch the surface. For a serious discussion, please consult real philosophers and theologians.

Gradual restricting of the meaning of a word.
Gradual restricting of the meaning of a word.

I must also explain how this article is organized. I start with the word "Atheist", with all of its meanings. Then run those meanings through a series of "inverted funnels". In other words, I gradually eliminate all loose meanings of the word "Atheist", to end up with the strict meaning.

2) The good kinds of "Atheism"

An Atheist is commonly defined as a man who denies that God exists. The first problem with this definition is that we have to specify what we mean by "God". One of the first observations, when having discussions with some so-called "Atheists" is that the "god" they deny is quite thoroughly diabolical!

A "god" who is nasty, evil, crazy and tyrannical is not God. I claim that the existence of evil in the world doesn't prove the inexistence of God, but rather the existence of the Devil! And even if we decide not to talk about Satan, we must still take into account the stupidity and malevolence of men. Either way, the "atheism" that rejects the numerous false gods running around must be strongly encouraged and praised. Of course, we also have to explain to these people that in their case, they should replace the word "Atheist" with the expression common sense!

3) If God exists, why does He tolerate evil?

If God exists, how can evil exist? First, let's remember that entire books have been written on this topic. To make a long story short: evil exists (we can observe it with evidence), therefore if God exists and He is really God, then the evil we observe can't be as evil as we might think. In other words, God would permit some evils for the sake of greater goods.

What does that mean, practically speaking? I can't speak for other religions, but Christianity has always claimed that God was, in a way, absent from our world. In other words, Christians partially agree with the argument of Atheists who claim that the existence of God is incompatible with the existence of evil. For a Christian, God is "fully present" in Heaven, where there is no evil, whereas in this world, He is somehow "gone away on a trip" [Lk 19:12].

To try to understand this assertion about God's "absence", you could imagine for a moment that you're the richest person in the world. What would you do, if you wanted to invite all the men of good will to a big party? Obviously, if you just put an ad in the paper, all the creeps would rush in to come and drink and eat on your dime! To avoid that, you might secretly hire professional actors, and tell them to dress up as hobos, widows, sick persons, orphans, etc. [Mt 25:34]. These actors would then go into the society to ask for help, and write down the names and addresses of men of good will who would take care of them. Bingo! You could then come up with your list of good guests.

If God exists, does He do this? The goal of this philosophical essay is not to explore that question. All I'm trying to say here is that God's existence isn't necessarily incompatible with the existence of certain evils in this world.

4) The back door God

We've just seen that some types of "Atheism" were in fact simple manifestations of common sense. Now, we have to examine the case of "Atheists" who firmly believe that God exists.

In order to do so, you have to make a few experiments with people who claim to be "Atheists". Often these people claim that God doesn't exists, to then say (a few sentences later) that life is "sacred", or that Nature must be respected "religiously", etc. When you call to their attention that if God doesn't exist, there is nothing sacred or divine, these people normally stop talking or change the topic of the conversation. The effect is even funnier if you catch these people (when a happy even occurs in their lives) saying things like: "Thank God!"

Every man is a unique and irreplaceable case, so we mustn't over-generalize, but it seems to me that many "Atheists" are simply people who are ashamed to admit they believe in God. Of course, as if by magic, these people often have aspects of their personal lives which are incompatible with Christian morality. Calling themselves "Atheists" lets them deny their sin. On the other hand, God quickly returns through the back door when they need Him!

5) The Atheism of simpletons

After the "atheisms" which are synonymous with "common sense" and "shameful belief in God", there is the real but inconsiderate Atheism of people who suck up whatever stupidity is currently fashionable.

I'll always remember a conversation I had overheard at the Faculty of Philosophy of Laval University, many years ago. A young student in his second semester, who seemed especially frail and unintelligent, was ecstatically explaining how he had borrowed books by Nietzsche during the Christmas holidays, and how that had changed his whole perception of life. Of course, to better understand the silliness of the situation, you have to know that the Faculty (at least in those days) was a cesspool of Ethical Relativism and Idealistic Scepticism. Already in those days I would almost start a riot when I'd claim that my hand really had five fingers! To make a long story short, this poor sucker had gobbled up one of the many fish hooks that the university would systematically dangle in front of its student's mouths.

Are all simpletons guilty? I am neither all-knowing, nor endowed with the necessary infinite rectitude of will to be the impartial judge of this. On the other hand, in my opinion, these people would profit from an examination of the proofs of God's existence, while they still have time.

6) The morally good acts of some Atheists

I've said it before, but it's worth repeating that human psychology is very complicated. It's not because some simpleton has gobbled up Atheism that everything that simpleton will do will automatically be bad. It's one of the characteristics of human souls that they can "lack unity", that contradictory things can coexist in the same unwise person.

We've all seen examples of inconsistencies in people's lives, like tree-hugging vegetarians who started driving hours to go buy large portions of meat, just because they had purchased shares in a store that had a butcher shop. Or the apparently true stories of Nazis who worked all day in concentration camps, killing people like there was no tomorrow, then coming home to play with their children, and to listen to delicate classical music, etc.

Bad ideas don't necessarily fully contaminate someone's soul, instantly. This process can take time. The history of Philosophy is larded with examples of philosophers who made serious errors, but who didn't suffer as many negative consequences as their disciples who "took the idea to its logical conclusion".

What? You know Atheists who have moral principles and who respect the Law? So do I. What would you think if I pulled a goldfish out of the aquarium and said: "Amazing! This one is wet!" You'd laugh at me! It's the same thing for many Atheists, since we are bathed in a civilization which for a long time was Christian.

Don't be fooled by Atheists who look nice. Go and examine what Atheism is, in itself, and where its "intellectual center of gravity" will draw people, eventually.

7) Atheism, strictly speaking, is horrible and dangerous to society

"Conscience is but a word that cowards use,
Devised at first to keep the strong in awe."
[William Shakespeare. King Richard III, Act 5, Scene 3]

It's fashionable these days to claim that Christianity is "intolerant". I claim the opposite. I claim that it's Atheism that is horrible and that threatens our whole society. I claim that true Atheists are a public menace, that they should not be permitted to teach in schools or work in the media, that they should not be permitted to testify in court, and so on.

Notice I'm not saying this because of my religious beliefs. I'm not asserting these things because "my God says we must reject these people", or because these people don't have the same religous beliefs I do. I assert these things based on the conclusion of my reflexions.

To decide whether I'm right or wrong, you have to do something few people these days have the intelligence or the courage to do. You have to think through the logical consequences of Atheism. We can summarize these consequences in three successive phases:

7.1) No divine intentions, hence no human nature. If God doesn't exist, there can't be any divine intentions. In other words, if God doesn't exist, we are nothing but the result of a random, purpose-less evolution. It's a bit like taking a stack of playing cards and throwing them up in the air. The cards will come down on the table in one way or another. We can decide to call such a grouping "Wayne" or "Julia", but this is totally arbitrary and conventional. Yes, we can with our mouths claim that such a grouping of cards has a great "dignity", but the word "dignity" itself is nothing more than a momentary disruption of the surrounding air, a sound which propagates itself and will die off in the distance.

7.2) No human nature, hence no morality. If there isn't a human nature, strictly speaking, we can't assert that this or that is "appropriate" or "not appropriate" to this human nature. Between picking your ear with your finger, or sodomizing a total stranger, there is no essential difference. (See also "What is morality?")

7.3) No morality, hence no laws. If there is no morality, strictly speaking, all we can have are conventions. If the majority of voters decide that rape is legal, then rape becomes legal. If the majority of voters decide that Jews are sub-human, then we can exterminate Jews in concentration camps. Might becomes right. (See also "Bill C-666")

8) Conclusion

After having read these last paragraphs, Atheists will certainly gnash their teeth and vociferate. Their howls will revolve around the false definitions of Atheism we've already discussed (see #2, #4 and #5 here above), and the usual attacks against the Church (see "Slander Soup").

It has been known for a long time that if God doesn't exist, nothing is forbidden. On the other hand, there is one thing that real Atheists forbid: a real public debate about the logical consequences of Atheism!

| Home >> Politics

| Accueil >> Politique

Si Dieu est mort, tout est permis

Alexey Savrasov. Mer de boue.
Si seule la matière existe, alors vous et moi ne sommes que des arrangements de boue.
(Alexey Savrasov. Mer de boue. Source)

1) Introduction

Pourquoi les politiciens devraient-ils s'inquiéter de l'athéisme? Les politiciens ne devraient-ils pas tout simplement laisser Dieu et la religion aux prêtres?

Laissez-moi commencer à répondre à cette question avec une métaphore. Imaginez une ligue de soccer pour fillettes. Les arbitres de cette ligue devraient-ils s'inquiéter d'un groupe de fillettes qui prétendent que tout ce qui compte, c'est gagner, même s'il faut casser les jambes du meilleur compteur adverse avec un bâton de baseball? Les arbitres devraient-ils laisser ces fillettes étranges tenter de convaincre toutes les autres joueuses dans la ligue? Bien sûr que non! Les arbitres sont responsables du Bien commun de cette ligue de soccer. Ils doivent faire face à ce problème.

Cette métaphore s'applique-t-elle vraiment aux athées dans notre société? Je vais maintenant tenter de répondre à cette question. Le texte suivant est un peu long, alors armez-vous de patience. Aussi, n'oubliez pas que toute la question de l'athéisme est très compliquée, et dans cet essai, je ne fais qu'effleurer le sujet. Pour une discussion sérieuse, consultez plutôt de vrais philosophes et théologiens.

Restriction graduelle de la signification d'un mot.
Restriction graduelle de la signification d'un mot.

Je dois aussi expliquer comment cet article est organisé. Je commence avec le mot «athée», avec toutes ses significations. Ensuite, je fais passer ce mot au travers d'une série «d'entonnoirs inversés». En d'autres mots, j'élimine graduellement toutes les significations larges du mot «athée», pour en arriver à la signification stricte.

2) Les bonnes sortes «d'athéisme»

On dit communément qu'un athée est un homme qui nie l'existence de Dieu. Le premier problème avec cette définition est qu'il faut préciser ce qu'on veut dire par «Dieu». Une des premières constatations, lorsqu'on discute avec certains soi-disant «athées», est que le «dieu» qu'ils nient est tout-à-fait diabolique!

Un «dieu» bête, méchant, insensé et tyrannique n'est pas Dieu. Je prétends que le mal dans le monde ne prouve pas l'inexistence de Dieu, mais plutôt l'existence du Diable! Et même si on décide de ne pas parler de Satan, on doit au moins tenir compte de la bêtise et de la méchanceté humaine. De toute manière, «l'athéisme» qui rejette les nombreux faux dieux en circulation doit être vigoureusement encouragé et louangé. Bien sûr, il faut aussi expliquer à ces gens que dans leur cas, ils devraient remplacer le mot «athéisme» par l'expression «gros bon sens»!

3) Si Dieu existe, pourquoi permet-Il le mal?

Si Dieu existe, comment le mal peut-il exister? Rappelons que des livres entiers ont été écrits à ce sujet. Résumons: le mal existe (on le constate avec évidence), donc si Dieu existe et qu'Il est vraiment Dieu, alors le mal qu'on constate ne doit pas être si mal que ça. En d'autres mots, Dieu permettrait certains maux en vue de biens supérieurs.

Que cela signifie-t-il, en pratique? Je ne peux pas parler pour les autres religions, mais le christianisme a toujours prétendu que Dieu était, d'une certaine manière, absent de notre monde. En d'autre mots, les chrétiens sont en partie d'accord avec l'argument des athées qui prétendent que l'existence de Dieu est incompatible avec l'existence du mal. Pour un chrétien, Dieu est «pleinement présent» au Ciel, là où il n'y a pas de mal, alors qu'ici-bas, Il est d'une certaine manière «parti en voyage» [Lc 19:12].

Pour essayer de comprendre cette histoire «d'absence» de Dieu, vous pourriez imaginer un instant que vous êtes la personne la plus riche du monde. Que feriez-vous, si vous vouliez inviter tous les hommes de bonne volonté à une grande fête? Manifestement, si vous mettiez simplement une annonce dans les journaux, les vauriens se précipiteraient pour venir manger et boire à vos frais! Pour éviter cela, vous pourriez secrètement embaucher des acteurs professionnels, et leur dire de se déguiser en clochards, en veuves, en malades, en orphelins, etc. [Mt 25:34]. Ces acteurs iraient ensuite dans la société pour demander de l'aide, et prendraient en note les noms et adresses des hommes de bonne volonté qui leur feraient la charité. Voilà! Vous pourriez ensuite dresser votre liste de bons invités.

Si Dieu existe, procède-t-Il de cette manière? Le but de cet essai philosophique n'est pas d'explorer cette question. Tout ce que je veux dire ici, c'est que l'existence de Dieu n'est pas nécessairement incompatible avec l'existence de certains maux ici-bas.

4) Le Dieu de la porte arrière

On a vu que certains types «d'athéisme» sont au fond une simple manifestation du gros bon sens. Maintenant, il faut examiner le cas des «athées» qui croient dur comme fer en l'existence de Dieu.

Pour ce faire, vous devez vous livrer à de petites expériences avec des gens qui se prétendent «athées». Souvent ces gens prétendent que Dieu n'existe pas, pour dire (quelques phrases plus loin) que la vie est «sacrée», ou que la Nature doit être respectée «religieusement», etc. Lorsque vous leur faites remarquer que si Dieu n'existe pas, il n'y a rien de sacré ou de divin, ces gens normalement se taisent ou changent le sujet de la conversation. L'effet est encore plus rigolo quand vous surprenez ces gens (lorsqu'un événement heureux se produit dans leur vie) à dire des choses comme: «Dieu merci»!

Chaque homme est un cas unique et irremplaçable, alors il ne faut pas trop généraliser, mais il me semble que de nombreux «athées» sont tout simplement des gens qui ont honte d'avouer qu'ils croient en Dieu. Bien sûr, comme par hasard, ces gens ont souvent des aspects de leur vie personnelle qui sont incompatibles avec la morale chrétienne. Se déclarer «athées» leur permet de nier leur péché. Par contre, Dieu revient très rapidement par la porte arrière dès qu'ils en ont besoin!

5) L'athéisme des niais

Après les «athéismes» qui sont synonymes de «gros bon sens» et de «croyance honteuse en Dieu», il y a l'athéisme réel mais peu réfléchi des gens qui gobent la sottise du temps.

Je me souviendrai toujours d'une conversation que j'avais entendu à la faculté de philosophie de l'université Laval, il y a de nombreuses années. Un jeune étudiant de deuxième session du bac., particulièrement frêle et peu intelligent, racontait avec extase comment il avait emprunté des livres de Nietzsche durant les vacances de Noël, et comment cela avait changé toute sa perception de la vie. Bien sûr, pour mieux comprendre le ridicule de la situation, il faut savoir que la faculté (du moins dans ce temps-là) était un cloaque de relativisme éthique et de scepticisme idéaliste. Déjà dans ce temps-là, je provoquais presque des émeutes en prétendant que ma main avait vraiment cinq doigts! Bref, ce pauvre poisson avait mordu à un des nombreux hameçons que l'université faisait systématiquement gigoter devant la bouche de ses étudiants.

Les niais sont-ils tous coupables? Je n'ai ni l'omniscience pour le savoir, ni la rectitude infinie de la volonté nécessaire pour juger avec impartialité. Par contre, selon moi, ces gens auraient intérêt à étudier les preuves de l'existence de Dieu, pendant qu'ils en ont encore le temps.

6) Les actes moralement bons de certains athées

Je l'ai déjà dit, mais ça vaut la peine de répéter que la psychologie humaine est très compliquée. Ce n'est pas parce qu'un niais a gobé l'athéisme, que tout ce que ce niais va faire sera automatiquement mauvais. C'est une des caractéristiques des âmes humaines qu'elles peuvent «manquer d'unité», que des choses contradictoires peuvent coexister dans la même personne dénuée de sagesse.

Nous avons tous vu des exemples d'illogisme dans la vie des gens, comme des végétariens écolo-siphonnés qui ont commencé à conduire des heures en voiture pour aller acheter de grosses portions de viande, rien que parce qu'ils avaient acheté des parts dans un magasin qui avait une boucherie. Ou les histoires apparemment vraies de Nazis qui travaillaient toute la journée à tuer des gens comme s'il n'y avait pas de lendemain, et qui le soir retournaient à la maison pour jouer avec leurs enfants, écouter de la musique classique délicate, etc.

Les mauvaises idées ne contaminent pas nécessairement l'âme de quelqu'un complètement et instantanément. Ce processus peut prendre du temps. L'histoire de la philosophie est tissée d'exemples de philosophes qui ont fait de graves erreurs, mais qui n'ont pas autant souffert des conséquences négatives que leurs disciples, qui ont «mené l'idée à sa conclusion logique».

Quoi? Vous connaissez des athées qui ont des principes moraux et qui respectent les lois? Moi aussi. Que penseriez-vous si je sortais un poisson rouge de l'aquarium et que je disais: «Incroyable! Celui-ci est mouillé!» Vous ririez bien de moi! C'est la même chose pour de nombreux athées, car nous baignons dans une civilisation qui a longtemps été chrétienne.

Ne vous laissez pas prendre par les athées qui ont l'air gentils. Allez examiner ce que l'athéisme est en soi, et où son «centre de gravité intellectuel» va entraîner les gens, éventuellement.

7) L'athéisme, strictement parlant, est horrible et dangereux pour la société

«La conscience n'est qu'un mot, dont se servent les poltrons,
Conçu à l'origine pour tenir les forts en soumission.»
[William Shakespeare. King Richard III, Acte 5, Scène 3]

Il est à la mode de nos jours de prétendre que le christianisme est «intolérant». Moi je prétends le contraire. Je prétends que c'est l'athéisme qui est horrible et qui menace toute notre société. Je prétends que les vrais athées sont un danger public, qu'ils ne devraient pas pouvoir enseigner dans les écoles ou travailler dans les médias, qu'ils ne devraient pas pouvoir témoigner devant les tribunaux, et ainsi de suite.

Remarquez que je ne dis pas cela à cause de mes croyances religieuses. Je n'affirme pas ces choses parce que «mon Dieu dit de rejeter ces gens», ou parce que ces gens n'ont pas les mêmes croyances religieuses que moi. J'affirme ces choses en me fondant sur la conclusion de mes réflexions.

Pour décider si j'ai raison ou tort, vous devez faire ce que peu de gens de nos jours ont l'intelligence ou le courage de faire. Vous devez étudier les conséquences logiques de l'athéisme. On peut résumer ces conséquences en trois phases successives:

7.1) Pas d'intentions divines, donc pas de nature humaine. Si Dieu n'existe pas, il ne peut pas y avoir d'intentions divines. En d'autres mots, si Dieu n'existe pas, nous ne sommes que le résultat aléatoire d'une évolution sans finalité. C'est un peu comme prendre un paquet de cartes à jouer et les lancer en l'air. Les cartes vont retomber sur la table d'une manière ou d'une autre. On peut bien décider d'appeler tel regroupement de cartes «Julie», ou «François», mais c'est purement arbitraire et conventionnel. Oui, on peut affirmer avec notre bouche que tel regroupement de cartes a une grande «dignité», mais le mot «dignité» lui-même n'est qu'un brassage de l'air ambiant, un son qui se propage et qui va se perdre au loin.

7.2) Pas de nature humaine, donc pas de morale. S'il n'y a pas de nature humaine, strictement parlant, on ne peut pas affirmer que ceci ou cela «convient» ou «ne convient pas» à cette nature humaine. Entre se nettoyer l'oreille avec le doigt, ou sodomiser un parfait inconnu, il n'y a pas de différence essentielle. (Voir aussi «Qu'est-ce que la morale?»)

7.3) Pas de morale, donc pas de lois. S'il n'y a pas de morale, strictement parlant, il ne peut y avoir que des conventions. Si la majorité des électeurs décide que le viol est légal, le viol devient légal. Si la majorité des électeurs décide que les juifs sont des sous-hommes, alors on peut exterminer les juifs dans des camps de concentration. La loi du plus fort devient la meilleure. (Voir aussi «Le Projet de loi C-666»)

8) Conclusion

Après avoir lu ces derniers paragraphes, les athées vont sûrement grincer des dents et vociférer. Leurs hurlements se résumeront aux fausses définitions de l'athéisme qu'on a déjà exposé (voir le No. 2, le No. 4 et le No. 5 ci-haut), et aux habituelles attaques contre l'Église (voir «La Soupe aux ragots»).

Depuis longtemps, on sait que si Dieu n'existe pas, tout est permis. Par contre, il y a une chose que les vrais athées ne permettent pas: un vrai débat public sur les conséquences logiques de l'athéisme!

| Accueil >> Politique