| Home >> Lost Sermons

Benedict's Defining Test

Will a line be drawn in the sand?
(Source)

Fr. Richard Neuhaus has a must-read article in the current First Things titled "The Truce of 2005?" that makes a compelling argument that the Vatican's Instruction on homosexual seminarians will bring onto the pontificate of Benedict XVI what Humanae vitae forced onto that of Paul VI: a defining test.

In both cases, Neuhaus points out, there is widespread institutional dissent to contend with. He says this dissent is characterized by "a quality of dissimulation," of which he finds the Society of Jesus a preeminent, though not unique, example:

There is, for instance, a mix of candor, defiance, and evasion in a December 8 letter sent by the provincial, Father Robert Scullin, S.J., to the members of the Detroit Province of the Society of Jesus. He writes: "The instruction's call to affective maturity as a necessary condition for a healthy celibate priesthood and religious life affirms the long-standing goal of our formation program -- both initial and continuing. All of us must continue to work toward an integrated affective sexual maturity if we wish to be of greater service to the Church and civil society. We continue to invite all qualified young men of either orientation who desire to lead a celibate chaste religious life to consider joining us on our mission. We welcome them and are proud to have them among us."

In short, and the instruction notwithstanding, the Society of Jesus will continue to do what it has been doing. (The reference to "either orientation," with its implicit exclusion of the bisexual and transsexual, is somewhat surprising.) The above provincial is very displeased, however, by a member of the province who "outed" himself as gay in the Detroit Free Press. Father Thomas J. O'Brien, S.J., criticizes the teaching that homosexual attractions are objectively disordered. "There is plentiful evidence that this is not true," he writes. "Lesbian sisters and gay brothers and priests have, indeed, been models of relating to people -- especially to the disenfranchised and excluded of society." Of the instruction he says, "This document reveals a fundamentally disordered view of gender and sexual orientation." Affirming the invaluable contributions made by homosexual, bisexual, transgendered, and transsexual persons, Fr. O'Brien concludes: "Thankfully, God is greater than any religion or any church."

Referring to Fr. O'Brien's public statement, Fr. Scullin, his provincial, writes: "I can appreciate the distress that led him to speak out. Yet we are first members of an apostolic body, and so personal actions, however compelling we feel them to be, have consequences for all our brothers and all our works." Fr. Scullin therefore asks that "no Jesuit take any controversial public step without prior, direct consultation with the provincial." Fr. Scullin in no way suggests that he disagrees with Fr. O'Brien's rejection of church teaching, only that it should be kept within the family, so to speak. As he puts it, "This is our way of proceeding." It is a way of proceeding that candidly says (at least within the family) that the instruction will be ignored, while asking Jesuits to be publicly discreet about their repudiation of the Church's teaching on sexuality.

Bang on target. Yet Neuhaus is too tactful to point out that Fr. O'Brien is in a much stronger position than his superior. For O'Brien can retort with perfect justice to Fr. Scullin, "Excuse me. If prior, direct consultation with responsible ecclesiastics is called for, please show me the permission you received from the Papal Nuncio, or the Prefect of the Congregation for Catholic Education, for your 'welcome to gays' letter. When I'm convinced you're clearing your policy with the Holy See, then I'll believe you're more interested in apostolic obedience than damage control." As Neuhaus says, "There is a smell of mendacity surrounding much of the response to the instruction."

But the problem of dissent, and timidity in the face of dissent, is broader than the Jesuits. Neuhaus writes further, "Among those who greatly admired Cardinal Ratzinger and were elated by his election as pope, there is a palpable uneasiness." He refers specifically to Benedict's appointment of Levada to the CDF and of the less-than-encouraging Niederauer as Archbishop of San Francisco. Will this pope have the stomach to face the tough decisions yet to be made?

In 1968 [i.e.,in the wake of Humanae vitae], an effort was made to hold accountable those who are solemnly vowed to the service of the Church. And then Rome caved. We are still living with the unhappy consequences of the Truce of 1968. Of course the Church will survive. We have Our Lord's promise on that. But no one who cares about this pontificate and the integrity of the Church's ministry can contemplate with equanimity the consequences of a Truce of 2005.

Read it all.

Copyright 2006 Catholic Culture.

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

L'épreuve décisive de Benoît

Une ligne va-t-elle être tracée dans le sable?
(Source)

L'abbé Richard Neuhaus a un article qu'il faut lire dans le numéro courant de First Things intitulé «La trêve de 2005?» qui argumente de manière convaincante que l'Instruction du Vatican sur Les séminaristes homosexuels va entraîner dans le pontificat de Benoît XVI ce que Humanae vitae a imposé à Paul VI: une épreuve décisive.

Dans les deux cas, dit Neuhaus, il y a une dissidence répandue et institutionnalisée avec laquelle il faut composer. Il dit que cette dissidence est marquée par «un aspect de dissimulation», dont la Société de Jésus est un exemple prééminent, mais non unique:

Il y a, par exemple, un mélange de candeur, de rébellion et d'évasion dans une lettre du 8 décembre envoyée par le Provincial, le Père Robert Scullin, S.J., aux membres de la Province de Détroit de la Société de Jésus. Il écrit: «L'appel de l'Instruction à une maturité affective comme condition nécessaire pour un célibat sacerdotal et une vie religieuse saine affirme le but de toujours de notre programme de formation - autant initial que pour la formation continue. Nous devons tous continuer à travailler pour assurer une maturité sexuelle affective intégrée si nous souhaitons pouvoir servir encore mieux l'Église et la société civile. Nous continuons à inviter tous les jeunes hommes qualifiés, des deux orientations, qui désirent vivre une vie religieuse chaste, à considérer de se joindre à nous dans notre mission. Nous leur souhaitons la bienvenue et nous sommes fiers de les avoir avec nous».

En bref, et nonobstant l'Instruction, la Société de Jésus va continuer à faire ce qu'elle a fait. (La référence aux «deux orientations», avec son exclusion implicite des bisexuels et des transexuels, est un peu surprenante). Le susmentionné supérieur de Province est toutefois très marri par un membre de la Province qui est «sorti du placard» et a révélé être «gai» dans le Detroit Free Press. Le Père Thomas J. O'Brien, S.J., critique l'enseignement selon lequel les attirances homosexuelles sont objectivement désordonnées. «Il y a de nombreuses preuves que ce n'est pas vrai», dit-il. «Les Soeurs lesbiennes et les Frères et Prêtres gais ont été, en fait, des modèles pour ce qui est d'entrer en relation avec les autres - surtout les marginalisés et les exclus de la société». De l'Instruction, il dit qu'elle «révèle une vision fondamentalement désordonnée du genre et de l'orientation sexuelle». Affirmant les contributions sans prix faites par les personnes homosexuelles, bisexuelles, «transgenderistes», et transsexuelles, le Père O'Brien conclut en disant: «Heureusement, Dieu est plus grand que toute religion ou toute église».

En parlant des déclarations publiques du P. O'Brien, le P. Scullin, son Provincial, écrit: «Je peux comprendre la détresse qui l'a amené à s'exprimer publiquement. Néanmoins, nous sommes les membres d'un corps apostolique, et ainsi les actions personnelles, aussi attirantes soient-elles, ont des conséquences sur tous nos frères et nos oeuvres». Le P. Scullin demande donc qu'«aucun Jésuite ne pose de geste public susceptible de causer une controverse sans consulter auparavant et directement le Provincial». Le P. Scullin ne suggère absolument pas qu'il est en désaccord avec le rejet des enseignements de l'Église du P. O'Brian, seulement qu'il faudrait «garder ça en famille», pour ainsi dire. Comme il le dit: «C'est notre manière de faire». C'est une manière de faire qui dit franchement (au moins à l'intérieur de la famille) que l'Instruction sera ignorée, tout en demandant aux Jésuites d'être publiquement discrets concernant leur rejet de l'enseignement de l'Église sur la sexualité.

«Ken toué». Mais Neuhaus est trop diplomate pour faire remarquer que le P. O'Brian est dans une position beaucoup plus défendable que celle de son supérieur. Car O'Brian peut répliquer avec une justice parfaite: «Pardon, mais si la consultation directe et préalable avec l'ecclésiastique responsable est de mise, SVP me montrer la permission que vous avez reçue du Nonce apostolique, ou du Préfet pour la Congrégation de l'éducation catholique, pour votre lettre de «Bienvenue aux gais». Lorsque je serai convaincu que vous avez obtenu l'approbation préalable du Saint-Siège pour vos politiques, alors je croirai que vous êtes plus intéressé à l'obéissance apostolique qu'au contrôle des dommages». Comme le dit Neuhaus, «il y a une odeur d'hypocrisie qui entoure une grande partie de la réponse à l'Instruction».

Mais le problème de la dissidence, et de la timidité face à la dissidence, est plus grand que seulement les Jésuites. Neuhaus écrit plus loin: «Parmi ceux qui ont grandement admiré le Cardinal Ratzinger et qui ont été transportés de joie par son élection comme Pape, il y a un malaise palpable». Il réfère spécifiquement à la nomination par Benoît de Levada à la Congrégation pour la doctrine de la Foi, et celle, moins qu'encourageante, de Niederauer comme archevêque de San Francisco. Ce Pape aura-t-il le cran de faire face aux dures décisions qui doivent encore être prises?

En 1968 [c'est-à-dire dans la foulée de Humanae vitae], un effort fut fait pour tenir responsable ceux qui ont juré solennellement de servir l'Église. Et puis Rome a capitulé. Nous vivons encore avec les conséquences malheureuses de la Trêve de 1968. Mais nulle personne, qui tient à ce pontificat et à l'intégrité du ministère de l'Église, peut imaginer sans frémir les conséquences d'une Trêve de 2005.

Lisez tout.

Copyright © 2006 Catholic Culture. Traducteur: SJJ

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus