| Home >> Lost Sermons

Preaching Jesus Or The World? (Rebuttal to "Enough Is Enough!")

Camille Pissarro. Chennevières along the Marne.
(Camille Pissarro. Chennevières along the Marne. Source)

1) Introduction

Here are two responses to the open letter called "Enough Is Enough!", signed by 19 dissident "priests" in the Province of Quebec.

The first is the only real Catholic reaction I know of in Quebec, whether by a Bishop or a Priest. The second is from Father Fastbabe, S.J., a Haitian Priest of Polish origin. (I prefer the second one.)

2) The response by Father Denis Saint-Maurice

Note: The following response was published in the La Presse newspaper in Montreal, Wednesday March 1, 2006, on page A-19. The imperfect translation into English is my fault.

Fr. Denis Saint-Maurice, Ph.D., is an Opus Dei Priest (when he wrote this letter, he was at the Saint-Ambroise Parish in Montreal). He was my spiritual director many years ago, so I guess all my charitable advice and wise counselling finally did pay off! Seriously, he deserves a lot of credit for putting up with me, and doing his best to salvage what he could from my spiritual life.

A Troubling Letter; Preaching Jesus Or The World?

In his priestly prayer, Jesus tells the Apostles: "I pray for them [my Apostles]. I do not pray for the world but for the ones you have given me, because they are yours. [...] They do not belong to the world any more than I belong to the world." [Jn 17:9]

Jesus talks to the Apostles: they are not of this world; they will be the first Priests. He invites them to respect this "distance" which will let them associate themselves more with God, meditate God's Law in their heart and encourage the faithful, with which they are fundamentally different because of their ministry, to be "signs of contradictions" [Lc 2:34].

When the secular world forgets God explicitly (as when a person says he's an "Atheist") or implicitly (when we profess values which are not Christian), it's the proper task of the pastor to guide his faithful by his example and his words. Some ideas, concerning a sexuality which seeks only pleasure in a sentimental commiseration or concerning a so-called freedom to dissent which didn't exist with Jesus or Peter and Paul, are completely contrairy to the message of the Gospels, even if they are present in the world. I believe it's the Priests' duty to stand by Jesus, the Pope and our Bishops who have the courage to continue to insist "in season and out of season" [2 Tim 4:2] and to encourage our brothers and sisters to walk in a path of real holiness, and not to follow the beliefs of the times which cause real harm to the family and society.

Dear 19 fellow Priests, the world in which we live is sufficiently disrupted without adding to the sufferings of the Christian people the shame of seeing their Priests forget their priestly mission. I want to tell you that we the "other" Priests are far from thinking like you. Jesus told His Father: "I pray for them [the Apostles], but I don't pray for the world [the ideas adopted by the Pagans and the Pharisees] [...] Consecrate them in the truth. Your word is truth. [...] And I consecrate myself for them, so that they also may be consecrated in truth" [Jn 17:6 ...19]. Truth seemed to exist in the times of Jesus. Is it possible that it doesn't exist anymore, that human nature changes, like you say... Nevertheless, the following day, Pilate also seemed to doubt the message of Jesus, and was wondering "What is truth?" [Jn 18:38]. Why turn our backs to it? Why not sacrifice ourselves a bit to bear witness to it?

Like many of my fellow Priests, I try to console everybody, whatever their present or past experiences. But I feel unable to start bargaining with God's Law which doesn't belong to me, and over which I watch like a treasure. Woe to me if I do not preach the Gospel! [1Cor 9:16] You'd might as well ask the Lord to come back to clean his temple.

Father Denis Saint-Maurice

3) The response by Father Fastbabe, S.J.

As a Catholic Priest, here is my official response to the recent open letter called "Enough Is Enough!", signed by 19 Priests in the Province of Quebec.

Firstly, some disclaimers:

- I am not a Bishop, therefore I will not talk about the disciplinary aspect of this situation, concerning those 19 Priests.
- Just as it is impossible to play a hockey game inside a phone booth, it is impossible to solve all the problems discussed by those 19 Priests inside this short response. Please see my personal web site, www.jesus-eucharistie.org, for details.

Secondly, my personal position: I firmly believe 100% of the official teachings of the Catholic Church, including all those on homosexual attractions, same-sex unions, abortion, the contraceptive pill, etc. In order to be ordained a Catholic Priest, I had to swear before God and men that I would be faithful to all Catholic teachings. I signed that oath freely, and I will respect it unto death. If, for some reason, I changed my mind, I wouldn't pretend to still be a Catholic Priest! I would just change churches! It's just a question of honesty and sincerity with myself, and my parishioners.

Thirdly, my offer: I can explain to you exactly why all the teachings of the Catholic Church are right. That's my job, after all! If I were a competent plumber, I could fix any leaking faucet or any clogged toilet. I'm a Catholic Priest, and I can explain the divine truth and goodness of all the teachings of the Catholic Church. God loves you, and God founded His Church to transmit His teachings, so you could be happy! If some teachings of the Catholic Church seem bad, or mean, or unscientific, relax! You've simply been misinformed. Just send me an e-mail, and we'll go talk about it over a coffee.

God bless you,

Father Fastbabe, S.J.

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Prêcher Jésus ou le monde? (Réponse à «Trop, c'est trop!»)

Camille Pissarro. Chennevières au bord de la Marne.
(Camille Pissarro. Chennevières au bord de la Marne. Source)

1) Introduction

Voici deux réponses à la lettre ouverte intitulée «Trop, c'est trop!», signée par 19 «prêtres» dissidents du Québec.

La première est la seule vraie réaction catholique dont j'ai entendu parler au Québec, que ce soit par un prêtre ou un évêque. La deuxième est de l'abbé Poussinrapide, S.J., un prêtre Haïtien d'origine polonaise. (J'aime mieux la deuxième.)

2) La réponse de l'abbé Denis Saint-Maurice

Note: La réponse suivante a été publiée dans le quotidien La Presse de Montreal, le mercredi 1er mars 2006, à la page A-19.

L'abbé Denis Saint-Maurice, Ph.D., est un prêtre de l'Opus Dei (au moment où il a écrit cette lettre, il était à la paroisse Saint-Ambroise à Montréal). Il a été mon directeur spirituel il y a de longues années, alors j'imagine que tous mes conseils sages et charitables ont finalement eu de l'effet sur lui! Sérieusement, il mérite de nombreuses louanges pour m'avoir enduré, et avoir fait son possible pour rescaper ce qu'il pouvait de ma vie spirituelle.

Une lettre dérangeante; Prêcher Jésus ou le monde?

Dans sa prière sacerdotale, Jésus dit aux apôtres: «Je prie pour eux [mes apôtres], mais je ne prie pas pour le monde. Je prie pour ceux que tu m'as donnés et qui sont à toi. [...] Ils ne sont pas du monde, comme moi je ne suis pas du monde.» [Jn 17:9]

Jésus s'adresse aux apôtres: ils ne sont pas du monde; ils seront les premiers prêtres. Il les invite à respecter cette «distance» qui leur permettra de s'associer davantage à Dieu, de méditer la loi de Dieu dans leur coeur et d'encourager les fidèles, dont ils sont foncièrement différents en raison de leur ministère, à être des «signes de contradictions» [Lc 2:34].

Quand le monde séculier oublie Dieu explicitement (comme quand on se dit «athée») ou implicitement (quand on professe des valeurs qui ne sont pas chrétiennes), c'est le propre du pasteur de guider ses fidèles par l'exemple et la parole. Certaines idées quant à une sexualité qui ne recherche que le plaisir dans une commisération sentimentale ou quant à une soi-disant liberté à la dissidence qui n'existait pas chez Jésus ou chez Pierre et Paul sont tout à fait contraires au message évangélique, bien que présentes dans le monde. Je crois qu'il est du devoir des prêtres de faire corps autour de Jésus, du Pape et de nos évêques qui ont le courage de continuer à insister «à temps et à contretemps» [2 Tim 4:2] et d'encourager nos frères et soeurs à marcher dans un chemin de sainteté réelle, et de non suivre les convictions du temps qui font un mal réel à la famille et à la société.

Chers 19 confrères prêtres, le monde dans lequel nous vivons est suffisemment bousculé pour ne pas ajouter aux souffrances du peuple chrétien la honte de voir ses prêtres oublier leur mission sacerdotale. Je tiens à vous dire que nous les «autres» prêtres sommes loin de penser tous comme vous. Jésus disait à son Père: «Je prie pour eux (les apôtres), mais je ne prie pas pour le monde (les idées reçues par les paiens et les pharisiens)... Sanctifie-les dans la vérité. Ta parole est vérité. Je me sanctifie moi-même pour eux afin qu'eux aussi soient sanctifiées par la vérité» [Jn 17:6 ...19]. La vérité, ça semblait exister au temps de Jésus. Est-il possible qu'elle n'existe plus, que la nature humaine change, comme vous dites... Pourtant, la journée suivante, Pilate aussi semblait douter du message de Jésus, et se demandait «Qu'est-ce que la vérité»? [Jn 18:38]. Pourquoi lui tourner le dos? Pourquoi ne pas se sacrifier un peu pour en être des témoins?

Comme beaucoup de mes confrères, je cherche à réconforter tous et toutes, quelles que soient leurs expériences présentes ou passées. Mais je me sens incapable de marchander la loi de Dieu qui ne m'appartient pas, et sur laquelle je veille comme un trésor. «Malheur à moi si je n'évangélise pas» [1Cor 9:16]. Autant demander au Seigneur de revenir nettoyer son temple.

L'abbé Denis Saint-Maurice

3) La réponse de l'abbé Poussinrapide, S.J.

En tant que prêtre catholique, voici ma réponse officielle à la lettre ouverte récente intitulée «Trop, c'est trop!», signée par 19 prêtres du Québec.

Primo, quelques désistements:

- Je ne suis pas un évêque, donc je ne vais pas parler des aspects disciplinaires de cette situation, concernant ces 19 prêtres.
- Tout comme il est impossible de jouer une partie de hockey dans une cabine téléphonique, il est impossible de régler tous les problèmes soulevés par ces 19 prêtres dans cette courte réponse. Veuillez SVP voir mon site web personel www.jesus-eucharistie.org, pour les détails.

Secundo, ma position personnelle: Je crois fermement 100% des enseignements officiels de l'Église catholique, incluant tous ceux sur les attirances homosexuelles, les unions du même sexe, la pilule anti-conceptionnelle, etc. Pour être ordonné comme prêtre catholique, j'ai dû jurer devant Dieu et devant les hommes que je serais fidèle à tous les enseignements catholiques. J'ai librement signé ce serment, et je vais le respecter jusqu'à la mort. Si, pour une raison ou une autre, je changeais d'idée, je ne ferais pas semblant d'être encore un prêtre catholique! Je changerais d'église, tout simplement! Ce n'est qu'une question d'honnêteté et de sincérité avec moi-même, et mes paroissiens.

Tertio, mon offre: Je peux vous expliquer exactement pourquoi tous les enseignements de l'Église catholique sont vrais. C'est mon travail, après tout! Si j'étais un plombier compétent, je pourrais réparer n'importe quel robinet qui coule ou n'importe quelle toilette qui est bouchée. Or, je suis un prêtre catholique, et je peux expliquer la divine vérité et la bonté de tous les enseignements de l'Église catholique. Dieu vous aime, et Dieu a fondé son Église pour transmettre ses enseignements, pour que vous puissiez être heureux! Si certains enseignements de l'Église catholique semblent mauvais, ou méchants, ou non-scientifiques, détendez-vous! Vous avez tout simplement mal été informés. Envoyez-moi un courriel, et nous irons en discuter en prenant un café.

Que Dieu vous bénisse,

L'abbé Poussinrapide, S.J.

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus