| Home >> Lost Sermons

Open Letter To The Two New Bishops Of The Quebec Diocese

Vasiliy Polenov. The River Oyat.
(Vasiliy Polenov. The River Oyat. Source)

Sillery, Saturday June 11, 2005.

Mons. Pierre-André FOURNIER and Mons. Gilles LEMAY
Chancery Office
Diocese of Quebec
1073, bl. René Lévesque
Sillery (Québec)
G1S 4R5

Monsignors,

First of all, congratulations for your episcopal ordination. I pray for you, that your apostolate in the Diocese of Quebec might be as fruitful as that of the first Apostles, of whom you are the successors.

Here is my question:

Could you scrutinize a few theological and philosophical texts on my web site ( www.jesus-eucharistie.org or www.inquisition.ca), in order to ensure they don't contain any doctrinal or moral errors, to then grant them your "Imprimatur"?

Ideally, you'd have plenty of spare time, and you could examine all the contents of my web site! But let's be realistic. The minimum would be the texts I want to distribute (physically, using paper hard copies) in the churches of the Diocese, in the high schools, in the colleges, etc. Here are a few examples:

Christ, Hostie, Tabernacle (to encourage young French-Canadians to stop swearing)
The Philosopher's Glove (to encourage people to study Philosophy)
Overview of the "Redemptionis Sacramentum" Instruction (Liturgical norms)
The Catholic Church and Sex-Voodoo (polemic against anti-Catholic media)
Etc., etc.

I've already made this request to Monsignor Jean-Pierre Blais, but he must be too busy. I don't want to distribute these documents in churches without ecclesiastical approval either (see the Code of Canon Law, Canon #827, § 4):

Books or other writings dealing with questions of religion or morals cannot be exhibited, sold, or distributed in churches or oratories unless they have been published with the permission of competent ecclesiastical authority or approved by it subsequently. (my emphasis)

With the assurance of my filial prayers,

Stefan Jetchick

Epilogue

On September 6, 2006, I once again sent this letter to both Bishops, but this time I delived them myself, and Mons. Fournier just happened to be walking by the reception at that moment, so he got it straight from my hands (he was holding a copy of the Compendium of the Social Doctrine of the Church he had just purchased, for which I congratulated him).

I just added the following paragraphs to the original letter:

"I just wanted to re-send the letter I sent you electronically on June 11 2005 (for which I never got an answer). I therefore repeat the request I had made at the time.

I'm also including in this letter a copy of a leaflet I'd like to distribute at the back of churches after Sunday Mass. (Please, if you see any French mistakes, tell me! And of course, all your suggestions are welcome!)

Of course, I'd like to get the Imprimatur for all these documents (or have someone tell me what to correct so I can get it). If I don't get an answer, I imagine that will mean that you consent to the distribution of these leaflets in the Quebec Diocese."

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Lettre ouverte aux deux nouveaux évêques auxiliaires du diocèse de Québec

Vasiliy Polenov. La rivière Oyat.
(Vasiliy Polenov. La rivière Oyat. Source)

Sillery, le samedi 11 juin 2005.

Mgr Pierre-André FOURNIER et Mgr Gilles LEMAY
Services Diocésains
Diocèse de Québec
1073, bl. René Lévesque
Sillery (Québec)
G1S 4R5

Messeigneurs,

Tout d'abord, mes félicitations pour votre ordination à l'épiscopat. Je prie pour vous, afin que votre apostolat au diocèse de Québec soit aussi fructueux que celui des premiers Apôtres, dont vous êtes les successeurs.

Voici ma question:

Pourriez-vous examiner quelques textes théologiques et philosophiques sur mon site web ( www.jesus-eucharistie.org ou www.inquisition.ca), afin de vous assurer qu'ils ne contiennent pas d'erreurs doctrinales ou morales, pour ensuite leur accorder votre «Imprimatur»?

Idéalement, vous auriez beaucoup de temps libre, et vous pourriez examiner tout le contenu de mon site web! Mais soyons réalistes. Le minimum serait les textes que je veux distribuer (physiquement, en copie papier) dans les églises du diocèse, dans les écoles secondaires, dans les cégeps, etc. Voici quelques exemples:

Christ, Hostie, Tabernacle (pour encourager les jeunes à ne pas sacrer)
Le Gant du philosophe (pour inciter les gens à étudier la philosophie)
Résumé de l'instruction «Redemptionis Sacramentum» (normes liturgiques)
L'Église catholique et le Sexe-vaudou (polémique contre médias anti-catholiques)
Etc., etc.

J'ai déjà fait cette demande à Monseigneur Jean-Pierre Blais, mais il doit être trop occupé. Je ne peux pas non plus distribuer des documents dans les églises sans approbation ecclésiastique (voir le Code de droit canonique, Canon 827, § 4):

Des livres ou d'autres écrits traitant de questions religieuses ou morales ne peuvent être exposés, vendus ou donnés dans les églises ou oratoires, à moins qu'ils n'aient été édités avec la permission de l'autorité ecclésiastique compétente ou approuvés par elle par la suite. (nos gras)

Avec l'assurance de ma prière filiale,

Stefan Jetchick

Épilogue

Le 6 septembre 2006, j'ai envoyé de nouveau cette lettre aux deux évêques, mais cette fois je suis allé moi-même les livrer, et Mgr Fournier s'est adonné à passer devant la réception juste à ce moment, alors il a eu sa copie de mes propres mains (il tenait un exemplaire du Compendium de la doctrine sociale de l'Église qu'il venait d'acheter, ce pour quoi je l'ai félicité).

J'ai simplement rajouté les paragraphes suivants à la lettre originale:

«Je voulais vous envoyer de nouveau la lettre que je vous ai fait parvenir électroniquement le 11 juin 2005 (pour laquelle je n'ai jamais eu de réponse). Je réitère donc la demande que je vous avais fait à ce moment.

J'inclus aussi dans cette lettre un exemplaire d'un dépliant que je voudrais distribuer à l'arrière des églises après la Messe dominicale. (Pitié, si vous voyez des fautes de français, dites-le moi! Et bien sûr, toutes vos suggestions sont les bienvenues!)

Pour tous ces documents, j'aimerais bien sûr obtenir l'Imprimatur (ou encore me faire dire quoi corriger pour pouvoir l'obtenir). Si je n'obtiens pas de réponse, j'imagine que cela voudra dire que vous consentez à ce que ces dépliants soient distribués dans le diocèse de Québec.»

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus