| Home >> Lost Sermons

The "Pope's Challenge": Are you Catholic or Protestant?

Alexander Brulloff. Church of St. Catherine in Pargolovo.
(Alexander Brulloff. Church of St. Catherine in Pargolovo. [Source])

Note: On this web site, I use the expression "Protestant" without any negative connotation, simply as a synonym for "Non-Catholic Christian Denomination". See also Legal Consideration #23.

1) Introduction

In my opinion, the majority of Quebecers are actually Protestants. Despite this, the Protestant church next door is almost empty, and according to polls most Quebecers still identify themselves as Catholics. Are we a bit racist, because historically, some bad members of the clergy preached hatred toward Protestants? Or are we simply a bit ignorant and lazy?

2) Are Quebecers Catholic?

There are hundreds of Non-Catholic Christian Denominations, and they have a wide variety of beliefs and teachings. But let's just take one example, that of the United Church of Canada. There seems to be a perfect meshing between the teachings of that liberal Protestant Church and the beliefs of many Quebecers, and just the opposite for the teachings of the Catholic Church. That liberal Protestant Church has everything that many Quebecers love in the Catholic Church (Jesus, the Bible, neighbourly love, Midnight Mass, marriages in churches, Baptism, etc.), and nothing that they despise (Confession, Papal infallibility, the interdiction of the pill, of divorce, of women's ordination, of homosexual couples, etc.).

What is even more strange is that many self-proclaimed "Catholics" actively fight against the official teachings of the Catholic Church. When you analyze their demands, it is very difficult to understand in what way they differ from the teachings of some liberal Protestant Churches. And if you are unfortunate enough to point that out to them, they verbally attack you!

Among other things, they'll say:

"I have the right to be in the Church of my choice!"

And if you answer: "Of course, but what are you going to do with those who firmly believe everything that the Holy Catholic Church believes and teaches? In what Church will these people go?", you will either get a frustrated silence, or that person will leave, or say something that can be summed up as meaning: "Bah, these people are all going to Hell anyway, so why bother?"

3) Respecting the religious freedom of true Catholics

But we should never infringe on somebody else's religious freedom (as long as the Common Good is preserved, of course). Let's take a silly but correct example. Suppose in our society there are people who adore the Holy Banana, in a church shaped like a banana. On the other side of the street, the worshippers of the Holy Pumpkin adore the Holy Pumpkin in a pumpkin-shaped church. Social peace requires that the worshippers of the Holy Pumpkin avoid harassing people in the banana-shaped church, and vice-versa.

If a Holy Pumpkin worshipper came and imposed himself in the banana-shaped church, and started to scream hysterically: "I have the right to religious freedom! I have the right to worship the Holy Pumpkin!", this person should be gently expelled, because of the laws of our free and democratic country! Indeed, the Holy Banana worshippers, in their banana-shaped church paid with their own money, have a right to worship their divinity as they see fit, without being bothered. It's quite true that anybody, at any time, can decide to become a Holy Pumpkin worshipper, but this must be done in a way which respects the rights of the people who want to continue to worship the Holy Banana (or the Holy Green Pepper, or the Holy Carrot, etc.).

In my opinion, this metaphor explains rather well what is happening in the Province of Quebec as we speak. A few Holy Pumpkin worshippers try to ridicule, silence or expel the Holy Banana worshippers, who are in a banana-shaped church! This is negative and against our laws! People who want to be faithful to the Pope, i.e. by definition Catholics, are subject to disdain, harassment and attacks on the part of some non-Catholics who self-proclaim themselves to be "Catholics". These non-Catholics shrewdly act in the name of religious freedom, even though they are the ones infringing on other people's religious freedom! These non-Catholics already have their liberal Protestant churches (shaped like pumpkins, green peppers, or others), where the teachings correspond exactly to what they want to believe!

4) Can we be Catholics and believe anything we want?

Have I made a mistake in my logic? Does the Catholic Church really have teachings that are incompatible with the beliefs of many Quebecers? It seems impossible for me to fully answer this question here, since I would need all of the Lost Sermons. Actually, one of the goals of these sermons is to list clearly, with many quotes from official documents, the teachings of the Catholic Church that Quebecers ignore or reject the most these days.

Let's take a single example: this idea that one can "pick and choose" from the teachings of the Catholic Church, take what we like and dump what we don't. This attitude is essential for a Protestant, but forbidden to Catholics. As soon as a person ceases to believe everything the Catholic Church teaches, that person ceases to be a Catholic (see among others "Excommunication, that gesture of love!").

5) The Pope's Challenge

Does this seem harsh, even evil?

Don't worry, we're getting to the warm and fuzzy part of the sermon: the "Pope's Challenge"!

Let's think it through. Either God exists, or not. If God exists, either He has founded a Church, or not. If He has founded a Church, its is either the Catholic Church, or not.

Let's take for granted that God exists and that He has founded a Church. God certainly doesn't want us to be in the wrong Church! We must therefore seek out His real Church. If this Church happened to be one of the Protestant Churches, we would have to stop pretending to be Catholics and become full members of this Protestant Church. Conversely, if God really founded the Catholic Church, then this Church is not trying to feed us "garbage-teachings", but the very words of Jesus Christ, our Saviour.

OK, so we know we don't have a right to "sit on the fence", and that we have to decide in which Church we must go. But how must we decide? Our conscience clearly dictates to us that the following methods are unacceptable:

- Throwing some dice.

- Forget about this whole issue, and just concentrate on the latest junk we want to buy at the Shopping Mall.

- Avoid serious books, or questions asked to competent people, but just trust our prejudices.

- Listen to the drivel of the Media, etc.

We are therefore left with the option of making a reasonable effort to obtain good information, in order to make a good choice.

That's a fun challenge! Why? Let's examine some reasons:

- We have nothing to fear! God isn't an idiot, and God wouldn't found a Church to give it bad teachings that would make us unhappy.

- If we were to find out that the true Church of God actually had moral requirements that were stricter than the ones we currently live by, that wouldn't be a problem! Remember, this is Christianity, with Jesus the Good Shepherd who seeks out the lost sheep. Christianity is the religion with a God who is meek of heart, who is rich in mercy, and who invites all those carrying a heavy burden to come to Him, so they may be relieved.

- Whatever the result, we'll get to know our religion better.

- We can be at peace with our conscience, after having made a reasonable effort to educate it.

6) Conclusion

The Pope's challenge is finding out which Church is the real one founded by God thanks to a thorough study of all reliable sources of information.

So, Catholic or Protestant?

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Le «Défi du Pape»: Êtes-vous catholique ou protestant?

Messe de clowns.
[Source]

Note: Dans ce texte, j'utilise l'expression «protestant» sans connotation péjorative, simplement comme synonyme de «dénomination chrétienne non-catholique». Voir aussi Considération juridique No. 23.

1) Introduction

Selon moi, la majorité des québécoises et québécois sont des protestants qui s'ignorent. Et pourtant, l'église protestante derrière chez nous est presque vide, et selon les sondages la majorité des québécoises et québécois s'identifient encore avec l'Église catholique. Sommes-nous un peu racistes parce que dans notre passé national, certains mauvais membres du clergé prêchaient la haine des protestants? Ou sommes nous simplement un peu ignorants et paresseux?

2) Les québécois sont-ils catholiques?

Clown qui fait semblant de marier un couple.

Il y a des centaines de dénominations chrétiennes non-catholiques, qui ont une grande diversité de croyances et d'enseignements. Mais prenons simplement l'exemple de l'Église Unie du Canada. Il semble y avoir une concordance parfaite entre les enseignements de cette Église protestante libérale et les croyances de nombreux québécoises et québécois, et tout le contraire pour ce qui est des enseignements de l'Église catholique. Cette Église protestante libérale possède tout ce que plusieurs québécoises et québécois aiment dans l'Église catholique (Jésus, la Bible, l'amour du prochain, la messe de minuit, les mariages en église, les baptêmes, etc.), et rien de ce qu'ils détestent (la Confession, l'infaillibilité Papale, l'interdiction de la pilule, du divorce, de l'ordination des femmes, des couples homosexuels, etc.).

Ce qui est encore plus étrange, c'est que plusieurs soi-disant «catholiques» militent activement contre les enseignements officiels de l'Église catholique. Lorsque vous analysez leurs demandes, il est très difficile de comprendre en quoi elles diffèrent des enseignements de certaines Églises protestantes libérales. Et si vous avez le malheur de leur faire remarquer, ils vous agressent verbalement!

«J'ai le droit d'être dans l'Église de mon choix!», disent-ils, entre autres.

Et si vous répondez: «Bien sûr, mais que faites-vous des gens qui croient fermement tout ce que la sainte Église catholique croit et enseigne? Dans quelle Église doivent-ils aller?», vous provoquerez soit le mutisme frustré, soit le départ de votre interlocuteur, soit une remarque qui revient à quelque chose comme: «Bof, ces gens-là vont tous aller en Enfer, alors pourquoi s'en inquiéter?»

3) Le respect de la liberté religieuse des vrais catholiques

Pourtant, on ne doit pas violer la liberté religieuse d'autrui (tant que le bien commun est respecté, bien sûr). Prenons un exemple un peu ridicule, mais néanmoins correct. Supposons que dans notre société il y a des gens qui adorent la Sainte Banane, dans une église en forme de banane. De l'autre côté de la rue, les adorateurs de la Sainte Citrouille adorent la Sainte Citrouille dans une église en forme de citrouille. La paix sociale exige que les adorateurs de la Sainte Citrouille ne viennent pas harceler les gens dans l'église en forme de banane, et vice-versa.

Si un adorateur de la Sainte Citrouille venait s'imposer dans l'église en forme de banane, et commençait à beugler: «J'ai le droit à la liberté religieuse! J'ai le droit d'être un adorateur de la Sainte Citrouille!», cette personne devrait se faire gentiment expulser, de par les lois de notre pays libre et démocratique. En effet, les adorateurs de la Sainte Banane, dans leur église en forme de banane payée avec leur propre argent, ont le droit de rendre le culte qu'ils veulent à leur divinité, sans se faire déranger. C'est vrai que n'importe qui, à n'importe quel moment, peut décider de devenir un adorateur de la Sainte Citrouille, mais par contre, ceci doit se faire dans le respect des droits des gens qui veulent continuer à adorer la Sainte Banane (ou le Saint Poivron Vert, ou la Sainte Carotte, etc.).

Selon moi, cette métaphore explique bien ce qui se passe au Québec en ce moment. Quelques adorateurs de la Sainte Citrouille tentent de ridiculiser, de faire taire ou d'expulser les adorateurs de la Sainte Banane, qui sont dans l'église en forme de banane! Voilà ce qui est négatif et contraire à nos lois! Les gens qui veulent être fidèles au Pape, c'est-à-dire par définition les catholiques, se font mépriser, harceler et attaquer par certains non-catholiques qui se disent «catholiques». Ces non-catholiques agissent sournoisement au nom de la liberté religieuse, alors que c'est eux-mêmes qui violent la liberté religieuse des autres! Ces non-catholiques ont déjà leurs églises protestantes libérales (en forme de citrouille, de poivron vert ou autre), où on enseigne exactement ce qu'ils veulent croire!

4) Peut-on être catholique et croire ce qu'on veut?

Ai-je fait fausse route dans mon raisonnement? L'Église catholique a-t-elle vraiment des enseignements aussi incompatibles que ça avec les croyances de plusieurs québécoises et québécois? Il m'est impossible de répondre complètement à cette question ici, car il me faudrait tous les Sermons perdus. En effet, un des objectifs de ces sermons est d'énumérer clairement, avec force références aux documents officiels, les enseignements de l'Église catholique que les québécoises et québécois ignorent ou rejettent le plus de nos jours.

Prenons un seul exemple: l'idée qu'on peut «picorer» dans les enseignements de l'Église catholique, prendre ce qu'on aime et laisser de côté ce qui ne nous plaît pas. Cette attitude est obligatoire pour un protestant, mais interdite pour un catholique. À partir du moment où on cesse de croire tout ce que l'Église catholique enseigne, on cesse par définition d'être catholique (voir entre autres «L'Excommunication, ce geste d'amour!»).

5) Le Défi du Pape

Ceci vous semble-t-il dur, et même méchant?

Ne vous inquiétez pas, on arrive à la partie agréable du sermon: le «Défi du Pape»!

Réfléchissons ensemble. Ou Dieu existe, ou non. Si Dieu existe, ou il a fondé une Église, ou non. S'il a fondé une Église, ou c'est l'Église catholique, ou non.

Prenons pour acquis que Dieu existe et qu'il a fondé une Église. Dieu ne veut sûrement pas qu'on soit membre d'une fausse église! Il faut donc chercher quelle est la vraie Église de Dieu. Si cette Église était une des Églises protestantes, alors il faudrait cesser de faire semblant d'être catholiques et devenir membre à part entière de cette Église protestante. À l'inverse, si Dieu a réellement fondé l'Église catholique, alors celle-ci ne transmet pas des «enseignements-bidon», mais bien les paroles même de Jésus-Christ, notre Sauveur.

Bon, alors on sait qu'on n'a pas le droit de «rester à cheval sur la clôture», et qu'on doit décider dans quelle Église il faut aller. Mais comment décider? Notre conscience nous dit clairement que les méthodes suivantes sont inacceptables:

- Tirer au sort avec des dés.

- Laisser de côté ce problème et se concentrer sur les bebelles qu'on convoite au Centre d'achats.

- Ne pas ouvrir de livres sérieux, ne pas questionner des gens bien informés, mais se fier plutôt à nos préjugés.

- Écouter les ragots des médias, etc.

Il nous reste donc à faire un effort raisonnable pour bien s'informer, afin de bien choisir.

Voilà un défi agréable! Pourquoi? Regardons quelques raisons:

- On a rien à craindre! Dieu n'est pas un imbécile, et Dieu ne fonderait pas une religion pour lui donner des enseignements mauvais qui nous rendraient malheureux.

- Si on devait s'apercevoir que la vraie Église de Dieu avait en fait des exigences morales plus strictes que celles qu'on utilise en ce moment, cela ne serait pas un problème! N'oubliez pas qu'on parle de christianisme, avec Jésus le bon berger qui cherche à retrouver la brebis perdue. Le christianisme est la religion qui a un Dieu doux et humble de coeur, riche en miséricorde, et qui invite tous ceux qui ploient sous un lourd fardeau de venir à lui, afin d'être soulagés.

- Quel que soit le résultat, on va pouvoir mieux connaître sa religion.

- On va pouvoir être en paix avec notre conscience, après avoir fait un effort raisonnable pour l'éclairer.

6) Conclusion

Le Défi du Pape est de découvrir quelle Église est la vraie, fondée par Dieu, grâce à un examen minutieux de toutes les sources fiables d'information.

Alors, catholique ou protestant?

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus