| Home >> Philosophy

The Balance Of An Unbalanced Opinion

Jan Vermeer van Delft. Woman with a balance.
(Jan Vermeer van Delft. Woman with a balance. Source)

1) Introduction

Sometimes, I'm mistaken because sin darkens my intelligence (see None More Blind Than He Who Doesn't Want To See). Sometimes, I'm mistaken because I base good reasonings on bad sources of information (see Help! I'm Being Held Prisoner By My Sources Of Information!). Sometimes, I'm mistaken, but I knew ahead of time that I could be mistaken, since I knew my position was based on arguments that were only probable, i.e. that my position was a simple opinion (see Section 3.2 of 100% of all religions are false ( 1%)).

In this article, I'll talk about the times when I'm not really wrong, even though I don't tell all the truth.

2) I know this, I don't know that

Man's life is brief, and the quest for truth is long and difficult. Therefore, it's quite normal that before obtaining all the truth, we will find only part of the truth.

Is it bad to assert just part of the truth? In other words, to have an "unbalanced" position? In my opinion, no, under the condition that we clearly say our position is unbalanced! Partial knowledge is not evil in itself. What is bad, is partial knowledge that doesn't realize (or that doesn't want to see) that it's merely partial.

In a way, Science is solidly established on this "balanced unbalance", in other words on the humble assertion of the bare facts when we know them, and the humble admission of ignorance, when we don't [Jn 9:25].

3) Conclusion

Please pray that the Holy Spirit will illuminate me, so I'll put on my web site hyperlinks to this article, everywhere I'll realize I'm only presenting part of reality!

| Home >> Philosophy

| Accueil >> Philosophie

L'équilibre d'une position déséquilibrée

Jan Vermeer van Delft. La femme à la balance.
(Jan Vermeer van Delft. La femme à la balance. Source)

1) Introduction

Parfois, je me trompe parce que le péché obscurcit mon intelligence (voir Nul n'est aussi aveugle que celui qui ne veut pas voir). Parfois, je me trompe parce que je fonde mes bons raisonnements sur des mauvaises sources d'information (voir Au secours! Mes sources d'information me tiennent prisonnier!). Parfois, je me trompe, mais je savais d'avance que je pouvais me tromper, car je savais que ma position était fondée sur des arguments seulement probables, que ma position était une simple opinion (voir Section 3.2 de 100% des religions sont fausses (à ± 1%)).

Dans cet article, je vais parler des fois où je ne me trompe pas vraiment, même si je ne dis pas toute la vérité.

2) Je sais ceci, je ne sais pas cela

La vie de l'homme est brève, et la recherche de la vérité est longue et ardue. Ainsi, il est tout-à-fait normal qu'avant d'arriver à la vérité complète, on ait trouvé seulement une partie de la vérité.

Est-ce mauvais d'affirmer seulement une partie de la vérité? En d'autres mots, d'avoir une position «déséquilibrée»? Selon moi, non, à condition de clairement dire que notre position est déséquilibrée! La connaissance partielle n'est pas mauvaise en soi. Ce qui est mauvais, c'est la connaissance partielle qui ne se rend pas compte (ou qui ne veut pas voir) qu'elle n'est que partielle.

D'une certaine manière, la science est solidement établie sur ce «déséquilibre équilibré», en d'autres mots sur l'humble affirmation des faits dépouillés, lorsqu'on les connaît, et sur l'humble admission de notre ignorance, quand on ne sait pas [Jn 9:25].

3) Conclusion

SVP priez pour que le Saint-Esprit m'éclaire, afin que je place sur mon site web des hyperliens vers cet article, partout où je me rendrai compte que je ne présente qu'une partie de la réalité!

| Accueil >> Philosophie