| Home >> Lost Sermons

What is Catholics United for the Faith (CUF)?

Logo for Catholics United for the Faith

Note: What follows is the briefest yet most complete description of the CUF I could find [Overview of Catholics United for the Faith], taken from their website. My subjective assessment of this organization is given elsewhere, but if there was a Chapter here in Quebec City, I'd certainly try to join.

ISSUE: What is Catholics United for the Faith (CUF)?

RESPONSE: Catholics United for the Faith is an international lay apostolate founded in 1968 by H. Lyman Stebbins to support, defend, and advance the efforts of the Teaching Church in accord with the teachings of the Second Vatican Council. The efforts of Catholics United for the Faith must be directed toward the unity of the Church and communion with God the Father as intended by Christ [Jn 17:21]. This is accomplished by joining members in a common apostolate to be formed doctrinally and spiritually in the Catholic faith. The desired result is the renewal of their own hearts. This formation also equips members to prayerfully engage in works of evangelization and catechesis for the renewal of the Church and society as lay witnesses to Our Blessed Lord. CUF promotes fidelity to, and communion with, the Holy Father and the bishops in union with him.

What Have You Done for Me, Laity?

CUF was formed shortly after the close of the Second Vatican Council (1962-65). Founder H. Lyman Stebbins clearly understood the letter and the spirit of Vatican II, and organized CUF as a vehicle for faithfully implementing the rich conciliar teaching concerning the laity.

What is this teaching? First, Vatican II reminds the Church that all people are called to holiness and to active participation in the life of the Church. This was not a novel teaching, nor was it an attempt to do away with the Church's God-given hierarchical constitution. Rather, it was an important wake up call to Catholic laity to reclaim our rightful place in the Church as baptized Christians [cf. 1Pet 2:4-9]. The primary vocation of every man and woman is to become a saint - to know, love, and serve God in this life and be happy with Him for all eternity.

This call to holiness is primary, but it is not something we seek only for ourselves. Thus the laity, through their private and public prayer (including the Liturgy of the Hours) and through their activity in the world, are called to build up the Body of Christ in close cooperation with the clergy. In a particular way, laity have the challenging mission of bringing the faith to our secular world, getting into the nooks and crannies of our society. This mission is set forth in Vatican II's Dogmatic Constitution on the Church (Lumen Gentium), nos. 30-38, and summarized in the Catechism:

"By reason of their special vocation it belongs to the laity to seek the kingdom of God by engaging in temporal affairs and directing them according to God's will [...] It pertains to them in a special way so to illuminate and order all temporal things with which they are closely associated that these may always be effected and grow according to Christ and may be to the glory of the Creator and Redeemer" [CCC, #898].

Accordingly, CUF exists to encourage and assist lay people in the pursuit of holiness and to equip them for active participation in the Church in keeping with their state in life.

Group Participation

A recurring theme of Vatican II is that God does not save us as mere isolated individuals, but as a people, indeed as His family called to serve Him in holiness [Lumen Gentium, #9]. This fundamental truth is tied to our concept of the Communion of Saints and has wide-ranging implications.

One implication is that we ought not consider ourselves «lone rangers.» Our actions, if they are to be meritorious and effective, must be ecclesial. As St. Ignatius of Antioch, a disciple of St. John the Apostle, advised, we should do nothing apart from the bishop, the divinely appointed representative of Christ in his diocese [CCC, #862, 894-96]. This can be challenging in the best of times, and the acceptance of this truth is sorely tested in areas racked by scandal and dissent.

Providentially, Vatican II emphasized the importance of group apostolates of lay faithful-like CUF - as a means for laity to pool their efforts on behalf of the Gospel while at the same time drawing upon the fellowship and support of like-minded people. Vatican II devoted an entire document to the lay apostolate in which the group apostolate is recommended:

"The faithful are called as individuals to exercise an apostolate in the various conditions of their life. They must, however, remember that man is social by nature and that it has been God's pleasure to assemble those who believe in Christ and make of them the People of God [cf. 1Pet2:5-10], a single body [cf. 1 Cor12:12]. The group apostolate is in happy harmony therefore with a fundamental need in the faithful, a need that is both human and Christian. At the same time it offers a sign of the communion and unity of the Church in Christ, who said: «Where two or three are gathered together in my name, I am there in the midst of them» [Mt 18:20]" [Apostolicam Actuositatem, #18; cf. also [CCC, #900].

Pope John Paul II, in his 1988 apostolic exhortation, The Lay Members of Christ's Faithful People, further emphasizes the importance of group apostolates:

"In recent days the phenomenon of lay people associating among themselves has taken on a character of particular variety and vitality [...] In modern times such lay groups have received a special stimulus, resulting in the birth and spread of a multiplicity of group forms: associations, groups, communities, movements. We can speak of a new era of group endeavors of the lay faithful" [Christifideles Laici, #29; original emphasis].

By offering membership in our international apostolate, as well as by participation in local chapters, conferences, Bible studies, and other gatherings, CUF has been at the forefront of this new era of group endeavors in the Church.

Marching Orders

One of the hallmarks of the CUF apostolate has always been to «think with the Church,» to foster filial loyalty to the Holy Father and the Bishops in union with him and to make the Pope's priorities our priorities.

One does not have to look far to see that the Pope's agenda at the threshold of the new millennium is what we call the new evangelization, or a reevangelization of our culture. In this regard the Pope is referring to countries with Christian roots, «where entire groups of the baptized have lost a living sense of the faith, or even no longer consider themselves members of the Church, and live a life far removed from Christ and His Gospel» [Pope John Paul II, Redemptoris Missio, #33].

Taking our lead from the Holy Father, all of CUF's outreaches are geared toward a reevangelization of our world, beginning with ourselves, our families, and those with whom we regularly interact. Through our Faith and Life catechism series, available through Ignatius Press, we are helping to form a new generation of Catholics who know and live their Catholic faith. Further, our Catholic Responses department (see our contact information here below) is here to provide specific, practical guidance to those who have questions concerning how to communicate the faith effectively to others.

CUF Today

CUF members - and indeed all Catholics - are called to lives of heroic faith, hope, and charity. We manifest this faith by our uncompromising acceptance of Church teaching. We manifest this hope by focusing on our heavenly goal so that any present difficulties may be accepted as opportunities for grace, not frustration [cf. Rm 8:18]. We manifest our love by maintaining and building upon our bonds of communion and solidarity with our Holy Father, Bishops, Priests, all Catholics, and all people, for all have been created in the image and likeness of God [cf. Gen 1:26-27]. We firmly ground our love in the truth, so that our faith can work through love [cf. Gal. 5:6].

In the eyes of the Church, CUF is a private association of lay faithful exercising our baptismal obligation to be laborers in Christ's vineyard. Our work takes the form of promoting the authentic teachings of the Church in an era of religious and moral confusion. CUF follows the lead of our Holy Father as pastor of the universal Church. We strive to work closely under the guidance and authority of local Bishops and their representatives. CUF has received blessings from both Pope Paul VI and Pope John Paul II. CUF Founder H. Lyman Stebbins was decorated Knight Commander of the Order of St. Gregory the Great by Pope John Paul II for his service in the lay apostolate.

Since we desire to maximize our assistance to the Universal Church, we have striven over time to adjust our outreaches to best meet the current needs of our members. We will continue to build upon our present activities as we look to the future and assess how we can best serve Christ and His Church in decades to come.

Despite the wide range of CUF's apostolic activities, the focus of CUF's work will always be spiritual: the interior conversion of ourselves, our members, and all people. This focus is captured in the CUF prayer, found here below. This brings us full circle to what CUF is about - to form a holy, evangelizing Catholic laity.

If you would like to join us in our mission, please call us or visit our web site (see our contact information below). For an annual tax-deductible donation of $40 USD or more ($60 USD for members outside the U.S.), you become a member of Catholics United for the Faith. Benefits include a one-year subscription to Lay Witness, complimentary Faith Facts, a classical religious art calendar, discounts on books and tapes, and access to our number for answers to your questions (toll-free in the USA).

Prayer of Catholics United for the Faith

O God our Father, who sent Your only-begotten Son to suffer and to give His life for the life of His Church, rule, protect, and nourish her continually, we beseech You.

Teach us of Catholics United for the Faith to direct our zeal first of all to the renewal of our own hearts. Then, if it be Your holy will to allow us to be in any way your instruments in the wider renewal of Your Church, give us the grace to know what services, small or great, You ask of us, and let the Holy Spirit teach us to perform them in obedience, patience, and charity, leaving entirely to You what fruits they may bear.

We ask this through the same Jesus Christ Your Son, our Lord, who lives and reigns with You in the unity of that Holy Spirit, one God, forever and ever. Amen.
(H. Lyman Stebbins)

Turning Hearts to Christ

Here are some ways that CUF helps to build up the Church today:

- Lay Witness is a bimonthly publication for lay Catholics that provides articles on the timeless truths of the Catholic faith in a timely and captivating manner. This magazine has received several Catholic Press Association awards.

- Faith and Life is our critically acclaimed elementary catechism series (grades 1-8) endorsed by, among others, the late Mother Teresa. This series has been found to be in conformity with the Catechism of the Catholic Church by the U.S. bishops.

- Our Catholic Responses department answers questions about the Catholic faith through our Catholic help-line (see our contact information below), as well as via fax or mail. Our website also receives thousands of visitors who can download many of our materials. We have over 180 Faith Facts and up-to-date research on over 2,000 topics. If we do not already have a written answer, we will research and draft one for our members.

- Emmaus Road, our publishing arm and newest outreach, publishes Catholic Bible studies, apologetics titles, and other materials to help lay people deepen their faith. Call or visit the web site for a free Emmaus Road catalogue and additional information.

- We establish local chapters in which our members come together to pray, study the faith, and support each other in living out the Gospel.

- We meet and correspond with high-ranking Vatican and U.S. Church officials to communicate the joys and struggles of Catholic laity throughout the world.

- All CUF members receive a beautiful Catholic calendar. The calendars are typically sent in November.

- Our staff is available for conferences and parish talks across the country, and we also sponsor national and regional conferences. We communicate the faith person-to-person on topics such as Scripture, the Catechism, apologetics, marriage and family life, and morality.

- CUF provides a constructive voice for faithful lay Catholics in the Catholic and secular media.

- We provide college students with internships to allow them to put their knowledge and skills into practice. Internships help prepare students to meet the real-life challenges they will face when they graduate and become the lay leaders of tomorrow.

- In 1997, CUF launched FOCUS (Fellowship of Catholic University Students). This exciting campus apostolate (www.focusonline.org) seeks to reclaim colleges for Christ and His Church, with a special emphasis on forming effective Catholic leaders.

- All CUF members receive a 10% discount on a wide range of Catholic books and gifts by calling Benedictus Books.

RECOMMENDED READING:

Holy Bible
Catechism of the Catholic Church
Vatican II Documents
Christifidelis Laici; Pope John Paul II
Search and Rescue, Madrid, Pat

To order, call Benedictus Books. CUF members receive a 10% discount.

Catholic for a Reason, Hahn, Scott, and Suprenant, Leon, eds.
Servants of the Gospel, Suprenant, Leon, ed.
Faith Facts: Answers to Catholic Questions, Suprenant and Gray
The Many Faces of Virtue, DeMarco, Donald
Courageous Virtue, Mitch, Stacy
Boys to Men: The Transforming Power of Virtue, Gray, Tim and Martin, Curtis

To order, call Emmaus Road.

AVAILABLE FAITH FACTS:

Following Our Bishops
Here I Am Lord: Vocations in Christ
No Bull: Papal Authority and Our Response
One, Holy, Catholic, and Apostolic: The Marks of Christ's Church
Rock Solid: The Salvation History of the Catholic Church
Saint Joseph: Patron of the Universal Church and Co-Patron of CUF


Contact Information

Catholics United for the Faith
827 North Fourth St.
Steubenville, OH 43952
1-740-283-2484
www.cuf.org

Emmaus Road
1-740-283-2880
www.emmausroad.org

Benedictus Books
1-859-278-0978

© 2004 Catholics United for the Faith. Last edited: 2002-02-21.

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Qu'est-ce que le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi?

Logo pour les Catholiques unis pour la Foi

Note: Ce qui suit est la description la plus brève mais complète que j'ai pu trouver sur le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi [Overview of Catholics United for the Faith], prélevé sur leur site web. Mon évaluation subjective de cet organisme se trouve ailleurs, mais s'il y avait un chapitre à Québec, j'essayerais certainement de m'y joindre.

QUESTION: Qu'est-ce que le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi?

RÉPONSE: Le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi («Catholics United for the Faith» en anglais) est un apostolat laïc international fondé en 1968 par H. Lyman Stebbins pour appuyer, défendre et promouvoir les efforts de l'Église enseignante, en accord avec les enseignements du Deuxième Concile du Vatican. Les efforts du mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi doivent être dirigés vers l'unité de l'Église et la communion avec Dieu le Père, tel que voulu par le Christ [Jn 17:21]. Ceci est réalisé en regroupant les membres dans un apostolat commun afin d'être formés doctrinalement et spirituellement dans la Foi catholique. Le résultat visé est le renouveau de leurs coeurs. Cette formation équipe aussi les membres afin qu'ils puissent avoir une participation priante dans des oeuvres d'évangélisation et de catéchèse pour le renouveau de l'Église et la société en tant que témoins laïcs de Notre-Seigneur. Le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi fait la promotion de la fidélité et de la communion avec le Saint-Père et les évêques en communion avec lui.

Laïcs, qu'avez-vous fait pour moi?

Le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi fût fondé peu de temps après la fin du Deuxième Concile du Vatican (1962-65). Le fondateur, H. Lyman Stebbins, avait bien compris la lettre et l'esprit de Vatican II, et a organisé le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi comme un moyen d'implanter fidèlement les riches enseignements conciliaires concernant les laïcs.

Quel est cet enseignement? D'abord, Vatican II rappelle à l'Église que tous sont appelés à la sainteté et à la participation active dans la vie de l'Église. Ceci n'était pas un enseignement nouveau, ni une tentative de se débarrasser de la constitution hiérarchique de l'Église, voulue par Dieu. Au contraire, c'était un appel pressant aux laïcs catholiques afin qu'ils reprennent leur place dans l'Église en tant que chrétiens baptisés [cf. 1Pet 2:4-9]. La vocation première de tout homme (qu'il soit de sexe masculin ou féminin) est de devenir un saint - de connaître, aimer et servir Dieu dans ce monde et être heureux avec Lui pour l'éternité.

Cet appel à la sainteté est premier, mais n'est pas quelque chose que l'on recherche seulement pour nous-mêmes. Ainsi les laïcs, par leur prière privée et publique (incluant la Liturgie des heures) et par leurs activités dans le monde, sont appelés à construire le Corps du Christ en étroite collaboration avec le clergé. D'une manière particulière, les laïcs ont le défi de la mission d'apporter la Foi à notre monde sécularisé, en étendant leur influence dans tous les recoins de notre société. Cette mission est énoncée dans la Constitution dogmatique de Vatican II sur l'Église (Lumen Gentium), nos. 30-38, et résumé dans le Catéchisme:

«La vocation propre des laïcs consiste à chercher le règne de Dieu précisément à travers la gérance des choses temporelles qu'ils ordonnent selon Dieu [...]. C'est à eux qu'il revient, d'une manière particulière, d'éclairer et d'orienter toutes les réalités temporelles auxquelles ils sont étroitement unis, de telle sorte qu'elles se fassent et prospèrent constamment selon le Christ et soient à la louange du Créateur et Rédempteur» [CÉC, No. 898].

Donc, le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi existe pour encourager et aider les laïcs dans leur quête de la sainteté et pour les équiper à participer activement à l'Église selon leur état de vie.

La participation de groupe

Un thème récurrent de Vatican II est que Dieu ne nous sauve pas en tant que simples individus isolés, mais en tant que peuple, en fait en tant que Sa famille appelée à Le servir dans la sainteté [Lumen Gentium, #9]. Cette vérité fondamentale est reliée à notre concept de la communion des saints et entraîne d'importantes conséquences.

Une conséquence est qu'on ne devrait pas «faire cavalier seul». Nos actions, pour être méritoires et efficaces, doivent être ecclésiales. Comme le conseillait saint Ignace d'Antioche, un disciple de saint Jean l'apôtre, nous ne devrions rien faire hors de l'évêque, le représentant du Christ divinement désigné dans son diocèse [CÉC, Nos. 862, 894-96]. Ceci peut être un défi même dans les meilleures circonstances, et l'acceptation de cette vérité est durement mise à l'épreuve dans des secteurs déchirés par les scandales et la dissidence.

Providentiellement, Vatican II a mis l'accent sur l'importance de l'apostolat de groupes de fidèles laïcs, comme le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi, comme étant un moyen pour les laïcs de mettre en commun leurs efforts au nom de l'Évangile, tout en s'appuyant simultanément sur l'amitié et l'appui de gens ayant la même mentalité. Vatican II a consacré tout un document à l'apostolat des laïcs dans lequel l'apostolat de groupe est recommandé:

«Les chrétiens sont donc appelés à exercer personnellement l'apostolat dans leurs diverses conditions de vie; il ne faut cependant pas oublier que l'homme est social par nature et qu'il a plu à Dieu de rassembler ceux qui croient au Christ pour en faire le peuple de Dieu (cf. I Petr. II, 5-10) et les unir en un seul corps (cf. I Cor. XII, 12). L'apostolat organisé correspond donc bien à la condition humaine et chrétienne des fidèles; il présente en même temps le signe de la communion et de l'unité de l'Église dans le Christ qui a dit: "Là où deux ou trois sont réunis en Mon nom, Je suis au milieu d'eux" [Mt18:20]» [Apostolicam Actuositatem, No. 18; cf. aussi [CÉC, #900].

Le Pape Jean-Paul II, dans son Exhortation apostolique de 1988 sur la vocation et mission des laïcs dans le monde, souligne davantage l'importance de l'apostolat des groupes:

«Ces derniers temps, le phénomène d'association entre laïcs a pris des formes particulièrement variées et une grande vitalité. Si, dans l'histoire de l'Église, les associations de fidèles ont constitué une ligne continue, comme en témoignent jusqu'à nos jours les diverses confréries, les tiers-ordres et les fraternités, dans les temps modernes, ce phénomène a pris un essor spécial; on a vu naître et se répandre différentes formes de groupements: associations, groupes, communautés, mouvements. On peut parler d'une nouvelle saison d'association des fidèles laïcs.» [Christifideles Laici, #29; gras dans l'original].

En offrant de participer à notre apostolat international, de même que par la participation aux chapitres locaux, aux conférences, aux études bibliques, et d'autres rencontres, le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi a été à l'avant-garde de cette nouvelle saison d'activités de groupe dans l'Église.

Le plan d'apostolat

Le trait distinctif de l'apostolat du mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi a toujours été de «penser avec l'Église», d'encourager la loyauté filiale au Saint-Père et aux évêques en communion avec lui, et de faire nôtres les priorités du Pape.

Nul besoin de regarder bien loin pour voir que l'ordre du jour du Pape, au seuil du nouveau millénaire, est ce qu'on appelle la nouvelle évangélisation, ou une ré-évangélisation de notre culture. À cet égard, le Pape fait référence aux pays de vieille tradition chrétienne, «où des groupes entiers de baptisés ont perdu le sens de la foi vivante ou vont jusqu'à ne plus se reconnaître comme membres de l'Église, en menant une existence éloignée du Christ et de son Évangile». [Jean-Paul II, Redemptoris Missio, No. 33].

Conformément aux directives du Saint-Père, toutes les activités du mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi visent la ré-évangélisation de notre monde, en commençant avec nous-mêmes, nos familles, et ceux avec qui on est en interaction régulière. Grâce à notre catéchisme Foi et Vie («Faith and Life», en anglais), disponible par Ignatius Press, nous aidons à former une nouvelle génération de catholiques qui connaissent et vivent leur Foi catholique. De plus, notre département des Réponses catholiques (voir nos coordonnées ci-bas) existe afin de fournir des conseils spécifiques et pratiques aux gens qui ont des interrogations sur la meilleure manière de transmettre efficacement la Foi aux autres.

Le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi aujourd'hui

Les membres du mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi - et de fait tous les catholiques - sont appelés à vivre une vie de Foi, d'Espérance et de Charité héroïque. Nous manifestons cette Foi par notre accueil inconditionnel de l'enseignement de l'Église. Nous manifestons cet Espoir en nous concentrant sur notre but céleste de manière à ce que les difficultés présentes soient acceptées comme des occasions pour la grâce, et non pour la frustration [cf. Rm 8:18]. Nous manifestons notre Charité en conservant et en fortifiant nos liens de communion avec notre Saint-Père, les évêques, les prêtres, tous les catholiques, et toutes les personnes, puisque nous avons été créés à l'image et à la ressemblance de Dieu [cf. Gen 1:26-27]. Nous enracinons fermement notre amour dans la vérité, afin que notre Foi puisse être agissante par l'amour [cf. Gal. 5:6].

Aux yeux de l'Église, le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi est une association privée de fidèles laïcs qui exerce son obligation baptismale de travailler dans la vigne du Christ. Notre travail s'incarne dans la promotion des enseignements authentiques de l'Église dans une période de confusion religieuse et morale. Le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi suit la direction donnée par notre Saint-Père en tant que pasteur de l'Église universelle. Nous nous efforçons de travailler sous la direction et l'autorité des évêques locaux et leurs représentants. Le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi a reçu les bénédictions autant du Pape Paul VI que du Pape Jean-Paul II. Le fondateur du mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi, H. Lyman Stebbins, a été décoré Chevalier commandeur de l'ordre de Saint Grégoire le Grand par le Pape Jean-Paul II pour son service dans l'apostolat laïc.

Puisque nous désirons maximiser notre aide à l'Église universelle, nous nous sommes efforcés, avec le temps, d'ajuster nos activités afin de satisfaire le mieux possible les besoins actuels de nos membres. Nous continuerons de bâtir sur nos activités présentes alors que nous considérons l'avenir et évaluons comment mieux servir le Christ et Son Église dans les décennies à venir.

Malgré le vaste éventail des activités d'apostolat du mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi, ce mouvement se concentrera sur le volet spirituel: notre propre conversion intérieure, celle de nos membres, et de toutes les personnes. Cet objectif est intégré dans la prière du mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi, que vous trouverez ci-bas. Ceci nous ramène à ce que nous disions au début concernant le rôle du mouvement - de former des laïcs catholiques saints et évangélisateurs.

Si vous voulez vous joindre à nous dans notre mission, SVP nous téléphoner ou visitez notre site web (voir nos coordonnées ci-bas). Pour une cotisation annuelle déductible d'impôt de $40 USD ou plus ($60 USD pour les membres à l'extérieur des USA), vous devenez membre du mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi. Les avantages incluent un abonnement d'un an à Lay Witness, des dépliants «Faith Facts» gratuits, un calendrier d'art religieux classique, des rabais sur des livres et des cassettes, et l'accès à notre numéro (sans frais aux USA) pour des réponses à nos questions.

Prière du mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi

Ô Dieu notre Père, qui avez envoyé votre Fils unique pour souffrir et donner Sa vie pour la vie de Son Église, nous vous implorons de La diriger, de La protéger et de La nourrir continuellement.

Enseignez-nous, les membres du mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi, à diriger notre zèle d'abord au renouveau de nos propres coeurs. Ensuite, si c'est Votre sainte volonté de nous permettre d'être d'une quelconque manière Vos instruments dans le renouveau de l'Église, donnez-nous la grâce de connaître quels services, petits ou grands, Vous nous demandez, et permettez au Saint-Esprit de nous enseigner à rendre ses services avec obéissance, patience et charité, Vous laissant entièrement les fruits qu'ils pourraient porter.

Nous Vous le demandons par ce même Jésus-Christ, Votre Fils, Notre-Seigneur, qui vit et règne avec Vous dans l'unité du Saint-Esprit, un seul Dieu dans les siècles des siècles. Amen.
(H. Lyman Stebbins)

Tourner les coeurs vers le Christ

Voici certains des moyens par lesquels le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi aide à bâtir l'Église aujourd'hui:

- Lay Witness est une publication bi-mensuelle pour les laïcs catholiques qui offre des articles à propos des vérités éternelles de la Foi catholique, et ceci au bon moment et de manière intéressante. Cette revue a reçu plusieurs prix de l'Association de presse catholique.

- Faith and Life est notre série de catéchèse élémentaire (pour les années 1-8) appuyé par, entre autres, feue Mère Térésa. Les évêques des USA ont déclaré que cette série se conformait au Catéchisme de l'Église catholique.

- Notre département des Réponses catholiques répond aux questions sur la Foi grâce à notre ligne téléphonique (voir nos coordonnées ci-bas), de même que par télécopieur ou par courriel. Notre site web reçoit aussi des milliers de visiteurs qui peuvent télécharger plusieurs de nos documents. Nous avons plus de 180 dépliants «Faith Facts» et de la recherche à jour sur plus de 2000 sujets. Si nous n'avons pas déjà une réponse écrite, nous ferons la recherche et nous rédigerons une réponse pour nos membres.

- Emmaus Road, notre maison d'édition et notre plus récent projet, publie des études bibliques catholiques, des livres d'apologétique, et d'autres matériaux pour aider les laïcs à approfondir leur Foi. Visitez notre site web ou téléphonez-nous pour un catalogue Emmaus Road gratuit et des informations supplémentaires.

- Nous fondons des chapitres locaux dans lesquels nos membres se rassemblent pour prier, étudier la Foi et se soutenir mutuellement pour vivre l'Évangile.

- Nous rencontrons et correspondons avec des dignitaires de haut niveau de l'Église, au Vatican et aux USA, pour transmettre les joies et les luttes des laïcs catholiques partout dans le monde.

- Tous les membres du mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi reçoivent un magnifique calendrier catholique. Les calendriers sont normalement envoyés en novembre.

- Notre personnel est disponible pour des conférences et des réunions paroissiales partout au pays, et nous parrainons aussi des conférences nationales et régionales. Nous communiquons la Foi de personne à personne à propos de sujets comme l'Écriture Sainte, le Catéchisme, l'apologétique, le mariage et la vie familiale, et la moralité.

- Le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi offre une voix constructive pour les fidèles laïcs catholiques dans les médias catholiques et séculiers.

- Nous fournissons aux étudiants universitaires des stages pour leur permettre de mettre en pratique leur connaissances et habiletés. Les stages aident les étudiants à se préparer à relever les défis réels auxquels ils devront faire face lorsqu'ils termineront leurs études et qu'ils deviendront les chefs laïcs de demain.

- En 1997, le mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi a démarré FOCUS (la confrérie des étudiants universitaires catholiques, ou «Fellowship of Catholic University Students» en anglais). Cet emballant apostolat de cité universitaire (www.focusonline.org) cherche à regagner les universités au Christ et à Son Église, avec un effort spécial pour façonner des chefs catholiques efficaces.

- Tous les membres du mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi ont droit à un rabais de 10% sur toute une série de livres et de cadeaux catholiques en téléphonant à Benedictus Books.

Lectures recommandées:

La Sainte Bible
Le Catéchisme de l'Église catholique
Documents de Vatican II
Christifidelis Laici; Jean-Paul II
Search and Rescue, Madrid, Pat

Pour commander, téléphonez à Benedictus Books. Les membres du mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi reçoivent un rabais de 10%.

Catholic for a Reason, Hahn, Scott, et Suprenant, Leon, eds.
Servants of the Gospel, Suprenant, Leon, ed.
Faith Facts: Answers to Catholic Questions, Suprenant and Gray
The Many Faces of Virtue, DeMarco, Donald
Courageous Virtue, Mitch, Stacy
Boys to Men: The Transforming Power of Virtue, Gray, Tim and Martin, Curtis

Pour commander, contactez Emmaus Road.

Les dépliants «Faith Facts» disponibles:

Suivre nos évêques
Me voici, Seigneur: les vocations dans le Christ
Pas de foutaise: l'autorité papale et notre réaction
Une, Sainte, Catholique et Apostolique: Les marques de l'Église du Christ
Solide comme le Roc: l'histoire du Salut de l'Église catholique
Saint Joseph: Patron de l'Église universelle et Co-patron du mouvement des Catholiques unis pour la Foi


Coordonnées

Catholics United for the Faith
827 North Fourth St.
Steubenville, OH 43952
1-740-283-2484
www.cuf.org

Emmaus Road
1-740-283-2880
www.emmausroad.org

Benedictus Books
1-859-278-0978

© 2004 Catholics United for the Faith. Dernière modification: 2002-02-21.

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus