| Home >> Politics

Public Enemy #1: Religious Obscurantism

Religious Obscurantism
(Source)

1) Introduction

Religious obscurantism is to human intelligence a bit what gravity is to airplanes. Everywhere, always, airplanes must fight against gravity. As soon as they stop fighting, or that they are poorly maintained, or badly piloted, airplanes are inevitably dragged down to the ground, sometimes violently.

It's roughly the same thing for human intelligence. As soon as we stop actively fighting against religious obscurantism, as soon as we begin to believe stupidly without having any proofs, we head toward a catastrophe.

2) First symptom: Religious obscurantism starts by obscuring its own nature

One of the first symptoms of a society "infected" with religious obscurantism is that the very nature of religious obscurantism becomes obscured. The general population starts to believe that Obscurantism is defined as "the disease that we can't have". When you pronounce the words "religious obscurantism", the average Joe thinks of weird Muslims with turbans in a country filled with sand and oil, or crazy Christians who try to fix their car by reading the Bible, instead of an Automotive Repair book. The average Joe doesn't start by examining himself to see if he's tainted with religious obscurantism.

How should we define "religious obscurantism"? I would propose:

"The social disease whereby citizens start to unify or separate the subject from the predicate for a reason other than evidence, without realizing it".

Let's try to explain this definition. Remember that asserting something means "unifying or separating the subject from the predicate". For example, you can "unify" the subject "my hand" with the predicate "five fingers" by asserting:

"My hand has five fingers."

This assertion will be true or false, depending on whether you've been careful or not when using your power tools! Seriously, if your hand has five fingers, and you see and feel it with evidence, you know the assertion is true, based on something "internal" to the assertion. You assert because the evidence is there, not out of some belief.

Believing something is not necessarily religious obscurantism. For example, if your Physician says: "Take these pills to lower your blood pressure", you will probably believe him. But you know that you believe him, you know that you don't currently have the medical knowledge to understand what is in those pills, and why they can help you (See also "100% of all religions are false ( 1%)" for more explanations on beliefs).

Religious obscurantism starts when you begin to believe, without even realizing it. Notice the two parts of the expression: "religious" pertains to believing that an assertion is true, and "obscurantism" pertains to the fact you don't realize you're believing, as opposed to knowing.

3) Second symptom: Religious obscurantism attacks Science

Another typical symptom of religious obscurantism is that Science is attacked, often by scientists themselves, and scientists who don't even realize they are attacking Science! These days, not only is it easy to find ordinary citizens who believe in Science without even clearly knowing what Science is, but many scientists also fall into this trap (See also "Isn't believing in Science anti-scientific?", as well, Chapter 3 of [Gauch, Hugh G. Scientific Method in Practice, London, Cambridge University Press, 2003] about "Science Wars").

Some examples:

3.1) Philosophy is no longer considered a Science. This seems to be caused by an incorrect definition of "Science", and a lack of knowledge of the "Philosophia Perennis" (or correct philosophical tradition).

3.2) Scientific knowledge is confused with "what some scientists say". Instead of considering scientific knowledge as the product of a demonstrative syllogism, science becomes "what is said by the majority of people generally considered to be scientists".

3.3) The foundations of Science are laid on faith instead of evidence. Many claim that logic and facts can only "take us so far; then we have to go the rest of the way toward belief" [Brown and Keely, Asking the Right Questions; A Guide to Critical Thinking, 6th Ed., p. 196], or that "Science rests on faith" [Hugh G. Gauch, Scientific Method in Practice, p. 152. But please note that I consider this one of the rare shortcomings of Gauch's book, which otherwise appears excellent to me].

3.4) Metaphysics is replaced by experimental Physics. Many popular sophists these days make all kinds of claims about God, our spiritual soul, intelligence and free-will (or, more usually, our lack thereof!). Their arguments (usually bad and sophistical) are philosophical, but they pretend to base themselves on some conclusions of experimental Physics (heavily "interpreted", of course!).

3.5) Scientific knowledge itself becomes very uncertain. "What was scientifically true yesterday is no longer true today, and what is scientifically true today will be false tomorrow", claims religious obscurantism. Of course, things like the Pythagorean Theorem are never mentioned, nor the fact Newtonian Physics are still valid, under certain conditions (which Newton himself couldn't have been aware of, and hence didn't mention). Scientific knowledge becomes a foggy, changeable blob, constantly being modified by culture, language, etc.

3.6) Popular philosophers of Science, like Karl Popper, Imre Lakatos, Thomas Kuhn and Paul Feyerabend attack the very foundations of Science. Hugh Gauch talks about the "Four Deadly Woes" of Science, i.e. the four steps whereby Science is progressively destroyed:

3.6.1) "Elusive Truth". Karl Popper said science cannot prove a theory is true, but only that a theory is false ("falsifiability"). "Hence, the best that science could do was to offer numerous conjectures, refute the worst with contrary data, and accept the survivors in a tentative manner. But that implies that although "we search for truth, we can never be sure we have found it"" [Karl Popper, quoted in Gauch 2003, p. 82].

3.6.2) "Underdetermined Theory". According to Popper, all observations are "contaminated" with theory. "But if observations are theory-laden, that means that observations are simply theories, and then how can one theory falsify (never mind verify) another theory? Curiously, the full implications of this little complication were not fully grasped by Popper, but by Imre Lakatos: not only are scientific theories not verifiable, they are not falsifiable either" [quoted in Gauch 2003, p. 84].

3.6.3) "Incommensurable Paradigms". Gauch summarizes Kuhn thus: "A paradigm is the broad common ground and disciplinary matrix that unites a particular group of scientists at particular times". Paradigms are incommensurable, i.e. "no common measure or criterion can be applied to competing paradigms to make a rational, objective choice between them". Science according to Kuhn is "arational". Incommensurable paradigms imply arational choices. In other words, Kuhn does not permit truth to be a criterion of scientific theories" [Gauch 2003, p. 86].

3.6.4) "Redesigned Goals". Traditionally, Science has had the goals of rationality, truth, objectivity and realism. But Feyerabend and others like him, fighting against the so-called "tyranny of truth", claim that "Equal weight should be given to competing avenues of knowledge, such as Astrology, Acupuncture and Witchcraft" [Paul Feyerabend, quoted in Gauch 2003, p. 88].

3.7) Some scientists help destroy Science. "There are very good reasons why twentieth century philosophy of science, under the malign influence of Popper through to Feyerabend, is profoundly hostile to Science itself... It is indeed unfortunate that many scientists, through ignorance, quote these philosophers approvingly. The most effective victories are those in which the losers unwittingly assist their opponents" [quoted in Gauch 2003, p. 91].

Etc., etc...

4) Third symptom: Religious obscurantism attacks Morality

A third symptom of Religious obscurantism is that Morality is attacked, as well as Politics, which has many connections with Morality.

Some examples:

4.1) Ethics is replaced by Sociology. "Good" and "evil" become a simple consensus of such a population, in such a territory. When you ask people infected with Religious Obscurantism to define "good" and "evil", they'll never say: "OK, let's approach that problem scientifically". On the contrary, they will assert with great certainty that Science can't define good and evil, even though they can't define Science or explain what Ethics is!

4.2) Public discussion of political problems is reduced or eliminated. A good example here in Canada is the problem of same-sex unions. I haven't seen a good debate on the topic yet, especially since "Step One" for such a debate has not occurred, as far as I know.

4.3) Marriage is defined as "that which cannot be defined". I continue to be amazed at the reactions of couples living in unmarried cohabitation. If you ask them why they are not married, they'll explain with great certainty that marriage is not for them. If you then ask them what "marriage" is (since of course they can't have rationally decided to forego marriage unless they knew what it was), you'll often get verbal abuse instead of a definition! They just believe marriage is bad, and refuse to consider the matter any more!

4.4) Human rights are all-important, yet few know why we have them. Try this experiment: ask somebody whether they have rights. "Of course!" is the inevitable answer. Then ask them why. "Because the Law says so!", is a usual answer. But what if the Supreme Court legalized rape, would rape become a right? "Ooops! My car is double-parked!" is a typical answer.

Etc., etc...

Society having run off the cliff of Reason
(Source: [broken link] www.barkbarkwoofwoof.com/looneytunes18.gif)

5) Conclusion

If there was such a thing as a calamity, what would it look like? What is the correct definition of "doom"? Certainly, a total nuclear war would qualify, as well as a "global killer" meteorite that would strike planet Earth. But I would also suggest that Religious Obscurantism can become a catastrophe. After all, acting well is acting according to Reason, so if we abandon Reason, nothing prevents us from falling into the worst evils imaginable.

If we don't stop Public Enemy #1, i.e. Religious Obscurantism, there is no limit to the damage that can be done.

"Indeed, the debate whether or not science has credible rationality is an enormously significant matter"
[Gauch 2003, p. 77].

"The only alternative to rights based on Metaphysics, is rights based on Might"
[Kreeft 2002, p. 24].

In my opinion, Religious Obscurantism is a threat, and we are at risk of losing everything. The only metaphor I can think of, to describe our current situation, is the Coyote who has run off the edge of a cliff while pursuing the Road Runner. The Coyote is standing on thin air, but momentarily he remains suspended above the precipice.

Sometimes it seems we have run off the cliff of Reason while chasing Pleasure, and we have not yet realized that our Universities, our Laws, and our Morality are standing on thin air...

| Home >> Politics

| Accueil >> Politique

L'ennemi public No. 1: l'Obscurantisme religieux

Obscurantisme religieux
(Source)

1) Introduction

L'obscurantisme religieux est à l'intelligence humaine un peu ce que la gravité est aux avions. Partout, toujours, les avions doivent lutter contre la gravité. Dès qu'ils cessent de lutter, ou qu'ils sont mal entretenus, ou mal pilotés, les avions sont immanquablement entraînés au sol, parfois violemment.

C'est en gros la même chose pour l'intelligence humaine. Dès qu'on cesse de lutter activement contre l'obscurantisme religieux, dès qu'on se met à croire bêtement sans preuves, on se dirige vers une catastrophe.

2) Premier symptôme: l'obscurantisme religieux commence par obscurcir sa propre nature

Un des premiers symptômes d'une société «infectée» par l'obscurantisme religieux est que la nature même de l'obscurantisme religieux devient obscure. La population en général commence à croire que l'obscurantisme est défini comme «la maladie que nous ne pouvons pas avoir». Lorsque vous prononcez les mots «obscurantisme religieux», Monsieur Tout-le-Monde pense à des musulmans bizarres avec des turbans, vivant dans un pays rempli de sable et de pétrole, ou encore il pense à des chrétiens fous qui tentent de réparer leur voiture en lisant la Bible, plutôt que de lire un manuel de mécanique automobile. Monsieur Tout-le-Monde ne commence pas par s'examiner lui-même pour voir s'il est contaminé avec l'obscurantisme religieux.

Comment devrait-on définir «obscurantisme religieux»? Je propose:

«La maladie sociale par laquelle les citoyens commencent à unifier ou séparer le sujet du prédicat pour une raison autre que l'évidence, sans s'en rendre compte».

Essayons d'expliquer cette définition. Rappelez-vous qu'affirmer quelque chose veut dire «unifier ou séparer le sujet du prédicat». Par exemple, vous pouvez «unifier» le sujet «ma main» avec le prédicat «cinq doigts» en affirmant:

«Ma main a cinq doigts»

Cette affirmation sera vraie ou fausse, dépendamment de si vous avez été prudent en utilisant vos outils électriques! Sérieusement, si votre main a cinq doigts, et que vous le voyez et le touchez avec évidence, vous savez que l'affirmation est vraie, grâce à quelque chose «d'interne» à l'affirmation. Vous affirmez parce que l'évidence est là, pas à cause d'une quelconque croyance.

Croire quelque chose n'est pas nécessairement de l'obscurantisme religieux. Par exemple, si votre médecin vous dit: «Prenez ces pilules pour faire baisser votre pression», vous allez probablement le croire. Mais vous savez que vous le croyez, vous savez que vous n'avez pas en ce moment les connaissances médicales pour comprendre ce qui est dans ces pilules, et pourquoi elles peuvent vous aider (voir aussi «100% des religions sont fausses (± 1%)» pour plus d'explications sur les croyances).

L'obscurantisme religieux commence quand vous vous mettez à croire, sans même vous en rendre compte. Remarquez les deux parties de l'expression: «religieux» a rapport à croire qu'une affirmation est vraie, et «obscurantisme» a rapport au fait que vous ne vous rendez pas compte que vous êtes en train de croire, par opposition à savoir.

3) Deuxième symptôme: l'obscurantisme religieux attaque la science

Un autre symptôme typique de l'obscurantisme religieux est que la science est attaquée, souvent par les scientifiques eux-mêmes, et des scientifiques qui ne se rendent même pas compte qu'ils attaquent la science! De nos jours, non seulement est-il facile de trouver des citoyens ordinaires qui croient à la science sans même savoir clairement ce qu'elle est, mais plusieurs scientifiques tombent aussi dans ce panneau (voir aussi «Croire en la science n'est-il pas anti-scientifique?», mais aussi le chapitre 3 de [Gauch, Hugh G. Scientific Method in Practice, London, Cambridge University Press, 2003] concernant «la Guerre de la science»).

Quelques exemples:

3.1) On ne considère plus la philosophie comme une science. Ceci semble causé par une définition incorrecte de la «science», et un manque de connaissances sur la «Philosophia Perennis» (ou tradition philosophique correcte).

3.2) On confond la connaissance scientifique avec «ce que disent les scientifiques». Plutôt que de considérer la connaissance scientifique comme étant le produit d'un syllogisme démonstratif, la science devient «ce que disent la majorité des gens généralement considérés comme étant des scientifiques».

3.3) On pose les fondations de la science sur la foi plutôt que l'évidence. Plusieurs prétendent que la logique et les faits «ne nous font faire qu'une partie du chemin; ensuite il faut faire le reste du chemin pour atteindre la croyance» [Brown and Keely, Asking the Right Questions; A Guide to Critical Thinking, 6th Ed., p. 196], ou que «la science est posée sur la Foi» [Hugh G. Gauch, Scientific Method in Practice, p. 152. Mais remarquez que je considère ceci comme un des rares défauts du livre de Gauch, qui autrement me semble excellent].

3.4) La métaphysique est remplacée par la physique expérimentale. Plusieurs sophistes populaires de nos jours prétendent toutes sortes de choses sur Dieu, sur notre âme spirituelle, sur notre intelligence et notre libre-arbitre (ou plus fréquemment ils en nient l'existence!). Leurs arguments (généralement mauvais et sophistiques) sont philosophiques, mais ils prétendent se fonder sur les conclusions de la physique expérimentale (conclusions fortement «interprétées», bien sûr!).

3.5) La connaissance scientifique elle-même devient très incertaine. «Ce qui était scientifiquement vrai hier n'est plus vrai aujourd'hui, et ce qui est scientifiquement vrai aujourd'hui sera faux demain», affirme l'obscurantisme religieux. Bien sûr, des choses comme le Théorème de Pythagore ne sont jamais mentionnées, ni le fait que la physique newtonienne est encore bonne, dans certaines conditions (que Newton lui-même ne pouvait pas soupçonner, et qu'il n'a donc pas mentionné). La connaissance scientifique devient un magma flou et changeant, constamment modifié par la culture, la langue, etc.

3.6) Des philosophes de la science bien connus, comme Karl Popper, Imre Lakatos, Thomas Kuhn and Paul Feyerabend attaquent les fondements même de la science. Hugh Gauch parle des «Quatre malheurs mortels» de la science, c'est-à-dire des quatre étapes par laquelle on détruit la science:

3.6.1) «La vérité insaisissable». Karl Popper a dit que la science ne pouvait pas prouver qu'une théorie était vraie, mais seulement qu'une théorie était fausse (la «falsifiabilité»). «Donc, le mieux que la science pouvait faire était d'offrir de nombreuses conjectures, de réfuter les pires avec des données en sens contraire, et d'accepter provisoirement les théories survivantes. Mais cela implique que même si «on cherche la vérité, on ne peut jamais être sûr qu'on l'a trouvée»» [Karl Popper, cité dans Gauch 2003, p. 82].

3.6.2) «Les théories sous-déterminées». Selon Popper, toutes les observations sont «contaminées» par la théorie. «Mais si les observations sont pleines de théorie, cela signifie que les observations ne sont que des théories, et donc comment une théorie peut-elle falsifier (encore moins vérifier) une autre théorie? Curieusement, toutes les implications de cette petite complication n'ont pas été pleinement comprises par Popper, mais par Imre Lakatos: non seulement les théories scientifiques sont invérifiables, mais elle ne sont pas falsifiables non plus» [cité dans Gauch 2003, p. 84].

3.6.3) «Les paradigmes incommensurables». Gauch résume Kuhn ainsi: «Un paradigme est un terrain d'entente large et une matrice disciplinaire qui unifie un groupe particulier de savants à un moment donné». Les paradigmes sont incommensurables, c'est-à-dire qu'«aucune mesure commune ou critère ne peut être appliqués à des paradigmes concurrents pour faire un choix rationnel et objectif entre ces deux paradigmes». La science selon Kuhn est «a-rationnelle». Les paradigmes incommensurables impliquent des choix arationnels. En d'autres mots, Kuhn ne permet pas que la vérité soit un critère des théories scientifiques» [Gauch 2003, p. 86].

3.6.4) «Les objectifs redéfinis». Traditionnellement, la science a eu les objectifs de la rationalité, la vérité, l'objectivité, et le réalisme. Mais Feyerabend et d'autres comme lui, luttant contre la soi-disant «tyrannie de la vérité», prétendent que «un poids égal devrait être accordé aux avenues concurrentes de la connaissance, comme l'Astrologie, l'Acuponcture et la Sorcellerie» [Paul Feyerabend, cité dans Gauch 2003, p. 88].

3.7) Certains scientifiques participent à la destruction de la science. «Il y a de bonnes raisons pourquoi la philosophie de la science du vingtième siècle, sous l'influence malveillante de Popper jusqu'à Feyerabend, est profondément hostile à la science elle-même... C'est en effet malheureux que plusieurs scientifiques, par ignorance, citent ces philosophes en accordant leur approbation. Les victoires les plus efficaces sont celles où les perdants aident bêtement leurs adversaires» [cité dans Gauch 2003, p. 91].

Etc., etc...

4) Troisième symptôme: l'obscurantisme religieux attaque la morale

Un troisième symptôme de l'obscurantisme religieux est que la morale est attaquée, de même que la politique, qui a de nombreuses connections avec la morale.

Quelques exemples:

4.1) L'éthique est remplacée par la sociologie. Le «bien» et le «mal» deviennent le consensus de telle population, dans tel territoire. Lorsque vous demandez à des gens infectés par l'obscurantisme religieux de définir «bien» et «mal», ils ne disent jamais: «D'accord, essayons d'aborder ce problème scientifiquement». Au contraire, ils vont souvent affirmer avec grande certitude que la science ne peut pas définir le bien et le mal, même s'ils sont incapables de définir la science ou d'expliquer ce qu'est l'éthique!

4.2) Les débats publics des dossiers politiques sont réduits ou éliminés. Un bon exemple ici au Canada est le problème des unions homosexuelles. Je n'ai pas encore vu un seul bon débat à ce sujet, surtout que La première étape pour avoir un tel débat n'a jamais été franchie, à ma connaissance.

4.3) Le mariage est défini comme «ce qui ne peut être défini». Je suis encore surpris par les réactions des couples qui vivent en concubinage. Si vous leur demandez pourquoi ils ne sont pas mariés, ils vont vous expliquer, avec une grande certitude, que le mariage n'est pas fait pour eux. Si ensuite vous leur demandez ce qu'est le «mariage» (puisque bien sûr ces gens ne peuvent pas avoir décidé rationnellement d'éviter de se marier, à moins de savoir ce qu'est le mariage), vous vous ferez souvent crier des bêtises, plutôt que d'avoir une définition! Ils croient tout simplement que le mariage est mauvais, et refusent de réfléchir à ce sujet!

4.4) Les droits de la personne sont très importants, mais peu savent pourquoi ils en ont. Faites cette expérience: demandez à quelqu'un s'ils ont des droits. «Bien sûr!» est la réponse inévitable. Demandez-leur ensuite pourquoi. «Parce que la Loi le dit!», est une réponse fréquente. Mais si la Cour Suprême légalisait le viol, le viol deviendrait-il un droit? «Oups! Ma voiture est stationnée en double!» est une réponse typique.

Etc., etc...

Société qui a outrepassé le rocher de la Raison
(Source: [lien brisé] www.barkbarkwoofwoof.com/looneytunes18.gif)

5) Conclusion

De quoi aurait l'air un désastre social total, si une telle chose existait? Quelle est la définition de «calamité»? Certainement, une guerre nucléaire totale serait une calamité, de même qu'une météorite immense qui frapperait la planète Terre. Mais je suggère que l'obscurantisme religieux peut lui aussi être une catastrophe. Après tout, agir bien, c'est agir en conformité avec la raison, alors si on abandonne la raison, rien ne nous empêche de tomber dans les pires malheurs imaginables.

Si on n'arrête pas l'Ennemi public numéro 1, l'obscurantisme religieux, il n'y a pas de limites aux dommages qui peuvent être faits.

«En effet, le débat à savoir si oui ou non la science a une rationalité crédible est une question immensément importante»
[Gauch 2003, p. 77].

«La seule alternative aux droits fondés sur la métaphysique, c'est les droits fondés sur la Loi du plus fort»
[Kreeft 2002, p. 24].

Selon moi, l'obscurantisme religieux est une vraie menace, et nous risquons de tout perdre. La seule métaphore qui me vient à la tête, pour décrire notre situation actuelle, est le Coyote qui vient de dépasser le bord du précipice en courant après le Road Runner. Les pattes du Coyote sont appuyées sur rien du tout, mais il reste momentanément suspendu au-dessus du précipice.

J'ai parfois l'impression que nous avons outrepassé le rocher de la Raison en courant après le Plaisir, et qu'on ne s'est pas encore rendu compte que nos Universités, nos Lois et notre Morale tiennent sur rien du tout...

| Accueil >> Politique