| Home >> Lost Sermons

My Comments on the Pastoral Message Concerning The Army Of Mary

Raphael. Presentation in the Temple.
(Raphael. Presentation in the Temple. Source)

Note: This text contains criticisms of the Cardinal. If this seems inappropriate, please see: "Should a Catholic Publicly Criticize Some Decisions Taken By His Superiors?".

1) Introduction

Holy Smokes! Cardinal Ouellet's Pastoral Message Concerning The Army Of Mary is superb! It shows us a Bishop who defends his flock against the threatening heresies. Even the tone of the letter is excellent: calm, solid, well-documented, charitable, but very firm in its condemnations.

2) A few criticisms of this Pastoral Message

If I were to permit myself a few negative comments on this letter, I'd say among other things:

2.1) Selective manliness. Too bad Cardinal Ouellet is only manly when the time comes to do some Spring cleaning in the Army of Mary. We would have liked to see such manliness on his part to kick the heretics out of the Seminary and the Faculty of Theology. It's also a bit shocking to know up to what point some of his Priests publicly tell the Pope to take a hike, and to then see the Cardinal give these Priests the Red Carpet Treatment. Some members of the Army of Mary are sincerely doing their best (under the direction of bad leaders in their religious order), but they are "man-handled" carelessly by the Cardinal.

2.2) Little or no alternative solutions. For young men who want to become Priests, or young women who want to become nuns, let's say that for the past thirty years in the Diocese of Quebec, there hasn't exactly been a lot of choice. For men, you can forget the Dominicans, the Jesuits, the Assumptionist Fathers, the Servants of the Holy Sacrament, etc. For women, the situation isn't much better. If the Bishops had fought in a more manly way to clean up this Diocese, many persons could have satisfied their thirst for beautiful liturgy, silence and prayer, etc., in places other than in the Army of Mary. Even now as we speak, I still don't know of a single Parish in the Diocese where the Homilies, the Sacraments and the Liturgy are done according to the teachings of the Church!

2.3) Lack of recognition of the good points of the Army of Mary. The Cardinal could have greatly increased his credibility by recognizing the good points of the Army of Mary. I've never been to one of their celebrations, but I doubt you'll see things which I see every Sunday in my Parish (which is already the least awful I've been able to find):

- faithful who go to communion with a total lack of respect for Jesus really present in the Host;
- missalettes and churches stripped of any reference to the Virgin Mary;
- celebrations that are botched, ugly, without devotion (hymns, vestments, execution, readings, music, etc.);
- Priests without roman collars and nuns without veils;
- parishioners who gab and laugh loudly as soon as the celebration is over, as if we weren't in a church;
- and of course, I'm not talking here about the far more serious things mentionned elsewhere, like heresies in the homilies and sacrileges in the Sacraments, etc.

2.4) Slow and ambiguous condemnations. Would the damages to the flock have been quite as serious, if the Bishops had acted more decisively right from the start? The delirium of Marie-Paule Gigučre didn't start yesterday. If she had been excommunicated thirty years ago, could she have ensnared so many sincere followers? Try to see things from the point of view of an honest and sincere person who is in the Army of Mary. When you've worked for thirty years in a humble sewing room, day after day, saying your Breviary, being attentive at Mass, adoring Jesus really present in the Eucharist, saying your Rosary for all the poor people who need prayers, it's very difficult to admit to yourself that you've made a mistake all these years. When you are a poor she-lamb, you have a right to expect that your shepherd will defend you against the wolves, especially if your shepherd had more degrees than a thermometer, whereas all you have is a thimble and a rosary...

2.5) Pathetic inconsistency of Bishops. While Monsignor Couture was condemning the Army of Mary because they had not respected a detail of Canon Law (stating that the local Bishop must give his permission before a church or oratory is built), that very same Bishop was telling the Pope to take a flying leap concerning general absolution and homilies made by laypersons. He even published pastoral letters on these topics, totally contrary to the teachings of the Catholic Church! While Cardinal Ouellet, Primate of Canada, was condemning the Army of Mary for theological issues, he didn't condemn Mr. Paul Martin, who claims to be a Catholic while scandalously supporting abortion and same-sex "marriage"!

3) Conclusion

Is Cardinal Ouellet really serious about helping the souls who have been recruited by the Army of Mary?

If I were the Bishop, I would first found a new religious order. This order would have everything the Army of Mary has which is compatible with the Catholic Faith, and nothing which is incompatible. Only after building this «Ark of salvation» would I condemn the Army of Mary, while at the same time inviting its members to join the new religious order, so as to minimize the pain and anguish of a very difficult change for these people.

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Mes commentaires sur le Message pastoral concernant l'Armée de Marie

Raphael. Présentation au temple.
(Raphael. Présentation au temple. Source)

Note: Ce texte contient des critiques envers le Cardinal. Si vous trouvez que cela est inapproprié, veuillez lire: «Un catholique devrait-il critiquer publiquement certaines décisions de ses supérieurs?».

1) Introduction

Bonté Divine! Ce Message pastoral concernant l'Armée de Marie du Cardinal Marc Ouellet est magnifique! On y voit un évêque qui prend la défense de son troupeau contre les hérésies qui le menacent. Même le ton de la lettre est excellent: calme, posé, bien documenté, charitable, mais très ferme dans ses condamnations.

2) Quelques critiques de ce message pastoral

Si je devais me permettre quelques commentaires négatifs sur cette lettre, je dirais entre autres:

2.1) Virilité sélective. Dommage que le Cardinal Ouellet soit surtout viril quand vient le temps de faire le ménage dans l'Armée de Marie. On aurait aimé autant de virilité de sa part pour chasser les hérétiques du grand Séminaire et de la faculté de théologie. Il est aussi un peu choquant de savoir jusqu'à quel point certains de ses prêtres peuvent se ficher du Pape ouvertement, pour ensuite se faire traiter avec des gants blancs et de nombreuses marques de respect par le Cardinal Ouellet. Certains membres de l'Armée de Marie font sincèrement leur possible (malheureusement sous la gouverne de mauvais chefs dans leur ordre religieux), mais ils se font «varlopper» sans grands ménagements par le Cardinal.

2.2) Peu ou pas de solutions alternatives. Pour les jeunes hommes qui veulent devenir prêtres, ou les jeunes femmes qui veulent entrer en religion, disons que depuis les trente dernières années au diocèse de Québec, les choix ne sont pas nombreux. Pour les hommes, on peut oublier les Dominicains, les Jésuites, les Pères Assomptionistes, les Serviteurs du Saint-Sacrement, le grand séminaire diocésain, etc. Pour les femmes, la situation n'est guère meilleure. Si les évêques du diocèse avaient lutté plus virilement pour faire le ménage, de nombreuses personnes auraient pu satisfaire leur légitime soif de belle liturgie, de silence et de prière, etc., autrement que dans l'Armée de Marie. Même au moment où on se parle, je ne connais pas une seule paroisse dans le diocèse où les homélies, les sacrements et la liturgie sont faites selon les enseignements de l'Église!

2.3) Passage sous silence des bons points de l'Armée de Marie. Le Cardinal aurait pu grandement augmenter sa crédibilité en reconnaissant les bons points de l'Armée de Marie. Je n'ai jamais assisté à une de leurs célébrations, mais je doute qu'on y voit ces choses que je vois à tous les dimanches dans ma paroisse (qui déjà est la moins pire que j'ai pu trouver):

- des fidèles qui communient avec un manque de respect flagrant pour Jésus réellement présent dans l'Hostie;
- des missels et des églises où on extirpe tout ce qui a rapport avec la Sainte Vierge;
- des célébrations bâclées, laides, sans dévotion (chants, vêtements, déroulement, lectures, musique, etc.);
- des prêtres sans col romain et des religieuses sans voile;
- des paroissiens qui jasent et ricanent bruyamment dès que la cérémonie prend fin, comme si on n'était pas dans une église;
- et bien sûr, je ne mentionne pas les choses bien plus graves mentionnées ailleurs, comme les hérésies dans les homélies et les sacrilèges dans les sacrements, etc.

2.4) Lenteur et ambiguïté des condamnations. Les dommages au troupeau auraient-ils été aussi graves, si les évêques avaient réagi plus fermement dès le début? Les élucubrations de Marie-Paule Giguère ne datent pas d'hier. Si elle avait été excommuniée il y a trente ans, aurait-elle pu entraîner autant de gens? Essayez de voir la situation du point de vue d'une personne honnête et sincère qui est dans l'Armée de Marie. Quand on a travaillé trente ans dans l'obscurité, jour après jour, à dire son bréviaire fidèlement, à assister à la messe pieusement, à adorer Jésus réellement présent dans le Tabernacle, à dire son chapelet pour tous les pauvres gens qui ont tant besoin de nos prières, il est bien difficile de s'avouer à soi-même qu'on a fait fausse route. Quand on est une pauvre agnelle, on est en droit de s'attendre à ce que notre berger nous défende contre les loups, surtout si notre berger est un évêque bardé de diplômes, et que nous, tout ce qu'on a, c'est un dé à coudre et un chapelet...

2.5) Incohérence navrante des évêques. Au moment même où Monseigneur Couture condamnait l'Armée de Marie parce qu'elle n'avait pas respecté un détail du Code de droit canonique stipulant qu'on doit avoir la permission de l'évêque avant de bâtir une église ou un oratoire, ce même Monseigneur Couture faisait un pied-de-nez au Pape pour l'absolution collective et les homélies faites par les laïcs. Il a même publié des lettres pastorales à ces sujets, totalement contraires aux enseignements de l'Église! Pendant que le Cardinal Ouellet, primat de l'Église catholique au Canada, condamnait l'Armée de Marie pour des questions théologiques, il ne condamnait pas M. Paul Martin, qui se prétend catholique tout en appuyant scandaleusement l'avortement et le «mariage» homosexuel!

3) Conclusion

Le Cardinal Ouellet veut-il sérieusement aider les âmes qui ont été embrigadées par l'Armée de Marie?

Si j'étais l'évêque, je fonderais d'abord un nouvel ordre religieux. Cet ordre aurait tout ce que l'Armée de Marie a, qui est compatible avec la Foi catholique, et rien de ce qui est incompatible. C'est seulement après avoir construit cette «Arche de salut» que je condamnerais l'Armée de Marie, tout en invitant ses membres à se joindre au nouvel ordre religieux, afin de minimiser la douleur et l'angoisse d'un changement très difficile pour ces gens.

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus