| Home >> Lost Sermons

Time To Go

William Hemsley. No longer the baby!
(William Hemsley. No longer the baby! Source)

There's an old trick that seems to be hardwired into the brain of every child: When he doesn't get his way about this or that, he threatens to leave home. Possibly for the circus. I did this myself, once actually packing a bag before I was lured back by the irresistible draw of cookies and cartoons.

But when we become adults, as Paul wrote, we leave behind our childish ways. Or at least that's how it should be. Unfortunately, there are those who seem never to have grown out of the "It's my way or I'm hitting the road" trick. I refer, of course, to dissenting "Catholics".

There seems to be no end to the "injustices" that will - they say - lead to their departure from the Church. And yet, it never actually happens. Here they are, year after year, with the same complaints and the same threats. Indeed, it's a pretty fair rule that the more vocal and virulent the dissenter, the closer they are to the parish office. Heavens, in many places, they are the parish office.

So why do they stay? It's a good question. After all, there's an Episcopal church out there just waiting for them. It has everything they're agitating for: women priests; contraception; abortion; same-sex marriage; divorce; open communion; a social-justice commitment; inclusive language; few strictly held doctrinal requirements; and a pleasing, smells-and-bells liturgy (with quite good music, to boot).

Even Episcopal Bishop Gene Robinson - the actively gay cleric whose ordination almost ripped his church in half - seems to agree. In the midst of condemning the Catholic Church's position on homosexual attractions as "vile" and "an act of violence that needs to be confronted," he also noted that Benedict XVI may turn out to be quite a boon for Episcopalians. "We are seeing so many Roman Catholics joining the church," he said.

Oh Gene, may it be so. (And by the way, mind your own business.)

Don't misunderstand me. I hate to see anyone leave the Catholic Church. I do, after all, believe this is the Church Christ founded at Pentecost. Nevertheless, heterodox Catholics have already abandoned the Church in all respects save formal membership. Now all that's left is to make the obvious official.

The truth is, a dissenting Catholic is little different from a liberal Protestant. They largely believe the same things, advocate the same causes, and worship in similar ways. Of course, at least the Protestants are honest in rejecting papal authority - not so for our wayward coreligionists who pay it lip service while ignoring its every exercise.

So let them have the integrity of their own convictions and head for the door. If they will not return to the Catholic Faith, if they will not relent in opposing it at every turn, let them go. May the lavender gates of the Episcopal church be flush with every bleating, complaining, rebellious, dissident Catholic who has ever taken over a parish, or ruined a seminary, or corrupted a once-proud religious order. Those who refuse to build can only destroy, and they have destroyed quite enough.

But I have another wish as well: May all of the faithful, struggling, orthodox Anglicans and Episcopalians, caught in a church that has abandoned historic Christianity - and them along with it - find their way to the ancient Church. There are many of them, and they are our true brothers and sisters.

Bishop Robinson is welcome to our dissenters. And we will welcome his.

Copyright 2005 Brian Saint-Paul.

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

C'est le temps de partir

William Hemsley. No longer the baby!
(William Hemsley. No longer the baby! Source)

Il y a un vieux truc qui semble gravé dans la cervelle de tout jeune enfant: Lorsqu'il ne peut pas obtenir ce qu'il veut, il menace de quitter la maison. Possiblement pour se joindre au Cirque. J'ai fait ça moi-même, allant jusqu'à faire vraiment mes bagages une fois, avant de me laisser convaincre de revenir par l'attrait irrésistible des biscuits et des bandes dessinées.

Au moment où on devient des adultes, comme le dit Paul, nous laissons derrière nous nos enfantillages. Malheureusement, il semble y avoir des gens qui n'ont jamais, apparemment, dépassé le truc du «C'est moi qui ai raison ou je pars de la maison». Je parle, bien sûr, des «catholiques» dissidents.

Il ne semble pas y avoir de limites aux «injustices» qui vont - disent-ils - causer leur départ de l'Église. Néanmoins, cela ne se produit jamais. Ils sont là, année après année, avec les mêmes plaintes et les mêmes menaces. En fait, c'est une règle assez fiable que plus les dissidents sont virulents et bruyants, plus ils sont près des bureaux de la paroisse. Bonté divine, à bien des endroits, les dissidents sont le bureau de la paroisse.

Alors pourquoi restent-ils? C'est une bonne question. Après tout, il y a une église Épiscopalienne juste à côté qui les attend. Elle a tout ce qu'ils réclament: les femmes prêtres, la contraception, l'avortement, les mariages homosexuels, le divorce, la communion ouverte à tous, un engagement pour la justice sociale, une langue inclusive, de rares exigences doctrinales strictement respectées, et une liturgie «smells-and-bells» agréable (avec de l'assez bonne musique, en prime).

Même l'évêque épiscopalien Gene Robinson - le clerc activement gai dont l'ordination a presque déchiré son église en deux - semble être d'accord. Pendant qu'il condamnait la position de l'Église catholique sur les attirances homosexuelles comme étant «vile» et «un acte de violence qui doit être confronté», il notait aussi que Benoît XVI pourrait s'avérer un avantage pour les Épiscopaliens. «Nous voyons tant de catholiques se joindre à notre église», a-t-il dit.

Eh bien Gene, c'est peut-être le cas. (Et en passant, mêle-toi de tes oignons.)

Il ne faut pas mal m'interpréter. Je déteste voir qui que ce soit quitter l'Église catholique. Après tout, je crois que c'est l'Église que le Christ a fondé à la Pentecôte. Néanmoins, les catholiques hétérodoxes ont déjà abandonné l'Église en tout point, sauf l'appartenance formelle. Tout ce qu'il reste à faire, c'est de rendre officiel ce que tous peuvent déjà constater.

La vérité est qu'un catholique dissident est à peine différent d'un protestant libéral. Ils croient presque toutes les mêmes choses, revendiquent les mêmes causes, et adorent de manière similaire. Bien sûr, au moins les protestants rejettent avec franchise l'autorité papale - on ne peut pas en dire autant pour nos coreligionnaires ingouvernables qui sont soumis au Pape du bout des lèvres, tout en ignorant tous ses décrets.

Qu'ils aient l'intégrité de leur propres convictions et qu'ils prennent la porte. S'ils ne veulent pas revenir à la Foi catholique, s'ils ne veulent pas cesser de s'y opposer à tout bout de champ, qu'ils partent. Que les portes de lavande de l'église épiscopalienne soient assaillies par tous les catholiques dissidents, rebelles, hargneux et grincheux, tous ces gens qui ont à un moment donné noyauté une paroisse, ou ruiné un séminaire, ou corrompu un ordre religieux autrefois fier. Ceux qui refusent de construire ne peuvent que détruire, et ils ont bien assez détruit.

Mais j'ai aussi un autre souhait: Que tous les Anglicans et Épiscopaliens fidèles, orthodoxes et bagarreurs, qui sont pris dans une église qui a abandonné le Christianisme historique - et eux avec - qu'ils puissent retrouver le chemin vers l'Église ancienne. Il y en a plusieurs, et ce sont nos vrais frères et soeurs.

Monseigneur Robinson est le bienvenu de prendre nos dissidents. Et nous accueillerons les siens.

Copyright © 2005 Brian Saint-Paul. Traducteur: SJJ

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus