| Home >> Philosophy

Help! I'm Being Held Prisoner By My Sources Of Information!

Alexander Orlowski. Convicts  under Escort.
(Alexander Orlowski. Convicts under Escort. Source)

1) Introduction

Many people tell me they disagree with some things on my web site. In a way, that is so trivial it seems hardly worth mentioning. On the other hand, if we think about it, the simple fact of two persons not agreeing on something, plunges us deep into some very important philosophical questions.

How come people can disagree? Is there such a thing as "truth" which is valid for everybody, or are we condemned to each be inside our own little "reality", with our own little personal "truth"? Suppose truth does exist, and I'm stuck in error, how can other people "pull me out" of my error and lead me out of darkness and into the light?

2) The Reality Check

At the very first honest effort to use our heads, we clearly see that reality does exist, and that we can know this reality, and that everybody is "inside" this same reality. This is discussed elsewhere, like the explanation for the palm of The Philosopher's Glove, and paragraph #2 of Concedo, Nego, Distinguo.

3) What have you been reading?

Given we're both in contact with the same reality, how then can we disagree? Based on my personal experience, I'd say the difference is our sources of information. I'm not a miracle-worker; I can't transform lead into gold; I can't take bad sources of information, and produce good and truthful assertions based on them.

This is why, in a way, I'm being "held prisoner" by my sources of information. Assuming I have good intentions, then if I say something which is not true, it is probably because I've been reading bad sources of information. A famous economist reportedly said, in a far less varnished fashion:

Practical men, who believe themselves to be quite exempt from any intellectual influences, are usually slave to some defunct economist. Madmen in authority, who hear voices in the air, are distilling their frenzy from some academic scribbler of a few years back.

In order to "pull me out of darkness", you have to gently show me other, more reliable sources of information.

If I look at my personal experience, I can see that when I change my mind, it's because somebody has "taken me by the hand" to show me a source of information I wasn't aware of. To take a silly but true example, I used to purchase ink cartridges for my printer. Then my Aunt called me over so I could see a TV program on ink-jet printers. I don't like TV and my Aunt isn't a computer expert, but somehow she insisted and I did go watch the program. There I learnt that the ink in a cartridge is more expensive than champagne at 50$ a bottle, or even perfume at 250$ a bottle! I also learnt that you can buy little kits to refill your cartridges for roughly ten times less money. So I changed my mind!

4) Conclusion

A man who has fallen into error does not cease to be a man. He never forfeits his personal dignity; and that is something that must always be taken into account. Besides, there exists in man's very nature an undying capacity to break through the barriers of error and seek the road to truth. God, in His great providence, is ever present with His aid.
[Pacem in terris, #158]

In a way, this text is actually just a reminder to myself, since I regularly forget that most men try to do what is best, given the sources of information they have. I must stop "jumping all over people" as soon as they apparently disagree with me. Maybe they're just being held prisoners by their sources of information. Or maybe I'm the one wearing the handcuffs! And if I'm the one wearing the handcuffs and that you have a key, please make a reasonable effort to free me!

Thanks!

 

| Home >> Philosophy

| Accueil >> Philosophie

Au secours! Mes sources d'information me tiennent prisonnier!

Alexander Orlowski. Prisonniers sous escorte.
(Alexander Orlowski. Prisonniers sous escorte. Source)

1) Introduction

Plusieurs personnes me disent qu'ils sont en désaccord avec certaines choses sur mon site web. D'une certaine manière, c'est si banal qu'il ne sert presque à rien d'en parler. Mais d'un autre côté, si on y pense vraiment, le simple fait que deux personnes puissent être en désaccord à propos de quelque chose nous plonge dans des questions philosophiques très importantes.

Comment se fait-il que des gens puissent avoir des désaccords? Une «vérité» valable pour tous existe-elle, ou sommes-nous condamnés à être chacun dans notre propre petite «réalité», avec nos propres petites «vérités» personnelles? Supposons que la vérité existe, et que je sois pris dans l'erreur, comment d'autres personnes peuvent-elles «me sortir» de mon erreur, et me mener hors des ténèbres et dans la lumière?

2) La Confrontation avec la réalité

Dès le premier effort honnête pour se servir de notre tête, nous voyons clairement que la réalité existe, et qu'on peut connaître cette réalité, et que tout le monde est «dedans» cette même réalité. Ceci est exposé ailleurs, comme l'explication pour la paume du Gant du philosophe, et le paragraphe No. 2 de Concedo, Nego, Distinguo.

3) Qu'avez-vous lu?

Étant donné que nous sommes tous deux en contact avec la même réalité, comment alors pouvons-nous être en désaccord? Selon mon expérience personnelle, je dirais que la différence est nos sources d'information. Je ne suis pas capable de faire des miracles; je ne peux pas transformer du plomb en or; je ne peux pas prendre de mauvaises sources d'information et produire des affirmations bonnes et véridiques fondées sur elles.

C'est pourquoi, d'une certaine manière, je suis «tenu prisonnier» par mes sources d'information. En présumant que j'ai de bonnes intentions, si je dis quelque chose qui n'est pas vrai, alors c'est probablement parce que j'ai lu de mauvaises sources d'information. Un célèbre économiste aurait dit moins diplomatiquement:

Des hommes d'action, qui se croient exempts de quelque influence intellectuelle que ce soit, sont typiquement les esclaves de quelque économiste décédé. Et les fous au pouvoir, dont on entend les vociférations, ne sont que les porte-paroles des délires avancés quelques années auparavant par un scribouilleur académique.

Pour me «tirer hors des ténèbres», vous devez gentiment me montrer d'autres sources d'information, plus fiables.

Si je considère mon expérience personnelle, je peux voir que quand je change d'idée, c'est parce que quelqu'un a pris la peine de «me prendre par la main» pour me montrer une source d'information que je ne connaissais pas. Prenons un exemple un peu ridicule mais vrai. Avant, j'achetais des cartouches d'encre pour mon imprimante. Un jour, ma tante m'a téléphoné pour me dire de venir voir une émission à la télé sur les imprimantes à jet d'encre. Je n'aime pas la télévision et ma tante n'est pas une experte en informatique, mais enfin, elle a insisté et finalement, je suis allé regarder cette émission. J'y ai appris que l'encre dans une cartouche coûtait plus cher que du champagne à 50$ la bouteille, et même plus cher que du parfum à 250$ la bouteille! J'ai aussi appris qu'on pouvait acheter de petites trousses pour remplir ses cartouches pour environ dix fois moins cher. Alors j'ai changé d'idée!

4) Conclusion

L'homme égaré dans l'erreur reste toujours un homme et conserve sa dignité de personne à laquelle il faut toujours avoir égard. Jamais non plus l'homme ne perd le pouvoir de se libérer de l'erreur et de s'ouvrir un chemin vers la vérité. Et pour l'y aider, le secours providentiel de Dieu ne lui manque jamais.
[Pacem in terris, No. 158]

D'une certaine manière, ce texte n'est qu'un rappel pour moi-même, puisque j'oublie régulièrement que la plupart des hommes essaient de faire le bien, étant donné les sources d'information qu'ils ont. Je dois cesser de «sauter sur les gens» dès qu'ils paraissent être en désaccord avec moi. Peut-être sont-ils tenus prisonniers par leurs sources d'information. Ou peut-être que c'est moi qui porte les menottes! Et si c'est moi qui porte les menottes et que vous avez une clé, SVP faites un effort raisonnable pour me libérer!

Merci!

 

| Accueil >> Philosophie