| Home >> Politics

The Caring And Feeding Of Your Catholic Constituents

Evangelical Deodorant and Catholic Dog Food.
Evangelical Deodorant and Catholic Dog Food.

1) Introduction

Please see WARNING at the beginning of Section 6.2.

Many members of the Christian Heritage Party (CHP) are what is sometimes called Evangelical Christians, whereas many ridings in Canada contain fairly large populations of Catholics. So what should members of the CHP do?

2) Ignorance or education?

Apparently, there are at least three options:

2.1) Ignore the Catholics; i.e. just get elected without them.
2.2) Ignore Catholicism; i.e. try to get the Catholic votes, but avoid like the plague anything related to Catholicism.
2.3) Learn a minimum about Catholicism, to avoid annoying Catholics and to find out how to attract them. (In other words, the "deodorant and dog food" approach.)

The first option (ignoring Catholics) is quite possible in some ridings with few Catholics, but in most of the others it just seems like begging for trouble. The CHP is already a small party, and it won't get any bigger by ignoring the biggest Christian denomination. Moreover, the CHP is supposed to be non-denominational, so it seems contradictory to discriminate.

The second option (ignoring Catholicism) is almost the definition of political ineptitude. A good teacher knows what her kids like and dislike, what grabs their attention and what puts them to sleep, etc. A good hockey coach knows not only which player is better at offence or defense, but also which player is having problems with alcohol, or which player doesn't get along with another player when they have to share hotel rooms during a tournament, etc. Offhand, it seems ridiculous for a politician to deprive herself of important information about her constituents, which could help her attract more votes. Moreover, a politician cannot ignore the teachings of religions present in his riding, because of the spiritual water table (i.e., the errors taught in one religion have a negative impact on the rest of society).

So apparently, CHP politicians should learn a minimum about Catholicism, at least enough to avoid giving off "body odors" that repulse Catholics, and to make the right "can opener noises" so Catholics will raise their ears and start to drool.

3) Evangelical Deodorant

What is the worst stink that an Evangelical Christian can have, for a Catholic nose? Obviously not the fact he's not carrying a Rosary! Catholics are not insulted when Jews don't read the Koran, or when Muslims fail to display a Cross in their homes, or when Evangelicals fail to carry a Rosary in their pockets.

But an Evangelical can raise quite a stink by ignoring [Ex 20:16] and [1Jn 4:7]. Catholics know about those quotes, and they know Evangelicals firmly believe that the Bible is the inerrant Word of God. So if they see an Evangelical Christian disregarding those Commandments, they will pinch their noses and run away.

"Thou shalt not bear false witness" [Ex 20:16] is serious. It means we must have strong data to back up our accusations, or avoid accusing. So you've heard that Catholics believe this or that. Are you sure? Can you back that up with quotes taken from actual, official Catholic documents, with page and paragraph number? Or did you just overhear that rumor at the donut shop? Did you give the defence attorney a chance to speak, or did you just change the label from "Accused" to "Guilty" without letting anybody into the courtroom?

"Beloved, let us love one another, because love is of God" [1Jn 4:7] is also serious. It means that not only must you avoid false accusations, but you must also actively do good to Catholics. And one of the most importants works of charity is to instruct the ignorant. So you know a Catholic who has gone seriously wayward? (So do I, a whole Province-full come to think of it!) Your job as a Christian is to bring him back to Jesus, or at least make a reasonable attempt. If you don't even try, sorry, but you don't smell of roses.

4) Catholic Dog Food

Do you eat dog food? No! Does that mean you're not allowed to make can opener noises to get your dog's attention? Of course not! It's the same thing with Catholics. Nothing prevents you from learning how to make a few "Catholic can opener noises"! You just need to write down some popish names and numbers on the back of a business card or something, and rattle them off at the right moment. (Learning to mumble a few document names in Latin also helps.)

4.1) Here's a good starter:

"The lay faithful are never to relinquish their participation in "public life" [...] every person has a right and duty to participate in public life [...]. Charges of careerism, idolatry of power, egoism and corruption that are oftentimes directed at persons in government, parliaments, the ruling classes, or political parties, as well as the common opinion that participating in politics is an absolute moral danger, does not in the least justify either skepticism or an absence on the part of Christians in public life"
[Pope John Paul II, Christifideles Laici, #42].

4.2) When you come across that wayward Catholic we were talking about, you can rattle off some paragraph numbers like:

2353: Fornication is carnal union between an unmarried man and an unmarried woman. It is gravely contrary to the dignity of persons and of human sexuality which is naturally ordered to the good of spouses and the generation and education of children. Moreover, it is a grave scandal when there is corruption of the young.

2357: Basing itself on Sacred Scripture, which presents homosexual acts as acts of grave depravity, tradition has always declared that "homosexual acts are intrinsically disordered." They are contrary to the natural law. They close the sexual act to the gift of life. They do not proceed from a genuine affective and sexual complementarity. Under no circumstances can they be approved.

2380: Adultery refers to marital infidelity. When two partners, of whom at least one is married to another party, have sexual relations - even transient ones - they commit adultery. Christ condemns even adultery of mere desire. The sixth commandment and the New Testament forbids adultery absolutely. The prophets denounce the gravity of adultery; they see it as an image of the sin of idolatry.

2271: Since the first century the Church has affirmed the moral evil of every procured abortion. This teaching has not changed and remains unchangeable. Direct abortion, that is to say, abortion willed either as an end or a means, is gravely contrary to the moral law.

(The numbers refer to paragraphs in the Catechism of the Catholic Church.)

4.3) You can also help Catholics who tend to go overboard with the Mother of Jesus or the Pope:

Let the faithful remember moreover that true devotion consists neither in sterile or transitory affection, nor in a certain vain credulity.
[Lumen Gentium, #67]

In the human nature united to Himself the Son of God, by overcoming death through His own death and resurrection, redeemed man and re-molded him into a new creation [Gal. 6:15; 2Cor 5:17]. By communicating His Spirit, Christ made His brothers, called together from all nations, mystically the components of His own Body. [...] The Head of this Body is Christ. He is the image of the invisible God and in Him all things came into being. He is before all creatures and in Him all things hold together. He is the head of the Body which is the Church. He is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, that in all things He might have the first place [Col 1:15-18].
[Lumen Gentium, #7]

4.4) My personal favorites are Canon 1364 and the end of paragraph #11 of the Professio fidei et Iusiurandum fidelitatis in suscipiendo officio nomine Ecclesiae exercendo una cum nota doctrinali adnexa, but the Latin title is a bit hard to memorize. Basically it means Pierre Elliot Trudeau and his son Justin, Jean Chrétien and Paul Martin were automatically excommunicated when they decided to become obstinately pro-abortion.

5) Conclusion

Of course, the details about the preferences of Evangelical Christians and the feeding habits of Catholics are not the most important things in Politics. But the general lesson about deodorant and dog food should prove quite handy for any politician. A good politician strives for unity [Jn 17:21], because no Country can stand without it [Mt 12:25].

 


6) Some feedback

From: Ron Gray, CHP Leader
Sent: 2007-January-30 15:37
To: Stefan Jetchick
Subject: Re: The Caring And Feeding Of Your Catholic Constituents

Good material... and (as usual) put together with wit. I'm
forwarding it to Leslie Bartley to consider for candidate briefings.

It's worth noting that half the Christian voters in Canada are Roman
Catholics. Yes, there are doctrinal differences between Evangelicals
and Catholics; but I think Charles Colson and Richard John Neuhaus
did a good job of describing how we can make common cause together
by acknowledging them, while avoiding making them a cause for division.
John XXIII called us "separated brethren", and if he can call me his
brother, I can surely return the compliment!

We must focus on what we have in common, and especially on what God
has called us to accomplish together.

 

From: Elaine Taylor, CHP, Skeena-Bulkley Valley
Sent: 2007-January-31 06:16
To: Stefan Jetchick
Subject: Re: The Caring And Feeding Of Your Catholic Constituents

[Your article is] Also a reminder that CHP was founded over
a bottle of wine in the Herwig home, by a Reformed Dutch Canadian,
Ed Van Woudenberg and a Catholic German Canadian, Gerhard Herwig,
both dear friends of ours.

| Home >> Politics

| Accueil >> Politique

Comment prendre soin de vos électeurs catholiques

Désodorisant évangélique et nourriture pour chiens catholiques.
Désodorisant évangélique et nourriture pour chiens catholiques.

1) Introduction

SVP voir l'AVERTISSEMENT au début de la section 6.2.

Plusieurs membres du Parti de l'Héritage chrétien (PHC) sont ce qu'on appelle parfois des chrétiens évangéliques, alors que plusieurs comtés au Canada contiennent des proportions assez grandes de catholiques. Alors, que devraient faire les membres du PHC?

2) L'ignorance, ou l'éducation?

Apparemment, il y a au moins trois options:

2.1) Ignorer les catholiques; c'est-à-dire tout simplement se faire élire sans eux.
2.2) Ignorer le catholicisme; c'est-à-dire essayer d'obtenir les votes des catholiques, mais en évitant comme la peste tout ce qui a rapport au catholicisme.
2.3) Apprendre un minimum de choses sur le catholicisme, pour éviter d'écoeurer les catholiques et pour trouver comment les attirer. (En d'autres mots, l'approche du «désodorisant et de la nourriture pour chiens».)

La première option (ignorer les catholiques) est tout-à-fait possible dans certains comtés où il y a peu de catholiques, mais dans la plupart des autres, cela semble être tirer le Diable par la queue. Le PHC est déjà un petit parti, et il ne deviendra pas grand en ignorant la plus grosse dénomination chrétienne. De plus, le PHC est supposé être «non-dénominationnel», alors cela semble contradictoire de faire de la discrimination.

La seconde option (ignorer le catholicisme) est presque la définition de l'ineptie politique. Une bonne professeure sait ce que ses enfants aiment et n'aiment pas, ce qui les captive et ce qui les endort, etc. Un bon entraîneur au hockey sait non seulement quel joueur est meilleur à l'attaque ou à la défensive, mais aussi quel joueur a des problèmes avec l'alcool, ou quel joueur ne s'entend pas avec tel autre, lorsqu'ils doivent partager une chambre d'hôtel durant un tournoi, etc. De prime abord, il semble ridicule pour une politicienne de se priver d'information importante sur ses électeurs, qui pourrait l'aider à s'attirer plus de votes. De plus, un politicien ne peut pas ignorer les enseignements des religions présentes dans son comté, à cause de la nappe phréatique spirituelle (c'est-à-dire que les erreurs enseignées dans une religion ont un impact négatif sur le reste de la société).

Alors, apparement, les politiciens du PHC devraient en apprendre un minimum sur le catholicisme, au moins assez pour éviter de «dégager des odeurs corporelles» qui repoussent les catholiques, et assez pour faire les bons «bruits d'ouvre-boîte» pour que les catholiques tendent l'oreille et se mettent à saliver.

3) Le désodorisant évangélique

Quelle est la pire puanteur qu'un chrétien évangélique peut avoir, pour un nez catholique? Manifestement pas le fait qu'il ne porte pas un chapelet! Les catholiques ne sont pas insultés lorsque les juifs ne lisent pas le Coran, ou lorsque les musulmans n'accrochent pas une croix dans leur maison, ou lorsque les chrétiens évangéliques ne transportent pas un chapelet dans leur poche.

Mais un chrétien évangélique peut dégager toute une puanteur en ignorant [Ex 20:16] et [1Jn 4:7]. Les catholiques connaissent bien ces citations, et ils savent que les chrétiens évangéliques croient fermement que la Bible contient la Parole de Dieu qui ne peut se tromper. Alors s'ils voient un chrétien évangélique en train de mépriser ces Commandements, ils vont se pincer le nez et se sauver.

«Tu ne porteras pas de faux témoignage» [Ex 20:16] est sérieux. Cela signifie qu'il faut avoir de bonnes preuves pour étayer nos accusations, ou éviter d'accuser. Alors comme ça, vous avez entendu que les catholiques croient ceci ou cela. En êtes-vous sûr? Pouvez-vous le confirmer avec des citations de documents officiels catholiques, avec la page et le numéro de paragraphe? Ou avez-vous seulement entendu cette rumeur au magasin de beignes? Avez-vous laissé parler l'avocat de la défense, ou avez-vous simplement changé l'étiquette de «Accusé» à «Coupable» sans avoir laissé personne entrer dans la salle du tribunal?

«Mes bien-aimés, aimons-nous les uns les autres, car l'amour vient de Dieu» [1Jn 4:7] est aussi sérieux. Cela signifie que non seulement vous devez éviter les fausses accusations, mais vous devez activement faire du bien aux catholiques. Et parmi les oeuvres de charité les plus importantes, il y a celle d'instruire les ignorants. Comme ça, vous connaissez un catholique dévoyé? (Moi aussi. En fait, j'en connais une province pleine!) Votre tâche, en tant que chrétien, est de le ramener à Jésus, ou du moins de faire un effort raisonnable. Si vous n'essayez même pas, désolé, mais vous ne sentez pas la rose.

4) La nourriture pour chiens catholiques

Mangez-vous de la nourriture pour chiens? Non! Cela veut-il dire que vous n'avez pas la permission de faire des bruits d'ouvre-boîte pour capter l'attention de votre chien? Bien sûr que non! C'est la même chose avec les catholiques. Rien ne vous empêche de faire quelques «bruits d'ouvre-boîte catholique»! Tout ce que vous avez besoin de faire, c'est de prendre en note quelques noms et numéros pontifiants à l'endos d'une carte d'affaires ou autre, et les décocher au bon moment. (Ça aide aussi si vous apprennez à marmonner des noms de documents en latin.)

4.1) Voici un bon commencement:

«Les fidèles laïcs ne peuvent absolument pas renoncer à la participation à la politique [...] tous et chacun ont le droit et le devoir de participer à la politique [...]. Les accusations d'arrivisme, d'idolâtrie du pouvoir, d'égoïsme et de corruption, qui bien souvent sont lancées contre les hommes du gouvernement, du parlement, de la classe dominante, des partis politiques, comme aussi l'opinion assez répandue que la politique est nécessairement un lieu de danger moral, tout cela ne justifie pas le moins du monde ni le scepticisme ni l'absentéisme des chrétiens pour la chose publique.»
[Pape Jean-Paul II, Christifideles Laici, N° 42].

4.2) Lorsque vous croisez ce catholique dévoyé dont on parlait, vous pouvez lui décocher des numéros de paragraphe comme:

2353: La fornication est l'union charnelle en dehors du mariage entre un homme et une femme libres. Elle est gravement contraire à la dignité des personnes et de la sexualité humaine naturellement ordonnée au bien des époux ainsi qu'à la génération et à l'éducation des enfants. En outre c'est un scandale grave quand il y a corruption des jeunes.

2357: S'appuyant sur la Sainte Écriture, qui les présente comme des dépravations graves, la Tradition a toujours déclaré que «les actes d'homosexualité sont intrinsèquement désordonnés». Ils sont contraires à la loi naturelle. Ils ferment l'acte sexuel au don de la vie. Ils ne procèdent pas d'une complémentarité affective et sexuelle véritable. Ils ne sauraient recevoir d'approbation en aucun cas.

2380: L'adultère. Ce mot désigne l'infidélité conjugale. Lorsque deux partenaires, dont l'un au moins est marié, nouent entre eux une relation sexuelle, même éphémère, ils commettent un adultère. Le Christ condamne l'adultère même de simple désir. Le sixième commandement et le Nouveau Testament proscrivent absolument l'adultère. Les prophètes en dénoncent la gravité. Ils voient dans l'adultère la figure du péché d'idolâtrie.

2271: Depuis le premier siècle, l'Église a affirmé la malice morale de tout avortement provoqué. Cet enseignement n'a pas changé. Il demeure invariable. L'avortement direct, c'est-à-dire voulu comme une fin ou comme un moyen, est gravement contraire à la loi morale.

(Les numéros réfèrent aux paragraphes du Catéchisme de l'Église catholique.)

4.3) Vous pouvez aussi aider les catholiques qui ont tendance à exagérer avec la Mère de Jésus ou le Pape:

Les fidèles, eux, doivent se rappeler que la vraie dévotion ne consiste ni dans un sentimentalisme stérile et passager, ni dans une certaine crédulité vaine.
[Lumen Gentium, N° 67]

Dans la nature humaine qu'il s'est unie, le Fils de Dieu, en remportant la victoire sur la mort par sa mort et sa résurrection, a racheté l'homme et l'a transformé pour en faire une nouvelle créature [Ga 6:15; 2Co 5:17]. Car en communiquant son Esprit, il a mystiquement établi ses frères, appelés d'entre toutes les nations, comme son propre corps. [...] De ce corps le Christ est le chef. Il est lui-même l'image du Dieu invisible, et en lui tout a été créé. Lui-même est avant toute chose et toutes choses subsistent en lui. Il est le chef du corps qu'est l'Eglise. Il est le principe, le premier-né d'entre les morts, afin d'avoir en tout la prééminence [Col 1:15-18].
[Lumen Gentium, N° 7]

4.4) Mes préférés sont le Canon 1364 et la fin du paragraphe N° 11 du Professio fidei et Iusiurandum fidelitatis in suscipiendo officio nomine Ecclesiae exercendo una cum nota doctrinali adnexa, mais le titre latin est un peu difficile à mémoriser. En gros, cela veut dire que Pierre Elliot Trudeau et son fils Justin, Jean Chrétien et Paul Martin ont été automatiquement excommuniés à l'instant où ils ont décidé obstinément d'être pro-avortement.

5) Conclusion

Bien sûr, les détails sur les préférences des chrétiens évangéliques et les habitudes alimentaires des catholiques ne sont pas les choses les plus importantes en politique. Mais la leçon générale sur le désodorisant et la nourriture pour chiens devrait s'avérer très commode pour tout politicien. Un bon politicien cherche l'unité [Jn 17:21], car aucun pays ne peut survivre sans elle [Mt 12:25].

 


6) Quelques rétroactions

From: Ron Gray, CHP Leader
Sent: 2007-January-30 15:37
To: Stefan Jetchick
Subject: Re: The Caring And Feeding Of Your Catholic Constituents

Bon article... et (comme d'habitude) écrit avec esprit. Je
l'achemine à Leslie Bartley pour voir si on devrait l'utiliser
pour les séances d'information pour les candidats.

Il vaut la peine de remarquer que la moitié des électeurs
chrétiens au Canada sont catholiques. Oui, il y a des différences
doctrinales entre les évangéliques et les catholiques; mais je
pense que Charles Colson et Richard John Neuhaus ont bien décrit
comment on pouvait faire cause commune en les reconnaissant, tout
en évitant d'en faire une cause de division. Jean XXIII nous a
appelé les «frères séparés», et s'il peut m'appeler son frère,
je peux bien lui retourner le compliment!

Nous devons mettre l'accent sur que nous avons en commun, et surtout
sur ce que Dieu nous appelle à faire ensemble.

 

From: Elaine Taylor, CHP, Skeena-Bulkley Valley
Sent: 2007-January-31 06:16
To: Stefan Jetchick
Subject: Re: The Caring And Feeding Of Your Catholic Constituents

[Ton article est] Aussi un rappel que le PHC a été fondé autour
d'une bouteille de vin dans la maison des Herwig, par un membre
de l'Église «Reformed Dutch Canadian», Ed Van Woudenberg, et
un Canadien catholique d'origine allemande, Gerhard Herwig,
tous deux nos bons amis.

| Accueil >> Politique