| Home >> Philosophy

How To Become A Rich And Famous Pseudo-Philosopher

Paul Signac. Portrait of Félix Fénéon, etc.
Si hoc signum legere potes, operis boni in rebus Latinus alacribus et fructuosis potiri potes!
(Paul Signac. Portrait of Félix Fénéon, etc. Source)

1) Introduction

How does one become a "Sophist", i.e. a pseudo-philosopher? I'll try to present you a simple and efficient method, based on the pseudo-philosophers I've met or read so far (like Nietzsche, Jean-Paul Sartre, Patch Adams, Albert Jacquard, Rosemarie Rizzo Parse, Ludwig Wittgenstein, etc.).

2) General orientation

The sophist's goal is to become rich and famous, or in any case, his goal isn't first and foremost to acquire wisdom. He wants the advantages of wisdom, without the disadvantages. He must therefore use "tricks" to give the impression he's wise. We'll try to expose four of them:

- exoticism
- low moral standards
- the "meta-English" language
- "new novelty"

3) Exoticism

Nobody is a prophet in his own land. Imagine a sophist who would have trouble making ends meet, who'd go to the bathroom just like everybody, who'd talk like everybody, etc. We know that people who lead such lives are just like us, i.e. quite ordinary! So the sophist must absolutely avoid this identification, using exoticism. Here are a few "tricks" to appear different from everybody else:

3.1)  Invent for yourself an exotic lifestyle. Travel in uncommon countries, lead an excentric life. If you can mingle with apparently exotic people, you can always claim that you were influenced, that these people transmitted to you something rare and incomprehensible for the non-initiated.

3.2) Get an exotic schooling. For example, become a Nobel prize in Physics or Chemistry. These days, Science is a "land far, far away", inaccessible to many people. At the very least, try to have touched the ham sandwich Elvis Presley took a bite out of. In other words, say that you studied in the same university where the famous Martin Heidegger or the famous Edmund Husserl once taught, etc.

3.3) Speak, or at least read exotic languages. You have to make your audience feel "the great intellectual distance" between them and you. The choice of an exotic language often gravitates toward German, but Chinese will probably become more popular. If you're hopeless with languages, at least learn to mumble a few famous quotes ("Das wesen des daseins leigt in seiner existenz", or "Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur", etc.).

4) Low moral standards

Normally, it's better to have low moral standards (not explicitly, of course), since the majority of persons are far from perfect, and are still hampered by remnants of a moral conscience. You can become very popular by calming those worries.

If you start to condemn the faults of the people who pay you, you won't become rich! You can always condemn some evils, but only if these bad things are outside the control of your audience. For example, you can condemn "the Big Bad Pharmaceutical Companies", or the "nasty terrorists from Al Qaeda", but don't ever condemn the evil actions which are prevalent in your audience, like cheating on your Income Tax Return, or unmarried cohabitation, or having illegal copies of software and music, etc.

5) The "meta-English" language

A sophist must speak the same language as his audience, so he'll be at least a bit understood, but he must also avoid speaking the same language as his audience, otherwise people will clearly see he's not wise!

That's one of the main difficulties in being a sophist: you have to make yourself understood, but not too much! Here are a few "tricks" to accomplish this:

5.1) Learn Greek and Latin. Picking your nose won't impress anybody, but having "a covert naso-digital interaction" always makes an impression!

5.2) Make up new words with prefixes and suffixes. If you speak good old English, you won't be able to pull the wool over anybody's eyes. But if you speak "meta-English", which is a "trans-cultural" and "para-philosophical" language, then the crowds will acclaim you!

5.3) Periphrase about the bush. You must avoid like the plague words like "truth", "evil", "God", etc. Those words are like so many slaps in the face that can make your audience snap out of hypnosis. For example, say "a theoretical structure open to transcendence", rather than "a non-Atheistic Philosophy". Or, "clarify misconceptions" rather than "search for the truth", etc.

5.4) Be a "period-pincher". Make long sentences. Stretch the reader's attention. Keep the subject far from the predicate, otherwise people might notice your assertion is false.

5.5) Polish your style. You have to attract flies with honey. You have to speak well, poetically. If the style of your writing is fascinating, people will have less attention to give to your lack of substance.

5.6) Use verbal inflation. See among others Verbal Inflation and Impoverished Thought.

5.7) Stir emotions, and lie boldly. Most people couldn't care less about the facts, as long as what you say makes them feel good.

6) New novelty

To become a rich and famous pseudo-philosopher, you must not be the guardian of a tradition. You have to be an explosion of creativity, an "Omega Point" in the intellectual history of mankind, a new novelty, original, unique and never seen before.

Don't forget that a good sophist is a marketing expert. What do marketing experts do to increase sales? They change the label, by adding "New and Improved!" It works every time!

How can you invent a new pseudo-philosophical theory? Here's a cookbook recipe which has already worked for several famous sophists:

6.1) Hide tradition behind your ego or something. There is a philosophical tradition that has been going on for thousands of years, the "Philosophia Perennis", but don't ever mention its existence! (See among others All Philosophers Contradict Each Other!). Don't put a bibliography in your book. If you do mention the existence of other philosophers, at least try to hide Aristotle and saint Thomas Aquinas. If some subversive student has already mentioned their existence, declare without proof that they're obsolete, then quickly change the topic of the conversation.

6.2) Choose a fashionable topic. Don't forget that your goal is to create a philosophical fad, then "milk" it like a cash cow. You need a certain amount of flair to find a popular topic. For example, conflict resolution is quite palatable these days, since all around us we see arguments, wars, power struggles, etc.

6.3) Trash-talk existing theories. Suppose for example you've decided to invent a new theory about negotiations. A negotiation can be well conducted, or not, but don't say this to your audience. Rather, describe a bad negotiation, while at the same time presenting it as being "the traditional theory about human relations".

6.4) Invent your new theory. To continue with our example using negotiation, invent "conflict partnership". Describe a good negotiation, but don't call it "a good negotiation"! Claim everybody before you just didn't get it, and that you've discovered "conflict partnership", THE NEW NOVELTY in conflict resolution.

6.5) Find a unique name for your theory. A bit like web sites that need a unique domain name so we can find them on the Internet, a sophist must have a unique theory name. Chose it carefully, since it's part of your brand image. For example, "Neurophilosophy" (the bad old philosophical error of Materialism, but with a New and Improved name!). Or "critical thinking" (i.e. Logic). Or "Emotional Intelligence" (excellent oxymoron, with on top of that an incorrect definition of intelligence underpinning it), etc.

6.6) Establish your theory on an absurd base. A bit like a high mountain whose summit is always hidden by clouds, your sophistic theory must hide its foundations, to avoid being compromised. The "intellectual smoke grenade" is simply to deny the Principle of Non-contradiction. Suppose your new Science is called "Scoobydoo-ology". We know a "round square" is absurd. So you could say that "the right angles of the Scoobydoo can be found in its roundness". In fact, in this very text, I've already quoted a famous "philosopher" who says such silly things. Did you notice it? Here is another example, taken from the novel The Name of the Rose, by Umberto Eco: "The only truth lies in learning to free ourselves from the insane passion for the truth". [quoted in: Ratzinger, Josef. Truth and Tolerance, San Francisco, Ignatius, 2004, p. 186].

6.7) Gently stroke the pride of your audience so they'll believe this foundation of your theory. You can say things like: "To clearly understand the foundations of this theory, you need great intelligence as well as a very open mind", etc. In other words, assert that the Emperor's New Clothes are made of such a lofty and dignified fabric, that only geniuses can see it. Since pride is an almost universal vice, your rhetorical argument will probably work.

6.8) Connect all your assertions to this foundation. Once your theory is established, all you need to say is that it's the foundation of your whole doctrine. Since this foundation "exists", the Principle of Non-contradiction doesn't exist, so you can infer anything from anything else. The audience can never come back to your principles to validate your assumptions, since this foundation is hidden behind a smokescreen, and this foundation is "true", as the hearer's pride can testify.

7) Conclusion

Of course, in real life, even the worse pseudo-philosophers can say great truths, and even the wisest of the wise can make mistakes. It's not because sophists exist, that therefore all thinkers are either totally good or totally bad!

That being said, the History of Philosophy (as well as the examination of today's fashionable "thinkers") unfortunately shows us that sophists exist, and that they cause great harm to mankind.

Socrates is considered to be the "Father of Philosophy", not really because he made great philosophical discoveries, but because he fought against sophists, i.e. the assassins of true Philosophy. Sophists claimed they were wise, Socrates claimed he was ignorant. Sophists asked for a salary in exchange for their knowledge, Socrates taught for free. Sophists spoke in a fancy and scholarly way, Socrates used simple words. Sophists changed their doctrines to please their masters, Socrates chose to die for the truth.

Let's not be afraid of imitating Socrates. It doesn't pay as well, but it's more edifying!

| Home >> Philosophy

| Accueil >> Philosophie

Comment devenir un pseudo-philosophe riche et célèbre

Paul Signac. Portrait de Félix Fénéon, etc.
Si hoc signum legere potes, operis boni in rebus Latinus alacribus et fructuosis potiri potes!
(Paul Signac. Portrait de Félix Fénéon, etc. Source)

1) Introduction

Comment devient-on un «sophiste», c'est-à-dire un pseudo-philosophe? Je vais essayer de vous présenter une méthode simple et efficace, en me fondant sur les pseudo-philosophes que j'ai lus ou rencontrés jusqu'ici (comme Nietzsche, Jean-Paul Sartre, Patch Adams, Albert Jacquard, Marshall McLuhan, Rosemarie Rizzo Parse, Ludwig Wittgenstein, etc.).

2) Orientation générale

Le but du sophiste est de s'enrichir et de devenir célèbre, ou en tout cas, son but n'est pas d'abord d'acquérir la sagesse. Il désire les avantages de la sagesse, sans les désavantages. Il doit donc utiliser des «trucs» pour donner l'impression qu'il est sage. Nous allons essayer d'en exposer quatre:

- l'exotisme
- le laxisme moral
- la langue «méta-française»
- la «nouvelle nouveauté»

3) L'exotisme

Nul n'est prophète en son pays. Imaginez un sophiste qui aurait de la misère à rejoindre les deux bouts, qui irait aux toilettes comme tout le monde, qui parlerait comme les autres, etc. On sait que les gens qui vivent ce genre de vie sont comme nous, c'est-à-dire bien ordinaires! Le sophiste doit donc absolument éviter cette identification, grâce à l'exotisme. Voici quelques «trucs» pour paraître différent des autres:

3.1)  Fabriquez-vous une vie exotique. Faites des voyages dans des pays lointains, ayez des expériences apparemment peu communes, une vie hors de l'ordinaire. Si vous pouvez côtoyer des gens apparemment exotiques, vous pouvez toujours prétendre que vous avez été influencé, que ces gens vous ont transmis quelque chose de rare, d'incompréhensible pour les non-initiés.

3.2) Faites des études exotiques. Par exemple, devenez un prix Nobel de la Physique ou de la Chimie. La science est de nos jours une «contrée lointaine», inaccessible à de nombreuses personnes. Au minimum, essayez d'avoir touché la sandwich au jambon dans laquelle Elvis Presley a pris une mordée. En d'autres mots, dites que vous avez étudié dans la même université où le célèbre Martin Heidegger ou le célèbre Edmund Husserl ont enseigné, etc.

3.3) Parlez, ou au moins lisez des langues exotiques.  Il faut faire sentir à vos auditeurs qu'il y a une grande «distance intellectuelle» entre eux et vous. Le choix de la langue exotique gravite souvent autour de l'allemand, mais le chinois va probablement se populariser. Si vous êtes nul en langues, essayez au moins d'être capable de baragouiner quelques citations («Das wesen des daseins leigt in seiner existenz», ou encore «Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur», etc.).

4) Le laxisme moral

Normalement, il est préférable de professer le laxisme moral (pas explicitement, évidemment), car la majorité des gens sont loin d'être parfaits, et sont encore gênés par des restes de conscience morale. On peut devenir très populaire en calmant cette anxiété.

Si on commence à condamner les défauts des gens qui nous paient, on ne deviendra pas riche! On peut toujours condamner certains maux, mais à condition que ces mauvaises choses soient hors du contrôle de notre auditoire. Par exemple, on peut condamner les «grosses méchantes compagnies pharmaceutiques», ou les «méchants terroristes d'Al-Qaida», mais surtout pas condamner les mauvaises actions qui sont répandues dans votre auditoire, comme tricher dans sa déclaration d'impôt, ou vivre en concubinage, ou avoir des copies volées de logiciels et de musique, etc.

5) La langue «méta-française»

Un sophiste doit parler la langue de son auditoire, pour se faire comprendre au moins un peu, mais il doit aussi éviter de parler la langue de son auditoire, sinon les gens vont voir clairement qu'il n'est pas sage!

Voilà une des grandes difficultés d'être un sophiste: il faut se faire comprendre, mais pas trop! Voici quelques «trucs» pour y arriver:

5.1) Apprenez le grec et le latin. Se décrotter le nez n'impressionne personne, mais avoir une «interaction naso-digitale subreptice» paraît très bien en public!

5.2) Néologisez avec des préfixes et des suffixes. Si vous parlez le bon vieux français, les gens pourront vous démasquer. Mais si vous parlez le «méta-français», qui est une langue «trans-culturelle» et «para-philosophique», alors les foules vous acclameront!

5.3) Périphrasez autour du pot. Vous devez éviter comme la peste les mots comme «vérité», «bien», «Dieu», etc. Ces mots sont comme autant de gifles qui peuvent réveiller l'auditoire de son hypnose. Par exemple, dites «une structure théorétique ouverte à la transcendance», plutôt que «une philosophie non-athée». Ou encore «clarifier les ambiguïtés noétiques», plutôt que «chercher la vérité», etc.

5.4) Soyez radins avec les points. Faites des phrases longues. Essoufflez l'attention du lecteur. Éloignez le sujet du prédicat, sinon les gens pourraient voir que votre affirmation est fausse.

5.5) Soignez votre style. On n'attire pas les mouches avec du vinaigre. Il faut parler bien, poétiquement. Si le style de votre écriture est fascinant, on portera d'autant moins attention sur le fond de vos propos.

5.6) Usez de l'inflation verbale. Voir entre autres L'inflation verbale et la pensée appauvrie.

5.7) Soulevez les émotions, et mentez audacieusement. La plupart des gens se fichent bien des faits, à condition qu'ils se sentent bien en écoutant vos paroles.

6) La nouvelle nouveauté

Pour devenir un pseudo-philosophe riche et célèbre, il ne faut pas être le gardien d'une tradition. Il faut être un éclatement de créativité, un «Point Oméga» de l'histoire intellectuelle de l'humanité, une nouvelle nouveauté, originale, unique et jamais vue auparavant.

N'oubliez pas qu'un bon sophiste est un expert en «marchéage» (ou «marketing»). Que font les experts en marchéage pour augmenter les ventes d'un produit? Ils changent l'étiquette, en rajoutant «Nouveau et Amélioré»! Ça marche à tout coup!

Comment peut-on inventer une nouvelle théorie pseudo-philosophique? Voici une recette de cuisine qui a déjà fonctionné pour plusieurs sophistes célèbres:

6.1) Cachez la tradition derrière votre égo ou quelque chose d'autre. Il y a une tradition philosophique qui dure depuis des milliers d'années, la «Philosophia Perennis», mais ne mentionnez surtout pas son existence! (Voir entre autres Tous les philosophes se contredisent!). Ne mettez pas de bibliographie dans votre livre. Si vous mentionnez l'existence des autres philosophes, au moins essayez de cacher Aristote et saint Thomas d'Aquin. Si un étudiant subversif a déjà mentionné leur existence, déclarez sans preuves qu'ils sont désuèts, et changez rapidement le sujet de la conversation.

6.2) Choisissez un sujet à la mode. N'oubliez pas que votre but est de créer une mode philosophique, puis ensuite de «traire» cette mode comme une vache à lait. Il faut donc avoir un certain flair pour trouver un sujet populaire. Par exemple, la résolution de conflits passe très bien, car partout autour de nous on voit des «chicanes», des guerres, des luttes de pouvoir, etc.

6.3) Parlez en mal des théories existantes. Supposons par exemple que vous avez décidé d'inventer une nouvelle théorie concernant les négociations. Une négociation peut être bien faite, ou mal faite, mais ne le dites pas à vos auditeurs. Décrivez plutôt une mauvaise négociation, tout en la présentant comme étant «la théorie traditionnelle des relations humaines».

6.4) Inventez votre nouvelle théorie. Pour reprendre notre exemple des négociations, inventez le «partenariat conflictuel». Décrivez une bonne négociation, mais n'appelez surtout pas ça «bonne négociation»! Prétendez que tous les autres avant vous n'ont rien compris, et que vous avez découvert le «partenariat conflictuel», LA NOUVELLE NOUVEAUTÉ en matière de résolution de conflits.

6.5) Trouvez un nom unique pour votre théorie. Un peu comme les sites web qui doivent avoir un nom unique pour qu'on puisse les trouver sur l'Internet, un sophiste doit avoir un nom de théorie unique. Choisissez-le soigneusement, car cela fait partie de votre image de marque. Par exemple, la «Neurophilosophie» (la mauvaise vieille erreur philosophique du matérialisme, avec un nom nouveau et amélioré!). Ou encore «la pensée critique» (c'est-à-dire la logique). Ou encore «l'intelligence émotionnelle» (excellente contradiction dans les termes, avec en plus une mauvaise définition de l'intelligence au départ), etc.

6.6) Établissez votre théorie sur des bases absurdes. Un peu comme une haute montagne dont la cime est toujours cachée par des nuages, votre théorie sophiste doit cacher ses fondements, afin d'éviter d'être démasquée. La «grenade fumigène intellectuelle», c'est tout simplement nier le principe de non-contradiction. Supposons que votre nouvelle science s'appelle «la Scoubidou-logie». On sait qu'un «rond carré» est absurde. Donc vous pourriez dire que «les angles droits du Scoubidou se trouvent dans sa rondeur». En fait, ici même dans ce texte, j'ai déjà cité un célèbre «philosophe» qui dit ce genre de niaiseries. L'avez-vous remarqué? Voici un autre exemple, tiré du roman Le nom de la rose d'Umberto Eco: «La seule vérité, c'est d'apprendre à se libérer de cette passion folle pour la vérité». [cité dans: Ratzinger, Josef. Truth and Tolerance, San Francisco, Ignatius, 2004, p. 186].

6.7) Flattez l'orgueil de l'auditoire pour qu'il accepte cette base de votre théorie. Vous pouvez dire des choses comme: «Pour comprendre clairement les bases de cette théorie, il faut à la fois une grande intelligence et une grande ouverture d'esprit», etc. En d'autres mots, affirmez que les habits neufs de l'Empereur sont faits d'un tissu intellectuel si digne et si élevé, que seul les génies peuvent le voir. Comme l'orgueil est un vice quasi-universel, votre argument rhétorique va probablement fonctionner.

6.8) Rattachez toutes vos affirmations à cette base. Une fois votre théorie établie de cette façon, vous n'avez qu'à dire que c'est là le fondement de toute votre doctrine. Comme ce fondement «existe», le principe de non-contradiction n'existe pas, donc vous pouvez tout déduire de n'importe quoi. L'auditeur ne peut jamais revenir aux principes pour valider vos affirmations, car cette base est derrière la fumée, et cette base est "vraie" comme en témoigne son orgueil.

7) Conclusion

Bien sûr, dans la vraie vie, même les pires pseudo-philosophes peuvent dire de grandes vérités, et même les plus grands sages peuvent commettre des erreurs. Ce n'est pas parce qu'il y a des sophistes, que donc tous les penseurs sont totalement bons, ou totalement mauvais!

Cela étant dit, l'étude de l'histoire de la philosophie (et l'étude des «penseurs» à la mode de nos jours) nous montre malheureusement que les sophistes existent, et qu'ils causent un grand tort à l'humanité.

Socrate est considéré comme le «Père de la philosophie», non pas tellement parce qu'il a fait de grandes découvertes philosophiques, mais parce qu'il a lutté contre les sophistes, c'est-à-dire les assassins de la vrai philosophie. Les sophistes se prétendaient sages, Socrate se prétendait ignorant. Les sophistes demandaient un salaire en échange de leur savoir, Socrate enseignait gratuitement. Les sophistes utilisaient un langage recherché et savant, Socrate parlait simplement. Les sophistes changeaient leur doctrines pour faire plaisir à leurs maîtres, Socrate a préféré mourir pour la vérité.

N'ayons pas peur d'imiter Socrate. C'est moins payant, mais plus édifiant!

| Accueil >> Philosophie