| Home >> Philosophy

None More Blind Than He Who Doesn't Want To See

Sir John Everett Millais. The Blind Girl
"Whoever does evil hates the light" [Jn 3:20]
(Sir John Everett Millais. The Blind Girl. Source)

1) Introduction

The following text could be summarized as: "Our will can influence our reason". The sometimes mysterious connection between those two master faculties explains many errors in Philosophy. What follows is a kind of placeholder, in which I'll eventually add quotes from more serious authors who talk about this problem.

2) Moral virtues and science

Sertillanges, after Saint Thomas Aquinas, writes:

How will you think well with a sick soul, with a heart gnawed at by vices, pulled in all directions by passions, disoriented by violent or guilty affections? There is a clear-sighted and a blind state of the soul, said Gratry, a healthy and hence sane state, and a foolish state. "The use of moral virtues, says Saint Thomas Aquinas, virtues whereby the passions are harnessed, is very important for the acquisition of science".
[Source]

Saint Thomas Aquinas even says that lust causes blindness of mind (which seems to be corroborated with the general philosophical and spiritual health of the average Quebecer, who is statistically mired in lust compared to the average French-Canadian before the Quiet Revolution):

Now carnal vices, namely gluttony and lust, are concerned with pleasures of touch in matters of food and sex; and these are the most impetuous of all pleasures of the body. For this reason these vices cause man's attention to be very firmly fixed on corporeal things, so that in consequence man's operation in regard to intelligible things is weakened, more, however, by lust than by gluttony, forasmuch as sexual pleasures are more vehement than those of the table. Wherefore lust gives rise to blindness of mind, which excludes almost entirely the knowledge of spiritual things, while dulness of sense arises from gluttony, which makes a man weak in regard to the same intelligible things.
[Summa theologica, IIa-IIae, q. 15, a. 3]

We can see the consequences of moral perversions in many philosophical theories. If a philosopher is a beer-soaked dirtbag who cheats on his wife, his philosophical theory will probably assert that "truth is really, really hard to find" and that "jeepers, we can't assert anything with certainty". If we can't know anything with certainty, we can't assert that adultery is bad!

In a way, the culmination of that kind of error is Atheism. Atheism is a complex phenomenon, but there are people who end up wanting to doubt the existence of God, out of sheer convenience.

3) Conclusion

How should we deal with a person who is in bad faith? In the worst case, there is nothing we can do from the natural point of view. (Supernaturally, we must pray for these people, of course! And while we're talking about religion in the "Philosophy" section, we can think about Jesus Christ, who is God Almighty and All-knowing. Jesus came on earth, was perfectly charitable, taught with great skill and, despite that, some persons of bad faith rejected and even crucified Him.)

For those who are salvageable, I feel like saying we first have to use great charity, then we have to keep a firm grip, on the discussion, so as to show them their error. But if you have better suggestions, I'm listening!

| Home >> Philosophy

| Accueil >> Philosophie

Nul n'est aussi aveugle que celui qui ne veut pas voir

Sir John Everett Millais. La fillette aveugle
«Quiconque commet le mal hait la lumière» [Jn 3:20]
(Sir John Everett Millais. La fillette aveugle. Source)

1) Introduction

On pourrait résumer tout le texte suivant avec: «Notre volonté peut influencer notre raison». La connection, parfois mystérieuse, entre ces deux facultés maîtresses explique plusieurs erreurs en philosophie. Ce qui suit n'est qu'une sorte de boîte vide, dans laquelle je vais éventuellement mettre des citations provenant d'auteurs plus sérieux qui parlent de ce problème.

2) Les vertus morales et la science

Sertillanges, suivant saint Thomas d'Aquin, écrit:

Comment ferez-vous pour bien penser avec une âme malade, avec un coeur travaillé par les vices, tiraillé par les passions, désorienté par des amours violentes ou coupables? Il y a un état clairvoyant et un état aveugle de l'âme, disait Gratry, un état sain et par suite sensé, et un état insensé. «L'exercice des vertus morales, vous dit à son tour saint Thomas d'Aquin, vertus par lesquelles sont bridées les passions, importe grandement à l'acquisition de la science.»
[Source]

Saint Thomas d'Aquin dit même que la luxure cause l'aveuglement de l'esprit (ce qui semble corroboré avec la santé philosophique et spirituelle générale du Québécois moyen, qui est statistiquement embourbé dans la luxure lorsqu'on le compare avec le Canadien-Français moyen d'avant la Révolution tranquille):

Or les vices charnels, c'est-à-dire la gourmandise ou la luxure, consistent dans les plaisirs du toucher, c'est-à-dire de la nourriture et des actes sexuels. Ce sont les délectations les plus violentes entre toutes celles du corps. C'est pourquoi, par de tels vices, l'intention de l'homme s'applique au maximum aux réalités physiques, et par conséquent son activité dans le domaine intelligible s'affaiblit, mais davantage par la luxure que par la gourmandise, dans la mesure où les plaisirs sexuels sont plus violents que ceux de la table. C'est pourquoi la luxure engendre l'aveuglement de l'esprit qui exclut pour ainsi dire totalement la connaissance des biens spirituels; mais la gourmandise engendre l'hébétude du sens qui rend l'homme débile devant de telles réalités intelligibles.
[Summa theologica, IIa-IIae, q. 15, a. 3]

On peut voir les conséquences des perversions morales dans de nombreuses théories philosophiques. Si un philosophe est un salaud imbibé d'alcool qui trompe sa femme, sa théorie philosophique va probablement affirmer que «la vérité est dure, dure à trouver», et que «m'enfin, on ne peut rien affirmer avec certitude». Si on ne peut rien connaître avec certitude, on ne peut pas affirmer que l'adultère est mauvais!

D'une certaine manière, le point culminant de ce genre d'erreur est l'athéisme. L'athéisme est un phénomène complexe, mais il y a des gens qui finissent par vouloir douter de l'existence de Dieu, par simple commodité.

3) Conclusion

Que faire lorsqu'on doit discuter avec une personne de mauvaise foi? À la limite, il n'y a rien à faire au point de vue naturel. (Surnaturellement, on doit prier pour ces gens, bien sûr! Et tant qu'à parler de religion dans la section «Philosophie», on peut penser à Jésus-Christ, qui est Dieu tout-puissant et omniscient. Jésus est venu sur terre, a été parfaitement charitable, a enseigné avec une grande pédagogie et, malgré cela, certaines personnes de mauvaise foi L'ont rejeté et même crucifié.)

Pour les cas récupérables, j'ai envie de dire qu'il faut d'abord user d'une grande charité, puis il faut discuter de manière «serrée», de manière à leur faire voir leur erreur. Mais si vous avez de meilleures suggestions, je vous écoute!

| Accueil >> Philosophie