| Home

Imprimatur

Note: The Imprimatur is an official declaration that a book, brochure or web site are free of doctrinal or moral error. No implication is contained therein that those who have granted the Imprimatur agree with the contents, opinions, or statements expressed.

The Imprimatur for this web site pertains to the encounter of two wills, mine and that of the Church.

My will is to remain in communion with the Catholic Church and its Pope, the rock on which Christ builds His Church [Mt 16:18; Lumen Gentium #22; CCC #874-896; as well as my Profession of Faith, and the Legal Consideration #6].

The Church's will is expressed, among others, by the Code of Canon Law:

Canon 823:

1. In order to preserve the integrity of the truths of faith and morals, the pastors of the Church have the duty and right to be watchful so that no harm is done to the faith or morals of the Christian faithful through writings or the use of instruments of social communication. They also have the duty and right to demand that writings to be published by the Christian faithful which touch upon faith or morals be submitted to their judgment and have the duty and right to condemn writings which harm correct faith or good morals. (my emphasis)

On January 21, 2004, less than one month after this web site was online, I officially requested the Imprimatur. On January 21, 2004, Monsignor Jean-Pierre Blais, Auxiliary Bishop of the Quebec Diocese, responded: "[...] your web site doesn't contain any doctrinal or moral errors [...] I therefore wish you success with the dissemination of your web site".

On June 1, 2004, I asked Mgr Blais to grant the Imprimatur for hardcopies of texts contained on this site, so we could hand them out among others in churches. This is because:

Canon 827:

4. Books or other writings dealing with questions of religion or morals cannot be exhibited, sold, or distributed in churches or oratories unless they have been published with the permission of competent ecclesiastical authority or approved by it subsequently. (my emphasis)

You can read all of the exchanges with Mgr Blais here (sorry, French only).

| Home

| Accueil

Imprimatur

Note: L'Imprimatur est une déclaration officielle qu'un livre, brochure, ou site web ne contient pas d'erreurs doctrinales ou morales. Ceci ne signifie nullement que ceux qui ont concédé l'Imprimatur sont d'accord avec le contenu, les opinions ou les énoncés exprimés dans cet ouvrage.

L'Imprimatur pour ce site web concerne la rencontre de deux volontés, la mienne et celle de l'Église.

Ma volonté est de rester en communion avec l'Église catholique et son Pape, rocher sur lequel le Christ construit son Église [Mt 16:18; Lumen Gentium No. 22; CÉC Nos. 874-896; ainsi que ma Profession de foi, et la Considération juridique No. 6].

La volonté de l'Église est exprimée, entre autres, par le Code de droit canonique:

Canon 823:

§ 1. Pour préserver l'intégrité de la foi et des moeurs, les pasteurs de l'Église ont le devoir et le droit de veiller à ce qu'il ne soit pas porté de dommage à la foi ou aux moeurs des fidèles par des écrits ou par l'usage des moyens de communication sociale, d'exiger aussi que les écrits touchant à la foi ou aux moeurs, que les fidèles se proposent de publier, soient soumis à leur jugement, et même de réprouver les écrits qui nuisent à la foi droite ou aux bonnes moeurs. (nos gras)

Le 20 janvier 2004, moins d'un mois après le lancement de ce site web, j'ai demandé officiellement l'Imprimatur. Le 21 janvier 2004, Monseigneur Jean-Pierre Blais a répondu: «[...]  le contenu de votre site ne [présente] aucune erreur sur le plan doctrinal ou moral [...] Je vous souhaite donc du succès dans la diffusion de votre site web».

Le 1 juin 2004, j'ai demandé à Mgr Blais d'accorder l'Imprimatur pour des versions papier des textes contenus sur ce site, pour qu'on puisse les distribuer entre autres dans les églises. En effet:

Canon 827:

§ 4. Des livres ou d'autres écrits traitant de questions religieuses ou morales ne peuvent être exposés, vendus ou donnés dans  les églises ou oratoires, à moins qu'ils n'aient été édités avec la permission de l'autorité ecclésiastique compétente ou approuvés par elle par la suite. (mes gras)

Vous pouvez lire toute la correspondance avec Mgr Blais ici.

| Accueil