| Home >> Lost Sermons

A Little Course By Professor Madjisterioom

Rudolph Ernst. The Lesson.
(Rudolph Ernst. The Lesson. Source)

1) Introduction

What is the "Magisterium" of the Catholic Church? And what is a "Magisterium" anyway? And how come some documents of the Magisterium apparently contradict each other?

I will try to answer those questions, but please remember Legal Consideration #6.

2) What the Magisterium is not

Firstly, let's look at what the Magisterium is not. It's not something very weird. Actually, the very word "Magisterium" roughly means "Teacher" in Latin (Hence the joke in the title: "Professor Madjisterioom").

The Magisterium is not a mineral, a vegetable or an animal. It's not a spiritual being either (like our soul, or an angel, or God). On the other hand, it's not just a concept or a word devoid of contact with reality.

The Magisterium is related to something about the Catholic Church. It's not such and such a member of the Church, otherwise the Magisterium would have died when that member passed away. The Magisterium somehow produces paper documents, but the Magisterium isn't the Bible. Catholics kiss the Bible and carry it in procession at each Mass, just before the reading of the Gospel, but they never kiss or carry a document of the Magisterium in a procession.

3) A metaphor for the Magisterium

Metaphors are not reality, but they can often help us understand reality. One possibly useful metaphor for the Magisterium would be a kind of "Magic Bank Vault". This magic bank vault would have a door, but it would be welded shut! You could not open it to add or remove things from it. And on top of that it could talk, if you asked questions to it! But it could only give one of two answers:

Yessir, the Apostles deposited that inside me, after Jesus gave it to them!

or

Anathema sit!

(For those not familiar with Latin, "Anathema sit" isn't what you scream to your dog called "Anathema" when you want it to stop running around. It means that a doctrine is heretical.)

4) What is the Magisterium, strictly speaking?

Basically, the Magisterium is a "function" of the Church. It's a bit the same thing for you. If you can play tennis, you could say that what actually plays tennis is your "Tennisarium". And what weeds your garden is your "Weedarium"!

The Magisterium is the "someting about the Church's nature" that let's Her teach what Christ taught, without errors, additions or omissions. Let's listen to the Magisterium tell us what it is:

"The task of giving an authentic interpretation of the Word of God, whether in its written form or in the form of Tradition, has been entrusted to the living teaching office of the Church alone. Its authority in this matter is exercised in the name of Jesus Christ."
[CCC, #85]

"Yet this Magisterium is not superior to the Word of God, but is its servant. It teaches only what has been handed on to it."
[CCC, #86]

"But in the use of this extraordinary Magisterium no newly invented matter is brought in, nor is anything new added to the number of those truths which are at least implicitly contained in the deposit of Revelation, divinely handed down to the Church: only those which are made clear which perhaps may still seem obscure to some, or that which some have previously called into question is declared to be of Faith."
[Mortalium animos, #9]

5) What is the "scope" of the Magisterium?

How "far" does the teaching of the Magisterium extend? Basically three things: Revelation, things that can't be separated from Revelation, and Natural Law.

"The Church's Magisterium exercises the authority it holds from Christ to the fullest extent when it defines dogmas, that is, when it proposes truths contained in divine Revelation or also when it proposes in a definitive way truths having a necessary connection with them."
[CCC, #88]

"The authority of the Magisterium extends also to the specific precepts of the natural law, because their observance, demanded by the Creator, is necessary for salvation."
[CCC, #2036]

6) Who must we listen to, to hear this Magisterium?

Obviously, we can't walk up to a Magic Bank Vault and start asking it questions! We have to walk up to the sucessors of the Apostles who are in communion with the successor of Peter:

"In order that the full and living Gospel might always be preserved in the Church, the Apostles left Bishops as their successors. They gave them their own position of teaching authority."
[CCC, #77]

"The ordinary and universal Magisterium of the Pope and the bishops in communion with him teach the faithful the truth to believe, the charity to practice, the beatitude to hope for."
[CCC, #2034]

7) When does this Magisterium speak?

So when can your hear the Magisterium? Basically, when the Magisterium tells you it's speaking:

"The Roman Pontiff, head of the college of Bishops, enjoys this infallibility in virtue of his office, when, as supreme pastor and teacher of all the faithful, and tasked with confirming his brethren in the Faith, he proclaims by a definitive act a doctrine pertaining to faith or morals. The infallibility promised to the Church is also present in the body of Bishops when, together with Peter's successor, they exercise the supreme Magisterium, above all in an Ecumenical Council."
[CCC, #891]

"Divine assistance is also given to the successors of the Apostles when, teaching in communion with the successor of Peter [...], without arriving at an infallible definition and without pronouncing in a «definitive manner», they propose in the exercise of the ordinary Magisterium a teaching that leads to better understanding of Revelation in matters of faith and morals. To this ordinary teaching the faithful «are to adhere to it with religious assent» which, though distinct from the assent of faith, is nonetheless an extension of it."
[CCC, #892]

[What the Magisterium thinks, and what it wills] "becomes clear from the nature of the documents, the insistence with which a teaching is repeated, and the very way in which it is expressed."
[Donum veritatis, #24]

8) When does this Magisterium not speak?

You will often come across accusations that "the Magisterium" supposedly made a mistake, etc. Here are some typical examples of cases when the Magisterium cannot be speaking, and therefore cannot be making a mistake:

8.1) Bishops speak, but they are not in communion with the Pope. If you're not in communion with the Pope, you're not even in the Catholic Church! Listening to such Bishops to hear the Magisterium would be just as silly as listening to words coming out of my mouth to hear what you have to say!

8.2) Bishops speak, but they are not speaking as Bishops (or the Pope). Bishops and the Pope can mouth off their own personal opinions, even about faith and morals.

8.3) Bishops speak, but they are talking about something outside the scope of the Magisterium. If you go see your local Bishop in communion with the Pope, and ask him for the winning lottery number, his guess will be as good as yours or mine. Christ didn't give His Church any special powers for lotteries (or astronomy, or climatology, or golf, etc.).

9) Can the Magisterium contradict itself?

In some cases, the Magisterium apparently contradicts itself. Here, you have to be careful. Magisterial documents are like any other documents: you have to know how to read them. Some of the apparent conflicts can be caused by:

9.1) Confusion of terms. For example, if I were the Pope, I would write a scathing condemnation of "values". I would be perfectly right, as long as the word "value" was defined the way I intended, and not using the other meaning that is synonymous with "good". In that second sense, the word "value" is sometimes used in Magisterial documents. Somebody unaware of those two meanings would incorrectly conclude that "the Magisterium is contradicting itself".

9.2) Confusion of what is taught, and why it's taught. Imagine the Magisterium had authority over Geometry, and suppose it taught that: "a triangle has three angles, because there are three jars of peanut butter in my refrigerator". The argument would be wrong, but that wouldn't stop the teaching from being true. What is "covered by the guarantee" is the actual teaching, not the arguments proposed to support that teaching.
[Donum veritatis, #34]

9.3) Confusion between reformable prudential judgments, and irreformable doctrinal and moral teachings. "When it comes to the question of interventions in the prudential order, it could happen that some Magisterial documents might not be free from all deficiencies."
[Donum veritatis, #34]
But, "It is also to be borne in mind that all acts of the Magisterium derive from the same source, that is, from Christ who desires that His People walk in the entire truth. For this same reason, magisterial decisions in matters of discipline, even if they are not guaranteed by the charism of infallibility, are not without divine assistance and call for the adherence of the faithful."
[Donum veritatis, #17]

10) The "Hermeneutic of Continuity"

These days, the expression "Hermeneutic of Continuity" is becoming popular when talking about documents of the Magisterium. Pope Benedict XVI, in his 2005 Christmas message to the Roman Curia, used the expression "hermeneutic of reform and continuity". What does this mean?

Let's start with this strange word "hermeneutic". To understand it, look up "hermeneutic" in the dictionary, then replace the words "correct interpretation of a text" with the word "deer". Voilà! Now "hermeneutic" is what allows you to come back from a hunting trip with a big deer in the back of your pickup truck. Hunters without this "hermeneutic" would come back empty-handed, despite scouring the forest during the whole hunting season, and using up all their ammunition.

OK, throw those deers out and put back "correct interpretation of a text" in that definition. Now, what kind of interpretations are we talking about?

Fig. 1: Various interpretations.

During the history of the Catholic Church, various interpretations have been made (either of the Bible, or of documents of the Magisterium, etc.). Not all these interpretations have been successful:

Fig. 2: Some bad interpretations.

Now with the advent of all the documents of the Vatican II Council (and those that have come after that Council), more interpretations have occured:

Fig. 3: Which new interpretations are good?

This is where the "Hermeneutic of reform and continuity" comes in to guide us:

Fig. 4: Hermeneutic of Continuity

Indeed, one of the most important principles required to properly read magisterial documents is to remember that it's a living Magisterium. It's like your own body: your left eye is somehow connected to your right foot, and when you put food in your stomach, somehow your lungs get a good meal, etc. A Magisterial document must always be read in light of all other Magisterial documents, because they are somehow part of "one big living document". In this sense, any "Anathema sit" pronounced by the Council of Trent is intrinsically part of the Vatican II Council, etc.

10.1) I think Father John Hunwicke says the same thing in other words when he speaks about all good Catholics being "faithful to the Popes" (plural), as opposed to being a "papal extremist [who has] no respect for the Scriptures, the Fathers, the Creeds, the Councils, the Tradition, the (plural) Popes". This strange man, "when a pontificate follows a pontificate, [...] clears his mind of the teaching of all the previous Popes [...], so as to have a tabula rasa upon which to inscribe whatever idiosyncrasies and obiter opinions the new Pope turns out to possess."

I also like the way Fr. Hunwicke explains the common origin of two errors: "hyper-papalism" and "sedevacantism":

	The Pope is a demigod;
	Bergoglio is clearly not a demigod;
	Therefore Bergoglio is not pope.

	The Pope is a demigod;
	Bergoglio is pope;
	Therefore Bergoglio is a demigod.

	BOTH ARE HERESIES contrary to the teaching of Vatican I about the papal office.

11) Conclusion

To conclude, we'll now leave the microphone to another, more famous Teacher, so that He might once again tell us:

"Thou art Peter, and on this stone I will build My Church"
[Mt 16:18]

"He that heareth you, heareth Me, and he that despiseth you, despiseth Me"
[Lk 10:16]

 

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Un petit cours du Professeur Mahjistair

Rudolph Ernst. La leçon.
(Rudolph Ernst. La leçon. Source)

1) Introduction

Qu'est-ce que le «Magistère» de l'Église catholique? Et c'est quoi, un «Magistère»? Et comment se fait-il que certains documents du Magistère semblent se contredire?

Je vais essayer de répondre à ces questions, mais veuillez garder en tête la Considération juridique No. 6.

2) Ce que le Magistère n'est pas

D'abord, considérons ce que le Magistère n'est pas. Ce n'est pas quelque chose de bien bizarre. En fait, le mot même de «Magistère» signifie en gros «professeur» en latin (d'où la blague dans le titre: «Professeur Mahjistair»).

Le Magistère n'est pas un minéral, un végétal ou un animal. Ce n'est pas non plus un être spirituel (comme notre âme, ou un ange, ou Dieu). D'un autre côté, ce n'est pas seulement un concept ou un mot dénué de contact avec la réalité.

Le Magistère a un quelconque rapport à l'Église catholique. Ce n'est pas tel ou tel membre de l'Église, autrement le Magistère serait mort lorsque ce membre serait décédé. Le Magistère produit des documents de papier, mais le Magistère n'est pas la Bible. Les catholiques embrassent la Bible et la portent en procession à chaque Messe, juste avant la lecture de l'Évangile, mais ils n'embrassent jamais et ne portent jamais en procession un document du Magistère.

3) Une métaphore pour le Magistère

Les métaphores ne sont pas la réalité, mais elles peuvent souvent nous aider à comprendre la réalité. Une métaphore possiblement utile pour le Magistère serait une sorte de «Coffre-fort magique». Ce coffre-fort magique aurait une porte, mais elle serait soudée en position fermée! Vous ne pourriez pas ni enlever ni mettre des choses dedans! Et en plus, ce coffre-fort pourrait parler, si vous lui posiez des questions! Mais il ne pourrait que donner une des deux réponses suivantes:

Oui M'sieu, les Apôtres ont déposé ça en moi, après que Jésus leur ait donné!

ou

Anathema sit!

(Pour ceux qui connaissent l'anglais plus que le latin, «Anathema sit» n'est pas ce que vous criez à votre chien appelé «Anathema» pour qu'il arrête de courailler partout. Cela signifie qu'une doctrine est hérétique.)

4) Qu'est-ce que le Magistère, strictement parlant?

En gros, le Magistère est une «fonction» de l'Église. C'est un peu la même chose pour vous. Si vous savez jouer au tennis, alors vous pourriez dire que ce qui joue au tennis, c'est votre «Tennistère». Et ce qui sarcle votre jardin est votre «Sarclistère»!

Le Magistère est «le quelque chose dans la nature de l'Église» qui fait qu'Elle peut enseigner ce que le Christ a enseigné, sans erreurs, ajouts ou omissions. Écoutons un peu le Magistère nous dire ce qu'il est:

«La charge d'interpréter de façon authentique la Parole de Dieu, écrite ou transmise, a été confiée au seul Magistère vivant de l'Église dont l'autorité s'exerce au nom de Jésus-Christ»
[CÉC, No. 85]

«Pourtant, ce Magistère n'est pas au-dessus de la parole de Dieu, mais il la sert, n'enseignant que ce qui fut transmis»
[CÉC, No. 86]

«Certes, cet usage extraordinaire du Magistère n'introduit aucune nouveauté à la somme des vérités qui sont contenues, au moins implicitement, dans le dépôt de la Révélation confié par Dieu à l'Eglise; mais ou bien il rend manifeste ce qui jusque là pouvait peut-être paraître obscur à plusieurs, ou bien il prescrit de regarder comme de Foi ce que, auparavant, certains mettaient en discussion.»
[Mortalium animos, No. 9]

5) Quelle est la «portée» du Magistère?

Jusqu'où «s'étend» le Magistère? En gros, trois choses: la Révélation, les choses qui ne peuvent pas être séparées de la Révélation, et la Loi naturelle.

«Le Magistère de l'Église engage pleinement l'autorité reçue du Christ quand il définit des dogmes, c'est-à-dire quand il propose, sous une forme obligeant le peuple chrétien à une adhésion irrévocable de foi, des vérités contenues dans la Révélation divine ou bien quand il propose de manière définitive des vérités ayant avec celles-là un lien nécessaire.»
[CÉC, No. 88]

«L'autorité du Magistère s'étend aussi aux préceptes spécifiques de la loi naturelle, parce que leur observance, demandée par le Créateur, est nécessaire au salut.»
[CÉC, No. 2036]

6) Qui doit-on écouter, pour entendre ce Magistère?

Manifestement, on ne peut pas aller voir un coffre-fort magique et commencer à lui poser des questions! Il faut aller voir un des successeurs des Apôtres qui sont en communion avec le successeur de Pierre:

«Pour que l'Évangile fût toujours gardé intact et vivant dans l'Église, les apôtres laissèrent comme successeurs les évêques, auxquels ils transmirent leur propre charge d'enseignement»
[CÉC, No. 77]

«Le magistère ordinaire et universel du Pape et des évêques en communion avec lui enseigne aux fidèles la vérité à croire, la charité à pratiquer, la béatitude à espérer.»
[CÉC, No. 2034]

7) Quand ce Magistère parle-t-il?

Quand peut-on entendre parler ce Magistère? En gros, lorsque le Magistère vous dit qu'il est en train de parler:

«De cette infaillibilité, le Pontife romain, chef du collège des évêques, jouit du fait même de sa charge quand, en tant que pasteur et docteur suprême de tous les fidèles, et chargé de confirmer ses frères dans la foi, il proclame, par un acte définitif, un point de doctrine touchant la foi et les moeurs (...). L'infaillibilité promise à l'Église réside aussi dans le corps des évêques quand il exerce son Magistère suprême en union avec le successeur de Pierre, surtout dans un Concile oécuménique»
[CÉC, No. 891]

«L'assistance divine est encore donnée aux successeurs des apôtres, enseignant en communion avec le successeur de Pierre, et, d'une manière particulière, à l'évêque de Rome, Pasteur de toute l'Église, lorsque, sans arriver à une définition infaillible et sans se prononcer d'une «manière définitive», ils proposent dans l'exercice du Magistère ordinaire un enseignement qui conduit à une meilleure intelligence de la Révélation en matière de foi et de moeurs. À cet enseignement ordinaire les fidèles doivent «donner l'assentiment religieux de leur esprit» qui, s'il se distingue de l'assentiment de la foi, le prolonge cependant.»
[CÉC, No. 892]

[Ce que le Magistère pense, et ce qu'il veut] «résulte de la nature des documents, de l'insistance à proposer une doctrine et de la manière même de s'exprimer.»
[Donum veritatis, No. 24]

8) Quand ce Magistère ne parle-t-il pas?

Vous allez souvent entendre des accusations selon lesquelles «le Magistère» a supposément fait une erreur, etc. Voici des cas typiques où le Magistère ne peut même pas parler, et donc ne peut pas se tromper:

8.1) Des évêques parlent, mais ils ne sont pas en communion avec le Pape. Si vous n'êtes pas en communion avec le Pape, vous n'êtes même pas dans l'Église catholique! Écouter de tels évêques pour entendre le Magistère serait aussi ridicule que d'écouter les mots qui sortent de ma bouche, pour savoir ce que vous avez à dire!

8.2) Des évêques parlent, mais ils ne parlent pas en tant qu'évêques (ou Pape). Les évêques et le Pape peuvent déblatérer leurs propres opinions personnelles, même à propos de la Foi et des moeurs.

8.3) Des évêques parlent, mais ils parlent de quelque chose hors de la portée du Magistère. Si vous allez voir votre évêque du coin en communion avec le Pape, et que vous lui demandez le numéro gagnant à la loterie, sa suggestion sera aussi bonne que la mienne ou la vôtre. Le Christ n'a pas donné à Son Église des pouvoirs spéciaux pour les loteries (ou l'astronomie, ou la climatologie, ou le golf, etc.).

9) Le Magistère peut-il se contredire?

Dans certains cas, le Magistère semble se contredire lui-même. Ici, il faut faire attention. Les documents du Magistère sont comme n'importe quel autre document: il faut savoir comment les lire. Certains des conflits apparents peuvent être causés par:

9.1) La confusion des termes. Par exemple, si j'étais le Pape, je fulminerais une condamnation des «valeurs». J'aurais tout-à-fait raison, tant que le mot «valeur» serait défini comme je le voulais, et non pas selon l'autre signification qui est synonyme de «bien». Selon cette deuxième acception, le mot «valeur» est parfois utilisé dans les documents du Magistère. Quelqu'un qui ne connaît pas ces deux sens pourrait conclure de manière erronée que «le Magistère se contredit».

9.2) La confusion entre ce qui est enseigné, et pourquoi c'est enseigné. Imaginez que le Magistère avait autorité sur la géométrie, et supposez qu'il enseignait que: «Un triangle a trois angles, car il y a trois pots de beurre d'arachides dans mon réfrigérateur». L'argument serait faux, mais cela n'empêcherait pas l'enseignement d'être vrai. Ce qui est «couvert par la garantie» est l'enseignement en tant que tel, pas les arguments proposés pour appuyer cet enseignement.
[Donum veritatis, No. 34]

9.3) La confusion entre les jugements prudentiels (ou butanciels) réformables, et les enseignements doctrinaux et moraux irréformables. «Quant on en vient à la question d'interventions d'ordre prudentiel, il pourrait arriver que certains documents du Magistère ne soient pas libres de tous défauts.»
[Donum veritatis, No. 34]
Mais, «On doit aussi garder en tête que tous les actes du Magistère dérivent de la même source, c'est-à-dire, du Christ qui désire que Son Peuple marche dans la vérité entière. Pour cette même raison, les décisions du Magistère dans les questions de discipline, même si elles ne sont pas garanties par le charisme de l'infaillibilité, ne sont pas sans l'assitance divine et appellent l'adhésion des fidèles.»
[Donum veritatis, No. 17]

10) «L'herméneutique de la continuité»

De nos jours, l'expression «Herméneutique de la continuité» devient populaire lorsqu'on parle de documents du Magistère. Le Pape Benoît XVI, dans son message de Noël 2005 à la Curie romaine, a utilisé l'expression «herméneutique de la réforme et de la continuité». Qu'est-ce que cela veut dire? C'est simple!

Commençons avec ce mot bizarre «herméneutique». Pour le comprendre, cherchez «herméneutique» dans le dictionnaire, puis remplacez les mots «interprétation correcte d'un texte» avec le mot «chevreuil». Voilà! Maintenant, «l'herméneutique» est ce qui vous permet de revenir d'un voyage de chasse avec un gros chevreuil dans votre camion pickup. Les chasseurs sans cette «herméneutique» reviendraient bredouilles, malgré avoir parcouru la forêt en tout sens, et avoir tiré toutes leurs munitions.

OK, flanquez ces chevreuils dehors et remettez «interprétation correcte d'un texte» dans cette définition. Maintenant, de quelles interprétations parlons-nous?

Fig. 1: Diverses interprétations.

Durant l'histoire de l'Église catholique, diverses interprétations ont été faites (soit de la Bible, ou des documents du Magistère, etc.). Toutes ces interprétations n'ont pas réussi:

Fig. 2: Certaines mauvaises interprétations.

Maintenant, avec la venue de tous les documents du Concile Vatican II (et ceux qui ont suivi ce Concile), d'autres interprétations ont été faites:

Fig. 3: Quelles interprétations sont bonnes?

C'est ici qu'entre en jeu «l'Herméneutique de la réforme et de la continuité» pour nous guider:

Fig. 4: L'Herméneutique de la continuité

En effet, un des principes les plus importants requis pour lire correctement les documents du Magistère est de garder en tête que c'est un Magistère vivant. C'est comme votre propre corps: votre oeil gauche est d'une certaine façon connecté à votre pied droit, et lorsque vous mettez de la nourriture dans votre estomac, vos poumons finissent par bien manger, etc. Un document du Magistère doit toujours être lu à la lumière de tous les autres documents du Magistère, car ils font, d'une certaine manière, tous partie «d'un gros document vivant». Dans ce sens, tout «Anathema sit» prononcé par le Concile de Trente fait intrinsèquement partie du Concile Vatican II, etc.

10.1) Je pense que le Père John Hunwicke dit la même chose en d'autres mots lorsqu'il parle des bons catholiques qui sont «fidèles aux Papes» (pluriel), par oppostion à être un «extremiste papal [qui n'a] aucun respect pour les Écritures, les Pères, les Crédos, les Conciles, la Tradition, les Papes» (au pluriel). Cet homme bizarre, «lorsqu'un pontificat succède à un pontificat, [...] fait le vide dans son esprit des enseignements de tous les Papes précédents [...], afin d'avoir une tabula rasa sur laquelle inscrire les idiosyncrasies et les opinions obiter que le nouveau Pape s'adonne à posséder».

J'aime aussi la manière dont le P. Hunwicke explique l'origine commune de deux erreurs: «l'hyper-papalisme» et le «sédévacantisme»:

	Le Pape est un demi-dieu;
	Bergoglio n'est clairement pas un demi-dieu;
	Donc Bergoglio n'est pas pape.

	Le Pape est un demi-dieu;
	Bergoglio est pape;
	Donc Bergoglio est un demi-dieu.

	LES DEUX SONT DES HÉRÉSIES contraires aux enseignements de Vatican I
	à propos de l'office pétrinien.

11) Conclusion

Pour conclure, nous laisserons maintenant le microphone à un autre Professeur, beaucoup plus célèbre, pour qu'Il nous redise:

«Tu es Pierre, et sur cette pierre Je bâtirai Mon Église.»
[Mt 16:18]

«Ceux qui vous écoutent, M'écoutent, et ceux qui vous rejettent, Me rejettent.»
[Lc 10:16]

 

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus