| Home >> FAQ

9) Why not just change Churches?

Titanic.
(Source)

If the Catholic Church is in such a sad state, if "Peter's ship" is full of holes and taking in water, why not just leave?

First of all, I can't change Churches, since God only founded one single Church, which is One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic, governed by the Vicar of Jesus here on Earth, the Pope. "Lord, to whom shall we go? Thou hast the words of eternal life" [Jn 6:68]. We believe that this one true religion subsists in the Catholic and Apostolic Church, to which the Lord Jesus committed the duty of spreading it abroad among all men." [Dignitatis Humanae, #1].

Moreover, even if the Catholic Church can be violently attacked from the outside and the inside, She cannot be destroyed, since Almighty God protects Her. The Church is built on a lasting foundation: "the twelve apostles of the Lamb" [Rev 21:14]. She is indestructible [Mt 16:18]. She is upheld infallibly in the truth: Christ governs her through Peter and the other apostles, who are present in their successors, the Pope and the college of bishops." [CCC, #869]. As Blaise Pascal used to say: "There is a pleasure in being in a ship beaten about by a storm, when we are sure that it will not founder" [Pensées, #859].

The Catholic Church has its problems as we speak, but we can fight with joy and confidence, since Jesus has already overcome the world!  [Jn 16:33]. On the other hand, it's not because we have to avoid despair, that we must fall into overconfidence!

| Home >> FAQ

| Accueil >> FAQ

9) Pourquoi ne pas tout simplement changer d'Église?

Titanic.
(Source)

Si l'Église catholique est si mal en point que ça, si la «Barque de Pierre» est pleine de trous et prend l'eau, pourquoi ne pas tout simplement partir?

D'abord, je ne peux pas changer d'Église, car Dieu n'a fondé qu'une seule Église, qui est Une, Sainte, Catholique et Apostolique, dirigée par le vicaire de Jésus ici sur Terre, le Pape. «Seigneur, à qui irions-nous? Tu as les paroles de la vie éternelle» [Jn 6:68]. «Cette unique vraie religion, nous croyons qu'elle subsiste dans l'Église catholique et apostolique à qui le Seigneur Jésus a confié le mandat de la faire connaître à tous les hommes» [Dignitatis Humanae, No. 1].

Ensuite, même si l'Église catholique peut être violemment attaquée de l'extérieur et de l'intérieur, elle ne peut pas être détruite, car Dieu tout-puissant la protège. L'Église «est bâtie sur des assises durables: "les douze apôtres de l'Agneau" [Ap 21:14]; elle est indestructible [Mt 16:18]; elle est infailliblement tenue dans la vérité: le Christ la gouverne par Pierre et les autres apôtres, présents en leurs successeurs, le Pape et le collège des évêques» [CÉC, No. 869]. Comme disait Blaise Pascal: «Il y a plaisir d'être dans un vaisseau battu de l'orage, lorsqu'on est assuré qu'il ne périra point.» [Pensées, No. 859].

L'Église catholique a ses problèmes en ce moment, mais nous pouvons lutter dans la joie et la confiance, car Jésus a déjà vaincu le monde! [Jn 16:33]. Par contre, ce n'est pas parce qu'il faut éviter le désespoir, qu'on doit donc sombrer dans la présomption!

| Accueil >> FAQ