| Home >> Lost Sermons

Must We Respect All Religions?

Nicolas Poussin. The adoration of the golden calf.
They have soon turned aside from the way I pointed out to them, making for
themselves a molten calf and worshiping it, sacrificing to it [Ex 32:8].
(Nicolas Poussin. The adoration of the golden calf. Source)

1) Introduction

Does the Catholic Church teach that "we must respect all religions"? Let's scrutinize that a bit. But keep in mind it's a touchy subject; the line of the golden mean is thin, and it's surrounded by heresies. So, as usual, if the Pope disagrees with me, he's right.

2) What is a "religion"?

If a "religion" is a group of people who religiously believe that there is a divinity, and that this divinity transmits to us a message which we must hear and obey to be saved, then the following things are religions:

2.1) The Order of the Solar Temple: You remember the three month old baby stabbed to death with a wooden stake, supposedly because he was the Anti-Christ, then the tens of murders and suicides a few days later, supposedly to travel to planet Sirius? All this in Morin Heights, Quebec, without counting the massacres in Switzerland. What a cute religion!

2.2) Roch "Moses" Thériault: This charming character is responsible for the mutilation of several persons, some while he was drunk. Once, he tried to resuscitate a woman he had killed, by cutting off the top of her skull, and by pouring his body fluids into the cranial cavity. Most of the women in that group bore his children, some following conjugal visits long after he was thrown in jail for all his crimes.

2.3) David Koresh: A cheerful lad, who had gathered for himself quite a harem of minor girls whom he sexually abused. The children of the members of that group had to call their parents "dogs", and Koresh in exchange had himself called "Father". Of course, this nice story ended in a beautiful sound and light show (53 adults, of which 2 pregnant women, and 21 children died in their ranch's fire).

2.4) Jim Jones: A real live wire of religious beliefs, that one! Do you remember the little party with the flavored juice (seasoned with cyanide)? 914 inhabitants of Jonestown, among them 276 children, had their fill of it.

2.5) The cult of Molek (or Moloch): What about the tribes who went so far as to "burn in the fire their sons and daughters for their gods"? [Dt 12:31]

Etc., etc...

If you feel like telling me that "Those are religious sects, whereas we are talking about religions", I throw down a challenge. Explain to me clearly the difference between a religious sect, and a religion, without starting to classify religions into "true ones" and "false ones". A few years ago, I translated an international conference of sociologists. They had gathered here at Laval University to study religious beliefs, and at some point of time the distinction between religous sects and religions came up. All of them explicitely refused to touch that hot potato.

3) Religious freedom has limits

The Church knows that man wounded by Original Sin is capable of inventing for himself all kinds of totally crazy and dangerous beliefs. That's why the Catholic Church never talks about freedom of religion, without also mentioning limits to that freedom:

the human person has a right to religious freedom. This freedom means that all men are to be immune from coercion on the part of individuals or of social groups and of any human power, in such wise that no one is to be forced to act in a manner contrary to his own beliefs, whether privately or publicly, whether alone or in association with others, within due limits.
[Dignitatis humanae, #2]

the exercise of this right is not to be impeded, provided that just public order be observed.
[Dignitatis humanae, #2]

4) There is only one true religion

Not only is religious freedom not an absolute right, but on top of that there is only one true religion:

Christ the Lord founded one Church and one Church only.
[Unitatis redintegratio, #1, §1]

We believe that this one true religion subsists in the Catholic and Apostolic Church
[Dignitatis humanae, #1]

5) Respect is only due to men, and to the partial truths that there can be in other religions

The Catholic Church doesn't teach that have to "respect all religions", indiscriminately. She teaches first of all that we have to respect all men, even those who are bogged down in false religious beliefs:

A man who has fallen into error does not cease to be a man. He never forfeits his personal dignity; and that is something that must always be taken into account. Besides, there exists in man's very nature an undying capacity to break through the barriers of error and seek the road to truth. God, in His great providence, is ever present with His aid.
[Pacem in terris, #158]

The Church teaches that we must respect what is good in the other religions:

The Catholic Church rejects nothing that is true and holy in these religions.
[Nostra aetate, #2]

(By the way, CCC, #2104, seems to say we must have "sincere respect for the various religions" (in the French translation). But that passage is supposed to be a quote of the aforementioned Vatican II document, Nostra aetate, #2. If you read it carefully, the Vatican II document talks about sincere respect for the true and holy part of those religions, not respect for all religions. After all, Moses didn't kiss the Golden Calf to promote inter-religious dialogue! [Ex 32:20])

On the other hand, the Church clearly says that all the fragments of truth that can be found in the other religions, are already present, and in a supereminent degree, in the Catholic Church:

In her subsists the fullness of Christ's body united with its head; this implies that she receives from him "the fullness of the means of salvation" which he has willed: correct and complete confession of faith, full sacramental life, and ordained ministry in apostolic succession.
[CCC, #830]

6) All men must become members of the Catholic Church

The Catholic Church, despite the howls of heretics, has always taught and will always teach that "Outside the Church, no salvation":

for the union of Christians can only be promoted by promoting the return to the one true Church of Christ of those who are separated from it, for in the past they have unhappily left it.
[Mortalium animos, #10]

[Jesus] himself explicitly asserted the necessity of faith and Baptism, and thereby affirmed at the same time the necessity of the Church which men enter through Baptism as through a door. Hence they could not be saved who, knowing that the Catholic Church was founded as necessary by God through Christ, would refuse either to enter it or to remain in it.
[CCC, #846]

This affirmation is not aimed at those who, through no fault of their own, do not know Christ and his Church
[CCC, #847]

7) Conclusion

People who believe that the Catholic Church teaches "respect for all religions", indiscriminately, are simply prisoners of a false belief. They have made for themselves a golden calf shaped like political correctness, and they adore this modern idol.

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Doit-on respecter toutes les religions?

Nicolas Poussin. L'adoration du veau d'or
Ils se sont fait un veau de métal fondu, ils se sont prosternés devant lui
et lui ont présenté des sacrifices [Ex 32:8].
(Nicolas Poussin. L'adoration du veau d'or. Source)

1) Introduction

L'Église catholique enseigne-t-Elle «qu'il faut respecter toutes les religions»? Examinons cela d'un peu plus près. Mais gardez en tête que c'est un sujet délicat; la ligne du juste milieu est mince, et elle est environnée d'hérésies. Donc, comme d'habitude, si le Pape n'est pas d'accord avec moi, c'est lui qui a raison.

2) Qu'est-ce qu'une «religion»?

Si une «religion», c'est un groupe de gens qui croient religieusement qu'il y a une divinité, et que cette divinité nous transmet un message que nous devons écouter et obéir pour être sauvés, alors les choses suivantes sont des religions:

2.1) l'Ordre du Temple Solaire: Vous vous souvenez du bébé de trois mois poignardé à mort avec un pieu de bois, sous prétexte qu'il était l'Anti-Christ, puis des dizaines de meurtres et de suicides quelques jours plus tard, supposément pour rejoindre la planète Sirius? Tout ça ici à Morin Heights, au Québec, sans compter les massacres en Suisse. Quelle mignonne religion!

2.2) Roch «Moïse» Thériault: Ce charmant personnage est responsable d'avoir mutilé plusieurs personnes, certaines pendant qu'il était en état d'ébriété. Une fois, il a essayé de réscussiter une femme qu'il avait tué, en coupant le haut du crâne de son cadavre, et en vidant dans la cavité cranienne ses fluides corporels. La plupart des femmes de ce groupe ont porté ses enfants, certaines suite à des visites conjugales longtemps après qu'il ait été jeté en prison pour tous ses crimes.

2.3) David Koresh: Un joyeux luron, qui s'était assemblé un véritable harem de filles mineures qu'il exploitait sexuellement. Les enfants des membres de ce groupe devaient appeler leurs parents des «chiens», et Koresh en échange se faisait appeler «Père». Bien sûr, cette belle histoire s'est terminée dans un magnifique spectacle son et lumière (53 adultes dont 2 femmes enceintes, et 21 enfants ont péri dans l'incendie de leur ranch).

2.4) Jim Jones: Un véritable bout-en-train des croyances religieuses, celui-là! Vous vous souvenez peut-être de la petite partouze avec le jus au cristaux de saveur (assaisonné de cyanure)? 914 des habitants de Jonestown, dont 276 enfants, y ont goûté.

2.5) Le culte de Molek (ou Moloch): Que dire des peuplades qui ont été jusqu'à «brûler au feu leurs fils et leurs filles pour leurs dieux»? [Dt 12:31]

Etc., etc...

Si vous avez envie de me répondre que «Ce sont des sectes religieuses, alors qu'on parle de religions», je vous lance un défi. Expliquez-moi clairement la différence entre une secte religieuse et une religion, sans commencer à classer les religions en «vraies» et «fausses». Il y a quelques années, j'ai traduit une conférence internationale de sociologues. Ils s'étaient réunis ici à l'université Laval pour étudier les croyances religieuses, et à un moment donné la question de la distinction entre les sectes religieuses et les religions est survenue. Tous ont explicitement refusé de toucher à cette patate chaude.

3) La liberté religieuse a des limites

L'Église sait que l'homme blessé par le péché originel est capable de s'inventer toutes sortes de croyances complètement cinglées et dangereuses. C'est pourquoi l'Église catholique ne parle jamais de liberté de religion, sans mentionner des limites à cette liberté:

la personne humaine a droit à la liberté religieuse. Cette liberté consiste en ce que tous les hommes doivent être soustraits à toute contrainte de la part soit des individus, soit des groupes sociaux et de quelque pouvoir humain que ce soit, de telle sorte qu'en matière religieuse nul ne soit forcé d'agir contre sa conscience, ni empêché d'agir, dans de justes limites, selon sa conscience, en privé comme en public, seul ou associé à d'autres.
[Dignitatis humanae, No. 2]

son exercice ne peut être entravé dès lors que demeure sauf un ordre public juste.
[Dignitatis humanae, No. 2]

4) Il n'y a qu'une seule vraie religion

Non seulement la liberté religieuse n'est pas un droit absolu, mais en plus il n'y a qu'une seule vraie religion:

Le Christ Seigneur a fondé une Église et une seule Église.
[Unitatis redintegratio, No. 1, §1]

Cette unique vraie religion, nous croyons qu'elle subsiste dans l'Église catholique et apostolique
[Dignitatis humanae, No. 1]

5) Le respect est seulement dû aux hommes, et aux vérités partielles qu'il peut y avoir dans les autres religions

L'Église catholique n'enseigne pas qu'il faut «respecter toutes les religions», sans nuances. Elle enseigne d'abord qu'il faut respecter tous les hommes, même ceux qui sont embourbés dans les fausses croyances religieuses:

L'homme égaré dans l'erreur reste toujours un homme et conserve sa dignité de personne à laquelle il faut toujours avoir égard. Jamais non plus l'homme ne perd le pouvoir de se libérer de l'erreur et de s'ouvrir un chemin vers la vérité. Et pour l'y aider, le secours providentiel de Dieu ne lui manque jamais.
[Pacem in terris, No. 158]

L'Église enseigne qu'il faut respecter ce qu'il y a de bon dans les autres religions:

L'Église catholique ne rejette rien de ce qui est vrai et saint dans ces religions.
[Nostra aetate, No. 2]

(En passant, CÉC, No. 2104, semble dire que nous devons avoir un «respect sincère pour les diverses religions». Mais ce passage est supposé citer le document de Vatican II pré-cité, Nostra aetate, No. 2. Si vous le lisez soigneusement, le document de Vatican II parle du respect sincère pour la partie vraie et sainte de ces religions, pas du respect de toutes les religions. Après tout, Moïse n'a pas donné un bec au Veau d'or pour promouvoir le dialogue inter-religieux! [Ex 32:20])

Par contre, l'Église dit bien que toutes les parcelles de vérité qu'on peut retrouver dans les autres religions, sont déjà présentes, et à un degré suréminent, dans l'Église catholique:

En Elle subsiste la plénitude du Corps du Christ uni à sa Tête, ce qui implique qu'elle reçoive de lui la plénitude des moyens de salut qu'Il a voulus: confession de Foi droite et complète, vie sacramentelle intégrale et ministère ordonné dans la succession apostolique.
[CÉC, No. 830]

6) Tous les hommes doivent devenir membres de l'Église catholique

L'Église catholique, malgré les hurlements des hérétiques, a toujours enseigné et enseignera toujours que «Hors de l'Église, pas de salut»:

il n'est pas permis, en effet, de procurer la réunion des chrétiens autrement qu'en poussant au retour des dissidents à la seule véritable Église du Christ, puisqu'ils ont eu jadis le malheur de s'en séparer.
[Mortalium animos, No. 10]

[...] c'est la nécessité de l'Église elle-même, dans laquelle les hommes entrent par la porte du Baptême, [que Jésus] nous a confirmée en même temps. C'est pourquoi ceux qui refuseraient soit d'entrer dans l'Église catholique, soit d'y persévérer, alors qu'ils la sauraient fondée de Dieu par Jésus-Christ comme nécessaire, ceux-là ne pourraient être sauvés.
[CÉC, No. 846]

Cette affirmation ne vise pas ceux qui, sans leur faute, ignorent le Christ et son Église
[CÉC, No. 847]

7) Conclusion

Les gens qui croient que l'Église catholique enseigne «le respect de toutes les religions», sans nuance aucune, sont tout simplement prisonniers d'une fausse croyance religieuse. Ils se sont fait un veau d'or en forme de rectitude politique, et ils adorent cette idole moderne.

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus