| Home >> Lost Sermons

Baptized without consent, or blinded unconsciously?

Piero della Francesca. Baptism of Christ.
(Piero della Francesca. Baptism of Christ. [Source])

I often hear atheists and apostates say:

"My parents had me baptized without my consent!"

Firstly, it's a bit annoying to hear this said with a negative tone of voice. These people practically start by saying: "My bloody parents...".

Our parents, and especially our mother, have suffered a lot for us. If they had us baptized, it's probably out of love. I know many parents who, seeing their child become seriously ill, would be eager to give a kidney, a lung, even their life to save their child. If you want to complain about having been baptized, the minimum respect you owe to your parents is to mention the fact they did it out of love, and that baptized or not, you owe them eternal gratitude.

Secondly, we never hear the atheists and apostates complain that their Moms often bathed them when they were babies, without their consent. Neither do they complain about having been vaccinated without their consent, even if perhaps they are alive today because of that.

Consent and religious freedom are good and beautiful things, and normally we must obtain a person's consent. On the other hand, to consent, you must be mentally competent. If you've lost your mind (because you're senile, for example), or don't quite have it yet (because you're a baby), it's normal and praiseworthy that a significant other makes certain decisions for you.

Thirdly, people who complain about having been baptized seem to contradict themselves. According to them, God doesn't exist, or at least the teachings of the Catholic Church are false. In that case, wouldn't Baptism be just a bit of water on the forehead? Did you take your shower this morning? Yes? Are you terrorized because some religious cult claims that "the Evil Spirits" flow out of the showerheads that haven't been exorcised by the Village Medicine Man? No, not at all. So why do atheists worry because they were baptized?

Fourthly, some atheists and apostates seem to think the Catholic Church doesn't require the consent of the person being baptized. This is false: (1) you have to want to be baptized; (2) children must not be baptized against the will of their parents; (3) one must not baptize a person who has lost his or her mind, if this person didn't show their intention to be baptized while they were still mentally competent. [Summa Theologica, III, q. 68. a. 7, a. 10, a. 12].

The Catholic Church baptizes children of Catholic parents, even if these children are too young to consent to, or refuse Baptism. Many reasons support this decision:

1) "Born with a fallen human nature and tainted by original sin, children also have need of the new birth in Baptism" [CCC, #1250].

2) "The sheer gratuitousness of the grace of salvation is particularly manifest in infant Baptism" [CCC, #1250], which is repulsive to the proud who would like man to redeem himself without God.

3) The child in his mother's womb doesn't eat with his own mouth, but with his mother's mouth. It's somewhat the same for the Baptism of children. The baptized child renounces Satan and his works, and proclaims his faith in Jesus Christ, not with his own mouth, but through the mouth of his Mother the Church, which will bear him in Her bosom until the child is old enough. [Summa Theologica, III, q. 68. a. 9].

All that being said, a very serious question must be asked: are atheists and apostates being blinded unconsciously? These atheists and apostates who complain about having been baptized without their consent, are they really free today? Are they fully aware of what is happening to them?

1) The existence of God doesn't depend on our consent. If God doesn't exist, we can't make Him exist, and if He does exist, we can't kill Him. On the other hand, we are free to seriously investigate His existence. All the atheists we know blindly believe that God is dead, instead of having solid arguments, whereas Catholics know we can scientifically prove the existence of God [Denzinger #4206].

2) Death is coming, and it doesn't give a hoot about our consent. Whether we believe or not in the effectiveness of Baptism, death is coming. Many people prefer to blind themselves with entertainment, instead of facing death and preparing for it. But Catholics know that "the Way of Christ leads to life" [Mt 7:14], but that the other way "leads to damnation" [Mt 7:13].

3) Our children are going to ask us embarrassing questions, without our consent. What are apostates and atheists going to answer to questions like: "Daddy, why am I not baptized?", or "Mommy, why do we exist?", etc. Are they going to say: "My dear little boy, I renounced my faith, for reasons I've forgotten and that I've never made the effort to scrutinize"? or "My beautiful little girl, you are only the chance result of a purposeless Evolution, you don't have a spiritual soul, and your thoughts are only an epiphenomenon of matter"? Parents are supposed to transmit the light of truth to their children, not their blindness.

4) Our surroundings influence us, without our consent. Do atheists and apostates realize up to what point their opinions on Catholicism are "prefabricated" by others? Are they aware of all the covert manoeuvres being made to lead them away from Catholicism? (See among others concerning this topic: The Sacrament of "Disevangelization") Do they really want to be atheists and apostates, or are they being manipulated? If what this web site claims is true, and that you are an apostate or an atheist baptized in the Province of Quebec, then you are probably a victim of the "system" without knowing it.

Atheists and apostates who were baptized in their childhood have several options to "cleanse the original stain that the Sacrament of Baptism has made on the white garment of their unbelief". The worst option is to write to their Bishop to tell him that they officially renounce their Catholic Faith.

Many years ago, I met a person who had chosen this option. This lady was a Jehovah's Witness, going door to door. Actually, she didn't talk, since it was the other woman with her who was doing all the arguing. But at some point of time this lady sadly burst out saying: "When I became a Jehovah's Witness, I was forced to send a letter to my Bishop to tell him I was renouncing my Catholic Faith. He never answered. Nobody called, or wrote to me, or came to visit me. But in the Bible it is written that Jesus is the Good Shepherd, the shepherd who seeks out the lost sheep."

Madam, wherever you are, in the name of the Catholic Church, I beg your forgiveness. If I ever see another sheep getting lost, and I don't do anything, may the fire from Heaven come down to punish me.

Even without my consent!

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Baptisé sans consentement, ou aveuglé inconsciemment?

Piero della Francesca. Baptême du Christ.
(Piero della Francesca. Baptême du Christ. [Source])

J'entends souvent des athées et des apostats dire:

«Mes parents m'ont fait baptiser sans mon consentement!»

Premièrement, c'est un peu agaçant d'entendre ceci dit avec un ton de voix négatif. C'est tout juste si ces gens ne commencent pas en disant : «Mes sales parents...».

Nos parents, et surtout notre mère, ont beaucoup souffert pour nous. S'ils nous ont fait baptiser, c'est probablement par amour. Je connais plusieurs parents qui, en voyant leur enfant atteint d'une maladie grave, seraient prêts à donner un rein, un poumon, leur vie même, pour sauver leur enfant. Si vous voulez vous plaindre d'avoir été baptisé, le minimum de respect que vous devez à vos parents est de mentionner le fait qu'ils ont agi par amour, et que baptisé ou pas, vous leur devez une reconnaissance éternelle.

Deuxièmement, on n'entend jamais les athées et les apostats se plaindre que leur mère leur donnait souvent un bain lorsqu'ils étaient bébés, sans leur consentement. Ils ne se plaignent pas non plus d'avoir été vaccinés sans leur consentement, même s'ils sont peut-être en vie aujourd'hui à cause de cela.

Le consentement et la liberté religieuse sont de bonnes et belles choses, et en temps normal il faut obtenir le consentement. Par contre, pour consentir vous devez avoir l'usage de la raison. Si vous avez perdu la raison (parce que vous êtes sénile, par exemple), ou que vous ne l'avez pas encore (parce que vous êtes un bébé), il est normal et louable qu'un proche prenne certaines décisions pour vous.

Troisièmement, les gens qui se plaignent d'avoir été baptisés semblent se contredire. D'après eux, Dieu n'existe pas, ou du moins ce qu'enseigne l'Église catholique est faux. Dans ce cas, un Baptême serait juste un peu d'eau sur le front! Avez-vous pris votre douche ce matin? Oui? Êtes-vous terrorisé parce qu'une quelconque secte religieuse prétend que «l'esprit du Mal» s'écoule des pommes de douche qui n'ont pas été exorcisées par le Grand Sorcier du village? Non, pas du tout. Alors pourquoi les athées se font-ils du mauvais sang à cause de leur Baptême?

Quatrièmement, certains athées et apostats semblent s'imaginer que l'Église catholique n'exige pas le consentement de la personne qui se fait baptiser. C'est faux: (1) Il faut vouloir être baptisé; (2) On ne doit pas baptiser les enfants contre la volonté des parents; (3) On ne doit pas baptiser une personne qui a perdu la raison, si elle n'a pas manifesté son intention de se faire baptiser pendant qu'elle était encore lucide. [Summa Theologica, III, q. 68. a. 7, a. 10, a. 12].

L'Église catholique baptise les enfants de parents catholiques, même si ces enfants sont trop jeunes pour pouvoir consentir ou refuser ce Baptême. Plusieurs raisons appuient cette décision:

1) «Naissant avec une nature humaine déchue et entachée par le péché originel, les enfants aussi ont besoin de la nouvelle naissance dans le Baptême» [CÉC, No. 1250].

2) «La pure gratuité de la grâce du salut est particulièrement manifeste dans le Baptême des enfants» [CÉC, No. 1250], ce qui heurte les orgueilleux qui voudraient que l'homme se sauve par lui-même.

3) L'enfant dans le ventre de sa mère mange non pas avec sa propre bouche, mais par la bouche de sa mère. C'est un peu la même chose pour le Baptême des enfants. L'enfant baptisé renonce à Satan et ses oeuvres, et professe sa foi en Jésus-Christ, non pas par sa propre bouche, mais par la bouche de sa Mère l'Église, qui le portera en son sein jusqu'à l'âge de la raison. [Summa Theologica, III, q. 68. a. 9].

Tout cela étant dit, une question très sérieuse doit être posée: les athées et les apostats qui se plaignent d'avoir été baptisés sans leur consentement, sont-ils en train d'être aveuglés inconsciemment? Ces gens qui chérissent leur liberté, sont-ils vraiment libres aujourd'hui? Sont-ils pleinement conscients de ce qui leur arrive?

1) L'existence de Dieu ne dépend pas de notre consentement. Si Dieu n'existe pas, on ne peut pas le faire exister, et s'il existe, on ne peut pas le tuer. Par contre, nous sommes libres de faire des recherches sérieuses pour savoir si Dieu existe. Tous les athées que nous connaissons croient aveuglément que Dieu est mort, plutôt que d'avoir des arguments solides, alors que les catholiques savent qu'on peut prouver scientifiquement l'existence de Dieu [Denzinger No. 4206].

2) La mort s'en vient, et elle se fiche de notre consentement. Qu'on croit ou non à l'efficacité du Baptême, la mort s'en vient. De nombreuses personnes préfèrent s'aveugler par le divertissement, plutôt que de regarder la mort en face et s'y préparer. Mais les catholiques savent que «La voie du Christ mène à la vie» [Mt 7:14], mais que l'autre voie «mène à la perdition» [Mt 7:13].

3) Nos enfants vont nous poser des questions embarrassantes, sans notre consentement. Que vont répondre les apostats et les athées aux questions comme: «Papa, pourquoi je ne suis pas baptisé?», ou «Maman, pourquoi on existe?», etc. Vont-ils dire: «Mon petit garçon chéri, j'ai apostasié, pour des raisons que j'ai oublié et que je n'ai jamais vraiment pris la peine d'examiner»? ou encore «Ma belle petite fille, tu n'es que le résultat aléatoire d'une Évolution sans but, tu n'as pas d'âme spirituelle, et tes pensées ne sont qu'un épiphénomène de la matière»? C'est la lumière de la vérité que les parents doivent transmettre à leurs enfants, pas leur aveuglement.

4) Notre entourage nous influence, sans notre consentement. Les athées et les apostats se rendent-ils compte jusqu'à quel point leurs opinions sur le catholicisme sont «pré-fabriquées» par les autres? Sont-ils au courant de toutes les magouilles qui sont faites pour les éloigner du catholicisme? (Voir entre autres à ce sujet: Le Sacrement de la «désévangélisation») Est-ce qu'ils veulent vraiment être athées et apostats, ou sont-ils manipulés? Si ce qui est dit sur ce site web est vrai, et que vous êtes un apostat ou un athée baptisé dans la province de Québec, alors vous êtes probablement une victime inconsciente du «système».

Les athées et les apostats qui ont été baptisés dans leur enfance ont plusieurs options pour «effacer la tâche originelle que le sacrement du Baptême a fait sur la robe blanche de leur incroyance». La pire de ces options est d'écrire à leur évêque pour lui signifier par écrit qu'ils renoncent officiellement à leur foi catholique.

J'ai rencontré, il y a de nombreuses années, une personne qui avait choisi cette option. C'était une dame Témoin de Jéhovah qui faisait du porte-à-porte. En fait, elle ne parlait pas, car c'était l'autre avec elle qui parlait constamment. Mais à un moment donné durant le débat cette dame s'est exclamé tristement: «Quand je suis devenu Témoin de Jéhovah, j'ai été obligée d'envoyer une lettre à mon évêque pour lui dire que je renonçais à ma foi catholique. Il ne m'a jamais répondu. Personne n'est entré en contact avec moi. Et pourtant dans la Bible c'est écrit que Jésus est le bon berger, le berger qui va chercher la brebis perdue.»

Madame, où que vous soyiez, au nom de l'Église catholique, je vous demande pardon. Si jamais je suis de nouveau témoin d'une brebis qui se perd, et que je ne fais rien, que le feu du Ciel me tombe dessus pour me punir.

Même sans mon consentement!

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus