| Home >> Lost Sermons

Transubstantiation, or Trans-Protestantization?

Giovanni Gasparro. St Pius V and St. Charles Borromeo defending Catholicism against Islam and the Protestant Heresy.
Giovanni Gasparro. St Pius V and St. Charles Borromeo defending Catholicism against Islam and the Protestant Heresy.
[Source]

Last Sunday (June 13th, 2004), during the Feast of Corpus Christi in the Parish of Très Saint Sacrement in Québec City, everybody was given a little Hymn Sheet which contained this excerpt:

The glorious Christ takes the figure of bread and wine to show his corporeal presence in the Church. The bread and wine of the Eucharist are no longer an ordinary bread and wine. Of course, their chemical nature remains the same as that of bread and wine, but, behind this chemical nature we must recognize by faith the true and new substantial reality of this bread and this wine: the body and blood of Christ. The Church believes that this bread and this wine are body and blood of Christ, in this sense that the glorious Christ takes them to make of them a concrete figure of his presence in our midst, a venue where he can be found, contemplated, communicated.
[Thurian, Max. The Essentials of Faith, my emphasis]

Please note that neither the homily that day (by Fr. Florent Bourgeault, S.S.S.), nor the "Prions en Église" missalette for that Sunday, nor the parish bulletin, contained any specific and clear assertion of what Transubstantiation is, according to the Catholic Church.

Why, on the very Feast of Corpus Christi, quote an obscure Protestant theologian as the only doctrinal source of information on Transubstantiation? (Thurian started out a Protestant, then was ordained a Catholic Priest, but his Catholicism remained ambiguous at best). Why not a famous and canonized Catholic theologian like St. Thomas Aquinas? Why not one of the innumerable canonized saints who have talked about Jesus-Eucharist, like Saint Jean Vianney (the Curé d'Ars), or Saint Catherine of Siena, or Saint Josémaria Escriva, or Saint Theresa of Lisieux? Why not a respected theologian like Ludwig Ott (Fundamentals of Catholic Dogma, Tan Books, 1992, pp 379-390)? Why not the official Catechism of the Catholic Church? Why not official Councils of the Church, whether Vatican II or Trent? Why not the most recent Encyclical by Pope John-Paul II, Ecclesia de Eucharistia, which specifically deals with this issue? And why make the effort to make these bizarre Hymn Sheets available to all at the back of the church, even three days after the Feast of Corpus Christi? (Well, I confess that they are not there anymore, since I stole them today after Wednesday's Mass).

Let us quickly compare the vague and ambiguous statements of Thurian with real Catholic doctrine. This is what our Church teaches concerning Transubstantiation:

1. If someone says that, in the Most Holy Sacrament of the Eucharist, are not contained truly, really, and substantially the Body and Blood as well as the Soul and the Divinity of our Lord Jesus Christ, and consequently, Christ in His entirety, but who says that they are only there as in a sign or a figure or virtually: may he be anathema [i.e. the preceding statement is declared heretical].

2. If someone says that, in the Most Holy Sacrament of the Eucharist, the substance of the bread and the wine remain with the Body and Blood of our Lord Jesus Christ, and if he denies this wondrous and unique change of the whole substance of the bread into His Body and of the whole substance of the wine into His Blood [...] , a change which the Catholic Church very appropriately calls Transubstantiation: may he be anathema.
[Council of Trent, in Denzinger, #1651-1652, my translation from French. Sorry, my Latin still sucks.]

Compare this with the quote from Max Thurian. Remember that for inanimate bodies (like a rock, or water, or bread or wine), the substance of that body is what has a chemical nature. Water is water, its chemical nature is composed of two atoms of Hydrogen and one atom of Oxygen, H2O. If the chemical nature of water is transformed into the chemical nature of water, nothing has essentially or substantially changed! It is still just plain water! Same thing for wine or bread.

If the supplied quote is exact and representative, then it seems Thurian denies Transubstantiation, and claims that the presence of Christ is only a "figure", not the real thing. At worst, this is a blatant heresy, and one of the worst you can come up with. At best, it's a seriously ambiguous and reckless statement.

The Catholic Church protects and faithfully transmits the pure and integral faith of the Apostles, who themselves received it from Christ. The Catholic Church has always taught, teaches and will forever teach that after consecration, what is in the Priest's hands is not bread or wine anymore, it is God Almighty, Jesus Christ, second Person of the Most Holy Trinity, True Man and True God, co-eternal and co-substantial with the Father and the Holy Spirit.

Jesus Christ is not present in the Eucharist as a symbol or a figure. He is really, truly, substantially present. You must adore Him, for He is the Lord. You can talk to Him, thank Him, praise Him, pray Him. He is really present, hears you, and loves you. When you go to communion (in a state of grace, of course!), you don't get bread and wine, but Jesus Christ, under the appearances of bread and wine. What we call the accidents of the bread and wine remain (everything we can perceive with our senses and our modern scientific instruments), but the substance has totally changed. If you can't understand that, don't worry. It is a mystery and a miracle, made by God Almighty.

Don't let the silly invocation of Thurian "trans-Protestantize" your Catholic Faith into a stupid heresy!

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Transsubstantiation, ou Trans-Protestantisation?

Pablo Picasso. Première communion.
(Pablo Picasso. Première communion. Source)

Dimanche dernier (13 juin 2004), durant la Solennité du Saint Sacrement dans la paroisse du Très Saint Sacrement à Québec, tous ont reçu une petite feuille de chant qui contenait cet extrait:

Le Christ glorieux prend la figure du pain et du vin pour manifester sa présence corporelle dans l'Église. Le pain et le vin de l'Eucharistie ne sont plus un pain et un vin ordinaires. Certes leur nature chimique reste celle du pain et du vin, mais, derrière cette nature chimique il faut reconnaître par la foi la vrai et nouvelle réalité substantielle de ce pain et de ce vin: le corps et le sang du Christ. L'Église croit que ce pain et ce vin sont corps et sang du Christ, en ce sens que le Christ glorieux s'en empare pour en faire une figure concrète de sa présence au milieu de nous, un lieu où il peut être trouvé, contemplé, communiqué.
[Thurian, Max. L'essentiel de la foi, mes gras]

Veuillez noter que ni l'homélie de ce jour-là (prononcé par le Père Florent Bourgeault, S.S.S.), ni le «Prions en Église» de ce dimanche, ni le feuillet paroissial, ne contenait des affirmations spécifiques et claires sur ce qu'est la transsubstantiation, selon l'Église catholique.

Pourquoi, le jour même de la Solennité du Saint Sacrement, citer un célèbre inconnu protestant comme seule source doctrinale d'information sur la transsubstantiation? (Thurian a commencé comme protestant, pour ensuite être ordonné prêtre catholique, mais son catholicisme est demeuré au mieux ambigu). Pourquoi pas un théologien célèbre et canonisé comme saint Thomas d'Aquin? Pourquoi pas un des innombrables saints canonisés qui ont parlé de Jésus-Eucharistie, comme le saint Curé d'Ars, ou sainte Catherine de Sienne, ou saint Josémaria Escriva, ou sainte Thérèse de Lisieux? Pourquoi pas un théologien respecté comme Ludwig Ott (Fundamentals of Catholic Dogma, Tan Books, 1992, pp 379-390)? Pourquoi pas le Catéchisme de l'Église catholique? Pourquoi pas les conciles de l'Église, que ce soit celui de Vatican II ou celui de Trente? Pourquoi pas l'encyclique la plus récente du Pape Jean-Paul II, Ecclesia de Eucharistia, qui traite spécifiquement de ce sujet? Et pourquoi faire l'effort de rendre ces feuillets de chant bizarres disponibles pour tous à l'arrière de l'église, même trois jours après la Solennité du Saint Sacrement? (M'enfin, j'avoue qu'ils n'y sont plus, car je viens juste de les voler après la messe de mercredi).

Comparons rapidement les énoncés vagues et ambigus de Thurian avec la vraie doctrine catholique. Voici ce que notre Église enseigne concernant la transsubstantiation:

1. Si quelqu'un dit que dans le très saint sacrement de l'Eucharistie ne sont pas contenus vraiment, réellement et substantiellement le Corps et le Sang en même temps que l'âme et la divinité de notre Seigneur Jésus Christ et, en conséquence, le Christ tout entier, mais dit qu'ils n'y sont qu'en tant que dans un signe ou en figure ou virtuellement: qu'il soit anathème [c'est-à-dire que l'énoncé précédent est déclaré hérétique].

2. Si quelqu'un dit que, dans le saint sacrement de l'Eucharistie, la substance du pain et du vin demeure avec le Corps et le Sang de notre Seigneur Jésus Christ, et s'il nie ce changement admirable et unique de toute la substance du pain en son Corps et de toute la substance du vin en son Sang [...], changement que l'Église catholique appelle d'une manière très appropriée transsubstantiation: qu'il soit anathème.
[Concile de Trente, dans Denzinger, #1651-1652]

Comparez ceci avec la citation de Max Thurian. Souvenez-vous que pour les corps inanimés (comme une roche, ou de l'eau, ou du pain et du vin), la substance de ce corps est ce qui possède une nature chimique. De l'eau, c'est de l'eau, et sa nature chimique est composée de deux atomes d'hydrogène pour chaque atome d'oxygène, H2O. Si la nature chimique de l'eau est transformée en nature chimique de l'eau, rien n'a changé essentiellement ou substantiellement! C'est encore de la bonne vieille eau! C'est la même chose pour le pain ou le vin.

Si la citation fournie est exacte et représentative, alors il semble que Thurian nie la transsubstantiation, et prétend que la présence du Christ n'est qu'une «figure», pas la réalité. Au pire, c'est une hérésie manifeste, et une des pires qu'on puisse trouver. Au mieux, c'est un énoncé gravement ambigu et téméraire.

L'Église catholique protège et transmet fidèlement la foi pure et intègre des Apôtres, qui eux-mêmes l'ont reçue du Christ. L'Église catholique a toujours enseigné, enseigne, et enseignera toujours que après la consécration, ce qui est dans les mains du prêtre n'est plus du pain ou du vin, mais bien Dieu Tout-Puissant, Jésus-Christ, deuxième personne de la Trinité, Vrai Homme et Vrai Dieu, co-éternel et co-substantiel avec le Père et le Saint-Esprit.

Jésus-Christ n'est pas présent dans l'Eucharistie comme un symbole ou une figure. Il est réellement, vraiment, substantiellement présent. Vous devez l'adorer, car il est le Seigneur. Vous pouvez Lui parler, Le remercier, Le louanger, Le supplier. Il est vraiment présent, vous entend et vous aime. Lorsque vous allez communier (en état de grâce, bien sûr!), vous n'allez pas chercher du pain et du vin, mais Jésus-Christ, sous les apparences du pain et du vin. Ce qu'on appelle les accidents du pain et du vin demeurent (tout ce qu'on peut percevoir par nos sens et nos instruments scientifiques), mais la substance a totalement changé. Si vous ne pouvez pas comprendre ça, ne vous inquiétez pas. C'est un mystère et un miracle, produit par la Toute-Puissance de Dieu.

Ne laissez pas la sotte invocation de Thurian «trans-Protestantiser» votre Foi catholique en une stupide hérésie!

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus