| Home >> Philosophy

Virtual Reality Games, and Real Vices

Victor Vasnetsov. A Knight at the Crossroads.
(Victor Vasnetsov. A Knight at the Crossroads. Source)

1) Introduction

Video games are quite popular these days, and many young people spend hours playing them. But does this mean playing video games is a good thing? Are these games good or evil?

2) Video simulations of reality are not intrinsically evil

Many of us are alive today because of video simulations. For example, most airline pilots must regularly practice emergency procedures on flight simulators. Surgeons more and more will be practicing difficult operations using video simulators. In general, computers let us re-create an aspect of reality (what software engineers call a "mini-world"). This means that almost anything material, which is difficult and important, can be simulated by computers, so people can improve their skills without endangering anybody. Therefore, some video simulations are intrinsically good, and we are lucky to live in an era where they are more and more common.

3) Harmless games are not intrinsically evil

Many games are harmless in themselves. Whether it's playing hockey, or Scrabble, or just skipping stones on a beautiful lake after a hard day of paddling in a canoe, we have all experienced that some games, in some situations, are good for us.

For whatever reason related to our human nature, we cannot work continuously. If we don't periodically rest our bodies and our minds, our effectiveness decreases and can even be totally eliminated. Hence, in order to be able to do as much good as possible, we sometimes have to play some games, in a certain way.

4) How can playing good games be bad?

Playing games that are intrinsically harmless can become bad, in certain circumstances. Let's look at a few examples:

4.1) While we're playing, we're not working. If you're a father busy conquering the Universe on your computer, while your kids are starving because nobody is thinking about supper, something is wrong! Games exist so we can do more good, not less. Even harmless games are bad when we're not supposed to be playing.

4.2) While we're playing video games, we're not exercising. Remember the main reason we play games is to relax. More and more, in our high-tech society, "relaxing" means "relaxing from mental labour", not physical exertion. So in theory, our games should be more physical than, say, a hundred years ago. But as far as I know, the current trend is the exact opposite. Many physicians warn that people in general, and youngsters specifically, are not getting enough exercise. We're not talking about a few doctors warning us of some silly fashion trend: we're talking about the entire Medical Profession warning about large numbers of heart attacks, disruption of our Health System, huge losses for our economy, etc.

Of course, using sophisticated technology, you can "wire" a player to motion sensors, eye-movement detectors, "kinesthetic body suits", etc., such that a player's physical movements can be detected and incorporated into a virtual reality. So in theory (and soon in practice), you can "play" a game of baseball or hockey, without a baseball field or a hockey rink. So you would get some physical activity, but while still playing inside a "virtual reality".

I see several problems with this. First, insofar as you leave the "virtual reality" to come back inside the "real reality", well of course you can reap some of the benefits of "real reality"! (That's a bit like claiming cigarettes aren't so bad, because you can get reduced nicotine cigarettes!) But if you're going to put one foot back into "real reality", why not go all the way, shut down that darn computer and go play outside? Second, it's still not reality, no matter how sophisticated the technology, and the natural tendency of game manufacturers (since they want your money) will be to keep mostly the pleasant aspects. So "partially-virtual" golfing, skiing, dancing, etc., will tend to leave aside the difficult learning processes, the physical pain, the rough edges of reality which teach us perseverance and patience, etc. In other words, these games will tend to avoid teaching you what you need to succeed in real life!

4.3) While we're playing video games, we're not socializing. Many video games are networked and multi-player, so in a sense you have to interact with other men. But this interaction is extremely limited, and often intensely unreal. Compare that with going to the old folk's home and playing a game of cards with your grandfather, or having tea in your nieces imaginary castle just outside their apartment, next to the bush and the big pine tree. Learning to know and love other men is not just an accessory skill in our lives!

4.4) While we're playing silly video games, we're not playing more intelligent games. "Harmless" unfortunately doesn't necessarily mean "intelligent" or "useful". Yes, jumping around in Maya Temples and clobbering nasty dinosaurs with bowling balls can fascinate a player, but it's a pretty empty fascination. Often, with little or no effort, an educational game can be substituted to a mindless "crash and bang" type of game. Chess can teach you to plan ahead and not just react at the last minute. Making and flying model airplanes can teach you many things about aerodynamics and construction techniques. There are many educational video games that kids can enjoy, while learning about Mathematics, History, Chemistry, etc. Many harmless but silly video games mostly reward luck and quick reflexes. Life tends to reward sustained and intelligent effort, not to mention self-sacrifice and love of your neighbor!

4.5) Sitting down in front of a stolen copy of a game is always bad. Whatever the circumstances, playing with a stolen computer game is a sin. Stealing somebody else's property is not a way to relax. It doesn't matter if many other people have stolen that game, or if the game's manufacturer is already rich, or this game was stolen by your roommate and not you, or whatever other lame excuse you can come up with: stealing software is bad, period.

5) How can games become intrinsically bad?

So I've just said that, depending on the circumstances, playing intrinsically good games can sometimes become bad. But can games be intrinsically bad? Are some games bad, whatever the circumstances?

Trying to answer this question can become very complex. Understanding why some video games are bad requires a fair knowledge of Morality and Psychology, and unless you have that prior knowledge, my explanations won't mean much to you. Please also understand that I'm not an expert in the field, so you should also refer to good authors.

It seems to me that a video game can be intrinsically bad, if it is somehow related to an intrinsically bad act. If you claim sin doesn't exist, or that intrinsically bad acts don't exist, then stop reading this essay! You first need to brush up your Morality!

Given you admit that some intrinsically bad acts exist (like murder, or theft, or rape, etc.), we can try to see how video games can be "contaminated" by such acts.

6) Contamination method #1: Evil acts are not fully presented as evil

An easy way for a video game to become intrinsically evil is to portray evil acts as being good, or even as less evil than they actually are. Obviously, this is not only true of video games, but of just about everything around us. A father who teaches his son that "Beating your wife is fun and easy" is committing a serious sin, even if he doesn't actually beat his wife. A book that teaches that "Morality is just a social convention" is a bad book, even it it's "just a novel". A video game is intrinsically evil if, for example, it presents car theft as "just another hobby", or murder as "something that is just a tiny bit evil, since it makes you lose a few points". Saying that "video games are not for real" doesn't change the very real message transmitted by those games.

7) Contamination method #2: Evil acts are not portrayed with enough discretion

Even if an intrinsically evil act is presented as evil, it can be portrayed without the appropriate discretion. Suppose for whatever reason that some video game includes a scene of murder, and moreover that murder is presented as a horrible crime. This game could still be intrinsically evil if this scene was presented very graphically, with vivid and realistic pain, terror, sadism, etc. This would be the same for rape, or any other intrinsically evil act.

This is because "An idea inclines us to perform the act it represents" (See among others New Year's Resolutions: A Satanic Plot?, point 2.1). Notice the idea inclines us, it doesn't force us to perform the act it represents. Yet, anything that inclines us to murder or rape or theft certainly doesn't qualify as harmless entertainment!

Another way of saying this is "Don't de-sensitize the audience to evil". Some acts are repugnant, and should remain so. Making them seem less evil by portraying them over and over is just another way of inclining the audience toward those acts.

8) Contamination method #3: Evil acts are consented to

Not only must evil acts be presented as evil, and portrayed with appropriate discretion (if at all), but the players must never be placed in a situation where they would have to consent to such acts, or be encouraged to even seek such consent.

The fact that video games "are not real" is partly irrelevant. Yes, if you kill a truckload of men in a video game, you won't be arrested by real flesh-and-blood policemen, and taken to court in front of a real judge! But morality is not just physical acts. Morality in fact deals more with things that stay "inside you".

For example, suppose an assassin is waiting outside an office building to kill someone. Fortunately for the poor target, an accident occurs and a garbage truck hits the assassin, just as he is pressing the trigger. Even if this assassin ends up in the hospital and doesn't commit murder that day, he has nevertheless committed a serious sin by consenting to murder. This evil "stayed inside" the assassin, but it's still evil.

The story happening inside a video game is not reality, but the consent that a player gives to evil acts can be unfortunately quite real. I think evil video games fall somewhere between the case of a 6 year-old boy playing war with his little green plastic soldiers, and that assassin who consented to murder without being able to pull the trigger. Yes, a video game player is not consenting to a real murder, but he's not consenting to helping a little old lady cross the street either! It would seem that as the player becomes older and more responsible, and as the game becomes more graphic and realistic, the consent to evil acts given by the player becomes more and more dangerous and blameworthy.

9) "Virtual reality" and the human heart

Is giving full consent to murder or rape in a video game a serious sin? A few Bible quotes come to mind, among others:

Ye have heard that it was said by them of old time, Thou shalt not commit adultery: But I say unto you, That whosoever looketh on a woman to lust after her hath committed adultery with her already in his heart.
[Mt 5:27-28]

There is also the Ninth and Tenth Commandments, which specifically refer to "non-actions", things that "happen only in our hearts", and not "out there, in external reality":

Neither shalt thou desire thy neighbor's wife, neither shalt thou covet thy neighbor's house, his field, or his manservant, or his maidservant, his ox, or his ass, or anything that is thy neighbor's.
[Dt 5:21]

Human actions, whether good or bad, don't just "pop out of the blue". They originate from the inner depths of ourselves, what is colloquially known as "the heart". Drowning our hearts in spiritual filth is not a very good way to train them to produce good acts!

In order to explain this last point fully, I would need to explain what are virtues and vices, how they are acquired, and what is their impact on someone's life. I'll have to summarize here by saying that good habits (virtues) are necessary to attain happiness, which is subjectively the most important thing in our lives! We acquire virtues by repeating good acts with as much consent as we can muster. So repeating bad acts with consent leads us into vice, which by and large is the worst thing that can happen to us! This is not exactly a rousing endorsement for evil video games!

10) Conclusion

If you claim that "those rules are too strict, nobody can respect them", then you've been hanging around with "video morons" for too long. Shut off your computer, and go for a walk. Talk to some virtuous people. Read serious books. Visit good web sites. Soon, you'll realize that there are real persons starving in real Third-World countries, that there is real pollution that must be eliminated, that there are approximately 40 million young people missing in your generation in North America, because they were exterminated in very real abortion camps.

If you are old enough to read and understand this text, you are way beyond playing video games, whether good or evil. It's time to work, and there is plenty of it.

| Home >> Philosophy

| Accueil >> Philosophie

Les jeux de réalité virtuelle, et les vrais vices

Victor Vasnetsov. Un chevalier à la croisée des chemins.
(Victor Vasnetsov. Un chevalier à la croisée des chemins. Source)

1) Introduction

Les jeux vidéo sont assez populaires de nos jours, et plusieurs jeunes passent des heures devant ces jeux. Mais cela signifie-t-il que jouer à ces jeux est une bonne chose? Ces jeux sont-ils bons ou mauvais?

2) Les simulations vidéo de la réalité ne sont pas intrinsèquement mauvaises

Plusieurs d'entre nous sont en vie aujourd'hui grâce à ces simulations vidéo. Par exemple, la plupart des pilotes de ligne doivent régulièrement pratiquer les procédures d'urgence sur des simulateurs de vol. Les chirurgiens vont de plus en plus pratiquer les opérations difficiles sur des simulateurs vidéo. En général, les ordinateurs nous permettent de re-créer un aspect de la réalité (ce que les ingénieurs logiciels appellent un «mini-monde»). Ceci signifie que presque n'importe quoi de matériel, qui est difficile et important, peut être simulé par un ordinateur, afin que les gens puissent améliorer leurs habiletés sans mettre qui que ce soit en danger. Donc, certaines simulations vidéo sont intrinsèquement bonnes, et nous sommes chanceux de vivre à une époque où ces simulations sont de plus en plus fréquentes.

3) Les jeux bénins ne sont pas intrinsèquement mauvais

Plusieurs jeux sont en soi bénins. Que ce soit de jouer au hockey, ou au Scrabble, ou juste de faire des ricochets avec des roches plates sur un beau lac, après avoir pagayé toute la journée en canot, nous avons tous l'expérience que certains jeux, dans certaines situations, sont bons pour nous.

Quelle qu'en soit la raison reliée à notre nature humaine, nous ne pouvons pas travailler continuellement. Si nous n'accordons pas un repos périodique à notre corps et notre esprit, notre efficacité diminue et peut même disparaître complètement. Donc, afin de pouvoir faire autant de bien que possible on doit parfois jouer avec certains jeux, d'une certaine manière.

4) Comment peut-il être mauvais de jouer à de bons jeux?

Jouer à des jeux qui sont intrinsèquement bénins peut devenir mauvais, dans certaines circonstances. Considérons quelques exemples:

4.1) Pendant qu'on joue, on ne travaille pas. Si vous êtes un père occupé à conquérir l'Univers sur votre ordinateur, pendant que vos enfants crèvent de faim parce que personne ne s'occupe du souper, quelque chose ne tourne pas rond!

4.2) Pendant qu'on joue à des jeux vidéo, on ne fait pas d'exercice. Souvenez-vous que la raison principale pour laquelle on joue des jeux, c'est pour se détendre. De plus en plus dans notre société de haute technologie, «se détendre» signifie «se détendre d'efforts intellectuels», pas d'efforts physiques. Alors en théorie, nos jeux devraient être plus physiques que, disons, il y a cent ans. Mais à ma connaissance, la tendance actuelle est tout à fait l'inverse. Plusieurs médecins nous avertissent que les gens en général, et les jeunes en particulier, n'ont pas assez d'exercice. On ne parle pas de quelques médecins qui nous mettent en garde contre une mode passagère: on parle de toute la profession médicale qui nous avertit sérieusement d'un grand nombre de crises cardiaques, de perturbations profondes de notre système de santé, de pertes énormes pour notre économie, etc.

Bien sûr, en utilisant une technologie sophistiquée, on peut «brancher» un joueur à des détecteurs de mouvement, à des «habits kinesthésiques», etc., tels que les mouvements physiques d'un joueur peuvent être détectés et intégrés dans une réalité virtuelle. Alors en théorie (et bientôt en pratique), vous pouvez «jouer» une partie de baseball ou de hockey, sans terrain de baseball ou aréna de hockey. Alors vous pourriez obtenir une certaine activité physique, tout en jouant encore dans une «réalité virtuelle».

Je vois plusieurs problèmes avec ceci. Primo, pour autant que vous quittez la «réalité virtuelle» pour revenir dans la «réalité réelle», bien sûr vous pouvez récolter certains des avantages de la «réalité réelle»! (C'est un peu comme prétendre que les cigarettes ne sont pas si mauvaises, parce que certaines cigarettes ont une teneur réduite en nicotine!) Mais si vous êtes pour remettre un pied dans la «réalité réelle», pourquoi ne pas y aller jusqu'au bout, fermer ce foutu ordinateur et aller jouer dehors? Secundo, ce n'est toujours pas la réalité, aussi sophistiquée que soit la technologie, et la tendance naturelle des fabriquants de jeux (puisqu'ils veulent votre argent) sera de conserver surtout les aspects plaisants. Alors le golf, le ski, la dance, etc., «partiellement virtuels» vont avoir tendance à laisser de côté les processus d'apprentissage difficiles, la douleur physique, les aspérités du réel qui nous enseignent la patience et la persévérance, etc. En d'autres mots, ces jeux vont avoir tendance à ne pas vous enseigner ce dont vous avez besoin pour avoir du succès dans la vraie vie!

4.3) Pendant qu'on joue à des jeux vidéo, on ne socialise pas. Plusieurs jeux vidéos sont en réseau et se jouent à plusieurs, alors d'une certaine manière on doit interagir avec d'autres hommes. Mais cette interaction est extrêmement limitée, et souvent intensément irréelle. Comparez cela avec une visite au foyer pour personnes âgées pour aller jouer aux cartes avec votre grand-père, ou «prendre le thé» dans le château imaginaire de vos nièces juste à l'arrière de leur appartement, à côté du buisson et du gros pin. Apprendre à connaître et aimer d'autres êtres humains n'est pas une habileté accessoire dans nos vies!

4.4) Pendant qu'on joue à des jeux vidéo insignifiants, on ne joue pas à des jeux plus intelligents. «Bénin» malheureusement ne signifie pas nécessairement «intelligent» ou «utile». Oui, se promener en tout sens dans des temples Maya et tapocher des dinosaures avec des boules de quilles peut fasciner un joueur, mais c'est une fascination plutôt vide. Souvent, avec peu ou pas d'efforts, un jeu éducatif peut être substitué à un jeu idiot de type «pif-paf». Jouer aux échecs peut vous enseigner à faire des plans et à ne pas bêtement réagir à la dernière minute. Construire et faire voler des avions réduits peut vous enseigner plusieurs choses à propos de l'aérodynamique et des techniques de construction. Il existe de nombreux jeux vidéos éducatifs avec lesquels les enfants peuvent s'amuser, tout en apprennant des choses sur la mathématique, l'histoire, la chimie, etc. De nombreux jeux vidéos bénins mais insipides récompensent surtout la chance et les bons réflexes. La vie, elle, tend à récompenser l'effort acharné et intelligent, sans mentionner l'altruisme et l'amour du prochain!

4.5) S'asseoir devant une copie volé d'un jeu est toujours mauvais. Quelles que soient les circonstances, jouer avec un jeu informatique volé est un péché. Voler la propriété de quelqu'un d'autre n'est pas une manière de se détendre. Peu importe si plusieurs autres personnes ont déjà volé ce jeu, ou si le manufacturier du jeu est déjà riche, ou si ce jeu a été volé par votre co-locataire et non pas par vous, ou toute autre mauvaise excuse que vous pourriez trouver. Pirater des logiciels est mauvais, point.

5) Comment des jeux peuvent-ils devenir intrinsèquement mauvais?

Je viens de dire que, dépendamment des circonstances, jouer à des jeux intrinsèquement bons peut parfois devenir mauvais. Mais des jeux peuvent-ils être intrinsèquement mauvais? Certains jeux sont-ils mauvais, quelles que soient les circonstances?

Essayer de répondre à cette question peut devenir très complexe. Comprendre pourquoi certains jeux vidéos sont mauvais exige une bonne connaissance de la Morale et de la Psychologie, et à moins d'avoir ces connaissances préalables, mes explications ne voudront pas dire grand chose pour vous. Veuillez aussi comprendre que je ne suis pas un expert dans le domaine, alors vous devriez aussi vous référer à de bons auteurs.

Il me semble qu'un jeu vidéo peut être intrinsèquement mauvais, s'il est d'une certaine manière relié à un acte intrinsèquement mauvais. Si vous prétendez que le péché n'existe pas, ou que les actes intrinsèquement mauvais n'existent pas, alors arrêtez de lire cet essai! Vous devez d'abord réviser ce qu'est la Morale!

Étant donné que vous concédez que certains actes intrinsèquement mauvais existent (comme le meurtre, le vol, le viol, etc.), on peut voir comment des jeux vidéos peuvent être «contaminés» par de tels actes.

6) Méthode de contamination No. 1: Les actes mauvais ne sont pas pleinement présentés comme mauvais

Une manière facile pour un jeu vidéo de devenir intrinsèquement mauvais est de présenter des actes mauvais comme étant bons, ou moins mauvais qu'ils ne le sont en fait. Manifestement, ce n'est pas seulement vrai pour les jeux vidéos, mais pour presque tout ce qui nous entoure. Un père qui enseigne à son fils que «Battre son épouse est facile et amusant» commet un péché grave, même s'il ne bat pas réellement sa femme. Un livre qui enseigne que «La Morale n'est qu'une convention sociale» est un mauvais livre, même si «ce n'est qu'un roman». Un jeu vidéo est intrinsèquement mauvais si, par exemple, il présente le vol d'auto comme «un passe-temps parmi les autres», ou le meurtre comme «juste un tantinet mauvais, car il vous fait perdre quelques points». Dire que les jeux vidéos «ne sont pas pour vrai» ne change pas le message très réel transmis par ces jeux.

7) Méthode de contamination No. 2: Les actes mauvais ne sont pas dépeints avec suffisamment de discrétion

Même si un acte intrinsèquement mauvais est présenté comme étant mauvais, il peut être présenté sans la discrétion appropriée. Supposons pour une raison ou une autre qu'un jeu vidéo comprend une scène de meurtre, et supposons que le meurtre est présenté comme étant un crime horrible. Ce jeu pourrait quand même être intrinsèquement mauvais, si cette scène était présenté avec un grand réalisme, avec une douleur, une terreur, un sadisme très réalistes. Ceci serait aussi vrai pour le viol, ou tout autre acte intrinsèquement mauvais.

C'est parce que «l'idée incline à l'acte dont elle est la représentation» (Voir entre autres Les Bonnes résolutions du Nouvel An : un complot satanique?, point 2.1). Remarquez que l'idée incline, elle ne nous force pas à faire l'acte qu'elle représente. Néanmoins, tout ce qui nous incline vers le meurtre ou le viol n'est certainement pas un divertissement bénin!

Une autre manière de le dire est qu'il ne faut pas que «l'auditoire devienne blasé du mal». Certains actes sont répugnants, et devraient le demeurer. Les rendre moins répugnants en les affichant encore et encore n'est qu'une autre manière d'incliner l'auditoire vers ces actes.

8) Méthode de contamination No. 3: On consent à des actes mauvais

Non seulement les actes mauvais doivent-ils être présentés comme mauvais, et représentés avec la discrétion appropriée (si même on les représente), mais les joueurs ne doivent jamais être placés dans une situation où ils devraient consentir à de tels actes, ou même être encouragés à même rechercher ce consentement.

Le fait que les jeux vidéos «ne sont pas pour vrai» n'a partiellement pas rapport. Oui, si vous trucidez une autobus plein d'hommes dans un jeu vidéo, vous ne vous ferez pas arrêter par des policiers en chair et en os, et traîner devant les tribunaux, devant un vrai juge! Mais la morale n'a pas seulement rapport aux actes physiques. La morale en fait traite surtout de choses qui «restent en-dedans de vous».

Par exemple, supposons qu'un assassin attend à l'extérieur d'un édifice à bureaux pour tuer quelqu'un. Heureusement pour la pauvre victime, un accident se produit et l'assassin se fait frapper par un camion de vidanges, juste au moment où il appuyait sur la gâchette. Même si cet assassin aboutit à l'hôpital et ne tue personne cette journée-là, il a néanmoins commis un péché grave en consentant au meurtre. Ce mal est «resté en-dedans» de l'assassin, mais c'est encore un mal.

L'histoire qui se passe à l'intérieur d'un jeu vidéo n'est pas la réalité, mais le consentement qu'un joueur donne à des actes mauvais peut malheureusement être tout-à-fait réel. Je pense que les jeux vidéos mauvais tombent à quelque part entre le cas d'un petit garçon de 6 ans qui joue à la guerre avec ses petits soldats en plastique vert, et cet assassin qui a consenti au meurtre sans être capable de tirer sur la gâchette. Oui, un joueur de jeu vidéo ne consent pas à un vrai meurtre, mais il ne consent pas non plus à aider une petite dame âgée à traverser la rue! Il semblerait que, au fur et à mesure que le joueur devient plus âgé et responsable, et que le jeu devient plus réaliste, le consentement aux actes mauvais accordé par le joueur devient plus dangereux et blâmable.

9) La «réalité virtuelle» et le coeur de l'homme

Est-ce que donner son plein consentement à un meurtre ou un viol dans un jeu vidéo est un péché grave? Quelques citations de la Bible me viennent à la tête, entre autres:

Vous venez d'entendre qu'il a été dit: Tu ne commettras pas d'adultère. Mais moi je vous dis: celui qui regarde une femme pour satisfaire son désir a déjà commis l'adultère dans son coeur.
[Mt 5:27-28]

Il y a aussi les Neuvième et Dixième Commandements, qui parlent spécifiquement des «non-actes», des choses qui «se produisent seulement dans nos coeurs», et non pas «là-bas, dans la réalité extérieure»:

En pensées, désirs veilleras à rester pur entièrement [...]
Bien d'autrui ne convoiteras pour l'avoir malhonnêtement
[CÉC, juste avant le No. 2052]

Les actes humains, qu'ils soient bons ou mauvais, ne «sortent pas de la cuisse de Jupiter». Ils trouvent leur origine dans nos profondeurs, dans ce qu'on appelle familièrement «le coeur». Noyer nos coeurs dans la crasse et la fange spirituelle n'est pas une bonne manière de les entraîner à produire de bons actes!

Pour expliquer complètement ce dernier point, j'aurais besoin d'expliquer ce que sont les vertus et les vices, comment on les acquiert, et quel est leur impact sur la vie de quelqu'un. Je devrai me contenter ici de résumer en disant que les bonnes habitudes (les vertus) sont nécessaires pour atteindre le bonheur, qui est subjectivement la chose la plus importante dans nos vies! On acquiert les vertus en répétant les bons actes avec autant de consentement qu'on peut dénicher. Donc, répéter des actes mauvais avec consentement nous mène dans le vice, qui, en gros, est la pire chose qui puisse nous arriver! Voilà qui n'est pas exactement une approbation chaleureuse des mauvais jeux vidéos!

10) Conclusion

Si vous prétendez que «ces règles sont trop strictes, que personne ne peut les respecter», alors vous fréquentez depuis trop longtemps des gens abrutis par les jeux vidéos. Éteignez votre ordinateur, et allez prendre une marche. Parlez avec des gens vertueux. Lisez des livres sérieux. Visitez de bons sites web. Bientôt, vous allez vous rendre compte qu'il y a de vraies personnes qui meurent de faim dans de vrais pays du Tiers-monde, qu'il y a de la vraie pollution qui doit être éliminée, qu'il manque approximativement 40 millions de jeunes dans votre génération en Amérique du Nord, parce qu'ils ont été exterminés dans de très réels camps d'avortement.

Si vous êtes assez vieux pour lire et comprendre ce texte, alors vous êtes beaucoup trop vieux pour jouer à des jeux vidéos, qu'ils soient bons ou mauvais. C'est le temps de travailler, et le travail ne manque pas.

| Accueil >> Philosophie