| Home >> Philosophy

Concedo, Nego, Distinguo

Concedo, Nego, Distinguo

1) Introduction

How can people who disagree have a respectful and constructive argument?

I'm still looking for good books on this topic, so in the meantime this is my best attempt:

- Make sure everybody has a functioning reason, contact with reality, and a good will.
- Respect the Golden Rule.
- Use the only appropriate "Decision Method": Facts and Logic.
- "Back away" from the problem until some common ground can be found.
- Propose, scrutinize, write down. Repeat until problem is solved.

2) Make sure everybody has a functioning reason, contact with reality, and a good will

Before starting a discussion, at least three prerequisites are necessary: a functioning reason, contact with reality, and a rectified will.

A "functioning reason" implies many things, but the first and most obvious is that the Principle of Non-Contradiction must be accepted:

[2.1] It is clear, then, that such a principle is the most certain of all and we can state it thus: 'It is impossible for the same thing to belong and not belong to the same thing at the same time and in the same respect.'
[Aristotle, Metaphysics, 1005b12-20].

If this Principle were not true, then for example "2+2" could be equal to "4" and "3453" at the same time! Or you could be overweight, and underweight at the same time! (Hurray! Hello chocolate ice cream!)

You also need contact with reality. One possible wording of this Reality Check is:

[2.2] It is rational, true, objective, realistic and certain that 'Moving cars are hazardous to pedestrians'. [...] Indeed, readers who happen to have been star pupils in kindergarten will recognize this reality check as the sophisticated version of the command 'Look both ways before crossing a road'.
[Hugh Gauch, Scientific Method in Practice, p. 134]

Neither of these principles can be "proved" strictly speaking. This is because a "proof" is showing how a statement (which is not evident) is logically caused by more fundamental statements which themselves are obvious. And these two principles are some of the most fundamental you can get!

But these two principles can be given "proofs" in the wider sense. People who deny these principles can be shown to be inconsistent, and reduced to silence (since they can't assert anything without contradicting themselves, or can't get across the street without being transformed into ketchup).

[2.3] For the third prerequisite, i.e. rectified will (or "good faith"), see among others "None More Blind Than He Who Doesn't Want To See".

3) Respect the Golden Rule

So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets"
[Mt 7:12, also Lc 6:31]

It seems hard to deny that debates tend to fail, not because of a shortage of logic, but because one or more participants stops being courteous and polite. Here, I would like to claim I've never been responsible for such failures, but hum, well, kind of, you know, ... anyway, I'm sorry, and I'll try to avoid that next time. And pray for my conversion, I need it badly.

4) Use the only appropriate "Decision Method": Facts and Logic

One of the most important rules of any debate, is that a good "Decision Method" must be used. In other words, the opponents during a debate will make various assertions. We need a way to decide if those assertions are true. In a way, the quality of a debate will depend on how we'll decide if an assertion is true.

Here are some examples of bad decision methods:

- Whoever is richest is "right"; or
- Whoever is the most famous is "right"; or
- Whoever is highest in the hierarchy is "right"; or
- Whoever has the biggest muscles is "right";
- Whoever is a personal friend of the Pope, or the Queen, or Wayne Gretsky; or
- Whoever is driving a eco-friendly car;
- Etc., etc.

When examining an assertion made by a participant, we must use facts and logic to decide whether the statement is true. The whole question of facts is vast, but the Second Finger is a good start. The whole question of Logic is also vast; a good overview can be found here.

Among the bad decision methods in philosophical debates, one of the most frequently used is the "Argument of authority". Saint Thomas Aquinas condemns this method in no uncertain terms in his Summa Theologica [Ia, q. 1, a. 8, ad 2.]: "Locus ab auctoritate, quae fundatur super ratione humana, est infirmissimus". And of course, since Saint Thomas is a saint, and you are a nobody, he must be right and you are definitely WRONG!

Seriously, the argument of Authority is not always bad. There is of course the special case of theology (since assertions made by a Being with infinite intelligence are not to be taken lightly!). There is also the debating technique (sometimes called "Ad hominem") where you take your opponent's assertion as if it were true, and then use it against your opponent by logically deducing false consequences from his assertion. (In a way, it's based on the argument of Authority, since you base your argument on the Authority of your opponent, who must be the greatest expert ever on his own opinion!) Finally, if no better argument can be found, an assertion made by an expert is better than nothing (which leads into the whole domain of Dialectics, or probable arguments).

(In a way, this whole Section repeats what has already been said above about non-contradiction and contact with reality, but it's worth insisting.)

5) "Back away" from the problem until some common ground can be found

A debate is not a boxing match. You can punch an opponent, but you can also punch an unconscious person, or even a bag filled with sand. A debate on the other hand is a social effort to find truth. If one party disagrees with a statement, then the other party has to try to show that this statement is true, by somehow linking it with other statements both parties agree on.

If there is no common ground between the parties, strictly speaking, no debate can occur. There can be no logical effort to connect controversial statements with more fundamental statements all parties agree on. When this occurs, you can have a shouting match, or paralysed silence, or a monologue describing the sins of others, and so on, but you can't have a debate. A "debate" without a prior effort to find common ground is not a debate, but an optical (and auditory) illusion.

6) Propose, Scrutinize, Write Down. Repeat until problem is solved

Objectively, a statement is either true, false, or a mixture of both. That is why you can either agree with a true statement ("Concedo" in Latin means "I grant, I agree"), or disagree with a false statement ("Nego" means "I deny"), or agree with the true part of the statement, and disagree with the false part (hence the "Distinguo", i.e. "I make a distinction").

Subjectively speaking, it also works. Whether or not a statement is actually, objectively true, you can still say: "It appears true to me".

In a way, all constructive debates, no matter how complex, end up being "symphonies played on the three-note piano of reason: Concedo, Nego, Distinguo". Armed with that "three-note piano", you can run through a simple cycle of proposing a statement, then seeing if the other party grants, denies, or partially grants it (Concedo, Nego, Distinguo), then writing down the results, and starting over until agreement is reached.

In my experience, an honest and fair quest for the truth using this method often gets quickly bogged down in a mutual recognition of ignorance. This is a great result! Instead of being angry at "the other side", both parties end up being confronted with their ignorance. This leads to humility (the "Shield of Science") and more careful research. At least, this is movement in the right direction!

7) Some additional rules

In my opinion, the big principles here above are essential. A constructive and respectful debate cannot occur without them. But often those principles aren't enough, and we have to add rules, like:

7.1) Find a good moderator. A very good "Common Ground" to start with is to both agree on a moderator. Try to find someone who is good at keeping everybody focused on the question, and not on the personalities of the people involved. (If you don't have a moderator, see #7.7 here below for a good alternate solution.)

7.2) Study good Philosophy textbooks. Just like good farmers should study Agronomy to improve their yields, people who want to harvest truth should study Philosophy. My suggestion to start you off is "The Philosopher's Glove".

7.3) Use the dictionary. Sooner or later, terms must be clearly defined.

7.4) Number the statements. Seems obvious enough, but I've actually seen people argue over a document with un-numbered paragraphs, which had an English and a French version (and the translations didn't match), and they were arguing through interpreters! Definitely not a recipe for success!

7.5) Replace loaded terms with common labels. Suppose for example you are trying to find common ground between pro-choice and pro-life groups. If you talk about "abortion" in French Canada, you'll displease half the crowd. If you substitute those terms for "V.P.I. or Voluntary Pregnancy Interruption" (the euphemism commonly used by pro-choicers in French Canada), you'll displease the other half. So you could invent new labels for these "Bones Of Contention", like BOC-1. You could then define once and for all that "BOC-1" is what pro-lifers call "abortion" and pro-choicers call "V.P.I. or Voluntary Pregnancy Interruption". You will need to define "BOC-1" more precisely, but at least now you're past the label and actually looking inside the jar. (There are many other examples, like "Terrorist" versus "Freedom fighter", or "Dead animal" versus "Delicious bacon", etc.)

7.6) Pass around a "right to speak". In a discussion group, it's very useful to agree on a maximum duration for an invervention, and then to have some object that represents the right to speak (like a ping-pong ball, or even a piece of paper with "Right to speak" written on it). The chairperson hands out this object to people who raise their hand, and he disciplines those who speak without having it, or who exceed the maximum duration for an invervention.

7.7) Choose an appropriate means of communication. If for example you're dealing with a person who is in bad faith, an e-mail exchange posted on the Internet eliminates many problems:

- you cannot be interrupted;
- when the person in bad faith contradicts himself, you can easily point to one of his preceding e-mails to show it;
- when the person in bad faith denies what is obvious, you can call upon the spectators on the Internet;
- when the person in bad faith changes, without warning, the definition of the words he is using, you can flag it;
etc.

6.8) Adapt the right to speak to e-mail debates. If the discussion is done by e-mails, rule #7.6 on the right to speak also applies, but a bit differently. Hence, you must avoid sending more than one e-mail at a time (and avoid sending attachments without permission), and wait for the answer before sending the next e-mail. Moreover, you must avoid asking your correspondent to read more words, that what you are yourself willing to read coming from your correspondent.

Etc., etc.

8) Conclusion

"Arguing with those people  is impossible!"

I answer: "Distinguo", depending on the circumstances surrounding the debate. "Concedo", having a constructive argument is impossible when one or more of the prerequisites described above is not satisfied. But "Nego", if it is claimed that having a constructive debate is intrinsically impossible. It is not intrinsically impossible, since men by their very nature have the capacity to seek and find truth.

| Home >> Philosophy

| Accueil >> Philosophie

Concedo, Nego, Distinguo

Concedo, Nego, Distinguo

1) Introduction

Comment les gens qui ne s'entendent pas peuvent-ils avoir un débat respectueux et constructif?

Je suis encore à la recherche de bons livres à ce sujet, alors en attendant voici ma meilleure tentative:

- S'assurer que tout le monde a une raison en bon état, le contact avec la réalité, et une bonne volonté.
- Respecter la Règle d'or.
- Prendre la seule «Méthode de décision» appropriée: les faits et la logique.
- «S'éloigner» du point en litige jusqu'à ce qu'on trouve un terrain d'entente.
- Proposer, examiner, noter par écrit. Recommencer jusqu'à temps que le problème soit résolu.

2) S'assurer que tout le monde a une raison en bon état, le contact avec la réalité, et une bonne volonté

Avant de commencer une discussion, au moins trois pré-requis sont nécessaires: une raison en bon état, le contact avec la réalité, et une volonté rectifiée.

Une «raison en bon état» implique bien des choses, mais la première et la plus évidente est que le Principe de non-contradiction doit être accepté:

[2.1] Il est manifeste alors qu'un tel principe est le plus certain de tous et nous pouvons l'énoncer ainsi: "Il est impossible que quelque chose appartienne et n'appartienne pas à la même chose en même temps et sous le même rapport"
[Aristote, Métaphysique, 1005b12-20].

Si ce principe n'était pas vrai, alors par exemple «2+2» serait égal à «4» et à «3453» en même temps! Ou vous pourriez être trop gros, et trop mince en même temps! (Oui! Me voici, crème glacée au chocolat!)

On a aussi besoin de contact avec la réalité. Un libellé possible de cette Confrontation avec la réalité est:

[2.2] Il est rationnel, vrai, objectif, réaliste et certain que "Les voitures en marche sont dangereuses pour les piétons". [...] En effet, les lecteurs qui ont été des élèves surdoués à la maternelle vont reconnaître que cette confrontation à la réalité est la version sophistiquée du commandement "Regarde des deux côtés avant de traverser la rue"»
[Hugh Gauch, Scientific Method in Practice, p. 134]

Ni l'un ni l'autre de ces principes ne peut être «prouvé» strictement parlant. C'est parce qu'une «preuve» doit montrer comment un énoncé (qui n'est pas évident) est logiquement causé par d'autres énoncés plus fondamentaux qui sont eux-mêmes évidents. Et ces deux principes sont parmi les plus fondamentaux qu'on puisse trouver!

Mais ces deux principes peuvent être «prouvés» dans un sens large. On peut manifester que les gens qui nient ces principes manquent de cohérence, et les réduire au silence (puisqu'ils ne peuvent rien affirmer sans se contredire eux-mêmes, ou ne peuvent pas traverser la rue sans être transformés en ketchup).

[2.3] Pour le troisième pré-requis, c'est-à-dire la volonté droite (ou «bonne foi»), voir entre autres «Nul n'est aussi aveugle que celui qui ne veut pas voir».

3) Respecter la Règle d'or

En toutes choses, faites aux autres ce que vous voudriez qu'ils vous fassent, car ceci résume la Loi et les Prophètes
[Mt 7:12, aussi Lc 6:31]

Il semble difficile de nier que tous les débats tendent à échouer, non pas par manque de logique, mais parce qu'un ou plusieurs des participants cesse d'être courtois et poli. Je voudrais bien ici affirmer que je n'ai jamais été responsable pour de tels échecs, mais hum, m'enfin, bien, vous savez, ... en tout cas, je m'excuse, et je vais essayer de faire mieux la prochaine fois. Et priez pour ma conversion, j'en ai bien besoin.

4) Prendre la seule «Méthode de décision» appropriée: les faits et la logique

Une des règles les plus importante de tout débat est qu'il faut prendre une bonne «Méthode de décision». En d'autres mots, les adversaires durant un débat vont faire toutes sortes d'affirmations. Nous avons besoin d'un moyen pour décider si ces affirmations sont vraies. D'une certaine manière, la qualité d'un débat va dépendre de comment nous allons décider si une affirmation est vraie.

Voici certains exemples de mauvaises méthodes de décision:

- Celui qui est le plus riche a «raison»; ou
- Celui qui est le plus célèbre a «raison»; ou
- Celui qui est le plus haut dans la hiérarchie a «raison»; ou
- Celui qui a les plus gros bras a «raison»; ou
- Celui qui est un ami personnel du Pape, ou de le Reine, ou de Wayne Gretsky; ou
- Celui qui conduit une automobile éco-responsable;
- Etc., etc.

Lorsque nous examinons une affirmation faite par un participant, nous devons utiliser les faits et la logique pour décider si l'affirmation est vraie. Toute la question des faits est vaste, mais le Deuxième doigt est un bon commencement. Toute la question de la Logique aussi est vaste; un bon survol se trouve ici.

Parmi les mauvaises méthodes de décision dans les débats philosophiques, une des plus fréquemment utilisées est «l'Argument de l'autorité». Saint Thomas d'Aquin condamne péremptoirement cette méthode dans sa Summa Theologica [Ia, q. 1, a. 8, ad 2.]: «Locus ab auctoritate, quae fundatur super ratione humana, est infirmissimus». Et bien sûr, puisque saint Thomas est un saint, et que vous êtes un plouc, il doit avoir raison et vous avez certainement TORT!

Sérieusement, l'argument d'autorité n'est pas toujours mauvais. Il y a bien sûr le cas spécial de la théologie (puisque des affirmations faites par un Être doté d'une l'intelligence infinie ne doivent pas être prises à la légère!). Il y a aussi la technique de débat (dite parfois «Ad hominem») où vous prenez l'affirmation de votre adversaire comme si elle était vraie, et ensuite vous vous en servez contre votre adversaire en déduisant logiquement des conséquences fausses de son affirmation. (D'une certaine manière, c'est fondé sur l'argument d'Autorité, car vous fondez votre argument sur l'Autorité de votre adversaire, qui doit être le plus grand expert au monde sur sa propre opinion!) Finalement, si rien de mieux peut être trouvé, une affirmation faite par un expert est mieux que rien (ce qui mène à tout le domaine de la Dialectique, ou arguments probables).

(D'une certaine manière, toute cette Section répète ce qui a déjà été dit ci-haut sur la non-contradiction et le contact avec la réalité, mais ça vaut la peine d'insister.)

5) «S'éloigner» du point en litige jusqu'à ce qu'on trouve un terrain d'entente

Un débat n'est pas un match de boxe. Vous pouvez donner un coup de poing à un adversaire, mais vous pouvez aussi donner un coup de poing à une personne inconsciente, ou même à un gros sac rempli de sable. Un débat par contre est un effort social pour trouver la vérité. Si un côté n'est pas d'accord avec un énoncé, alors l'autre côté doit essayer de montrer que cet énoncé est vrai, en le reliant d'une manière ou d'une autre avec d'autres énoncés qui sont acceptés par les deux côtés.

S'il n'y a pas de terrain d'entente entre les deux parties, strictement parlant il ne peut pas y avoir de débat. Il ne peut pas y avoir d'effort logique pour connecter les énoncés controversés à d'autres énoncés plus fondamentaux sur lesquels les deux parties s'entendent. Lorsque ceci se produit, vous pouvez avoir une foire d'empoigne, ou un silence de mort, ou un monologue décrivant les péchés des autres, et ainsi de suite, mais vous ne pouvez pas avoir un débat. Un «débat» qui n'est pas précédé de la recherche d'un terrain d'entente n'est pas un débat, mais bien une illusion d'optique (et auditive).

6) Proposer, examiner, noter par écrit. Recommencer jusqu'à temps que le problème soit résolu

Objectivement, un énoncé est soit vrai, soit faux, soit un mélange des deux. C'est pourquoi vous pouvez soit être entièrement d'accord avec un énoncé vrai («Concedo» en latin signifie «je concède»), ou ne pas être d'accord avec un énoncé faux («Nego» signifie «Je nie»), ou être d'accord avec la partie vraie de l'énoncé, et être en désaccord avec la partie fausse (d'où le «Distinguo», c'est-à-dire «Je fais une distinction»).

Subjectivement parlant, ça marche aussi. Qu'un énoncé soit ou non actuellement, objectivement vrai, vous pouvez quand même dire: «Il me semble vrai».

D'une certaine manière, tous les débats constructifs, aussi complexes soient-ils, sont au fond des «symphonies jouées sur le piano à trois notes de la raison: Concedo, Nego, Distinguo». Armé de ce «piano à trois notes», vous pouvez suivre un cycle simple qui consiste à proposer un énoncé, ensuite voir si l'autre partie concède, nie ou concède en partie (Concedo, Nego, Distinguo), ensuite prendre en note les résultats, et recommencer jusqu'à ce que le problème soit résolu.

Selon mon expérience, souvent l'effort honnête et juste, pour trouver la vérité en se servant de cette méthode, s'embourbe rapidement dans une reconnaissance mutuelle d'ignorance. C'est un excellent résultat! Plutôt que d'être fâché contre «l'autre côté», les deux parties se retrouvent devant leur ignorance. Ceci mène à l'humilité (le «Bouclier de la science») et des recherches plus soignées. Au moins, c'est un déplacement dans la bonne direction!

7) Quelques règles supplémentaires

Selon moi, les grands principes ci-haut sont essentiels. Un débat constructif et respectueux ne peut pas avoir lieu sans eux. Mais souvent ces principes ne suffisent pas, et il faut rajouter des règles, comme:

7.1) Trouvez un bon modérateur. Un très bon «terrain d'entente» avec lequel commencer est de s'entendre sur un modérateur. Essayez de trouver quelqu'un qui est bon pour ramener la discussion sur le problème, et pas sur les personnalités des gens impliqués. (Si vous n'avez pas de modérateur, voir le No. 7.7 ci-bas pour une bonne solution de rechange.)

7.2) Étudiez de bons manuels de philosophie. Tout comme un bon fermier doit étudier l'agronomie pour améliorer son rendement, les gens qui veulent récolter la vérité devraient étudier la philosophie. Ma suggestion est de commencer avec le «Gant du philosophe».

7.3) Utilisez le dictionnaire. Tôt ou tard, les termes doivent être définis précisément.

7.4) Numérotez les énoncés. Ceci semble évident, mais j'ai déjà vu des gens argumenter au sujet d'un document aux paragraphes non-numérotés, qui avait une version anglaise et une française (et les traductions ne s'accordaient pas), et ils se parlaient par le moyen d'interprètes! Assurément, ce n'est pas une recette pour le succès!

7.5) Remplacez les mots chargés avec des étiquettes communes. Supposez par exemple que vous essayez de trouver un terrain d'entente entre des groupes pro-choix et pro-vie. Si vous parlez «d'avortement», vous allez déplaire à la moitié de la foule. Si vous substituez ces termes pour «I.V.G. ou Interruption volontaire de grossesse», vous allez déplaire à l'autre moitié. Alors vous pourriez inventer de nouvelles étiquettes pour ces «Pommes De Discorde», comme PDD-1. Vous pourriez ensuite poser une fois pour toutes que «PDD-1» est ce que les pro-vie appellent «avortement» et les pro-choix appellent «I.V.G. ou Interruption volontaire de grossesse». Vous devrez quand même définir «PDD-1» plus précisément, mais au moins maintenant vous avez réussi à dépasser l'étiquette, pour commencer à regarder dans le bocal.

7.6) Passez-vous un «droit de parole». Dans une discussion de groupe, il est très utile de s'entendre sur la durée maximum d'une intervention, et ensuite de se donner un objet quelconque qui incarne le droit de parole (comme une balle de ping-pong, ou même un bout de papier avec «droit de parole» écrit dessus). Le président de l'assemblée passe tour-à-tour cet objet aux gens qui lèvent la main, et il discipline ceux qui parlent sans l'avoir en leur possession, ou qui dépassent la durée maximum d'une intervention.

7.7) Choisissez un moyen de communication approprié. Si par exemple vous avez affaire à un interlocuteur de mauvaise foi, un débat par courriels affiché sur l'Internet élimine plusieurs problèmes:

- vous ne pouvez pas vous faire couper la parole;
- quand l'interlocuteur de mauvaise foi se contredit, vous pouvez facilement référer à un de ses courriels précédents pour le montrer;
- quand l'interlocuteur de mauvaise foi nie l'évidence, vous pouvez en appeler aux spectateurs sur l'Internet;
- quand l'interlocuteur de mauvaise foi change, sans avertir, la définition des mots qu'il utilise, vous pouvez le signaler;
etc.

7.8) Adaptez le droit de parole aux débats par courriels. Si la discussion se fait par courriels, la règle No. 7.6 sur le droit de parole s'applique aussi, mais un peu différemment. Ainsi, il faut éviter d'envoyer plus d'un courriel à la fois (et ne pas envoyer de pièces jointes sans permission), et attendre la réponse avant d'envoyer le courriel suivant. De plus, il faut éviter de demander à notre correspondant de lire plus de mots, que ce qu'on est soi-même disposé à lire provenant de notre correspondant.

Etc., etc.

8) Conclusion

«Argumenter avec ces gens-là est impossible!»

Je réponds: «Distinguo», dépendamment des circonstances entourant le débat. «Concedo», avoir un débat constructif est impossible quand un ou plusieurs des pré-requis décrits ci-haut n'est pas présent. Mais «Nego», si on prétend qu'avoir un débat constructif est intrinsèquement impossible. Ce n'est pas intrinsèquement impossible, puisque les hommes de par leur nature ont la capacité de chercher et de trouver la vérité.

| Accueil >> Philosophie