| Home >> Lost Sermons

Open Letter to Father Gilles Desjardins, SSS

Enlightened cousin
"Father Gilles Desjardins? Yeah, he's my cousin! Almost as progressive as me!"
(Source unknown)

Good day Father,

I'm writing to apologize for the unacceptable behavior I had last Friday in the Très-Saint-Sacrement church, during your homily. You certainly remember that you were saying:

"Some people think that our current Bishop, Cardinal Ouellet, is too conservative (and I agree). These people say that the new Pope, Benedict XVI, isn't better than the previous one, because he's also too conservative..."

It's at that moment that, as you know, I yelled as loud as I could:

"He's not conservative, he's Catholic!
Enfoiré!"

(Note to anglophone readers: I'm not sure how to translate "enfoiré", but it's not something your Mom would approve of, if she understood French.) I'm aware that a good Catholic shouldn't publicly insult his superior, and I apologize.

I also heard you say later on during your homily that we had to remain faithful to the Pope. I almost laughed, given your track record:

1) Homilies made by laypersons. The last time I dared speak out in a church was when you proudly announced that: "The homily will now be given by Ms. Hélène Boileau, Pastoral Associate." I had screamed that Redemptionis Sacramentum didn't permit this, but you had told the whole congregation that this document didn't have authority, and that we didn't need to comply with it.

2) General absolution. You gave general absolution many times, in total contradiction with the explicit orders of the Pope. I remember hearing you say and even repeat, during the celebration of Reconciliation after General absolution had been forbidden by Cardinal Ouellet, that we shouldn't accuse, in individual confession, sins that had already been forgiven by a general absolution. Exactly the opposite of Church teachings! [CCC, #1483]

3) Covert attacks on Transubstantiation. I went to see you in person with a copy of the text Transubstantiation, or Trans-Protestantization? You told me there was absolutely nothing wrong with the little flyer you had distributed in your church. I asked you to call the Cardinal to see what he thought about it, but of course you refused!

4) Stifling silences. You claim to be faithful to the Pope, but I've never heard you give a homily which gave a clear explanation and a vigorous and enthusiastic defence of the teachings of the Catholic Church concerning topics like:

- Papal infallibility;
- the condemnation of contraception;
- abortion, that abominable crime;
- the condemnation of sodomy;
- the impossibility for women to be ordained, and the impossibility for Catholics to have another opinion on that topic;
- Etc., etc.

5) Public ridicule of parishioners. Do you remember those two women (a mother and her young teenage daughter) who used to come to your church every Sunday? Do you remember when you upbraided them publicly during one of your homilies? You ridiculed them because they wore a mantilla over their heads, just like the Bible says they should [1Co 11:6]. You ridiculed them because they recieved communion on the tongue instead of in their hands, which they have the right to do [Redemptionis Sacramentum, #91-92], and you ridiculed them because they lined up in front of a Priest to receive communion, instead of an extraordinary minister of Holy Communion, even though you were the one keeping Priests sitting in the apse, while sending out laypersons to distribute communion [Redemptionis Sacramentum, #157]. You didn't give names, but in a church full of senior citizens, those two young women wearing veils stuck out, so everybody knew who you were talking about. They never did come back. I still feel bad because I didn't stand up for them.

6) The anti-promotion of the Catechism. The Catholic Church has just published the Compendium of the Catechism. A beautiful Christmas gift! Instead of starting a campaign to put a copy of the Catechism in each household of your parish, you never talk about it. On the other hand, when it's time to sign petitions against the privatization of drinking water in some Third-World countries, you're all excited and you ask all your parishioners to go sign the petition at the back of the church. Do you have a little table at the back of the church where you sell, after each Mass, copies of the Catechism? Nevertheless, you told us clearly that there were people at the back who were selling Christmas cards, and that we should buy to encourage them. You also give your explicit permission to ads on your billboards which promote the sale of weight-loss products, or opera concerts, etc. But I've never seen an ad promoting the official teachings of the Catholic Church!

To conclude, I'd like to ask you if you want to come with me at the back of your church, next Sunday, so we can hand out, to your parishioners, a little flyer telling them to go buy themselves a Catechism, in order to get to know better the divine teachings of Jesus Christ?

Sincerely,

Stefan Jetchick

 


Note to readers of this open letter: Remember "Audiatur Et Altera Pars", i.e. remember you're only getting one side of the story in this text. To get the other side:

Paroisse du Très-Saint-Sacrement
P. Gilles Desjardins, S.S.S., curé
1330, Chemin Sainte-Foy
Québec, Quebec
G1S 2N5
(418) 527-2555

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Lettre ouverte au Père Gilles Desjardins, SSS

Un cousin très avancé
«Le Père Gilles Desjardins? Oui, c'est mon cousin! Presque aussi progressiste que moi!»
(Source inconnue)

Bonjour mon Père,

Je vous écris pour m'excuser du comportement inacceptable que j'ai eu vendredi dernier en l'église du Très-Saint-Sacrement, durant votre homélie. Vous vous souvenez sûrement que vous étiez en train de dire que:

«Certains pensent que notre actuel évêque, le Cardinal Ouellet, est trop conservateur (et j'en suis). Ces gens disent que le nouveau Pape, Benoît XVI, n'est pas meilleur que le précédent, car il est trop conservateur lui aussi...»

C'est à ce moment, comme vous le savez, que j'ai crié de toutes mes forces:

«Il n'est pas conservateur, il est catholique!
Enfoiré!»

Un bon catholique ne devrait pas insulter publiquement son supérieur, j'en suis conscient, et je m'en excuse.

Je vous ai bien entendu dire par la suite, durant votre homélie, qu'il fallait être fidèle au Pape. Ça m'a presque fait rigoler, étant donné votre palmarès:

1) Homélies dites par des laïcs. La dernière fois que j'ai osé parler dans une église, c'est quand vous aviez fièrement annoncé que: «l'homélie sera maintenant prononcée par Mme Hélène Boileau, agente de pastorale». J'avais crié que Redemptionis Sacramentum l'interdisait, mais vous aviez dit à toute la congrégation que ce document n'avait pas d'autorité, et qu'on n'avait pas besoin de le respecter.

2) Absolution collective. Vous l'avez pratiquée bien des fois, en totale contradiction avec les ordres explicites du Pape. Je me souviens vous avoir entendu dire et même répéter à la célébration du Pardon, après l'interdiction de l'absolution collective imposée par le Cardinal Ouellet, qu'il ne fallait pas accuser en confession individuelle les péchés qui avaient été déjà pardonnés par l'absolution collective. Exactement le contraire des enseignements de l'Église catholique! [CÉC, No. 1483]

3) Attaques sournoises contre la Transsubstantiation. Je suis allé vous voir en personne avec une copie du texte Transsubstantiation, ou Trans-Protestantisation? Vous avez bien dit qu'il n'y avait absolument rien de mal dans le dépliant que vous aviez fait distribuer dans votre église. Je vous ai demandé de téléphoner au Cardinal pour savoir ce que lui en pensait, mais bien sûr vous avez refusé!

4) Les silences étouffants. Vous prétendez être fidèle au Pape, mais je ne vous ai jamais entendu prononcer une homélie qui donnait une explication claire et une défense vigoureuse et enthousiaste des enseignements de l'Église catholique sur des sujets comme:

- l'infaillibilité papale;
- la condamnation de la contraception;
- l'avortement, ce crime abominable;
- la condamnation de la sodomie;
- l'impossibilité pour les femmes d'être ordonnées, et l'impossibilité pour les catholiques d'avoir une autre opinion à ce sujet;
- Etc., etc.

5) Les homélies pour ridiculiser publiquement des paroissiens. Vous souvenez-vous de ces deux femmes (une mère et sa jeune fille adolescente) qui venaient dans votre église à tous les dimanches? Vous souvenez-vous quand vous leur avez fait des reproches durant une de vos homélies? Vous les aviez ridiculisées parce qu'elles portaient la mantille sur la tête, exactement comme la Bible dit de le faire [1Co 11:6]. Vous les aviez ridiculisées parce qu'elles recevaient la communion sur la langue plutôt que dans les mains, ce qu'elles ont le droit de faire [Redemptionis Sacramentum, Nos. 91-92], et vous les aviez ridiculisées parce qu'elles allaient communier dans une file où c'était un prêtre qui donnait l'Hostie, plutôt que de prendre une file où c'était un ministre extraordinaire de la Communion, même si c'était vous qui gardiez des prêtres bien assis dans l'abside, tout en envoyant des laïcs distribuer la communion [Redemptionis Sacramentum, No. 157]. Vous n'aviez pas nommé de noms, mais dans une église pleine de gens de l'âge d'or, ces deux jeunes femmes portant un voile détonnaient, alors tout le monde savait de qui vous parliez. Elles ne sont jamais revenues. Je me sens encore mal de ne pas les avoir défendues.

6) L'anti-promotion du Catéchisme. L'Église catholique vient de publier le Compendium du Catéchisme. Un magnifique cadeau de Noël! Plutôt que de démarrer un vaste mouvement pour que chaque foyer dans votre paroisse ait sa copie du Catéchisme, vous n'en parlez jamais. Par contre, lorsque vient le temps de signer des pétitions contre la privatisation de l'eau dans certains pays du Tiers-monde, vous êtes tout feu tout flamme, et vous demandez plusieurs fois à tous vos paroissiens d'aller signer la pétition à l'arrière de l'église. Avez-vous une petite table à l'arrière de l'église où vous vendez, après chaque messe du dimanche, des exemplaires du Catéchisme? Pourtant, vous nous avez bien dit qu'il y avait des gens à l'arrière qui vendaient des cartes de Noël, et qu'on devrait en acheter pour les encourager. Vous donnez aussi votre permission explicite à des affiches sur les babillards qui font la promotion de la vente de produits amaigrissants, ou de concerts d'opéra, etc. Mais je n'ai jamais vu d'affiche faisant la promotion des enseignements officiels de l'Église catholique!

En conclusion, je voulais vous demander si vous vouliez venir avec moi à l'arrière de votre église, dimanche prochain, pour qu'on distribue à vos paroissiens un petit dépliant leur disant d'aller s'acheter un Catéchisme, afin d'apprendre à mieux connaître les divins enseignements de Jésus-Christ?

Bien à vous,

Stefan Jetchick

 


Note pour les lecteurs de cette lettre ouverte: Souvenez-vous du «Audiatur Et Altera Pars», c'est-à-dire souvenez-vous que vous n'entendez ici qu'une version des faits. Pour avoir l'autre version:

Paroisse du Très-Saint-Sacrement
P. Gilles Desjardins, S.S.S., curé
1330, Chemin Sainte-Foy
Québec, Quebec
G1S 2N5
(418) 527-2555

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus