| Home >> Lost Sermons

Judas Is In Hell!

Judas Is In Hell!

1) Introduction

Father Guy Pagès has done Christendom a service by publishing this essay on the existence, rationale and population of Hell. Indeed, why work out your own salvation "in fear and trembling" [Ph 2:12], if Hell doesn't exist? "If faith in the existence of Hell is the other side of the coin giving access to Paradise, then where the other side is missing, the coin itself is also missing" (p. 15) Moreover, "if even Judas is in Paradise, then who won't be? Don't worry so much about your salvation! Continue to sin, my dear friends, the devil will take care of everything!" (p. 16)

I'm sorry for the many shortcomings of this summary. Among others, there is a wealth of quotes from the Magisterium, the Church Fathers and the saints in this 220 page book, which I simply cannot compress into my short article. Also, in my opinion, the book has a few imperfections, but I imagine they'll disappear in a second edition.

2) Critique of the thought of Hans Urs von Balthasar

Septimus Edwin Scott. Ballet.
"Watch me dance on the line between heresy and Catholicism!"
(Septimus Edwin Scott. Ballet. [Source])

Balthasar (1905-1988), Swiss Priest and theologian, almost became a cardinal under John Paul II. He is considered by many as one of the great theologians of the XXth Century. Father Pagès scrutinizes two of this last books, Hope For All and Hell, A Question. Many passages of those books "dance on the line" between the Catholic Faith and heresy. Balthasar would really like Hell not to exist, or at least for it to be empty, or "empty-able"!

Is Balthasar a heretic? I haven't read his books, and I'm not the Pope. On the other hand, while reading Father Pagès' careful analysis, I can't help think about all those maddening theologians I've studied. Maddening because they're always ready to call themselves "Catholics", always too busy to list the Magisterium's declarations which contradict them, always filled with nice fashionable feelings (which just happen to be opposed to the truth of Faith which bothers them), never ashamed to quote the Bible selectively, and especially, always very confortable in a tutu and ballet slippers, when comes time to be on one side and/or on the other side of the line, at the same time and in the same respect!

Basically, Balthasar doesn't like the distinction between objective Redemption, and subjective Redemption. Let's take a metaphor. A boat is sinking in the middle of the ocean, and all passengers will therefore drown. They are doomed. Then, a good lifeboat arrives, solid, comfortable and big enough for all. Bingo, all passengers can avoid death! It's "objective Redemption". But each passenger must then want to climb on board the lifeboat ("subjective Redemption"). A passenger who freely refuses to get on will drown, even if the lifeboat is there, right in front of him.

Because of this distinction, you can find in the Bible two kinds of passages on Salvation, those that talk of "all" men (objective Redemption, [Tt 2:11; 1Tm 2:1; Jn 12:32; Rm 5:18; etc.]), and those that say "some, not all" (subjective Redemption, [Mt 22:14; Mt 13:49-50; etc.]).

Was Balthasar contaminated with the popular philosphical error of pragmatism? In any case, he seems to distrust knowledge (especially that of Saint Augustin, Saint Thomas Aquinas and the Magisterium), and seems to grant a lot of importance to his own goodness and his emotions of compassion for the damned. Moreover, does Balthasar really realize that since Faith comes from God, who cannot deceive or be deceived, if a single part of the Catholic Faith is false, then the whole Catholic Faith is false?

I won't go into more details about Father Pagès' solid critique of Balthasar. (You can also read a similar critique of Balthasar made by Fr. Regis Scanlon, OFM Cap., called The Inflated Reputation of Hans Urs von Balthasar). Remember at least that this Balthasar isn't the Word of God, and that the Word of God contradicts this Balthasar. (Insofar as he stops dancing!)

3) A few considerations on Hell

"Divine life (to which we are called and for which we have been created) is not the necessary extension of our earthly existence. It's not our due... We are not God!" (p. 71)

"Dogmatic development will better and better show that the hope of a retribution, a reward, is the act of an authentically supernatural and theologal virtue, and that, even in a perfect Christian, there is still a legitimate place not only for the desire for Heaven but also for the fear of Hell." (p. 73, "Pass the time of your sojourning here in fear" [1P 1:17])

"Neither the religions of Paganism, nor mythologies, nor philosophies" have known the existence of Hell. "Even in Christianity, all attempts to rationalize the dogma have ended up denying it. Unable to discover Hell, reason cannot understand it. We only know the existence of Hell through Revelation. That God has created not only the larger part of men, but even a single one of them knowing he will damn himself, is a profound mystery - which must not make us doubt God's absolute goodness, but only lead us to recognize the gravity, the seriousness, the reality of His love for all", and the reality of our freedom. (p. 75)

"Hell is sin unatoned and unatonable in the other life. The efficient cause, loosely speaking, which has produced the state of things which requires Hell, is the sinner through his sin and him only... Sin is the disregard and the rejection of God and His law of love (Natural Law of which the Ten Commandments are an overview, and the Gospel which is its perfection), the rejection of infinite Love giving Itself to us." (p. 84)

"While the Elect endlessly rejoice in being the happy recipients of an undeserved mercy, the damned, who didn't care for it, eternally lament themselves of being justly deprived of it. Thus the Scriptures are fulfilled: "The fear of the wicked shall come upon him; but the desire of the righteous shall be granted". [Pr 10:24]" (p. 87)

"We must understand that Hell is not something like Paradise, like blueberry ice cream is similar to chocolate ice cream. As is true of all negative realities, Hell doesn't have being in itself: it is the loss of Paradise! What is something is Paradise. Hell only exists since the father of Lies succeeded in convincing us that just as we can legitimately choose between blueberry ice cream and chocolate ice cream, we can choose just as legitimately between Paradise and Hell... Except, choosing Hell is choosing not to choose Paradise! Fatal error!... Nothing else! Whence the weeping spoken of by Jesus, about the permanent loss of the only infinitely valuable good, and the gnashing of teeth caused by the rage of having been deceived." (p. 89)

"The principle of the inequality of infernal sufferings is related to the fact Hell follows sin, as the order to be re-established follows the disorder and is obviously proportioned to it. Therefore such a sin: such a Hell! And this whether for the pain of loss [exclusion from the Creator] or for the pain of the senses [for the disordered use of creatures]." (p. 93)

"Since Hell is eternal, praying for the damned is not only vain, but impious. The damned are not unfortunate unhappy people, but enemies of God, filled with the darkest hate, ingratitude, and all the most horrible vices, and all this through their own will! They just have the lot which they themselves wanted in their unjustifiable depravation and their final obstination. The Blessed, like God himself, have for the damned no compassion, since true compassion supposes a curable ill, which in their case is no longer possible. They are only there as eternal witnesses to the graces which God has filled us with and the evil which Christ has delivered us from... To Him be praise and glory, thanksgivings and love, forever and ever! Amen!" (p. 94)

"Men who refuse God and His infinite love see already on earth their existence being transformed little by little into a hell. The limits of their existence deprived of communion with divine Transcendance, like the rings of a snake compressing them, end up choking them..." (p. 94)

"Struggling in the black horror where shines only, at the streetlamp of the burning mind, the name of the sin that caused them to be submerged in such a horror! To find no help in this commotion of mutually hateful and harmful souls, if only in the despair that drives them mad and always more damned. To feed on it, to support oneself with it, to kill oneself with it. Death will feed death, it is said. Despair is dead and will feed these dead for eternity."

"Note that for a damned Christian, the sacramental characters of Baptism, Confirmation and Order remain in him as eternal signs of the heights from which he was, through his fault, thrown down... as the mark of his disgrace, and the proofs of his greater wickedness." (p. 97)

"To understand the reason for the eternity of Hell, for a sin which lasted only an instant, would require to understand what is the infinite evil of sin and the infinite Love of which it is the rejection." (p. 105)

"The small number of the saved in Noah's Ark of Alliance is the figure of the small number of those saved through the waters of Baptism in the Church, and also of the Hebrews who followed Moses through the waters of the Red Sea. Revelation teaches the unvarnished truth that all will not be saved, and even that it will only be the lot of a "remnant" [Mt 7:13; Lc 13:24; Rm 9:27; Rm 11:5; [...] etc.], a "small flock"... "Thus saith YHWH: As the shepherd taketh out of the mouth of the lion two legs, or a piece of an ear; so shall the children of Israel be saved" [Am 3:12] [...] "For many are called, but few are chosen" [Mt 22:14]. "For many walk, of whom I have told you often, and now tell you even weeping, that they are the enemies of the cross of Christ: Whose end is destruction" [Ph 3:18]" (p. 107)

4) Judas is in Hell

There are many modern theologians who canonize Judas, by using techniques even less subtle than those of Balthasar. "Thus, even though Jesus reminds us that "the Scripture cannot be broken" [Jn 10:35], Hans-Joseph Klauck nevertheless feels authorized "not to take at face value the New Testament's narratives"." (p. 122)

To that, Benedict XVI, in his book Jesus of Nazareth, could answer: "The worst books which destroy the figure of Jesus, which demolish Faith, have been written with the supposed results of exegesis. [...] The interpretation of the Bible can effectively become an instrument of the Anti-Christ." (p. 127).

"For an assertion to be recognized of divine and Catholic Faith, it must receive the testimonial of the three sources of Faith which are Scripture, Tradition of the Church and the teaching of its Magisterium." (p. 131)

"A) In Holy Scripture, Jesus has - and three times, formally announced the damnation of Judas. [Jn 6: 70; Mt 26:24; Jn 17:12]" (p. 131)

"B) Tradition of the Church's Faith bears witness to the damnation of Judas. (1) The Church celebrates each Apostle's feast, but She never celebrated Judas'... That proves She has always believed he was not in Heaven. (2) Knowing Judas was not in Heaven, neither did Church ever pray for him to get there... that's the proof She has always believed he wasn't in Purgatory either." (p. 134)

"C) The Church's Magisterium also teaches that Judas is in Hell. Saint Peter, the first Pope, in the exercise of his universal and infallible Magisterium, during the first synod of Bishops gathered by and under his supreme authority, teaches that Judas "has gone to his own place". [Ac 1:25]" (p. 134) Moreover, in three places the Catechism of the Council of Trent (the ordinary Magisterium) says that "Judas has not profited from Redemption and that he has lost his soul" (p. 135)

5) Conclusion

"Because of the false interpretation of which are capable the Church's dogmatic assertions on Hell, it has not been difficult for a spirit of carelessness, of wild presumption, and soon of total unbelief and then impiousness, to develop itself... for the greater harm done to so many souls! How can we not see that we're in a typical case where a change in attitudes calls for an adapted teaching? Today, the opinion of universal salvation is so widespread, even in the Church (think for example of the systematic canonizations during burials!) that only a Magisterial intervention could stem the tide! Aren't most of the definitions born following such crises of orthodoxy, anyway?"

"It's to stop this absolute evil of the damnation of too many souls that, in conformity with the constant teaching of Holy Scripture, of the Fathers of the Church, and of the Magisterium, we ask the supreme Magisterium of the Church to proclaim a new dogma asserting the actual presence of numerous souls in Hell, Judas' among them." (p. 139)

"In our times where more and more persons, contaminated by New-Age, go on a quest for their own Divinity, while others still think that there's nothing after death, and that many Christians (convinced that sin isn't that bad, since God is so good that He'll make sure "we'll all go to Paradise"), live as if God didn't exist, wouldn't the proposed dogmatic definition be a real favor offered to them?" (p. 143)

 


6) Appendix

Correspondence related to this article (mostly from fans of Hans Urs von Balthasar):

Monsieur X8
Monsieur X10

Many more quotes about the large number of souls in Hell referenced here [Irons-nous tous au Paradis?]. (French only).

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Judas est en Enfer!

Judas est en Enfer!

1) Introduction

L'abbé Guy Pagès a rendu service à la Chrétienté en publiant cet essai sur l'existence, la raison d'être et la population de l'Enfer. En effet, pourquoi travailler à accomplir son salut «avec crainte et tremblements» [Ph 2:12], si l'enfer n'existe pas? «Si la foi en l'existence de l'enfer est le revers de la médaille donnant accès au Paradis, là où manque le revers de la médaille, là manque aussi nécessairement la médaille elle-même» (p. 15) De plus, «si même Judas est en Paradis, alors qui n'y sera pas? Il n'y a donc pas tant de soucis à vous faire pour votre salut! Continuez à pécher braves gens, le diable s'occupe de tout!» (p. 16)

Je m'excuse d'avance pour les nombreux défauts de ce résumé. Entre autres, il y a une masse de citations du Magistère, des Pères de l'Église et des saints dans ce livre de 220 pages, que je ne peux tout simplement pas compresser dans mon petit article. De plus, selon moi, ce livre a quelques imperfections, mais j'imagine qu'elles disparaîtront dans une deuxième édition.

2) Critique de la pensée de Hans Urs von Balthasar

Septimus Edwin Scott. Ballet.
«Regardez-moi danser sur la ligne entre l'hérésie et le catholicisme!»
(Septimus Edwin Scott. Ballet. [Source])

Balthasar (1905-1988), prêtre et théologien suisse, a failli devenir cardinal sous Jean-Paul II. Il est considéré par plusieurs comme un des grands théologiens du XXe siècle. L'abbé Pagès examine deux de ses derniers livres, Espérer pour tous et L'enfer une question. De nombreux passages de ces livres «dansent sur la ligne» entre la Foi catholique et l'hérésie. Balthasar aimerait bien que l'enfer n'existe pas, ou du moins qu'il soit vide, ou «vidable»!

Balthasar est-il hérétique? Je n'ai pas lu ses livres, et je ne suis pas le Pape. Par contre, en suivant l'analyse serrée de l'abbé Pagès, je ne peux m'empêcher de penser à tous ces théologiens enrageants que j'ai étudié. Enrageants parce que toujours empressés de se dire «catholiques», toujours trop occupés pour énumérer les déclarations du Magistère qui les contredisent, toujours enflammés de beaux sentiments à la mode (qui, comme par hasard, se heurtent à la vérité de Foi qui les dérange), jamais honteux de citer la Bible de manière sélective, et surtout, toujours très à l'aise en tutu et chaussons de ballet, quand vient le temps d'être d'un côté et/ou de l'autre de la ligne, simultanément et sous le même rapport!

En gros, Balthasar n'aime pas la distinction entre la Rédemption objective, et la Rédemption subjective. Prenons une métaphore. Un bateau est en train de couler en plein milieu de l'océan, et tous les passagers vont donc se noyer. Ils sont tous perdus. Survient une bonne barque de sauvetage, solide, confortable, et assez grande pour tous. Du coup, tous les passagers peuvent éviter la noyade! C'est la «Rédemption objective». Mais chaque passager doit ensuite vouloir embarquer dans la barque («Rédemption subjective»). Un passager qui refuse librement d'embarquer va se noyer, même si la barque est là, devant lui.

À cause de cette distinction, on peut trouver dans la Bible deux sortes de passages sur le salut, ceux qui parlent de «tous» les hommes (Rédemption objective, [Tt 2:11; 1Tm 2:1; Jn 12:32; Rm 5:18; etc.]), et ceux qui disent «certains, pas tous» (Rédemption subjective, [Mt 22:14; Mt 13:49-50; etc.]).

Balthasar a-t-il été contaminé par l'erreur philosophique populaire du pragmatisme? En tout cas, il semble bien se défier du savoir (surtout celui de saint Augustin, de saint Thomas d'Aquin et du Magistère), et semble attribuer beaucoup d'importance à sa propre bonté et ses émotions de compassion pour les damnés. De plus, Balthasar se rend-il vraiment compte que comme la Foi vient de Dieu, qui ne peut tromper ou être trompé, si un seul morceau de la Foi catholique est faux, toute la Foi catholique est fausse?

Je n'entrerai pas plus dans les détails de la solide critique de Balthasar faite par l'abbé Pagès. (Vous pouvez aussi lire une critique similaire de Balthasar faite par Fr. Regis Scanlon, OFM Cap., intituée The Inflated Reputation of Hans Urs von Balthasar, anglais seulement). Souvenez-vous au moins que ce Balthasar n'est pas la Parole de Dieu, et que la Parole de Dieu contredit ce Balthasar. (Pour autant qu'il arrête de danser!)

3) Quelques considérations au sujet de l'enfer

«La vie divine (à laquelle nous sommes appelés et pour laquelle nous avons été créés) n'est pas le prolongement nécessaire de notre existence terrestre. Elle ne nous est pas due... Nous ne sommes pas Dieu!» (p. 71)

«Le développement dogmatique va de mieux en mieux montrer que l'espérance d'une rétribution, d'une récompense, est l'acte d'une vertu authentiquement surnaturelle et théologale, et que, même chez un chrétien parfait, il y a toujours légitimement place non seulement pour le désir du Ciel mais aussi pour la crainte de l'enfer.» (p. 73, «conduisez-vous avec crainte pendant le temps de votre exil» [1P 1:17])

«Ni les religions du paganisme, ni les mythologies, ni les philosophies» n'ont connu l'existence de l'enfer. «Dans le christianisme même, toutes les tentatives de rationalisation du dogme ont abouti à le nier. Impuissante à découvrir l'enfer, la raison ne peut pas le comprendre. Nous ne savons l'existence de l'enfer que par la Révélation. Que Dieu ait créé pas seulement la plus grande partie des hommes, mais même un seul d'entre eux en sachant qu'il se damnera, est un profond mystère - qui ne doit pas nous faire douter de l'absolue bonté de Dieu, mais seulement nous conduire à reconnaître la gravité, le sérieux, la réalité de Son amour pour chacun», et la réalité de notre liberté. (p. 75)

«L'enfer, c'est le péché non expié et non expiable en l'autre vie. La cause efficiente, au sens large, qui a produit l'état de choses qui exige l'enfer, c'est le pécheur par son péché et lui seul... Le péché est le mépris et le rejet de Dieu et de Sa loi d'amour (de la Loi naturelle dont le Décalogue est le résumé, et de l'Évangile qui en est la perfection), le rejet de l'Amour infini se donnant à nous.» (p. 84)

«Tandis que les Élus se réjouissent sans fin d'être les heureux bénéficiaires d'une miséricorde imméritée, les damnés qui n'en ont point voulu se lamentent éternellement d'en être justement privés. Ainsi s'accomplit l'Écriture: «Ce que redoute le méchant lui échoit, tandis que ce que souhaite le juste lui est donné». [Pr 10:24]» (p. 87)

«Il faut bien comprendre que l'enfer n'est pas quelque chose de semblable au Paradis, comme une glace à la myrtille est semblable à une glace au chocolat. Comme cela est vrai de toutes les réalités négatives, l'enfer n'a pas d'être en soi: il est la perte du Paradis! Ce qui est quelque chose, c'est le Paradis. L'enfer n'existe que depuis que le père du Mensonge a réussi à nous persuader que tout aussi vrai que nous pouvons choisir légitimement entre la glace à la myrtille et la glace au chocolat, nous pouvons choisir tout aussi légitimement entre le Paradis et l'enfer... Cependant, choisir l'enfer, c'est choisir de ne pas choisir le Paradis! Erreur fatale! ... Rien d'autre! D'où les pleurs dont parle Jésus sur la perte irrémédiable du seul vrai bien d'une valeur infinie, et les grincements de dents provoqués par la rage de s'être laissé tromper.» (p. 89)

«Le principe de l'inégalité des supplices infernaux tient à ce que l'enfer suit le péché comme l'ordre à rétablir suit le désordre et se mesure évidemment sur lui. Donc tel péché: tel enfer! Cela tant pour la peine du dam [la privation du Créateur] que pour les peines du sens [pour l'usage désordonné de la créature].» (p. 93)

«Puisque l'enfer est éternel, prier pour les damnés est non seulement vain, mais impie. Les damnés ne sont pas de pauvres malheureux, mais des ennemis de Dieu, remplis de la haine la plus noire, de l'ingratitude et de tous les vices les plus affreux, et cela de leur propre volonté! Ils n'ont que le sort qu'ils ont eux-mêmes voulu dans leur dépravation injustifiable et leur obstination finale. Les Bienheureux, comme Dieu lui-même, n'ont pour les damnés aucune compassion, car la vrai compassion suppose un mal guérissable, ce qui dans leur cas n'est plus possible. Ils ne sont là que comme témoins éternels des grâces dont Dieu nous a comblés et du malheur dont le Christ nous a délivrés... À Lui la louange et la gloire, l'action de grâce et l'amour, pour l'éternité! Amen!» (p. 94)

«[Les] hommes qui refusent Dieu et Son amour infini voient déjà sur la terre leur existence se transformer peu à peu en un enfer. Les limites de leur existence privée de la communion à la Transcendance divine, tel les anneaux d'un serpent les serrant sur eux-mêmes, finissent par les étouffer...» (p. 94)

«Se débattre dans l'horreur noire où seul s'illumine, au réverbère de l'esprit brûlant, le nom du péché qui leur a valu d'être plongés dans une telle horreur! Ne trouver aucun appui dans ce remue-ménage d'âmes qui se haïssent et se nuisent mutuellement, si ce n'est dans le désespoir qui les rend folles et toujours plus maudites. S'en nourrir, s'appuyer sur lui, se tuer avec lui. La mort nourrira la mort, est-il dit. Le désespoir est mort et nourrira ces morts pour l'éternité.»

«Notons que pour un chrétien damné, les caractères sacramentels du Baptême, de la Confirmation et de l'Ordre demeurent en lui comme les signes éternels des hauteurs d'où il a été, par sa faute, déchu... comme les marques de son ignominie, et les preuves de sa plus grande scélératesse.» (p. 97)

«Pour comprendre la raison de l'éternité de l'enfer pour un péché qui n'a duré qu'un instant, impliquerait de comprendre ce qu'est la malice infinie du péché et l'Amour infini dont il est le rejet.» (p. 105)

«Le petit nombre de sauvés dans l'Arche de l'Alliance de Noé est la figure du petit nombre de sauvés à travers les eaux du Baptême dans l'Église, comme aussi des Hébreux à la suite de Moïse à travers des eaux de la Mer Rouge. La Révélation enseigne sans fard que tous ne seront pas sauvés, et que cela sera même seulement le sort d'un «reste» [Mt 7:13; Lc 13:24; Rm 9:27; Rm 11:5; [...] etc.], un «petit troupeau»... «Ainsi parle YHWH: Comme un berger sauve de la gueule du lion deux pattes ou un bout d'oreille, ainsi seront sauvés les enfants d'Israël» [Am 3:12] [...] «Beaucoup sont appelés mais peu sont élus» [Mt 22:14]. «Beaucoup, je vous l'ai dit souvent et je vous le redis aujourd'hui avec larmes, se conduisent en ennemis de la Croix du Christ: leur fin sera la perdition!» [Ph 3:18]» (p. 107)

4) Judas est en enfer

Nombreux sont les théologiens modernes qui canonisent Judas, en se servant de techniques encore moins subtiles que celles de Balthasar. «Ainsi, bien que Jésus rappelle que «l'Écriture ne peut être récusée» [Jn 10:35], Hans-Joseph Klauck se croit néanmoins autorisé à ne pas «prendre pour argent comptant les récits du Nouveau Testament».» (p. 122)

À cela, Benoît XVI, dans son livre Jésus de Nazareth, pourrait répondre: «Les pires livres qui détruisent la figure de Jésus, qui démolissent la Foi, ont été écrits avec de prétendus résultats de l'exégèse. [...] L'interprétation de la Bible peut effectivement devenir un instrument de l'Anti-Christ.» (p. 127).

«Pour qu'une affirmation soit reconnue de Foi divine et catholique, elle doit recevoir le témoignage des trois sources de la Foi que sont l'Écriture, la Tradition de l'Église et l'enseignement de son Magistère.» (p. 131)

«A) Dans l'Écriture Sainte, Jésus a - et par trois fois, formellement annoncé la damnation de Judas. [Jn 6:70; Mt 26:24; Jn 17:12]» (p. 131)

«B) La Tradition témoigne de la Foi de l'Église en la damnation de Judas. (1) L'Église célèbre la fête de chaque Apôtre, Elle ne fête pas et n'a jamais fêté celle de Judas... C'est la preuve qu'Elle a toujours cru qu'il n'était pas en Paradis. (2) Sachant que Judas n'était pas en Paradis, l'Église n'a jamais non plus prié pour qu'il y aille... c'est la preuve qu'Elle a toujours cru qu'il n'était pas non plus au Purgatoire.» (p. 134)

«C) Le Magistère de l'Église enseigne aussi que Judas est en enfer. Saint Pierre, le premier Pape, dans l'exercice de son magistère universel et infaillible, lors du premier synode des évêques réunis par et sous son autorité suprême, enseigne que Judas «est allé dans son lieu à lui» [Ac 1:25]» (p. 134) De plus, trois passages du Catéchisme du Concile de Trente (le Magistère ordinaire) disent que «Judas n'a pas profité de la Rédemption et qu'il a perdu son âme» (p. 135)

5) Conclusion

«À cause de l'interprétation fallacieuse à laquelle donnent prise les affirmations dogmatiques de l'Église au sujet de l'enfer, il n'a pas été difficile à un esprit d'insouciance, de folle présomption, et bientôt de totale incrédulité puis d'impiété, de se développer... pour le plus grand tort fait à tant d'âmes! Comment ne pas reconnaître que nous nous trouvons dans un cas typique où un changement de mentalité appelle un enseignement adapté? Aujourd'hui, l'opinion du salut universel s'est répandu à un tel point, même dans l'Église (cf. par exemple les canonisations systématiques lors des enterrements!) que seule une intervention du Magistère paraît pouvoir y faire front! La plupart des définitions ne sont-elle pas d'ailleurs point nées à la suite de telles crises d'orthodoxies?»

«C'est pour stopper ce mal absolu de la damnation de trop d'âmes que, conformément à l'enseignement constant de la Sainte Écriture, des Pères de l'Église, et du Magistère, nous demandons au Magistère suprême de l'Église la proclamation d'un nouveau dogme affirmant la présence actuelle de nombreuses âmes en enfer, dont celle de Judas.» (p. 139)

«En notre temps où de plus en plus de personnes, contaminées par le New-Age, se mettent à la recherche de leur propre Déité, tandis que d'autres pensent encore qu'après la mort il n'y a rien, et que bon nombre de chrétiens, persuadés que le péché n'étant pas si grave - puisque Dieu est si bon qu'Il fera bien en sorte que "l'on ira tous au Paradis", vivent comme si Dieu n'existait pas, est-ce que la définition dogmatique proposée ne serait pas un réel service à leur offrir?» (p. 143)


6) Annexe

Correspondance reliée à cet article (surtout d'admirateurs de Hans Urs von Balthasar):

Monsieur X8
Monsieur X10

Plusieurs autres citations sur le petit nombre des élus référencées ici [Irons-nous tous au Paradis?].

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus