| Home >> Lost Sermons

The World-Famous Ethicist, And The Gravedigger Afflicted With Mongolism

Semion Shchedrin. The Eagle Column at Gatchina.
(Semion Shchedrin. The Eagle Column at Gatchina. [Source])

How could we compare a poor gravedigger afflicted with Down's Syndrom, with a brilliant Ph.D. in Philosophy and world-famous Ethicist?

1) The hole for the remains of the deceased

The job of a gravedigger is not particularly complicated. He must dig a grave that is two meters deep, and big enough to let a casket in. Said in a very crude way, he has to dig a hole for the carrion in the wooden box.

The poor gravedigger afflicted with Down's Syndrom, if he received catechism lessons, however understands many things. Firstly, he understands that the contents of the wooden box is not a human person.

This gravedigger also understands that once a person is dead, we can't do any good or harm to that person by fiddling with their corpse. That person is dead. That person's spiritual soul is now separated from "his or her body". Strictly speaking, it's not even "that person's body", but a carrion. What makes a heap of matter become the body of a person, is that God created a soul and "puts it in" that heap of matter.

This gravedigger listened to the explanations of the good nun who taught catechism. He knows that once a person is dead, the only thing we can do for that person's soul is to pray (and the summit of Christian prayer is the Eucharist, which is the living and essential heart of the Mass).

So much for that person's soul. But what can we do for what used to be that person's body, i.e. the carrion in the wooden box? Wherever the gravedigger digs the hole, he knows that it won't change a thing for the carrion in the wooden box.

2) The prophetic mission of all baptized persons

On the other hand, the gravedigger knows that the family of the deceased is still alive. The family, friends and acquaintances of the deceased are not carrions. These people are still alive, and the gravedigger knows he has to love them, and talk to them about God. Indeed, the good nun told him many times that his Baptism had given him a prophetic mission.

This "prophetic mission" expression had really impressed our gravedigger afflicted with Down's Syndrom. He had started to understand it when the good nun had told him: "If you saw a fire break out in the rectory, and nobody else knew about it, what would your mission be?" He had spurted out the answer, with a big smile: "To pull on the big red fire handle!" So the good nun had then made him understand that he had to go tell other people how the fire of sin was bad, and how Jesus was the Fireman who could save us. He had understood his mission.

3) The location of the hole, an ethical question

Our trisomic gravedigger, if his parents were very rich, might decide to spread the Good News of Jesus Christ, by choosing the location of the holes he dug.

He could hop over to Iraq, pick up the coffin of a small girl killed during "a surgical-precision air strike" made by the US troops, then come back and bury it in New-York, next to the inevitable monstrous monument dedicated to the glory of the innocents who died on September 11, 2001, at the World Trade Center.

He could also fly South, pick up the coffin of a poor little boy who died in a slum somewhere in Latin America, then come and bury it here, in the beautiful indoor garden of one of our gigantic, luxurious shopping malls.

Our gravedigger also could go rummage in the garbage of an abortuary in the USA, where we ship our pregnant women so they can kill their child (paid for by the taxpayer). He could pick up the corpse of a poor newborn (or should we say "newly-aborted"?), put it in a real coffin, and come and bury it here, next to the tomb of the grand-parents of the mother, right here, in a Catholic cemetery in the Province of Quebec.

Our gravedigger afflicted with Down's Syndrom could even, if we were very brave, go dig a hole next to the discharge pipe of a factory that pollutes the St. Lawrence River, when he'd be asked to dig the grave of a rich businessman, who during his life made lots of profit with that very same factory.

This gravedigger, even if he's trisomic, would understand that the location of the hole he digs can have a great impact on all of society. Perhaps this lowly gravedigger, with his shovel and his little catechism course, could illuminate the moral conscience of his country, more than numerous Ph.D.'s and world-renowned Ethicists could do.

"Out of the mouth of babes and sucklings hast thou ordained strength because of thine enemies,
that thou mightiest still the enemy and the avenger."

[Psalm 8:3, quoted by Jesus in Mt 21:16]

4) The hole of truth, and the hole of lies

One sad day, the gravedigger had to dig a hole for the good old nun that had taught him catechism lessons. Never did a hole seem so long to dig, especially since it seemed that the deeper he dug, the more he filled everything back up with his tears. What had finally consoled him was the memory of this nun, and what she had taught him in his catechism lessons.

"A soul that dies in a state of grace goes to Heaven", she used to say. And he knew full well that this good nun had done everything to live and die in a state of grace. She had worked all her life without being paid, for the good of the people around her. She had disseminated the truth about Jesus, in her catechism courses. She had prepared many children for Baptism, Confirmation, Confession and the Eucharist. She had respected all of God's Commandments, as Jesus orders us to do [Lc 18:20]. She had even herself received the Last Sacraments before her death. Trust in God's mercy had finally dried the gravedigger's tears.

A while later, the brother of this old nun had also passed away. Except this brother had not lived anything like his religious sister. He had done everything he could to renounce his Faith publicly. He had publicly lived in adultery, and had not even had his children baptized. Before his death, he had refused the Sacraments (encouraged in this refusal by his family). And once dead, his relatives had refused a funeral Mass, because that "had nothing to do with his beliefs or those of his family".

But this brother wanted a nice fashionable ceremony in a beautiful catholic church (the most beautiful, the one that has the best view on the St. Lawrence River). And of course, he had asked to be buried next to the old nun, since it looks good to be buried in a Catholic cemetery, next to people who lived saintly lives.

Once in the church, our gravedigger afflicted with Down's Syndrom had looked in vain for Jesus really present in the Eucharist. "It's a fairy tale! It's magic! And anyway God is dead, and the Pope is not the Vicar of Christ!", had said the people who were there, while mocking him abundantly.

Later on, when he was ordered to dig a hole right next to the tomb of his old nun, our gravedigger said:

"No. Dig it yourselves."

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

L'Éthicien de réputation internationale, et le fossoyeur atteint de mongolisme

Semion Shchedrin. La colonne de l'aigle à Gatchina.
(Semion Shchedrin. La colonne de l'aigle à Gatchina. [Source])

Comment pourrait-on comparer un pauvre fossoyeur atteint de mongolisme, avec un brillant Docteur en Philosophie et Éthicien de renommée internationale?

1) Le trou pour la dépouille du défunt

La tâche d'un fossoyeur n'est pas bien compliquée. Il doit creuser un fossé ayant deux mètres de profondeur, et suffisamment grand pour laisser entrer un cercueil. Dit d'une manière très crue, il doit faire un trou pour la charogne qui est dans une boîte en bois.

Le pauvre fossoyeur atteint de mongolisme, s'il a suivi son cours de catéchèse, comprend néanmoins de nombreuses choses. D'abord, il comprend que le contenu de la boîte en bois, ce n'est pas une personne humaine.

Ce fossoyeur comprend aussi qu'une fois morte, on ne peut plus faire de bien ou de mal à une personne en tripotant son cadavre. Elle est morte. Son âme spirituelle est séparée de «son corps». Strictement parlant, ce n'est même plus «son corps», mais bien un cadavre. Ce qui fait qu'un tas de matière devient le corps d'une personne, c'est que Dieu créé une âme et «la met dans» ce tas de matière.

Ce fossoyeur a écouté les explications de la bonne religieuse qui enseignait le catéchisme. Il sait donc qu'une fois qu'une personne est morte, la seule chose qu'on peut faire pour son âme, c'est de prier (et le sommet de la prière chrétienne, c'est l'Eucharistie, coeur vivant et essentiel de la Messe).

Voilà pour l'âme de cette personne. Mais que peut-on faire pour ce qui était son corps, c'est-à-dire le cadavre dans la boîte de bois? Rien. Quel que soit l'endroit où le fossoyeur va creuser son trou, il sait que cela ne changera rien pour le cadavre dans la boîte en bois.

2) La mission prophétique de tout baptisé

Par contre, le fossoyeur sait que la famille du défunt ou de la défunte est encore en vie. La famille, les amis et les connaissances de la personne qui est morte ne sont pas des charognes. Ces gens sont encore tous en vie, et le fossoyeur sait qu'il doit les aimer, et leur parler de Dieu. En effet, la bonne religieuse lui a bien dit que son Baptême lui avait donné une mission prophétique.

Cette expression «mission prophétique» avait bien impressionné notre fossoyeur atteint de mongolisme. Il avait commencé à la comprendre quand la bonne religieuse lui avait dit: «Si tu voyais un commencement d'incendie dans le presbytère, et que tous les autres ne savaient pas qu'il y avait un feu, quelle serait ta mission?» La réponse était venue toute seule, avec un grand sourire: «Tirer sur la grosse manette rouge pour le feu!» Alors la bonne religieuse lui avait fait comprendre qu'il devait dire aux autres comment le feu du péché était mauvais, et comment Jésus était le pompier qui pouvait nous sauver. Il avait compris sa mission.

3) L'emplacement du trou, une question éthique

Notre fossoyeur trisomique, si ses parents étaient très riches, pourrait peut-être décider de répandre la Bonne Nouvelle de Jésus-Christ, en choisissant l'emplacement des trous qu'il creuse.

Il pourrait faire un saut en Irak, ramasser le cercueil d'une fillette morte durant «une attaque aérienne de précision chirurgicale» faite par les troupes étasuniennes, puis aller l'enterrer à New-York, à côté de l'inévitable monstrueux monument à la gloire des innocents morts le 11 septembre 2001, au World Trade Center.

Il pourrait aussi prendre l'avion et aller dans le sud, pour prendre le cercueil d'un pauvre petit garçon qui serait mort dans un bidonville à quelque part en Amérique latine, pour ensuite venir l'enterrer ici, dans le magnifique jardin intérieur d'un de nos immenses et luxueux centres d'achats.

Notre fossoyeur pourrait aussi aller fouiller dans les vidanges d'un avortoir aux États-Unis, où on expédie nos femmes enceintes pour qu'elles puissent tuer leur enfant (au frais du contribuable). Il pourrait ramasser le cadavre du pauvre nouveau-né (ou devrait-on dire «du nouveau-avorté»?), pour le mettre dans un vrai cercueil, et venir l'enterrer à côté de la tombe des grands-parents de cette femme, ici même, dans un cimetière catholique au Québec.

Notre fossoyeur atteint de mongolisme pourrait même, s'il était très brave, aller creuser un grand trou près de la décharge d'une usine qui pollue le fleuve Saint-Laurent, quand on lui demanderait d'aller creuser la tombe d'un riche homme d'affaires, qui durant sa vie auraient fait beaucoup de profits avec cette même usine.

Ce fossoyeur, même trisomique, comprendrait que l'emplacement du trou qu'il creuse peut avoir de profondes répercussions sur toute la société. Peut-être que ce simple fossoyeur, avec sa pelle et son petit cours de catéchèse, pourrait illuminer la conscience morale de son pays, plus que de nombreux Docteurs en Philosophie et Éthiciens de réputation internationale.

«Même la bouche des enfants et des nourrissons rappelle ta puissance face à l'adversaire,
et remplit de honte l'ennemi et le rebelle.»

[Psaume 8:3, cité par Jésus dans Mt 21:16]

4) Le trou de la vérité, et le trou du mensonge

Un triste jour, le fossoyeur avait dû creuser un trou pour la bonne vieille religieuse qui lui avait enseigné le catéchisme. Jamais trou ne lui avait semblé si long à creuser, surtout qu'il semblait que plus il creusait la terre, plus il remplissait à mesure le trou avec ses larmes. Ce qui avait fini par le consoler, c'était encore le souvenir de cette religieuse, et de ce qu'elle lui disait durant ses cours de catéchisme.

«Une âme qui meurt en état de grâce va au Ciel», lui disait-elle. Et il savait bien que la bonne religieuse avait tout fait pour vivre et mourir en état de grâce. Elle avait travaillé toute sa vie sans être payée, pour le bien des gens autour d'elle. Elle avait répandu la vérité sur Jésus, dans tous ces cours de catéchèse. Elle avait préparé de nombreux enfants au Baptême, à la Confirmation, à la Confession et à l'Eucharistie. Elle avait respecté tous les Commandements de Dieu, comme Jésus ordonne de le faire [Lc 18:20]. Elle avait elle-même eu recours aux Derniers Sacrements avant sa mort. La confiance en la Miséricorde divine avait fini par sécher les larmes du fossoyeur.

Quelque temps après, le frère de cette vieille religieuse lui aussi était décédé. Sauf que ce frère n'avait pas du tout vécu comme sa soeur religieuse. Il avait tout fait pour publiquement renier sa foi. Il avait vécu publiquement dans l'adultère, et n'avait même pas fait baptiser ses enfants. Avant sa mort, il avait refusé les Sacrements (encouragé en cela par sa famille). Et une fois décédé, sa parenté avait refusé une messe de funérailles, parce que cela «n'avait aucun rapport avec ses croyances ni celle de sa famille».

Mais ce frère voulait une belle cérémonie à la mode dans une belle église catholique (la plus belle, celle qui a la meilleure vue sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent). Et bien sûr, il voulait se faire enterrer à côté de la vieille religieuse, car ça paraît bien, se faire enterrer dans un cimetière catholique, à côté de gens qui sont morts en odeur de sainteté.

Arrivé à la messe, notre fossoyeur trisomique chercha en vain Jésus réellement présent dans l'Eucharistie. «C'est une fable! C'est de la magie! Et d'ailleurs Dieu est mort, et le Pape n'est pas le Vicaire du Christ!» lui dirent les gens qui étaient là, en se moquant copieusement de lui.

Par la suite, quand on lui ordonna de creuser un trou juste à côté de la tombe de sa vieille religieuse, notre fossoyeur trisomique leur dit:

«Non. Creusez-le tout seul votre trou.»

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus