| Home >> Lost Sermons

The Warmaker's Bifocals

Max Ernst. The Angel of the Household, etc.
"Wars! Wars! I want more wars!"
(Max Ernst. The Angel of the Household, etc. Source)

1) Introduction

Satan loves warfare like some kids love ketchup: everywhere, all the time, and lots of it. Whether it's a war between husband and wife, or boss and employees, or Christians and Muslims, or Francophones and Anglophones, he doesn't care. Satan has just never seen a war he didn't like.

How then does Satan start wars, and when they are started, how does he stoke them until they burn like Hell? I claim that it is by fitting special eyeglasses to all the participants, the Warmaker's Bifocals.

2) The optical illusions caused by the Warmaker's Bifocals

These special eyeglasses are a strange kind of bifocal. Here is a partial list of the optical illusions these special eyeglasses cause:

2.1) Virtues and vices are masked or enhanced. When you look through these special Warmaker's Bifocals, you see other people's vices very clearly, but not their virtues! And when you look at yourself with these special eyeglasses, you see only your virtues but not your vices.

2.2) Actions are inflated or deflated. When somebody does something, you will see their good actions as being tiny (as if you were looking through the wrong end of binoculars), and their bad actions as being huge (as if looking through the binoculars correctly). The optical illusion will reverse itself when you look at your own actions.

2.3) Intention overrides the action. If you look at yourself committing a sin (for example cheating on your Income Tax return), you won't see the action (Theft), but you will see some distorted good intention (like having more money to buy presents for the kids). If on the other hand you look at somebody else doing something good (for example, giving money to the poor), you won't see the action clearly (almsgiving), but you will see a mirage of a bad intention, for example that this person is giving alms just to be "holier than thou".

2.4) Selective vision of individuals in a group. If you look at a group of people (with whom you don't agree) with these special bifocals, you will only see the bad extremists in the group, not the good moderates.

2.5) Magic "Rumor-Vision" feature. These special eyeglasses even have a very advanced feature which lets them see non-existent sins committed by others.

3) The Partial Truth Deadlock

When the Warmaker's Bifocals are used in politics, then often result in a situation called a "Partial Truth Deadlock". After splitting the population in two large groups (like the Republicans and the Democrats in the USA) and fitting Warmaker's Bifocals to their leaders, Satan makes sure that each of the two groups defends some important truths. In the USA for example, we could say that the Republicans are right to condemn abortion, same-sex unions, excessive government intervention, etc. The Democrats on the other hand are right to condemn the US Industrial-Military Complex, attacks on the environment, tax breaks for the rich, excessive relationships between Church and State, etc. Since both sides are partially right and partially wrong, they will eternally fight each other, like a perverse "Yin-Yang" balance that harms the country whoever happens to get elected.

4) Some sad effects of these glasses

If you want to see some examples of the effects of Warmaker's Bifocals, pick up a newspaper. Just the other day, after some sick terrorists had bombed some poor civilians in Israel, a newspaper had a huge picture of a Palestinian man holding a large knife over a Koran, and the corresponding article waxed at length about some Palestinians rejoicing over the killings. No mention was made of all the Palestinians who are disgusted with these terrorists, or the Muslims who are insulted at the use of the Koran to justify crimes. I'm willing to bet the same thing sometimes happens in the Arab press, when the Israeli army kills some Palestinian civilians; it's probable that no mention is made of the Israeli soldiers who refuse to serve in the occupied territories, or the peace marches in Israel, opposing these military operations.

I remember that during the last Referendum on Quebec's sovereignty, at some point of time some Anglophone morons had publicly burnt a flag of Quebec (or was it francophone morons who had burnt a Canadian flag?). What is certain, is that zapping between the English and French news channels that evening, you could see the insulting video footage over and over again on the channels of the language of those insulted, but on the channel of the "insultees", there was mostly footage about people saying they were sorry about this bad behavior.

Unfortunately, the effects of the Warmaker's Bifocals are quite noticeable in radio shows, TV programs, newspaper articles, casual conversations between people chatting on the phone, even books and historic monuments! If you make a small effort to listen, you will hear the dark and bloody symphony of war, with Satan conducting the Winds of wicked rumors, the Brass confessing other people's sins, the Strings harping in praise of our own virtues, and the Percussions beating the pulse of vengeance.

5) How can we remove our Warmaker's Bifocals?

What then can we do to fight the literally satanic effects of the Warmaker's Bifocals? There are roughly three kinds of remedies: supernatural, natural, and ancillary. The main supernatural medication is the Sacrament of Confession. Even if you are not a Catholic, the power of this medication seems obvious: you have to make an effort to discover your sins, all of them, even the most secret ones. You not only have to discover your sins, but also gain clear knowledge of them (What was the sin exactly? How many times did you commit it? What were the circumstances?). After that, you have to detest these sins more than anything else, and confess them to somebody else (in this case, a Priest).

Even if you forget for a moment the most important aspect of Confession, i.e. the supernatural grace that flows from the Sacrament to forgive your sins and heal your soul, you still get good practice at seeing your own bad actions clearly. In other words, you directly counteract the perverse effects of the Warmaker's Bifocals.

The main natural remedy is plain old critical thinking, also known as good Philosophical Science. An introduction to Philosophical thinking can be found here, in the essay called "The Philosopher's Glove".

Some ancillary remedies are:

5.1) Read, don't watch TV. Just like you can't fit 10 kilograms in a 1 kilogram bag, you can't fit solutions to complex social problems in a 30-second TV report.

5.2) "Audiatur et altera pars". This roughly means "The other side of the story must also be heard". Try to avoid judging without having given the other side a chance to defend its position.

5.3) "Quod gratis affirmetur, gratis negatur" In other words "What is asserted without proof, can be denied without proof". Get into the habit of asking for proofs, when somebody claims so-and-so did such-and-such a nasty thing. You'll be surprised at the amount of totally unfounded accusations floating out there.

5.4) Qualify your assertions. Instead of saying things like: "All your assertions must absolutely be qualified", try to say things like: "It seems to me like it's a good idea to qualify one's assertions".

5.5) Before arguing about anything, find common ground. No matter how controversial the topic, it is possible to find some common ground, a set of statements shared by both parties.

6) Conclusion

"Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called the children of God."
[Mt 5:9]

Let's help bring about World Peace. Let's step on our bifocals today!

 

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Les lunettes à double foyer de l'artisan de guerre

Max Ernst. L'Ange du foyer, etc.
«Des guerres! Des guerres! Je veux des guerres!»
(Max Ernst. L'Ange du foyer, etc. Source)

1) Introduction

Satan aime la guerre comme certains enfants aiment le ketchup: partout, tout le temps, et en grande quantité. Que ce soit la guerre entre un mari et sa femme, ou entre un patron et ses employés, ou entre les chrétiens et les musulmans, ou les francophones et les anglophones, il s'en fiche. Satan n'a jamais vu de guerre qu'il n'aimait pas.

Alors comment Satan démarre-t-il les guerres, et lorsqu'elles sont amorcées, comment est-ce qu'il les évente pour leur donner une intensité infernale? Je prétends que c'est en donnant des lunettes spéciales à tous les participants, les lunettes à double foyer de l'artisan de guerre.

2) Les illusions d'optique causées par les lunettes à double foyer de l'artisan de guerre

Ces lunettes spéciales sont une sorte bizarre de lunettes à double foyer. Voici une liste partielle des illusions d'optique causées par ces lunettes spéciales:

2.1) Les vertus et les vices sont cachés ou rehaussés. Lorsque vous regardez au travers de ces lunettes à double foyer de l'artisan de guerre, vous voyez les vices des autres très distinctement, mais pas leur vertus! Et lorsque vous vous regardez vous-mêmes avec ces lunettes spéciales, vous voyez vos vertus mais pas vos vices!

2.2) Les gestes sont valorisés ou dévalorisés. Lorsque quelqu'un fait quelque chose, vous allez voir leur bonnes actions en taille réduite (comme si vous les regardiez par le mauvais bout d'une paire de jumelles), et leur actions mauvaises vous paraîtront immenses (comme si vous regardiez par le bon bout des jumelles). L'illusion d'optique s'inverse lorsque vous regardez vos propres actions.

2.3) L'intention neutralise l'action. Si vous vous regardez vous-même en train de commettre un péché (comme tricher dans votre rapport d'impôt), vous ne verrez pas l'action, mais bien une bonne intention tordue (comme avoir plus d'argent pour acheter des cadeaux aux enfants). Si d'un autre côté vous regardez quelqu'un d'autre en train de faire un beau geste (comme par exemple donner de l'argent aux pauvres), vous ne verrez pas la bonne action (faire l'aumône), mais bien le mirage d'une mauvaise intention, comme par exemple que cette personne fait l'aumône pour se penser meilleure que les autres.

2.4) La vision sélective de certains individus dans un groupe. Si vous regardez un groupe de gens (avec qui vous êtes en désaccord) avec ces lunettes à double foyer spéciales, vous n'allez voir que les mauvais extrémistes du groupe, pas les bons modérés.

2.5) Fonctionnalité «Vidéo-Rumeur» Magique. Ces lunettes spéciales ont même une fonctionnalité très sophistiquée permettant de voir les péchés non-existants commis par les autres.

3) L'Étreinte fatale de la vérité partielle

Lorsqu'on utilise les lunettes à double foyer de l'artisan de guerre dans le domaine de la politique, on obtient souvent une situation appelée «l'Étreinte fatale de la vérité partielle». Après avoir divisé la population en deux grands groupes (comme les Républicains et les Démocrates aux États-Unis), et avoir donné des lunettes de l'artisan de guerre aux chefs, Satan s'assure que les deux groupes défendent chacun des vérités importantes. Aux États-Unis, par exemple, on pourrait dire que les Républicains ont raison de condamner l'avortement, les unions homosexuelles, l'intervention excessive du gouvernement, etc. Les Démocrates de leur côté ont raison de condamner le complexe militaro-industriel des États-Unis, les attaques contre l'environnement, les réductions d'impôt pour les riches, les rapports trop étroits entre l'Église et de l'État, etc. Puisque les deux côtés ont partiellement raison et partiellement tort, ils se combattent éternellement, comme un équilibre pervers «Yin-Yang» qui nuit au pays quel que soit le parti au pouvoir.

4) Certains tristes effets de ces lunettes

Si vous voulez voir quelques exemples des effets des lunettes à double foyer de l'artisan de guerre, prenez un journal. L'autre jour, lorsque des terroristes fous avaient bombardé quelques pauvres civils innocents en Israël, un journal avait une énorme photo d'un Palestinien tenant un poignard sur un Coran, et l'article correspondant décrivait en long et en large les Palestiniens qui se réjouissaient du massacre. Aucune mention n'était faite des Palestiniens complètement horrifiés par ces terroristes, ou des musulmans insultés par l'utilisation du Coran pour justifier des crimes. Je suis prêt à parier que la même chose se produit parfois dans la presse arabe, lorsque l'armée israélienne tue des civils palestiniens. Fort probablement qu'on n'y parle pas des soldats israéliens qui refusent de servir dans les territoires occupés, ou des manifestations en Israël qui s'opposent à ces opérations militaires.

Je me souviens que durant le dernier référendum sur la souveraineté du Québec, à un moment donné quelques crétins anglophones avaient brûlé un drapeau du Québec (ou était-ce quelques crétins francophones qui avaient brûlé un drapeau canadien?). Ce qui est certain, c'est qu'en «zappant» entre les nouvelles anglaises et françaises ce soir-là, on pouvait voir les séquences vidéo insultantes sur le poste des «insultés», mais sur le poste des «insultants», on voyait surtout des gens qui condamnait ces tristes comportements.

Malheureusement, les effets des lunettes à double foyer de l'artisan de guerre sont très perceptibles dans les émissions radio, les programmes à la télé, les articles de journaux, les conversations téléphoniques, même les livres et les monuments historiques! Si vous faites l'effort d'écouter, vous allez entendre la sombre et sanglante symphonie de la guerre, avec Satan dirigeant les Vents des rumeurs malicieuses, les Cuivres confessant les péchés des autres, les Cordes jouant les louanges de nos propres vertus, et les Percussions battant la cadence de la vengeance.

5) Comment pouvons-nous enlever nos lunettes à double foyer de l'artisan de guerre?

Que pouvons-nous faire pour combattre les effets littéralement sataniques des lunettes à double foyer de l'artisan de guerre? Il y a grosso modo trois catégories de remèdes: surnaturels, naturels et auxiliaires. Le remède surnaturel principal est le Sacrement de la Confession. Même si vous n'êtes pas catholique, l'efficacité de ce remède semble évidente: vous devez faire l'effort de découvrir vos péchés, tous vos péchés, même les plus secrets. Non seulement vous devez découvrir vos péchés, mais vous devez aussi les connaître (Quel était ce péché exactement? Combien de fois l'avez-vous commis? Dans quelles circonstances?). Vous devez ensuite détester souverainement ces péchés et les confesser à quelqu'un d'autre (dans ce cas-ci, un prêtre).

Même si vous oubliez un instant l'aspect le plus important de la Confession, c'est-à-dire la grâce surnaturelle qui découle de ce sacrement pour pardonner vos péchés et guérir votre âme, vous obtenez quand même une bonne pratique, pour ce qui est de voir vos propres mauvaises actions clairement. En d'autre mots, vous attaquez directement les effets pervers des lunettes à double foyer de l'artisan de guerre.

Le principal remède naturel est la bonne vieille pensée critique, aussi connue sous le nom de saine Science philosophique. Une introduction à la pensée philosophique est résumée ici, dans l'essai intitulé «Le gant du philosophe».

Quelques remèdes auxiliaires sont:

5.1) Lisez, ne regardez pas la télé. Tout comme 10 litres d'eau n'entrent pas dans une chaudière d'un litre, vous ne pouvez pas faire entrer des solutions aux problèmes sociaux complexes dans un petit télé-reportage de 30 secondes.

5.2) «Audiatur et altera pars». En gros, ceci veut dire «Que l'autre version de l'histoire soit aussi entendue». Essayez d'éviter de juger avant d'avoir donné une chance à l'autre partie de défendre sa position.

5.3) «Quod gratis affirmetur, gratis negatur» En d'autres mots, «Ce qu'on affirme sans preuves, peut être nié sans preuves». Prenez l'habitude de demander des preuves, lorsque quelqu'un prétend que Untel a commis tel péché. Vous serez surpris de la quantité surprenante de fausses accusations qui circulent.

5.4) Mettez des bémols. Plutôt que de dire des choses comme: «Toutes vos affirmations doivent absolument comporter des bémols», essayez de dire des choses comme: «Il me semble que ça soit une bonne idée de rajouter des bémols à ses affirmations».

5.5) Avant de débattre de quoi que ce soit, cherchez le terrain d'entente. Même pour les sujets causant le plus de dissensions, on peut trouver un terrain d'entente, un ensemble d'énoncés partagés par les deux parties.

6) Conclusion

«Bienheureux les artisans de paix, car ils seront appelés enfants de Dieu.»
[Mt 5:9]

Travaillons pour la Paix dans le monde! Écrasons nos lunettes à double foyer aujourd'hui!

 

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus