| Home >> Philosophy

A Reading List For Atheists

Johann Heinrich Füssli. The Sleepwalking Lady Macbeth.
(Johann Heinrich Füssli. The Sleepwalking Lady Macbeth. Source)

If you're an Atheist, I suggest you read the following texts, in their order of appearance, in order to avoid misunderstandings concerning this web site and it's position on Atheism:

1) My opinions are only as good as my sources of information. Read "Help! I'm Being Held Prisoner By My Sources Of Information!".

2) In a way, we should all be Atheists. If "god" is dumb, evil, crazy and despotic, then I want to be an "atheist" too! Read section 2 in "If God Is Dead, Nothing Is Forbidden".

3) Atheism is partially caused by the wickedness of Catholics. "Believers can have more than a little to do with the rise of Atheism. To the extent that they are careless about their instruction in the faith, or present its teaching falsely, or even fail in their religious, moral, or social life, they must be said to conceal rather than to reveal the true nature of God and of religion." [CCC, #2125]

4) Atheists and Christians can and must live together in peace and justice. The best example on how to coexist in peace and justice with non-Christians is of course Jesus Christ Himself! Read the Gospels.

5) Religious obscurantism is threatening our society as we speak. Unfortunately, religious obscurantism isn't something we can only see during an exhibit on the Middle Ages in a museum. Read "Public Enemy #1: Religious Obscurantism".

6) Not all "atheists" are really Atheists; some are just not very bright. The word "Atheist" can become a meaningless label. Just as there are people who claim to be "Christians" without having the charity of Christ, there are people who call themselves "Atheists" even though they aren't particularly rational or "bright". In the worst case, people can invent a new superstition for themselves and call that "Atheism". Read "The "Atheist Trinity": Tolerance, Equality, Ecology".

7) In a way, all Atheists are believers. The word "belief" is often incorrectly defined these days. But if "belief" is defined correctly, all Atheists are believers, in a way. Read "100% of all religions are false (± 1%)".

8) Atheism, strictly speaking, has serious logical and political consequences. I've never met an Atheist who was able to rationally explain why good and evil would exist, even if God didn't exist. Read Section 7 of "If God Is Dead, Nothing Is Forbidden". (If you feel you can supply such an explanation, you can earn a lot of money by writing me a few e-mails. See Intellectual Joust!.)

9) Atheists themselves behave as if they were wrong. If Atheism was true, Atheists would make reasonable and charitable efforts to free Christians from their error. Read "Where Are The Good Samaritan Atheists?"

10) God's existence can be proved. We can believe in the existence of God, but we can also scientifically prove it. Read "The Proofs of God's Existence: Some Preliminary Groundwork".

11) Honest Atheists must admit that life would be beautiful if Jesus was God. Read "Dear Schoolchildren, Here Is Your Homework For Next Week!"

12) Christianity is quite compatible with Politics. Many Atheists claim Christianity is incompatible with good Politics. This is not true. Read What is The "Social Kingship" Of Christ?

13) The Catholic religion is not at all like the Atheists describe it. Read "Spiderman vs. Atheist-Man"

 

| Home >> Philosophy

| Accueil >> Philosophie

Une liste de lecture pour les athées

Johann Heinrich Füssli. Lady Macbeth somnambule.
(Johann Heinrich Füssli. Lady Macbeth somnambule. Source)

Si vous êtes athée, je vous suggère de lire les textes suivants, dans l'ordre où ils apparaissent, afin d'éviter les malentendus à propos de ce site web et sa position concernant l'athéisme:

1) Mes opinions ne peuvent pas être meilleures que mes sources d'information. Lire «Au secours! Mes sources d'information me tiennent prisonnier!».

2) D'une certaine manière, nous devons tous être athées. Si «dieu» est bête, méchant, insensé et tyrannique, alors je veux être «athée» moi aussi! Lire la section 2 de «Si Dieu est mort, tout est permis».

3) L'athéisme est causé en partie par la méchanceté des catholiques. «Dans la genèse et la diffusion de l'athéisme, les catholiques peuvent avoir une part qui n'est pas mince, dans la mesure où, par la négligence dans l'éducation de la Foi, par des représentations trompeuses de la doctrine, et aussi par des défaillances de leur vie religieuse, morale et sociale, on peut dire qu'ils voilent l'authentique visage de Dieu et de la religion plus qu'ils ne le révèlent». [CÉC, No. 2125]

4) Les athées et les chrétiens doivent vivre ensemble dans la paix et la justice. Le meilleur exemple de la coexistence avec les non-chrétiens dans la paix et la justice est bien sûr Jésus-Christ Lui-même! Lire les Évangiles.

5) L'obscurantisme religieux menace notre société en ce moment. Malheureusement, l'obscurantisme religieux n'est pas quelque chose qu'on peut seulement voir dans une exposition sur le Moyen-âge dans un musée. Lire «L'ennemi public No. 1: l'Obscurantisme religieux».

6) Tous les "athées" ne sont pas vraiment athées; certains sont tout simplement peu brillants. Le mot «athée» peut devenir une étiquette sans signification. Tout comme il y a des gens qui se prétendent «chrétiens» sans avoir la charité du Christ, il y a des gens qui se disent «athées» et qui ne sont pas particulièrement rationnels ou «lumineux». À la limite, des gens peuvent s'inventer une nouvelle superstition et appeler ça «l'athéisme». Lire «La «Trinité athée»: Tolérance, Égalité, Écologie».

7) D'une manière, tous les athées sont croyants. Le mot «croyance» est souvent incorrectement défini de nos jours. Mais si «croyance» est correctement défini, tous les athées sont croyants, d'une certaine manière. Lire «100% des religions sont fausses (à ± 1%)».

8) L'athéisme, strictement parlant, a des conséquences logiques et politiques graves. Je n'ai jamais rencontré un athée qui était capable d'expliquer rationnellement pourquoi le bien et le mal existeraient, même si Dieu n'existait pas. Lire la section 7 de «Si Dieu est mort, tout est permis». (Si vous pensez pouvoir fournir une telle explication, vous pouvez gagner beaucoup d'argent en m'écrivant quelques courriels. Voir Joute intellectuelle!.)

9) Les athées eux-mêmes se comportent comme s'ils étaient dans l'erreur. Si l'athéisme était vrai, les athées feraient des efforts raisonnables et charitables pour libérer les chrétiens de leur erreur. Lire «Où sont les bons Samaritains athées?»

10) L'existence de Dieu peut être prouvée. On peut croire en l'existence de Dieu, mais on peut aussi la prouver scientifiquement. Lire «Les preuves de l'existence de Dieu: un premier débroussaillage».

11) Les athées honnêtes doivent avouer que la vie serait belle si Jésus était Dieu. Lire «Chers écoliers, voici votre devoir pour la semaine prochaine!»

12) Le christianisme est tout-à-fait compatible avec la politique. De nombreux athées prétendent que le christianisme est incompatible avec la bonne politique. C'est faux. Lire Qu'est-ce que la «Royauté sociale» du Christ?

13) La religion catholique n'est pas du tout comme les athées la décrivent. Lire «L'Homme-araignée contre l'Homme-athée»

 

| Accueil >> Philosophie