| Home >> Lost Sermons

Red Tape, and the Blood of Martyrs

Red Tape Cosme Tura. St. Sebastian.
Esto fidelis usque ad mortem, et dabo tibi coronam vitae. [Ap 2:10]
(The Lady caught in red tape. [Unknown source] and Cosme Tura. St. Sébastien. Source)

1) Introduction

What relationship could there be between red tape, and a person who bears witness to his or her faith in Jesus Christ, despite the deadly tortures of the executioners?

Of course, anybody who has tried to reason with a government clerk about some piece of red tape knows what pain is! Sometimes, when we are lost in a maze of forms, or a jungle of regulations, we're somewhat under the impression of being "martyrs"! (Except that real executioners, as opposed to the government, have a left hand that is aware of what the right hand is doing).

Seriously, is there some kind of relationship between red tape, and Catholic martyrs? For mere mortals, no, but for a sociologist, both are social data , subject to scientific laws.

2) Martyrs as sociological data

For a sociologist, what is a martyr? Somebody who makes a choice. For a sociologist, a choice is a choice. Somebody who chooses to sell his grandmother to buy a bowl of macaroni and cheese, is somehow like a bad Catholic who chooses to disown his faith, in order to keep his paycheck.

A sociologist cannot, given his science, know whether the Catholic religion is true or not. It's a bit as if there was a big box, in which there could be either a grandmother, or just a few sandbags. A good sociologist won't claim he knows what is in that box. But he can observe society, and see that there is a group of people out there who adamantly claim that the box contains their grandmother. The sociologist can then observe what the members of this group do, when they are offered a bowl of macaroni and cheese in exchange for the contents of the box.

Our sociologist doesn't perform these experiments because he is fascinated by macaroni, but because he is fascinated by the mechanisms that make societies work. One of these mechanisms is the moral strength to stand for one's convictions, which could be compared to the sails of a sailboat. The other mechanism would be contact with reality, which could be compared to the rudder of that sailboat.

Religious fanatics, according to our sailboat metaphor, have very large and strong sails, but no rudder. They have the force and courage to defend their beliefs, but their beliefs have lost touch with reality. Bad Catholics, for their part, might have a good rudder (they are in contact with reality, and know that God is more important than a paycheck, for example), but they have no sails anymore, since they are willing to sacrifice what is most important to them, for something cheap.

3) Red Tape Fever

What happens in a society which still has a good "rudder", but whose "sails" are in tatters because of the weakness of the moral fiber? I'm not a sociologist, but there might be a correlation between the abundance of red tape, and the absence of the blood of martyrs. What do we do when our politicians sell our grandmother to buy themselves a bowl of macaroni? We add an "Ethics Commissioner", as if there weren't enough laws already telling them to be honest. What do we do when people cheat on their income tax return? We add more forms, more paper, more taxes on tips, taxes on selling, taxes on buying, taxes on twiddling your thumbs, etc. What do we do when beer-propelled morons drive recklessly on our roads? We add "Demerit Points", posters along the roads, hours to the driving course, we form a "Committee on Road Rage", and of course more taxes to pay for car insurance, etc.

When citizens know what a good behavior is, but they still chose a bad behavior, it's not a "rudder" problem, but a problem with the "sails", the moral fiber. A society having that disease will be able to stack layer upon layer of red tape, without solving the problem.

4) Atheists as socio-markers

Our sociologist could study societies even more thoroughly, and realize that all groups are not equal. For some people, the box cannot even possibly contain a grandmother, and they can choose only between more or less tasty bowls of macaroni. How can you blame an atheist when he cheats the IRS? According to his convictions, we are the chance result of purposeless evolution, our moral laws are only social conventions, and death is just the dissolution of a bunch of atoms. This bunch of atoms temporarily enables an epiphenomenon of matter to be aware of pleasure and pain, and it can even have a name like "Wayne" or "Julia". Why not dump toxic chemicals in a river? Why not cheat the IRS? Why not just drive away after having a fender-bender with an empty car in an underground parking lot? For an atheist, all these things are no more than bunches of atoms, mere conventions, epiphenomena.

Careful! The sociologist doesn't judge the atheist! He just observes that the atheist has smaller "sails" than the Catholics, at least in theory. The atheist has less good reasons to consider that certain things are sacred, untouchable, infinitely worthy. The sociologist could hypothesize that in a given society, if the Catholics have a weak moral fiber, then that of the atheists will be even weaker, and all those people who could be considered "between" these two "extremes" would also trend downward. In other words, the Atheist could be used as a kind of "socio-marker".

Of course, our sociologist is fully aware that many self-proclaimed "Catholics" are in fact practical atheists, and that many people describing themselves as atheists have a strong faith in Human dignity and Justice. Their faith doesn't mesh with their other convictions, but it is a faith in something divine. The sociologist also knows that in real life, things are not black or white, but more often just shades of grey. But the sociologist sees things from thirty-five thousand feet, where individual differences disappear, and large trends tend to show up. He sees that the "distance" between goods varies, and that this "distance" will be greater for a real Catholic than for a real atheist.

Catholics don't have a choice between their grandmother and a bowl of pasta, but between what is most worthy, God, and a bowl of mud (whether this mud is a paycheck, a professional reputation, or even the life of that rag temporarily wrapped around their soul). According to Catholics, a martyr is someone who gives up nothing, in exchange for Everything!

The behavior of Catholics could therefore be an excellent sociological indicator for the health of a society's moral fiber. As Catholics are more willing to disown Jesus publicly, the society in general will have a greater tendency to be sick.

5) The sickness of Catholicism in the Province of Quebec

What is happening today in Quebec? A sociologist studying Catholics would be terrified, and probably would quickly move out of the Province, a bit like a seismologist who would detect warning signs of a huge earthquake. The Church is devoured by red tape, as is seen by the "Guidance Document on the Process of the Guidance Convention for the Future of Christian Communities" (it's the real title!). Translated into plain English, the document is called "The Diocesan Demolition Derby". But I digress.

What is more worrisome is that the rare persons still claiming to be Catholics and faithful to the Pope are filled with a lustful passion for macaroni and cheese. I have been meeting for several months now people who observe as I do the sad state of the Catholic Church in Quebec, and who in private are fearless in proclaiming their faith in Jesus Christ and their loyalty to the Magisterium of the Church. On the other hand, when I suggest that they go public with their profession (and put it on the Internet, for example), these otherwise reasonable people start spewing amazingly contorted sophisms to justify their love of macaroni.

The Catholic Church in Quebec is sick, and its sickness is contaminating the whole Province. All Quebecers, whatever their beliefs, are being harmed by the perverse effects of the lack of courage of Catholics (see among others The Spiritual Water Table).

6) What would have happened if Jerusalem had been in Quebec?

What if Saint John the Baptist had been like the Quebec Catholics of today? First of all, we would have moved out of the desert, and found a job as a salesman in a shopping mall. He would have had a hearty laugh, and a beer belly. He still would have baptized, but part time, and in private ceremonies.

"I used to baptize in the Jordan river, but there were too many Herodians in town. I saw that the Lord was calling me to continue my apostolate in a more discrete way."

Fortunately for Quebec, our Patron Saint didn't do this. On the contrary, he continued to baptize publicly, and to preach clearly things that connected with people's daily lives. That is why he made a sermon on Herod and his adultery.

"Thou shall not take thy brother's wife!"

At the dawn of the New Testament, John the Baptist, unable to refrain from speaking of the law of the Lord and rejecting any compromise with evil, "gave his life in witness to truth and justice", and thus also became the forerunner of the Messiah in the way he died (cf. Mk 6:17-29)
[John-Paul II, Veritatis Splendor,  #91].

Jesus also had the choice. Nobody forced him to preach publicly.

Imagine an absurd situation. What if Jesus had been like today's Catholics in Quebec? He would have been Professor of Hebrew Studies at Jerusalem University, and would have performed discreet miracles (like fixing the coffee machine at work, when nobody was looking).

One day, his students would have run into his office, out of breath and dismayed: "Professor Christ! Professor Christ! Your Mother arrived today in Jerusalem, and she told the money-changers in the Temple:

"This is a Temple of prayer! Do not change the House of My Father into a den of thieves!"

Jesus would have shrugged his shoulders and said:

"That Virgin Mary, she is so arrogant and naive! All she has to do is practice her religion in a discreet and socially acceptable way, like everybody else."

An odorless, colorless and sanitized Jesus.

Fortunately, Jesus is God, and He didn't run out of courage.

By their eloquent and attractive example of a life completely transfigured by the splendour of moral truth, the martyrs and, in general, all the Church's Saints, light up every period of history by reawakening its moral sense. By witnessing fully to the good, they are a living reproof to those who transgress the law (cf. Wis 2:12), and they make the words of the Prophet echo ever afresh: "Woe to those who call evil good and good evil, who put darkness for light and light for darkness!" (Is 5:20).
[John-Paul II, Veritatis Splendor,  #93].

The Catholic Church is our Mother, and in Quebec, our Mother is an abused woman. Some of the people who savagely kick her in the face are priests. Meanwhile, the other priests turn away, and pretend they didn't see anything. Back in their parishes, these timid priests perform linguistic miracles to write sermons that displease neither the wolves nor the sheep.

Odorless, colorless and sanitized sermons.

The Catholic Church, Virgin and Mother, sobs on her knees, covered with wounds. A few rare faithful try to say:

"Shouldn't we at least speak out against this situation? Shouldn't we at least tell everybody we love our own Mother?"

And these faithful are roughly upbraided by some religious leaders in Quebec.

7) Conclusion

You can laugh or cry, or both, but I've heard the following arguments, whereby supposedly good Catholics have refused to publicly profess their faith.

I believe in God, the Father Almighty...

"I can't publicly profess my faith today, because today I'm baking bread, and it takes me five hours to bake a batch."

"Of course I'm willing to profess my faith on the Internet! As long as my name doesn't appear on the web site."

I believe in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord...

"It's insulting for a Catholic deacon to be offered the possibility of professing his faith publicly."

I believe in the Holy Spirit...

"Professing publicly my faith on the Internet? No, because there are too many bad jokes on your web site."

I believe the Church, One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic...

"Certainly not! There are far too many wolves in the sheepfold!"

...in the resurrection of the flesh, in Life everlasting.

 

Amen!

 

I'm ready Lord. Just say the word.

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

La paperasserie bureaucratique, et le sang des martyrs

Red Tape Cosme Tura. St. Sébastien.
Esto fidelis usque ad mortem, et dabo tibi coronam vitae. [Ap 2:10]
(La Dame prise dans la paperasserie. [Source inconnue] et Cosme Tura. St. Sébastien. Source)

1) Introduction

Quel rapport y a-t-il entre la paperasserie bureaucratique, et une personne qui témoigne de sa foi en Jésus-Christ, malgré les tortures mortelles des bourreaux?

Bien sûr, n'importe qui ayant déjà discuté avec un commis du gouvernement au sujet d'une quelconque paperasserie sait ce qu'est la souffrance! Parfois, lorsqu'on est pris dans un labyrinthe de formulaires, ou une jungle de règlements, on a un peu l'impression d'être «martyrisés»!  (Sauf que contrairement au gouvernement, les vrais bourreaux ont une main gauche qui sait ce que fait leur main droite).

Mais, blague à part, y a-t-il un rapport entre la paperasserie, et les martyrs catholiques? Pour le commun des mortels, non, mais pour un sociologue, les deux sont des faits sociaux régis par des lois scientifiques.

2) Les martyrs comme données sociologiques

Qu'est-ce qu'un martyr pour un sociologue? C'est quelqu'un qui fait un choix. Pour un sociologue, un choix est un choix. Une personne qui choisit de vendre sa grand-mère pour acheter un plat de macaroni au fromage, est un peu comme un mauvais catholique qui choisit de renier sa foi, afin de conserver son chèque de paie.

Le sociologue ne peut pas, avec sa science, savoir si la religion catholique est vraie ou fausse. C'est un peu comme s'il y avait une grosse boîte, dans laquelle il pouvait y avoir une grand-mère, ou seulement des sacs de sable. Le bon sociologue ne se prononce pas sur ce qui est à l'intérieur. Par contre, il peut observer la société, et constater qu'il y a un groupe de personnes qui prétendent dur comme fer que cette boîte contient une grand-mère. Ensuite, il peut observer ce que font les membres de ce groupe, lorsqu'on leur offre un plat de macaroni au fromage en échange du contenu de la boîte.

Notre sociologue ne fait pas ce genre d'expériences parce qu'il est fasciné par le macaroni, mais bien parce qu'il est fasciné par les mécanismes qui font marcher la société. Un de ces mécanismes est la force morale permettant de défendre ses convictions, qui pourrait être comparé aux voiles d'un voilier. L'autre mécanisme serait le contact avec la réalité, qui pourrait être comparé au gouvernail du voiler.

Les fanatiques religieux, selon notre métaphore du voilier, ont de très grosses et bonnes voiles, mais pas de gouvernail. Ils ont la force et le courage de défendre leurs convictions, mais leurs convictions ont perdu contact avec la réalité. De leur côté, les mauvais catholiques ont peut-être un bon gouvernail (ils sont en contact avec la réalité, car ils savent que Dieu est plus important qu'un chèque de paie, par exemple) mais ils n'ont pas de voiles, car ils sont prêts à sacrifier ce qu'ils ont de plus sacré, contre quelque chose de vil.

3) La Peste paperassique

Que se passe-t-il dans une société qui a un bon «gouvernail», mais dont les «voiles» sont en lambeaux à cause de la faiblesse de la fibre morale? Je ne suis pas un sociologue, mais il y a peut être une corrélation entre la surabondance de paperasserie, et l'absence du sang des martyrs. Que fait-on quand nos politiciens vendent notre grand-mère pour se payer un plat de macaroni? On rajoute un «Commissaire à la déontologie», comme s'il n'y avait pas déjà assez de lois leur disant d'être honnêtes. Que fait-on quand les gens trichent l'impôt? On rajoute encore des formulaires, des cartes de compétence, des impôts sur les pourboires, des taxes sur la vente, des taxes sur l'achat, des taxes sur se tourner les pouces, etc. Que fait-on quand des enfoirés imbibés d'alcool conduisent comme des fous sur nos routes? On rajoute des points de démérite, des panneaux publicitaires le long des routes, des heures au cours de conduite,  on forme un «Comité de travail sur la rage au volant», et bien sûr on fait payer encore plus d'impôts pour les assurances-auto, etc.

Lorsque les citoyens savent ce qui est un bon comportement, mais qu'ils choisissent quand même le mauvais comportement, ce n'est pas un problème de «gouvernail», mais bien de «voile», de fibre morale. Une société qui a cette maladie pourra empiler tant qu'elle voudra les couches de paperasserie, cela ne règlera pas son problème.

4) Les athées comme socio-marqueurs

Notre sociologue pourrait étudier encore plus profondément la société, et s'apercevoir que tous les groupes ne sont pas identiques. En effet, pour certaines personnes, la boîte ne peut même pas contenir de grand-mère, et ils ne peuvent choisir qu'entre des plats de macaroni au fromage plus ou moins savoureux. Comment blâmer en effet un athée, lorsqu'il fraude les impôts? Selon ses convictions, nous ne sommes que le résultat aléatoire d'une évolution sans finalité, nos règles morales sont purement le fruit de conventions sociales, et la mort n'est que la dissolution d'un assemblage d'atomes. Cet assemblage d'atomes permet momentanément à un épiphénomène de la matière d'être conscient de plaisir ou de douleur, et il peut avoir un nom comme «Julie», ou  «François». Pourquoi pas décharger des produits toxiques dans une rivière? Pourquoi pas frauder les impôts? Pourquoi pas se sauver après avoir froissé la tôle d'une autre voiture dans le stationnement souterrain? Pour un athée, toutes ces choses ne sont que des assemblages d'atomes, de pures conventions, des épiphénomènes.

Attention! Le sociologue ne juge pas l'athée! Il constate que l'athée a des «voiles» plus petites que les catholiques, du moins en théorie. En effet l'athée a moins de bonnes raisons pour considérer que certaines choses sont sacrées, intouchables, infiniment dignes. Le sociologue peut poser l'hypothèse que dans une société donnée, si les catholiques ont une fibre morale faible, alors celle des athées aura tendance à être encore plus faible, et tous les gens qui peuvent se situer «entre» ces deux «extrêmes» auront aussi une tendance à la baisse. En d'autres mots, l'athée pourrait être utilisé comme une sorte de «socio-marqueur».

Bien sûr, notre sociologue est au courant que plusieurs soi-disant «catholiques» sont en fait des athées en pratique, et que plusieurs personnes qui se décrivent comme athées ont une foi vive en la Dignité humaine et en la Justice. La foi de ces soi-disant «athées» ne s'agence pas logiquement avec leurs autres convictions, mais c'est une foi en quelque chose de divin. Le sociologue sait aussi que les choses ne sont pas noires ou blanches dans la réalité, mais souvent en tons de gris. Par contre, le sociologue voit les choses de haut, et s'intéresse aux phénomènes régis par la loi des grands nombres, où les différences individuelles s'estompent, pour laisser apparaître les grandes tendances. Il voit que la «distance» entre les biens varie, et que cette «distance» sera plus grande pour un vrai catholique qu'un vrai athée.

Les catholiques n'ont pas à choisir entre leur grand-mère, et un plat de nouilles, mais bien entre ce qu'il y a de plus digne, Dieu, et un plat de boue (que cette boue soit un chèque de paie, une réputation professionnelle, ou même la vie de la guenille temporairement enroulée autour de leur âme). Selon les catholiques, un martyr est quelqu'un qui abandonne rien, en échange de Tout!

Le comportement des catholiques pourrait donc être un précieux indicateur sociologique de la santé de la fibre morale d'une société. Plus les catholiques seront prêts à renier Jésus publiquement, plus la société en général aura tendance à être malade.

5) La maladie du catholicisme au Québec

Que se passe-t-il aujourd'hui au Québec? Un sociologue qui étudierait les catholiques serait atterré, et déménagerait probablement vite dans une autre province, un peu comme un sismologue qui verrait les signes avant-coureurs d'un énorme tremblement de terre. L'Église est rongée par la paperasserie, comme en témoigne le «Document d'orientation sur la Démarche du congrès d'orientation pour l'avenir des communautés chrétiennes» (c'est le vrai titre!). Traduit en bon français, ce document s'appelle «Le Derby de démolition diocésain». Mais passons.

Ce qui est plus inquiétant, c'est que les rares personnes qui se prétendent encore catholiques et fidèles au Pape débordent d'un amour passionnel lubrique pour le macaroni au fromage. Je rencontre depuis plusieurs mois des gens qui constatent comme moi l'état lamentable de l'Église catholique au Québec, et qui en privé ne se gênent pas pour proclamer haut et fort leur foi en Jésus-Christ et leur fidélité au Magistère de l'Église. Par contre, quand je leur propose de faire la même profession de foi en public (sur l'Internet par exemple), ces gens pourtant raisonnables se mettent à pondre les sophismes les plus illogiques pour justifier leur amour du macaroni.

L'Église catholique au Québec est malade, et sa maladie contamine toute la société québécoise. Tous les québécois et québécoises, quelles que soient leurs croyances, subissent les effets pervers du manque de courage des catholiques (voir entre autres La nappe phréatique spirituelle).

6) Que se serait-il passé si Jérusalem avait été au Québec?

Imaginez si saint Jean Baptiste avait été comme les catholiques du Québec d'aujourd'hui. D'abord, il aurait cessé de vivre dans le désert, et se serait trouvé un emploi de vendeur au centre d'achat. Il aurait eu le rire gras et une bedaine de bière. Il pratiquerait encore des baptêmes, mais à temps partiel, et dans des cérémonies privées.

«Avant, je baptisais dans le Jourdain, mais il y avait trop de partisans d'Hérode en ville. J'ai vu que le Seigneur me demandait de continuer mon apostolat de manière plus discrète.»

Heureusement pour le Québec, notre saint Patron n'a pas agi ainsi. Au contraire, il a continué à baptiser en public, et à prêcher clairement des choses en rapport avec la réalité des gens. C'est pourquoi il a fait un sermon sur Hérode et son adultère:

«Tu ne prendras pas la femme de ton frère!»

Au seuil du Nouveau Testament, Jean Baptiste, se refusant à taire la Loi du Seigneur et à se compromettre avec le mal, «a donné sa vie pour la justice et la vérité», et il fut ainsi précurseur du Messie jusque dans le martyre [Mc 6:17-29].
[Jean-Paul II, Veritatis Splendor, N° 91].

Jésus aussi a eu le choix. Nul ne l'a forcé à prêcher publiquement.

Imaginez par absurde, si Jésus avait été comme les catholiques du Québec d'aujourd'hui. Il aurait été professeur de littérature hébraïque à l'Université de Jérusalem, et aurait fait des miracles discrets (comme réparer la machine à café du bureau, quand personne ne regardait).

Un jour, les étudiants de Jésus seraient arrivés tout essoufflés et consternés. «Professeur Christ! Professeur Christ! Votre Mère est arrivée aujourd'hui à Jérusalem, et elle a crié aux vendeurs dans le Temple:

«C'est un temple de prière ici! Ne faites pas de la maison de mon Père une caverne de voleurs!»

Jésus aurait répondu en secouant la tête:

«Ah! Cette Vierge Marie, elle est tellement arrogante et naïve! Elle n'a qu'à pratiquer sa religion discrètement et de manière socialement acceptable, comme tous les autres.»

Un Jésus inodore, incolore et aseptisé.

Heureusement, Jésus est Dieu, et il n'a pas manqué de courage.

Les martyrs et, plus généralement, tous les saints de l'Église, par l'exemple éloquent et attirant d'une vie totalement transfigurée par la splendeur de la vérité morale, éclairent toutes les époques de l'histoire en y réveillant le sens moral. Rendant un témoignage sans réserve au bien, ils sont un vivant reproche pour ceux qui transgressent la loi (cf. Sg 2, 12) et ils donnent une constante actualité aux paroles du prophète : «Malheur à ceux qui appellent le mal bien et le bien mal, qui font des ténèbres la lumière et de la lumière les ténèbres» (Is 5, 20).
[Jn-Paul II, La Splendeur de la vérité, N° 93].

L'Église catholique est notre Mère, et au Québec, notre Mère est une femme battue. Certains de ceux qui lui donnent sauvagement des coups de pied au visage sont des prêtres. Pendant ce temps, les autres prêtres détournent le visage, et font semblant de n'avoir rien vu. Revenus dans leur paroisse, ces prêtres timides font des miracles linguistiques pour écrire des sermons qui vont déplaire ni aux loups, ni aux brebis.

Des sermons inodores, incolores et aseptisés.

L'Église catholique, Vierge et Mère, sanglote à genoux, couverte de blessures. Quelques rares fidèles tentent de dire :

«Ne devrait-on pas dénoncer cette situation publiquement? Ne devrait-on pas au moins dire à tout le monde que nous aimons notre Mère?»

Et ces fidèles se font rabrouer sévèrement par certains chefs religieux du Québec.

7) Conclusion

Riez ou pleurez, ou les deux, mais j'ai entendu les arguments qui suivent, par lesquels de supposés bon catholiques ont refusé de témoigner publiquement de leur foi.

Je crois en Dieu, le Père tout-puissant...

«Mais je ne peux pas professer ma foi, parce que aujourd'hui je fais du pain, et ça me prend cinq heures pour faire mon pain»

«Bien sûr que je suis prête à professer ma foi sur l'Internet! D'abord que mon nom n'apparaisse pas sur le site.»

Je crois en Jésus-Christ, son Fils Unique, Notre Seigneur...

«C'est insultant pour un diacre catholique de se faire offrir la possibilité de professer sa foi publiquement»

Je crois en l'Esprit Saint...

«Professer publiquement ma foi sur l'Internet? Non, parce qu'il y a trop de farces plattes sur ton site web!»

Je crois à l'Église, Une, Sainte, Catholique et Apostolique...

«Surtout pas! Il y a beaucoup trop de loups dans la bergerie»

... à la résurrection de la chair, à la Vie éternelle.

 

Amen!

 

Je suis prêt, Seigneur. Quand Vous voudrez.

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus