| Home >> Politics

We Must Let The "Gilles NoŽl Party" Die Off

Burning membership card
Today, 2007-March-30, I, Stefan Jetchick, leave the QCD Party

Note: See also correspondance with members of the QCD Party (sorry, all French for now):
Mr. Gilles NoŽl, Party Leader
Mr. Marc Veilleux, Party Secretary
Mr. Aubert CŰtť, Candidate in Kamouraska-Tťmiscouata

1) Introduction

The "Quebec Christian Democracy Party" (or QCD Party) is a provincial political party, in Canada. This party has many advantages, but in my opinion, it also unfortunately has several serious shortcomings.

Are these shortcomings serious enough for us to try to eliminate the QCD Party? For about a year, I tried to answer "No". For example, the title of this article was: "Shouldn't We Improve The QCD Party?". I said in the old version of this text that: "If your horse is seriously ill, you have to choose between trying to cure it, or getting rid of it and finding a new one. According to me, the QCD Party's "horse" deserves another chance." Also, I helped Mr. Francis Denis, QCD candidate at the last elections of March 26, 2007.

But today (2007-mars-30), I'm officially changing my mind. According to me, the shortcomings of the QCD Party are too serious. This party cannot be salvaged. The Province of Quebec needs a new Catholic Political Party.

In the rest of this article, I explain why, according to me, the QCD Party cannot be salvaged. (For those who have already seen the old version of this article, the last straw that broke my back is in Appendix A5.)

2) The "Gilles NoŽl Party", or the QCD Party?

Many persons have told me that without Mr. Gilles NoŽl, the QCD Party would never have existed. I believe them. I have no doubts that Mr. NoŽl has excellent intentions, and that he has many talents to contribute to the QCD Party. On the other hand, good intentions are not enough.

During the meeting for April 8 (See Appendix A4 here below), and following the Provincial elections of March 26, 2007 (see Appendix A5),I became convinced that Mr. Gilles NoŽl has controlled, and still largely controls:

2.1) The finances. The QCD Party is saddled with a deficit accumulated under the leadership of Mr. Gilles NoŽl. Three persons are currently authorized to sign checks in the name of the QCD Party: the Official Representative, the Secretary, and Mr. NoŽl. Neither the Representative nor the Secretary have the mandate or apparently a personality strong enough to stand up to Mr. NoŽl, and only two signatures are necessary. Mr. NoŽl even almost bragged during the meeting that he got himself personally into debt to defend the cause of the QCD Party, on top of getting the Party into debt. At no point of time did I get the impression that Mr. NoŽl considered it a priority to only spend the money we had.

2.2) The ACD Journal ("Action Chrťtienne Dťmocrate"). From what I understood, this journal is independant from the QCD party when it's time for its main author, Mr. NoŽl, to be held accountable, but nevertheless the ACD Journal officially represents the Party as soon as it's time to pay its bills, or to officially announce the polices of the QCD Party.

2.3) The public image of the QCD Party. Whether it's the QCD Party web site (done mostly by Mr. NoŽl), or his public speeches, etc., the image that the public has of the QCD Party seems almost completely produced by Mr. NoŽl. A "Web site committee" was formed, but in the meantime, Mr. NoŽl's web site remains online, and anyway I think only Mr. NoŽl controls the official web site.

In summary, the finances, the policies and the image of the QCD Party are in the hands of Mr. Gilles NoŽl and, according to me, those are the three main aspects which are not going well these days.

3) The fundamental error of the QCD Party

If I had to summarize in one metaphor the QCD Party's problem, I'd say it's like a farmer who wants to give water to drink to his wife and kids, and who goes to the well with a pail. Except his pail has holes in it.

Even if this farmer runs, sweats, and works his heart out, every time he'll run into the kitchen with his pail, there won't be anything in it. He might even say his Rosary out loud, and pray to all the Angels and Saints, yet his family will still continue to die of thirst.

Good intentions, pictures of the Virgin Mary and hard work by volunteers are not enough. In Politics, you also need competence.

4) My recommendation (that was not heeded): Operation "Beam-in-our-eye"

First, I want to repeat my disclaimer: I'm not an expert in Politics, I'm just thinking out loud.

In my opinion, the QCD Party should have started by "removing the beam in its eye", before telling the whole Province what to do with its unborn children, its families, its finances and its political future.

I had recommended, to start removing this "beam", to take the following actions immediately:

4.1) Regain control of the finances, the policies and the image. Take away the check signing authority from Mr. NoŽl, change the upload password on the web site, and publicly dissociate ourselves from the ACD Journal (or regain control of it).

4.2) Stop harming ourselves with our own website. Pull the current web site off the Internet, and replace it with a simple temporary page giving the Party's official address, the logo, and a notice that the real site is coming. Leave the Web site committee one month to prepare a suggestion (on the "sandbox" website, which is not official or known by the public). Get this website approved not only internally (by the QCD Party officials), but also externally, by asking for at least a rough consensus from independant Catholic organizations like the CCRL, the Opus Dei, the Knights of Columbus, pro-life organizations, etc.

4.3) Implement a member and candidate assessment system. Currently, there are some admission requirements to become a member (basically a little vague warning on the application form), but nothing very formal or enforced. (See Appendix 1 to see how I became a member, and Appendix 4 to see how I could have been a candidate). To give you a rough idea, if we set up a few simple and almost "crude" criteria to become a candidate, like: you can't have a criminal record, or be divorced or have illegitimate children, or be incapable of communicating via e-mail, etc., we'd eliminate several candidates (among others the Party Leader himself, if I understand correctly). I recommend we suspend as a group all members and candidates of the QCD Party. Implement a system to filter applications, whether to become a member of the Party or to become a candidate. Make all existing members and candidates run through this system. In my opinion, if all we did was just copy the Christian Heritage Party's system, that would already be a big improvement.

4.4) Warn our sponsors. Send an official letter to all organizations who've already given large amounts of money to the QCD Party, or who could give large amounts, and tell them to suspend all donations for 6 months. Explain to them the situation. Give them objective criteria (like the items of this Operation "Beam-in-our-eye" operation) to judge whether the situation has really improved after 6 months. As opposed to what some people might think, this action alone could generate large donations to the QCD Party. Investors like to see "Spring Cleanings", and efforts to be transparent. Investors know very well that all is not perfect in this world.

4.5) Establish a training system for members and candidates. Once the good intentions of a member or candidate have been verified (see item 4.3 here above), the difference between a good and a bad party will mostly be the continuous education system. To come back to our metaphor at #3 here above, I'd say we have to learn to plug the holes in our pail, and eventually learn how to install pipes and a well pump! Currently, as far as I know, no QCD Party candidate has the necessary training to govern the Province of Quebec. We have snippets of solutions, but no serious and exhaustive party platform.

4.6) Simplify the Party constitution and structure. Mr. NoŽl has produced a byzantine structure for the Party. (I was told it was to protect us against infiltration by Freemasons. Hum! See point #4.3 above!)

4.7) Make our finances transparent. Such a small party with such simple financial inputs and outputs could in three mouse clicks put its Excel spreadsheet on its web site! Anybody should be able to find out anytime who gave what, and how this money was spent.

Etc., etc...

5) Conclusion

Quebec needs a good Catholic Political Party. The QCD Party doesn't have, according to me, the potential to become such a party. All the QCD Party does is to siphon off what little good will and money remains in the Christian electorate, while giving a bad reputation to the excellent social doctrine of the Church.

Instead of wasting our efforts trying to keep the "Gilles NoŽl Party" on life support, let's start up a new Catholic Political Party!

 


Logo of the Quebec Christian Democracy Party

6) Appendix: My "run-ins" with the QCD Party

Since I'm very much interested in politics and Christianity, I was of course quickly drawn to a party that claims to be based on the social doctrine of the Church. Except that, like a laboratory rat who just gets zapped every time it pushes on the red button, every time I tried to get involved with the QCD party, I was "electrocuted"!

6.1) Roughly in 2004, I discovered the QCD Party. I went on their web site, in order to find the party platform. Since it wasn't there, I sent an e-mail. From what I understood of Mr. NoŽl's vague answer, the platform was not yet online. So I cut a check for 15$ to cover postage fees, and asked them to send me a paper copy of the platform. Instead, I got a membership card for the party! I then sent another letter to ask my name to be scratched from the membership list. I never got an answer. Once in a while, I get a letter reminding me to renew my membership!

6.2) Roughly in 2005, I met a person who sold me his book (published at his expense). The topic of the book is hard to describe: it talks about the Virgin Mary, dinosaurs, Soviet nuclear missiles, etc. That book was a shock for me; it was the first time I read such an un-scientific book. Americans, when they describe such an author, say he wears an "aluminum foil deflector beanie"! That being said, I later on found out that this person occupied at that time a very high position inside the QCD Party.

6.3) On April 3, 2006, I went to the Cťgep F.-X. Garneau here in Quebec City to hear a presentation on the QCD Party. We'll skip the technical glitches, but when Mr. NoŽl grabbed the microphone and started (in my opinion) upbraiding the young students, let's say that I tried to melt into the background. I had a very clear subjective impression, the impression of a Fascist Paleo-Catholic party. (Warning! I'm not accusing anybody's intentions; I'm talking about the image that was projected in front of these young students. I think if a journalist had been able to interview those students after the event, they would have confirmed this.) I practically crawled out around 1:00 PM, since I was so ashamed.

6.4) I went to the QCD Party's Candidate's Meeting of April 8, 2006. That meeting let me reconfirm once more item 1 here above, but it also let me see clearly items 2.1, 2.2 and 2.3. At the end of the meeting, a motion was passed to accept me as a candidate. This despite having never been subjected to any kind of exam, assessment, interview, etc. (I asked for 24 hours to think about it, then wrote this text and refused their offer.)

6.5) The Leader's Message after the elections (my English translation):

----- Original Message -----
From: "Dťmocratie Chrťtienne Qc"
To: [16 e-mail addresses]
Sent: Tuesday, March 27, 2007 12:09 PM
Subject: Communiquť of the QCD Party Leader, as well as a
message of Mrs. Denise Jettť Cloutier


March 27, 2007

Thank you Denise for the nice text here below which I forward to the
other representatives and members of the Party.
Thank you all for this nice campaign and the efforts you put in.

I'm proud of you.
The party got 1635 votes, i.e. half the votes obtained during the preceding
campaign of 2003. Our DGEQ income, which was 200$ a month, will go down
to 100$ a month because of the lower number of votes obtained from
voters.

In 1998, I had in my bank account 38 000 $.
In 2007, I've accumulated a debt of 65 000 $ with an inability to pay
that with my teacher's salary and the alimony I still pay for two of
my three children.

I loaned another 10 000$ to the Party to fund the 2007 election campaign
and I'm now faced with bankruptcy.
That is a reality we now have to face up to.

God willing, I will climb out of bankruptcy, if not, may His Holy
Will be done.

The web site will continue to operate, but that will be the only thing
we'll keep alive in the Party.

Starting today:

1- I announce that I stop funding all Party activities.

2- I will repay 3000$ a year for 8 years to pay back the Party debt.

3- I'm not expecting anything any more from the members, because they
did their share and they left the boat year after year because they
didn't believe in it anymore. The loss of 50 members last year made
contributions go down by 10 000$, and that is what caused last year's
deficit, since the expenses remained the same.

4- We had 35 candidates to begin with and we finished with 12, who
persevered until the end. I don't blame the 23 who left, but that shows
how great was their demotivation.

5- I could resign as Leader of the Party, but we would have to start
a leadership race, which would cost about 10 000$ if we followed the
instructions given in the Constitution of the Party, and I don't feel
like organizing that by myself as usual, nor do I have the means to pay
for that, since a leadership convention requires 6 months of activities
and preparations according to the Constitution.

6- I sincerely believed that Divine Providence would help us in
this election by performing a miracle to pull us out of the hole, but
such was not the Will of God.

When a work is not from God, it fails and that's what is happening to us!

Despite everything, I regret nothing because we had to do it even if the
end result is total failure.

May God Bless You All!
Gilles NoŽl
Leader of the QCD Party

P. S. The Internet site was updated March 26 and contains the latest
CBC reports on the Party.

 

6.6) My reaction to this e-mail:

>> The party got 1635 votes

Less than the "Pot Block"! When marijuana smokers get more votes
than the Christian Democracy, we have to start asking questions!


>> In 2007, I've accumulated a debt of 65 000 $ with an inability to pay
>>> that [...] I loaned another 10 000$ to the Party [...] I'm now
>> faced with bankruptcy.

OK, so you've proved you were unable to manage a budget. Does that
make you the Leader Quebec needs?


>> The web site will continue to operate, but that will be the
>> only thing we'll keep alive in the Party.

And of course, only Gilles NoŽl can modify that site!

During the election campaign, we made all kinds of efforts to
get the list of QCD candidates, and their contact info, to appear
on the official web site.

For some "noŽllian" reason, this list was never posted. I got
phone calls from frustrated persons who had sifted through
the web site, trying to find that list. I myself battled (via e-mail)
for two days with Mr. NoŽl to try to keep the candidate list
I had posted on my candidate's web site (Mr. Francis Denis).
Apparently, that threatened the hegemony of the Leader!


>> [Members] left the boat year after year because they
>> didn't believe in it anymore.

Didn't believe in what? They didn't believe in the excellent
social doctrine of the Church, or in the "Gilles NoŽl Party"?


>> I could resign as Leader of the Party [...]

Ah! This is the most important part of this e-mail. The Party is
going to Hell, all clues point to the Leader as the main reason
for this fiasco, and what is the Leader's reaction?

	"I could resign, but I've mismanaged our budget so badly
	that we don't have the means of respecting the Leadership
	replacement process which I myself wrote in the Constitution."

Had I mentioned we needed to regain control of the finances
and simplify the structure of the Party? Hum...


>>  I sincerely believed that Divine Providence would help us in
>> this election by performing a miracle

One of the popular negative stereotypes against Christian politicians
is that they try to compensate for their politicial incompetence
by superstitious beliefs and "miracles".

Nothing here to change those stereotypes...


>> When a work is not from God, it fails

Why the word "work"? Why not the word "Leader"? There is nothing
wrong with the idea of having a good Catholic Political Party in
Quebec.

| Home >> Politics

| Accueil >> Politique

Il faut laisser mourir le «Parti Gilles Noël»

Carte de membre en flammes
Aujourd'hui le 2007-mars-30, Moi, Stefan Jetchick, je quitte le Parti DCQ

Note: Voir aussi la correspondance avec des candidats du Parti DCQ:
M. Gilles Noël, Chef du Parti
M. Marc Veilleux, Secrétaire du Parti
M. Aubert Côté, Candidat dans Kamouraska-Témiscouata

1) Introduction

Le «Parti de la démocratie chrétienne du Québec» (ou Parti DCQ) est un parti politique provincial, au Canada. Ce parti a plusieurs avantages, mais selon moi, il a malheureusement plusieurs lacunes graves.

Ces lacunes sont-elles assez graves pour qu'on doive éliminer le Parti DCQ? Pendant près d'un an, j'ai parié que «Non». Par exemple, le titre de cet article était: «Ne devrait-on pas améliorer le Parti DCQ?». Je disais dans l'ancienne version de cet article que: «Si notre cheval est gravement malade, il faut choisir entre tenter de le guérir, ou s'en débarasser et en prendre un autre. Selon moi, le «cheval» du Parti DCQ mérite une autre chance». Aussi, j'ai milité pour M. Francis Denis, candidat DCQ aux dernières élections du 26 mars 2007.

Mais aujourd'hui (2007-mars-30), je change officiellement d'idée. Selon moi, les lacunes du Parti DCQ sont trop graves. Ce parti est irrécupérable. Le Québec a besoin d'un nouveau parti politique catholique.

Dans le reste de cet article, j'explique pourquoi selon moi le Parti DCQ est irrécupérable. (Pour ceux qui ont déjà lu la vieille version de cet article, la goutte qui a fait déborder le vase est à l'Annexe A5.)

2) Le «Parti Gilles Noël» ou le Parti DCQ?

Nombreuses sont les personnes qui m'ont dit que sans M. Gilles Noël, le Parti DCQ n'aurait même pas vu le jour. Je le crois. Je ne doute pas que M. Noël ait de très bonnes intentions, et qu'il ait de nombreux talents à contribuer au Parti DCQ. Par contre, selon moi, les bonnes intentions ne suffisent pas.

Durant la réunion du 8 avril (voir Annexe A4 ci-bas) et suite aux élections provinciales du 26 mars 2007 (voir Annexe A5), je suis devenu convaincu que M. Gilles Noël a contrôlé, et contrôle encore en grande partie:

2.1) Les finances. Le Parti DCQ traîne un déficit accumulé sous la gouverne de M. Gilles Noël. Trois personnes en ce moment sont autorisées à signer des chèques au nom du Parti DCQ: la représentante officielle, le secrétaire, et M. Noël. La représentante et le secrétaire n'ont ni l'un ni l'autre le mandat ou apparemment une personnalité assez forte pour s'opposer à M. Noël, et deux signatures suffisent. M. Noël s'est aussi presque vanté durant la réunion de s'être personnellement endetté pour faire avancer la cause du Parti DCQ, en plus d'endetter le parti. À aucun moment je n'ai eu l'impression que M. Noël considérait comme une priorité de dépenser seulement l'argent qu'on a.

2.2) Le journal ACD (Action Chrétienne Démocrate). Ce que j'ai pu comprendre de ce journal, c'est qu'il est complètement indépendant du Parti DCQ quand il est question d'imputabilité de son auteur principal, M. Noël, mais qu'il représente officiellement le Parti dès que vient le temps de payer ses comptes, ou d'annoncer officiellement les politiques du Parti DCQ.

2.3) La formation de l'image du Parti DCQ. Que ce soit le site web du Parti DCQ (fait surtout par M. Noël), ou par ses discours publics, etc., l'image que les gens ont du Parti DCQ semble en presque totalité fabriquée par M. Noël. On a formé un «Comité du site web», mais pendant ce temps, le site web de M. Noël reste en ligne, et de toute façon je pense que seul M. Noël contrôle le site officiel.

En bref, les finances, les politiques et l'image du Parti DCQ sont entre les mains de M. Gilles Noël, et selon moi ce sont les trois principaux aspects qui vont mal en ce moment.

3) L'erreur fondamentale du Parti DCQ

Si je devais résumer en une métaphore le problème du Parti DCQ, je dirais que c'est comme un fermier qui veut donner à boire à sa femme et ses enfants, et qui va donc puiser de l'eau au puits avec une chaudière. Sauf que sa chaudière est percée.

Ce fermier aura beau suer, courir, s'esquinter, à chaque fois qu'il va arriver dans la cuisine en courant avec sa chaudière, il n'y aura rien dedans. Il pourra même réciter son chapelet tout haut, implorer tous les anges et tous les saints, mais sa famille va continuer à mourir de soif.

Il ne suffit pas d'avoir de bonnes intentions, des images de la Sainte Vierge, et du travail acharné par des bénévoles. En politique, il faut aussi de la compétence.

4) Ma recommandation (qui n'a pas été écoutée): L'Opération «Poutre-dans-notre-oeil»

D'abord, je répète mon avertissement: je ne suis pas un expert en politique, je ne fais que penser tout haut.

Selon moi, le Parti DCQ aurait dû commencer par «enlever la poutre dans son oeil», avant de dire au Québec tout entier quoi faire avec ses enfants à naître, ses familles, ses finances et son avenir politique.

J'avais recommandé, pour commencer à enlever cette «poutre», de prendre immédiatement les actions suivantes:

4.1) Reprendre le contrôle des finances, des politiques et de l'image. Retirer à M. Gilles Noël l'autorité de signer des chèques pour le Parti DCQ, changer le mot de passe pour télécharger en amont («upload») le contenu du site web, et se dissocier publiquement du journal ACD (ou en reprendre le contrôle).

4.2) Ne pas nous nuire avec notre propre site web. Retirer le site web actuel de l'Internet, et le remplacer par une page temporaire très simple qui donne l'adresse officielle du Parti DCQ, le logo, et qui annonce que le vrai site web s'en vient. Laisser un mois au Comité du site web pour préparer une suggestion (sur le site «carré de sable», qui n'est pas officiel ou connu du grand public). Faire approuver ce site non seulement à l'interne (par les instances du Parti DCQ), mais aussi à l'externe, en sollicitant au moins un consensus général d'organismes catholiques indépendants comme le CCRL, l'Opus Dei, les Chevaliers de Colomb, des organismes pro-vie, etc.

4.3) Instaurer un système d'évaluation des membres et candidats. En ce moment, il y a quelques exigences d'admission pour devenir membre (en gros un petit avertissement vague sur le formulaire d'admission, mais rien de bien formel ou d'appliqué strictement. (Voir Annexe 1 pour savoir comment je suis devenu membre, et Annexe 4 pour savoir comment j'aurais pu devenir candidat). Pour vous donner une idée, si on établissait quelques critères simples et presque «grossiers» pour devenir candidat, comme: il ne faut pas avoir de casier judiciaire, ou il ne faut pas être divorcé ou avoir des enfants illégitimes, ou être incapable de communiquer par courriel, etc., on éliminerait de nombreux candidats (entre autres le Chef du Parti lui-même, si j'ai bien compris). Je recommande de suspendre en bloc tous les membres et tous les candidats du Parti DCQ. Instaurer un système pour filtrer les demandes, autant pour devenir membre du parti que pour devenir candidat. Faire «repasser dans cette moulinette» tous les membres et candidats actuels. Selon moi, si on ne faisait que copier intégralement le système du Parti de l'héritage chrétien, cela serait déjà une grosse amélioration.

4.4) Avertir nos bailleurs de fonds. Envoyer une lettre officielle à tous les organismes qui ont déjà donné de gros montants d'argent au Parti DCQ, ou qui pourraient donner de gros montants, et leur dire de suspendre tous leurs dons pour 6 mois, en leur expliquant la situation. Leur donner des critères objectifs (comme les points de cette Opération «Poutre-dans-l'oeil») pour évaluer si la situation s'est vraiment améliorée après 6 mois. Contrairement à ce qu'on pourrait penser, cette action pourrait à elle seule rapporter de très gros montants d'argent au Parti DCQ. Les investisseurs aiment ça quand on fait un ménage, et quand on est transparent. Les investisseurs savent très bien que tout n'est pas parfait en ce bas monde.

4.5) Instaurer un système de formation des membres et des candidats. Une fois vérifiée les bonnes intentions d'un membre ou d'un candidat (voir point No. 4.3 ci-haut), la différence entre un bon et un mauvais parti politique sera surtout le système de formation continue. Pour reprendre notre métaphore au point No. 3, je dirais qu'il faut apprendre à boucher les trous de notre chaudière, et éventuellement apprendre à installer un tuyau et une pompe de puits! En ce moment, à ma connaissance, aucun candidat du Parti DCQ n'a la formation nécessaire pour diriger le Québec. Nous avons des bribes de solutions, mais pas de programme électoral sérieux et complet.

4.6) Simplifier la constitution et la structure du Parti. M. Noël a façonné une structure byzantine pour le Parti. (On m'a dit que c'était pour nous protéger contre les infiltrations Franc-maçonniques. Hum! Voir point No. 4.3 ci-haut!)

4.7) Rendre nos finances transparentes. Un si petit parti avec des entrées et des sorties d'argent si simples pourrait en trois cliques de souris mettre son chiffrier Excel sur son site web! N'importe qui devrait pouvoir savoir n'importe quand qui a donné comment, et à quoi son argent a servi.

Etc., etc...

5) Conclusion

Le Québec a besoin de bons partis politiques chrétiens. Le Parti DCQ n'a pas, selon moi, le potentiel pour devenir un tel parti. Le Parti DCQ ne sert qu'à siphonner le peu de bonne volonté et de finances qu'il reste dans l'électorat chrétien, tout en donnant une mauvaise réputation à l'excellente doctrine sociale de l'Église.

Plutôt que de gaspiller nos efforts à faire vivoter le «Parti Gilles Noël», fondons plutôt un nouveau parti politique catholique!

 


Logo du Parti de la démocratie chrétienne du Québec

6) Annexe: Mes «démêlés» avec le Parti DCQ

Comme je m'intéresse beaucoup à la politique et au christianisme, j'ai bien entendu été rapidement attiré par un parti qui se prétend fondé sur la doctrine sociale de l'Église. Sauf que, comme un rat de laboratoire qui ne fait que recevoir des chocs électriques à chaque fois qu'il pousse sur le bouton rouge, toutes les fois où j'ai tenté de m'impliquer avec le Parti DCQ, j'ai été «électrocuté»!

6.1) Vers 2004, j'ai découvert le Parti DCQ. J'ai été fouiller sur leur site web, afin de trouver leur programme électoral. Comme il n'y était pas, j'ai envoyé un courriel. J'ai cru comprendre de la réponse évasive de M. Gilles Noël que le programme n'était pas encore sur le site. J'ai donc envoyé un chèque de 15$ pour couvrir les frais postaux, et j'ai demandé qu'on m'envoie la copie papier du programme électoral. J'ai reçu à la place ma carte de membre du parti! J'ai renvoyé une lettre demandant de me radier de la liste des membres, et de m'envoyer à la place le programme électoral. Je n'ai pas eu de réponse. De temps en temps, je reçois encore des lettres me disant que je dois payer pour renouveler ma carte de membre!

6.2) Vers 2005, j'ai rencontré une personne qui m'a vendu son livre (publié à frais d'auteur), dont le sujet est difficile à décrire. Enfin, ce livre parlait de la Vierge Marie, des dinosaures, des missiles nucléaires soviétiques, etc. Ce livre a été un choc pour moi; c'était la première fois que je lisais un livre aussi peu scientifique. Les américains, pour décrire ce genre d'auteur, disent qu'il porte un «petit casque en papier d'aluminium»! Cela étant dit, j'ai par la suite appris que cette personne était à ce moment-là très haut placé dans le Parti DCQ.

6.3) Le 3 avril 2006, j'ai été au Cégep F.-X. Garneau ici à Québec pour voir une présentation du Parti DCQ. Oublions les cafouillages techniques, mais lorsque M. Gilles Noël a pris la parole et qu'il a commencé à (selon moi) enguirlander les jeunes, disons que je me suis fait tout petit sur ma chaise. J'ai eu une très nette impression subjective, l'impression d'un parti fasciste paléo-catholique. (Attention! Je n'accuse pas les intentions de qui que ce soit; je parle de l'image qui a été projetée devant ces jeunes. Je pense que si un journaliste avait pu passer des jeunes en entrevue après cet événement, ils auraient corroboré mes dires.) Je suis parti vers 13h00 en catimini, tant j'avais honte.

6.4) J'ai assisté à la réunion des candidats du Parti DCQ le samedi 8 avril 2006. Cette réunion m'a permis de reconfirmer une fois de plus le point 1 ci-haut, mais aussi de voir clairement pour la première fois les points 2.1, 2.2 et 2.3. À la fin de cette réunion, une résolution a été votée pour m'accepter comme candidat. Pourtant, je n'avais subi aucun examen, aucune évaluation, aucune entrevue, etc. (J'ai demandé 24 heures pour y penser, puis je leur ai envoyé ce texte et refusé leur offre.)

6.5) Le Message du Chef après les élections:

----- Original Message -----
From: "Démocratie Chrétienne Qc"
To: [16 adresses de courriel]
Sent: Tuesday, March 27, 2007 12:09 PM
Subject: Communiqué du Chef du Parti DCQ du 27 mars 2007
ainsi que celui de Mme Denise Jetté Cloutier


Le 27 mars 2007

Merci Denise pour le beau texte ci-dessous que je transmets aux autres
représentants et membres du Parti.
Merci à tous pour cette belle campagne et des efforts que vous avez fait.

Je suis fier de vous.
Le Parti a obtenu 1635 votes soit la moitié des votes obtenus durant la
campagne précédente de 2003. Nos revenus de la DGEQ qui étaient de 200$ par
mois baisseront à 100$ par mois à cause de la baisse des votes obtenus des
électeurs.

En 1998, j'avais dans mon compte de banque 38 000 $.
En 2007, j'ai accumulé une dette de 65 000 $ avec une incapacité de payer
cela avec mon salaire de professeur et la pension alimentaire que je dois
encore payer pour deux de mes trois enfants.

J'ai prêté un autre 10 000 $ au Parti pour financer la campagne électorale
de 2007 et je suis maintenant acculé à la faillite.
C'est là une réalité que nous devons maintenant faire face.

Si Dieu le veut, je me sortirai de la faillite, sinon que sa Sainte
Volonté soit faite.

Le site internet continuera à fonctionner mais ce sera la seule chose que
nous tiendrons en vie du Parti.

À partir d'aujourd'hui:

1- J'annonce que je cesse de financer toute activité pour le Parti.

2- Je rembourserai 3000 $ par année pendant 8 ans pour rembourser la dette
du Parti

3- Je n'attend plus rien des membres car ils ont fait leur part et ils ont
quitté le bateau à chaque année car ils n'y croyaient plus. La perte de 50
membres l'année passée a fait diminuer les contributions de 10 000$ et
c'est cela qui a entraîné le déficit de l'an passé puisque les dépenses
étaient demeurées les mêmes.

4- Nous avions 35 candidat(e)s au départ et nous avons finis avec 12 qui
ont persévéré jusqu'au bout. Je ne blâme pas les 23 qui ont quitté mais cela
démontre à quel point était grande leur démotivation.

5- Je pourrais démissionner comme Chef du Parti mais il faudrait
déclencher un congrès à la chefferie qui coûterait pas loin de 10 000$
si on suivait les instructions données dans la Constitution du Parti et
je n'ai pas le goût d'organiser cela tout seul comme d'habitude, ni les
moyens de payer pour cela car la tenue d'un congrès exige 6 mois d'activités
et de préparation selon la Constitution.

6- Je croyais sincèrement que la Divine Providence nous aiderait dans
cette élection en faisant un miracle pour nous sortir du trou mais telle
n'était pas la Volonté de Dieu.

Lorsqu'un oeuvre n'est pas de Dieu, elle tombe et c'est ce qui nous arrive!

Malgré tout, je ne regrette rien car il fallait le faire même si on arrive
au bout à un échec total.

Que Dieu nous bénisse tous !
Gilles Noël
Chef du Parti DCQ

P. S. Le site internet a été renouvelé le 26 mars et contient les derniers
reportages de Radio-Canada sur le Parti.

 

6.6) Ma réaction à ce courriel:

>> Le Parti a obtenu 1635 votes

Moins que le «Bloc Pot»! Quand les fumeurs de marijuana ont
plus de votes que la Démocratie chrétienne, il faut se
poser des questions!


>> En 2007, j'ai accumulé une dette de 65 000 $ avec une
>> incapacité de payer cela [...] J'ai prêté un autre 10 000 $ au
>> Parti [...] et je suis maintenant acculé à la faillite.

OK, alors vous avez prouvé que vous étiez incapable de gérer un
budget. Est-ce que cela fait de vous le Chef dont le Québec
a besoin?


>> Le site internet continuera à fonctionner mais ce sera
>> la seule chose que nous tiendrons en vie du Parti.

Et bien sûr, seul Gilles Noël peut modifier ce site!

Durant la campagne électorale, nous avons fait des pieds et
des mains pour que la liste des candidats DCQ, et leurs
coordonnées, apparaissent sur le site web officiel.

Pour une raison «noëllienne», cette liste n'a jamais été affichée.
J'ai eu des téléphones de gens frustrés qui avaient fouillé sur le
site officiel, sans jamais trouver cette liste. Je me suis
moi-même battu (par courriel) avec M. Noël pendant deux jours
pour tenter de conserver la liste que j'avais affichée sur le
site web de mon candidat, M. Francis Denis. Apparemment, cela
menaçait la mainmise du Chef!


>> [Les membres] ont quitté le bateau à chaque année car ils
>> n'y croyaient plus.

Croyaient plus en quoi? Ils ne croyaient plus en l'excellente
doctrine sociale de l'Église, ou au «Parti Gilles Noël»?


>> Je pourrais démissionner comme Chef du Parti mais [...]

Ah! Voici la partie la plus importante de ce courriel. Le Parti
s'en va au Diable, tous les indices pointent vers le Chef comme
grand responsable de cette débandade, et qu'elle est la réaction
du Chef?

	«Je pourrais démissionner, mais j'ai tellement mal géré
	notre budget que nous n'avons pas les moyens de respecter
	le processus de changement de Chef que j'ai moi-même écrit
	dans la Constitution.»

Est-ce que j'avais recommandé de reprendre le contrôle des finances
et de simplifier la structure du Parti? Hum...


>> Je croyais sincèrement que la Divine Providence nous aiderait dans
>> cette élection en faisant un miracle

Un des stéréotypes négatifs qui circulent contre les politiciens
chrétiens est qu'ils tentent de compenser leur incompétence politique
par des croyances superstitieuses et des «miracles».

Pas de quoi changer ces stéréotypes...


>> Lorsqu'une oeuvre n'est pas de Dieu, elle tombe

Pourquoi le mot «oeuvre»? Pourquoi pas le mot «Chef»? Il n'y a rien
de mauvais à l'idée d'avoir un bon parti politique catholique au Québec.

| Accueil >> Politique