| Home >> Politics

The World Needs A New Catholic Political Party

John William Waterhouse. The Decameron.
I didn't choose, but I took the prettiest political party!
(John William Waterhouse. The Decameron. Source)

1) Introduction

Life is beautiful, democratic life is beautiful too, and a really good Catholic democracy is the prettiest!

But in the Province of Quebec these days, there is no good Catholic political party. It's a disastrous shortcoming, which must be fixed! The Province of Quebec needs a new Catholic political party.

Actually, if I look at the other Canadian provinces, or Canada as a whole (federal level), or the United States of America, or Europe, etc., I don't really see the kind of political party that we greatly need. So it's not just the Province of Quebec that needs this, its the whole World!

2) The basic orientation of this new party

2.1) What basic orientation should we give to this new party? Let's think about it. A good political party must propose the best solutions to the worst problems. But, what is currently the worst problem?

To find out, we must think about the nature of all societies. What is one of the corner stones of a civilized society? Human rights! Think about it: What's the use of having well-paved roads, without potholes, if the police can arrest you for no reason? What's the use of eliminating waiting lines in hospital emergency wards, if your neighbors can kidnap your children and steal your car? What's the use of eliminating greenhouse gases, if you have no rights?

Now, given human rights are fundamental, which is the most fundamental human right? For example, what is the first thing you need, if you want to have a citizen who has a right to education, a right to clean drinking water, and a right to freedom of expression? A citizen, of course! (If that citizen has been killed, there's not much use giving him all the other rights!) Therefore, the most fundamental right is the right to life. And since human rights are already the most fundamental things in any society, we can say that the right to life is doubly fundamental: it is fundamentally fundamental.

But currently in Canada (and therefore in Quebec), anybody can kill any pre-born child for any reason, from conception to childbirth. We live in a barbaric country where the right to life is violated. Now that is a problem that should have a good chance of winnning the "Worst Political Problem Of Our Times" contest!

2.2) Now, what is the fundamental solution? By and large, our political problems are not caused by a lack of information. We know polluting the environment is bad. We know accumulating debts for our grandchildren so we can live above our means is bad. We know killing babies in the mother's womb is bad. What is missing is the courage of enduring pain now, in order to reap huge improvements in the future. Another way of saying the same thing is the witty remark attributed to John Kenneth Galbraith: "Politics is not the art of the possible. It consists of choosing between the disastrous and the unpalatable."

The fundamental solution must be something that will give us this courage to make the necessary sacrifices. And ultimately, that courage can only have one source: a Christian charity that won't back away from sacrifices, even martyrdom. Only a Catholic democracy can solve our worst problems.

Furthermore, the capacity to accept suffering for the sake of goodness, truth and justice is an essential criterion of humanity, because if my own well-being and safety are ultimately more important than truth and justice, then the power of the stronger prevails, then violence and untruth reign supreme. Truth and justice must stand above my comfort and physical well-being, or else my life itself becomes a lie.
[Spe salvi, #38]

3) A few major themes of this party

To the basic orientation of life in Christ would be grafted life-giving policies in all other dimensions of life.

3.1) Pro spiritual life. Christ must reign, even in Politics!

3.2) Pro pre-born life. If babies, who are most beautiful, most innocent and most vulnerable of God's creatures, don't have a right to life, there is no hope for our society.

3.3) Pro family life. The family is the cradle of life, the sanctuary of love, the school of virtue and the fundamental cell of society. Moreover, the life-long and exclusive marriage between one heman and one woman is the foundation of the family. For the good of the country, we must repel all attacks against the family, whether it's divorce, unmarried cohabitation, the legal glorification of unnatural acts, work on Sundays, kennels for kids (State day-care centers), bad feminism, etc.

3.4) Pro intellectual life. Moral virtue is really nice, but we also need a bit of brains! To be peaceful and prosperous, a country needs citizens who seek wisdom, who know how to avoid the most popular errors these days, and who love to work intellectually, etc.

3.5) Pro civil life. Our nation has the right to exist and to make its language and culture live. Our basic civil rights must be defended against numerous attacks. First, a perverse notion of "multiculturalism" is killing our freedom to be ourselves. Second, the spread of Islam is killing the Western world. Third, our own governments are showing a disturbing desire to kill some of our basic civil liberties. (But keep in mind the many ills of suicidal "multiculturalism", islamisation, excessive government, the demographic decline, etc., are but illnesses which are contracted by a body that is already terribly sickened by its consumption of poisoned spiritual and moral teachings.)

3.6) Pro democratic life. Never in the history of mankind have we had so many material means to encourage democracy (e-mail, web sites, discussion forums, electronic votes, etc.). Nevertheless, so many things seem to get decided without us! Not surprizing that so many voters are cynical! I myself have been involved in several parties, and I've just about never been consulted on the development of the positions of those parties! But it would be so easy to set up a venue for political discussions, to organize real debates, to build a web site democratically, to set up an electronic voting system for policies, to make the parliamentary system more participative and representative, etc.!

3.7) Pro economic life. Money isn't God, but we need a minimum of economic prosperity. Citizens must be weaned from the welfare State. They must also learn that material wealth depends first of all on moral virtue. They must learn basic notions of Economics, they must also have the freedom of economic initiative, etc.

3.8) Pro environmental life. Fortunately, some themes are already accepted by all in our society, like the necessity of protecting the environment. On the other hand, citizens must learn to expose the vacuous green speeches which don't give results. Moreover, some right-wing Christians need to learn more about climate change, etc.

Etc., etc... (A good overview of all this can be found in the social doctrine of the Catholic Church).

4) Answers to a few initial objections

Of course, this short article isn't the venue to have all the necessary debates for the development of a new electoral platform! On the other hand, we must discuss the objections which tend to prevent these necessary debates.

4.1) "Such a party already exists!" Great! Sign me up! Unfortunately, as far as I know (as of March 2016), such a party doesn't already exist. In the Province of Quebec, there used to be one, but it was blighted with shortcomings and unsalvageble. In Canada, the CHP continues to do wonderful work to bring Biblical principles into politics, and I'll remain a member until something better comes along. Finally and ideally, all parties would be Christian! So there is nothing wrong with having several!

4.2) "We don't have any money!" First, we do have money (volunteers donate time, and time is money! And many volunteers willing to donate lots of time is probably the most essential resource for success). Second, we don't need much to start. The Internet has changed many things. Members can communicate, read the Party's documents, vote on new policies, and all that almost for free and instantaneously. (Worst-case scenario is that an "All-Internet/Paperless" party will encourage people to learn how to work with a computer, which is an advantage!) Third, I've personally seen many projects fail miserably, not for lack of good intentions, but because of financial mis-management (greed, lack of transparency, accounting incompetence, etc.). I personally prefer starting out with no budget; it's a great way to filter out people with unrectified intentions.

4.3) "We don't have any members!" First, the need is there. If we build it, they will come. Second, objections of the type "We're too small few to have any influence" have already been answered, among others here: Surfing The Wave, Or Making One's Wave?.

4.4) "You're mixing politics and religion!" No, you're the one confusing Islam and Catholicism! The policies of this new political party can all be demonstrated rationally. See among others What is The "Social Kingship" Of Christ?

4.5) "I don't like the name of your new party!" First, we don't have an official name yet! So rest a bit before manning the barricades! Second, and seriously, when the time comes, we'll vote to chose the name. The result will probably not please everybody, but such is life in a democracy! Third, for whatever reason, many people seem to attach a disordinate amount of importance to a party's name, while simultaneously not worrying very much about its specific policies! Let's focus on the contents, and not the container!

4.6) "How come "Catholic"? I'm a Protestant, and it's out of the question for me to adore idols like the Virgin Mary!" First, relax. As explained in #4.4 here above, our policies are based on reason. Second, as mentioned in Immortale Dei, #7, the State must give due honor to God, in the way God Himself specifies. Third, if you really want to argue about the Virgin Mary, please see Mariolatry, Or Mariophobia?)

4.7) "Why not start by gathering people around a common concern, like the environment, instead of something controversial like abortion?" First, we have to respect the environment because we have to respect human dignity. If an innocent human person doesn't have the right to life, then nothing is forbidden. Even the word "environment" alludes to the central position of man! Second, we have a huge and serious problem in our society: some citizens can kill other innocent citizens if they feel like it. Now, if we say: "Hum, that problem is urgent and critical, but it causes negative feelings. So let us put reason aside, and instead focus on problems that give us positive feelings." If you start by abandoning reason, in order to pursue pleasant feelings, you've already ruined all hope of finding solutions. If you start by closing the light so you can't see a mess, you won't be able to see anything else!

6) Conclusion

What should we do now? I would think a reasonable next step would be to all collaborate to write a good electoral platform for this new provincial party in Quebec. And again in my opinion, such a platform should first of all be based on a good generic Catholic electoral platform. The next step would therefore be:

Why Not A "Generic" Catholic Election Platform?

| Home >> Politics

| Accueil >> Politique

Le Monde a besoin d'un nouveau parti politique catholique

John William Waterhouse. Le Décaméron.
J'ai pas choisi, mais j'ai pris la plus belle option politique!
(John William Waterhouse. Le Décaméron. Source)

1) Introduction

La vie est belle, la vie démocratique est belle aussi, et une vraie bonne démocratie catholique est la plus belle!

Or, au Québec de nos jours, il n'y a pas de bon parti politique catholique. C'est une lacune désastreuse, à laquelle il faut absolument remédier! Le Québec a besoin d'un nouveau parti politique catholique.

En fait, si je regarde les autres provinces canadiennes, ou le Canada (niveau fédéral), ou les États-Unis d'Amérique, ou l'Europe, etc., je ne vois pas vraiment de parti politique comme celui dont nous avons grandement besoin. Alors ce n'est pas seulement la province de Québec qui en a besoin, c'est tout le Monde!

2) L'orientation fondamentale de ce nouveau parti

2.1) Quelle orientation fondamentale donner à ce parti? Réfléchissons. Un bon parti politique doit proposer les meilleures solutions aux pires problèmes. Or, quel est le pire problème en ce moment?

Pour le savoir, il faut réfléchir à la nature de toute société. Quelle est une des pierres d'angle d'une société civilisée? Les droits de l'homme! Pensez-y: À quoi sert-il d'avoir de belles routes bien asphaltées, sans nids de poule, si la police peut vous arrêter sans raison? À quoi sert-il d'éliminer les files d'attente dans les urgences des hôpitaux, si vos voisins peuvent kidnapper vos enfants et voler votre voiture? À quoi sert-il d'éliminer les gaz à effet de serre, si vous n'avez pas de droits?

Maintenant, étant donné que les droits de l'homme sont fondamentaux, quel est le droit le plus fondamental? Par exemple, quelle est la première chose dont vous avez besoin, si vous voulez avoir un citoyen qui a le droit à l'éducation, le droit à l'eau potable, et le droit à la liberté d'expression? Un citoyen, bien sûr! (Si ce citoyen s'est fait tuer, il ne sert à rien de lui donner tous les autres droits!) Donc, le droit le plus fondamental est le droit à la vie. Et puisque les droits de l'homme sont les choses les plus fondamentales dans n'importe quelle société, nous pouvons dire que le droit à la vie est doublement fondamental: il est fondamentalement fondamental.

Or, en ce moment, au Canada (et donc au Québec), n'importe qui peut tuer n'importe quel enfant à naître pour n'importe quelle raison, de la conception à l'accouchement. Nous vivons dans un pays barbare où le droit à la vie est bafoué. Voilà donc un problème qui devrait avoir de bonnes chances de gagner le concours du «Pire problème politique de notre temps»!

2.2) Quelle est la solution fondamentale? En gros, nos problèmes politiques ne sont pas causés par un manque d'information. Nous savons que polluer l'environnement est mauvais. Nous savons qu'endetter nos petits-enfants en vivant au-dessus de nos moyens est mauvais. Nous savons que tuer les bébés dans le ventre de leur mère est mauvais. Ce qui manque, c'est le courage de souffrir maintenant, afin de récolter d'énormes améliorations dans l'avenir. Une autre manière de dire la même chose est la remarque astucieuse attribuée à John Kenneth Galbraith: «La politique n'est pas l'art du possible. Elle consiste à choisir entre le désastreux, et le répugnant».

La solution fondamentale doit être quelque chose qui va nous donner ce courage de faire les sacrifices nécessaires. Et ultimement, ce courage ne peut avoir qu'une seule source: la charité chrétienne qui ne recule pas devant les sacrifices, même le martyr. Seule la démocratie catholique peut régler nos problèmes les plus graves.

la capacité d'accepter la souffrance par amour du bien, de la vérité et de la justice est constitutive de la mesure de l'humanité, parce que si, en définitive, mon bien-être, mon intégrité sont plus importants que la vérité et la justice, alors la domination du plus fort l'emporte; alors règnent la violence et le mensonge. La vérité et la justice doivent être au-dessus de mon confort et de mon intégrité physique, autrement ma vie elle-même devient mensonge.
[Spe salvi, No. 38]

3) Quelques grands thèmes de ce parti

À l'orientation fondamentale de la vie dans le Christ, viendraient se greffer des politiques vivifiantes dans toutes les autres dimensions de la vie.

3.1) Pro vie spirituelle. Le Christ doit régner, même en politique!

3.2) Pro vie des enfants à naître. Si les bébés, qui sont les créatures du bon Dieu les plus belles, les plus innocentes et les plus vulnérables, n'ont pas le droit à la vie, il n'y a aucun espoir pour notre société.

3.3) Pro vie familiale. La famille est le berceau de la vie, le sanctuaire de l'amour, l'école de la vertu et la cellule fondamentale de la société. De plus, le mariage indissoluble et exclusif entre un vir et une femme est le fondement de la famille. Pour le bien du pays, nous devons repousser toutes les attaques contre la famille, que ce soit le divorce, le concubinage, la glorification juridique des actes contre nature, le travail le dimanche, les chenils pour enfants (les garderies d'État), le mauvais féminisme, etc.

3.4) Pro vie intellectuelle. C'est bien beau la vertu morale, mais il faut avoir un peu de «cocologie»! Pour être pacifique et prospère, un pays a besoin de citoyens qui recherchent la sagesse, qui savent éviter les erreurs les plus populaires de nos jours, et qui aiment travailler intellectuellement, etc.

3.5) Pro vie civile. Notre nation a le droit d'exister et de faire vivre sa langue et sa culture. Nos droits civils fondamentaux doivent être défendus contre de nombreuses attaques. Primo, une conception perverse du «multiculturalisme» est en train de tuer notre liberté d'être nous-mêmes. Secundo, la diffusion de l'islam est en train de tuer l'Occident. Tertio, nos propres gouvernements manifestent une inquiétante propension à tuer certaines de nos libertés civiles. (Mais gardez en tête que les nombreux maux du suicide «multiculturaliste», de l'islamisation, du gouvernement excessif, du déclin démographique, etc., ne sont que des maladies qui sont attrapées par un corps qui est déjà terriblement affaibli par sa consommation d'enseignements spirituels et moraux empoisonnés.)

3.6) Pro vie démocratique. Jamais dans l'histoire de l'humanité avons-nous eu autant de moyens matériels pour encourager la démocratie (courriels, sites web, forums de discussion, votes électroniques, etc.). Et pourtant, tant de choses semblent se décider sans nous! Pas surprenant que tant d'électeurs soient cyniques! Moi-même j'ai milité dans plusieurs partis, et je n'ai à peu près jamais été consulté sur les prises de position de ces partis! Et pourtant, il serait si facile d'établir un lieu de discussion politique, d'organiser de vrais débats, de construire démocratiquement un site web, d'instaurer un mécanisme de vote électronique sur les politiques, de rendre le système parlementaire plus participatif et représentatif, etc.!

3.7) Pro vie économique. L'argent n'est pas Dieu, mais il faut un minimum de prospérité économique. Les citoyens doivent être sevrés de l'État-providence. Ils doivent aussi apprendre que la richesse matérielle dépend fondamentalement de la vertu morale. Ils doivent acquérir des notions de base en économie, ils doivent avoir la liberté de l'initiative économique, etc.

3.8) Pro vie environnementale. Heureusement, certains thèmes font déjà l'unanimité dans notre société, comme la nécessité de protéger l'environement. Par contre, les citoyens doivent apprendre à démasquer les beaux discours verts qui ne mènent à rien. De plus, certains chrétiens de droite ont besoin d'en apprendre plus sur les changements climatiques, etc.

Etc., etc... (Un bon survol de tout ceci peut être trouvé dans la doctrine sociale de l'Église catholique).

4) Réponse à quelques objections initiales

Bien sûr, ce bref article n'est pas le lieu pour avoir tous les débats nécessaires au développement d'un nouveau programme électoral! Par contre, nous devons aborder les objections qui tendent à empêcher ces débats nécessaires.

4.1) «Un tel parti existe déjà!» Merveilleux! Où dois-je signer pour devenir membre? Malheureusement, à ma connaissance (j'écris ceci en mars 2016), un tel parti n'existe pas déjà. Dans la province de Québec, il y a déjà eu le Parti de la Démocratie chrétienne du Québec, mais il était criblé de défauts et irrécupérable. Au Canada, le PHC (CHP en anglais) continue de faire un travail merveilleux pour amener en politique les principes bibliques, et je vais continuer à en être membre jusqu'à temps que quelque chose de mieux apparaisse. Finalement et idéalement, tous les partis seraient chrétiens! Alors rien de mal à en avoir plusieurs!

4.2) «Nous n'avons pas d'argent!» Primo, nous avons de l'argent (les bénévoles donnent du temps, et le temps, c'est de l'argent! Et beaucoup de bénévoles qui sont prêts à donner beaucoup de temps est probablement la ressource la plus essentielle au succès). Secundo, pas besoin de beaucoup d'argent au début. L'Internet a changé beaucoup de choses. Les membres peuvent communiquer, lire les documents du Parti, voter sur les nouvelles politiques, et tout ça quasi-gratuitement et instantanément. (Au pire, un parti «tout-Internet/sans-papier» va encourager les gens à apprendre à se débrouiller avec un ordinateur, ce qui est un avantage!) Tertio, j'ai personnellement vu plusieurs projets échouer misérablement, non pas par manque de bonnes intentions, mais par incurie financière (avarice, manque de transparence, incompétence comptable, etc.). Je préfère personnellement commencer sans budget; c'est une excellente manière de filtrer les gens avec des intentions non-rectifiées.

4.3) «Nous n'avons pas de membres!» Primo, le besoin est là. Si nous «offrons un bon produit», les gens vont venir. Secundo, les objections du genre «Nous sommes trop peu nombreux pour avoir de l'influence» ont déjà été résolues, entre autres ici: Surfer sur la vague, ou faire sa vague?.

4.4) «Vous mélangez la politique et la religion!» Non, c'est vous qui confondez l'islam et le catholicisme! Les politiques de ce nouveau parti sont toutes démontrables rationnellement. Voir entre autres Qu'est-ce que la «Royauté sociale» du Christ?

4.5) «Je n'aime pas le nom de votre nouveau parti!» Primo, nous n'avons pas encore officiellement de nom! Alors attendez un peu avant de grimper dans les rideaux! Secundo, et sérieusement, le temps venu, nous aurons un vote pour choisir le nom. Fort probablement que le résultat de ce vote ne plaira pas à tous, mais c'est la vie en démocratie! Tertio, pour une raison quelconque, plusieurs personnes obsèdent sur le nom, tout en ne s'inquiétant pas des politiques spécifiques! Concentrons nos efforts sur le contenu, pas le contenant!

4.6) «Comment ça, "Catholique"? Je suis Protestant, et pas question pour moi d'adorer des idoles comme la Vierge Marie!» Primo, détendez-vous. Comme expliqué au No. 4.4 ci-haut, nos politiques sont fondées sur la raison. Secundo, tel que cité dans Immortale Dei, No. 7, l'État doit rendre un culte à Dieu, de la manière spécifiée par Dieu Lui-même. Tertio, si vraiment vous voulez vous chamailler à propos de la Vierge Marie, SVP voir Mariolâtrie, ou mariophobie?)

4.7) «Pourquoi ne pas commencer en rassemblant les gens autour d'une préoccupation commune, comme l'environnement, plutôt que quelque chose de controversé comme l'avortement?» Primo, il faut respecter l'environnement parce qu'il faut respecter la dignité humaine. Si la personne humaine innocente n'a pas droit à la vie, tout est permis. Même le mot «environnement» fait allusion à la position centrale de l'homme! Secundo, nous avons un problème immense et sérieux dans notre société: certains citoyens peuvent tuer d'autres citoyens innocents s'ils en ont envie. Maintenant, si on dit: «Hum, ce problème est urgent et grave, mais il cause des émotions négatives. Alors mettons de côté la raison, et à la place concentrons-nous sur des problèmes qui nous donnent des émotions positives». Si vous commencez par abandonner la raison, afin de poursuivre les émotions plaisantes, vous avez déjà ruiné tout espoir de trouver des solutions! Si vous commencez en fermant la lumière, afin de ne pas voir un dégât, vous ne pourrez pas voir le reste!

6) Conclusion

Que faire maintenant? Il me semble qu'une prochaine étape raisonnable est de tous collaborer pour écrire un bon programme électoral pour ce nouveau parti provincial du Québec. Et toujours selon moi, un tel programme devrait d'abord être fondé sur un bon programme électoral catholique générique. La prochaine étape serait donc:

Pourquoi pas un Programme électoral catholique «générique»?

| Accueil >> Politique