| Home >> Lost Sermons

Opus Dei, And The Cult Of Insignificance

Opus Dei: too secret?
"A member of the Opus Dei? Where? I haven't seen any!"

1) Introduction

"What is the Opus Dei?" This text doesn't try to answer that question, since there are many excellent sources of information available on that topic, starting with their own web site (www.opusdei.org). "What about that Da Vinci Code?" This text doesn't bother with idiotic novels, so please consult The Da Vinci Hoax (OLSON, Carl, MIESEL, Sandra. Ignatius Press, 329 pages) or some equivalent. "Are all those nasty rumors about the Opus Dei really true?" As far as I know, some of them are, and that's what I'm going to talk about here.

2) What I don't condemn about the Opus Dei

There are many things about the Opus Dei which I don't condemn, on the contrary. I sing their praises and I thank the Lord for them!

2.1) Holy Founder. Saint Josémaria Escriva is exactly that: a saint!

2.2) Total faithfulness to the Magisterium. The Opus Dei just teaches what the Catholic Church officially teaches. That might seem obvious, but these days, it's unfortunately quite rare.

2.3) Quality control. I've met or seen members of the Jesuits, Dominicans, Assumptionist Fathers, etc., who were complete heretics. But I've never met an Opus Dei Priest who wasn't fully Catholic. Also, I've heard of at least two persons in Quebec City who were kicked out of the Opus Dei because they rejected some teachings of the Church. Actually, the Opus Dei might be one of the last Catholic organizations in the Province of Quebec with a Quality Control System that is still functional.

2.4) Excellent spiritual direction. I've had four spiritual directors over the years, and except for Father Engelbert Lacasse, S.J., they've all been Opus Dei Priests. It's not their fault if I'm not a better person, since they've all given me excellent advice.

2.5) The nature of their enemies. Some of the dumbest and most corrupt people I know attack the Opus Dei. Whether Abortionists, Beer-swizzlers, Catholic-bashers, Detractors of authority, etc., the whole alphabet of sinners is united in their hatred of the Opus Dei. As Blaise Pascal says for the Catholic Church, the very kind of people who reject Her is also a proof of Her divine origin.

2.6) Faithfulness to the intention of the Founder. Saint Josémaria didn't found a political party, or a union, or a league of defense for the rights of Catholics, etc. Fortunately, the Opus Dei has so far managed to stick to the original spirit of the Founder: helping its members sanctify themselves.

2.7) Real action here, not good intentions elsewhere. Sadly, many "Catholic" organizations these days stridently advocate all kinds of good intentions, but about huge problems far, far away, while simultaneously ignoring real problems right here and now! The Opus Dei concentrates on helping its members pray, go frequently to the Sacraments (especially Confession and the Eucharist), read good spiritual books, humbly follow advice of their spiritual director, and do their daily work as best as they can, in order to sanctify their work, sanctify themselves in their work, and sanctify the people around them at work.

2.8) Good books. Some of the best books I own were written by the Founder or by members of the Opus Dei.

Etc., etc...

3) Some bad things I don't like about the Opus Dei

First, a disclaimer. I haven't conducted a scientific study on the Opus Dei, so perhaps what I've observed applies only to the men's section of the Opus Dei in Quebec City.

My fundamental claim is that some members of the Opus Dei tend to cultivate their own insignificance. Satan twists some good teachings of Saint Josémaria, in an attempt to nullify the good influence of the Opus Dei. This cult of insignificance lets members of the Opus Dei keep a good conscience and apparently follow the teachings of their holy Founder, while simultaneously letting the Devil destroy the Church. Here are what I consider to be indications of this behavior:

3.1) The Catholic Omertŕ. My main inspiration for The Catholic Omertŕ is discussions I had with Opus Dei Priests.

3.2) The image of the Opus Dei trumps the salvation of souls. On several occasions, I discussed the problem of the "Prions en Église" (See paragraph 6.5 of "My Subjective Assessment Of Cardinal Ouellet") with an Opus Dei Priest. He agreed that they contained heresies, that they also promoted heretical books, and that it was awful that they were distributed in all Catholic churches in the Province of Quebec, every Sunday. Would he be willing to write a letter denouncing that? "No, because the following day the Opus Dei would be in all the newspapers." Personally, if I had been in his position, I would have said: "Sure! Who cares about the Opus Dei's corporate image, as long as we do everything we can to protect the lambs of Jesus!" But that Priest just said: "We don't use them, so it's not our problem."

3.3) "The plausibility of our denials is unimpeachable!" ("Cancerman", from the X-Files). Members of the Opus Dei will participate in other associations, as long as they can maintain the plausibility of their denials. If they can't hide in that assocation, they will tend to shun it. For example, I was encouraged to avoid the Christian Heritage Party in favor of a big party like the Liberals or the Conservatives, where I could "work from the inside, like leaven in dough". I replied that all other political parties in Canada support abortion (including the Conservatives), which a Christian cannot endorse in any way, but that didn't seem to matter.

Another example of the excessive importance they grant to "the plausibility of their denials" is this very text. So far, two Opus Dei Priests have talked to me about it, but while being careful to avoid leaving any evidence behind. Phone calls, private meetings, yes. But no e-mails or letters, since "littera scripta manet", written documents are harder to deny.

3.4) Cluelessness about environmental issues. I've never heard of a member of the Opus Dei involved in any kind of environmental advocacy. I was even told bluntly by an Opus Dei Priest that the Church is here to send people to Heaven, so we didn't have to worry about the environment. Of course, I fully agree that Heaven is an infinitely higher priority than saving pandas or beluga whales! But Christ clearly says that in order to get to Heaven, we must give food to the hungry, water to the thirsty, etc. [Mt 25:35]. Destruction of our environment is directly opposed to this! For example, global warming could threaten millions of men with floods, hurricanes and other climate-related disasters. (One of the many indications of this cluelessness is the scorn heaped upon someone showing up for weekday Mass wearing knee-length bermuda shorts. You can almost hear them think: "Firstly, knees are genitals, and secondly, every member of the Opus Dei is rich enough to own a car, so why can't you get an air-conditioned bicycle?")

3.5) Public collective action is discouraged, in favor of individual secret action. Of all the means available to defend the Church, the only one available to the Opus Dei seems to be writing letters to the Editor of the local newspaper. This is encouraged verbally, as well as in Opus Dei books like "In Conversation With God". I once tried to point out the lack of effectiveness of such actions, since it's so easy for an anti-Catholic newspaper to simply throw out those letters. At the minimum, we should at least send a single letter with many signatures, and transform a single letter into a popular and well-known petition! No. Public collective action is specifically discouraged, even (of course) if the Opus Dei is never mentioned. Anyone trying to organize Catholics so as to better defend their rights is poo-poohed, and shrugged off with a "holier than thou" smirk. Why? I don't know, but maybe it would decrease the plausibility of their denials (See #3.3 above).

3.6) Hiding behind Saint Josémaria and the Church. Any member of the Opus Dei will gladly admit that, individually, they are sinners and hence imperfect, but a systematic problem with the Opus Dei is considered impossible. Anybody who says anything negative about the Opus Dei is considered to be attacking the Holy Founder and the Catholic Church. This obviously prevents them from seeing a systematic problem and correcting it, even a systematic problem not related to the excellent teachings of Saint Josémaria and the Magisterium.

Bruce Willis Die Hard 3.
Somehow, between this, and putting paper bags over their heads,
there must be a golden mean for members of the Opus Dei!
(Source)

4) Some minor irritants in the Opus Dei

There are other far less serious problems, which are mostly just annoying:

4.1) The mythical Opus Dei plumber. It is possible to be a member of the Opus Dei without being a university professor or a lawyer. Honest! Well, OK, I'll have to take their word for it!

4.2) Sirupy self-publicity. Over the years, I've received many e-mails, flyers, and word-of-mouth communications from the Opus Dei. Based on a statistical analysis of all this, I've concluded that Copernicus was wrong, and that planet Earth revolves around Saint Josémaria! Seriously, it would be nice to once in a while see the Opus Dei promoting something other than itself.

While arguing with my spiritual director, I tried to give an example of something the Opus Dei could have encouraged in Quebec City: the Life Chain. It's a North American event, for all Christian denominations, approved by well-known Catholic Bishops, etc. I had supplied all the information to the Opus Dei, including flyers for the event. The Priest replied, totally oblivious to the fact he was proving I was right and he was wrong: "Well of course we couldn't promote that event, it wasn't organized by the Opus Dei!"

4.3) "Rich? We're not rich!" I really like the current location of the Opus Dei house in the cushiest part of uptown Quebec City (beautiful, comfortable, well-organized, etc.), but I wonder why they don't have another house in the poorest part of downtown. First, it wouldn't cost much, and second, it would help them remain in contact with reality. (Since I also live uptown, I have the same problem. Recently, I started participating in an unrelated group, but downtown. At first, I felt like I was visiting a foreign country!)

4.4) Stealth Demerit Points. Opus Dei wannabes beware: when you get invited to their monthly recollections, every invitation is counted. Even thought it looks like an informal invitation, made by someone who is just casually talking to you, it is nevertheless known by the Priest in charge of that section, and after a few absences your "Learner's Permit" is silently revoked, and you'll never get your license! In my case, I went, but was dismayed because: (i) I could barely understand the instruction given by the Priest, because of his soft voice and strong Spanish accent; (ii) the other instruction given by a layperson was rather diluted, for someone like me who often studies the official teachings of the Church; (iii) it felt like we all had duck tape over our mouths and paper bags over our heads. I was actually looking forward to meeting other people faithful to the Magisterium (defending the Pope in the Quebec Diocese is a rather unpopular activity). But the Priest later explained it was intentionally that way: no fraternization, no milk and cookies, etc., so as to filter out anyone not desperate to become a member of the Opus Dei.

4.5) The "regroup or disperse" dilemma. I'm listing this item at the very bottom of my list, because it's based only on conversations with a single Opus Dei Priest. I was told very clearly that my letter called "Please, Mr. Cardinal, Could You Leave Us One Parish?" was bad, and that the Cardinal should not provide us with at least one Parish where the Liturgy, the Sacraments and the Homilies would be compatible with the official teachings of the Catholic Church. Obviously, I totally disagree, since when you put 100 rowers in rowboat, 20 rowing in the right direction, and 80 rowing in the wrong direction, obviously the rowboat will go in the wrong direction! If you want to go in the correct direction, you need to discipline the bad 80 rowers, or put those 20 good rowers in another rowboat. The funny part of this conversation is that the same Priest clearly told me that I could never become a member of the Opus Dei, unless I "had a kind of conversion, and made an act of faith in the Opus Dei Approach". In other words, I could not get on their rowboat unless I promised to row exactly in the same direction as them! What is even funnier is that, as you can see from Section 2 here above, the Opus Dei and I agree 100% on all the essentials of the Catholic Faith! But the situation in the Quebec Diocese is totally different! Those "80 Liberal Protestant rowers" are not even in the same Church as the other "20 Catholic rowers"!

5) The specific vulnerability of the Opus Dei

Science teaches us that human bodies can be more or less vulnerable to viruses, depending on their age, health, genetics, etc. I claim it's the same thing for "social bodies". Organizations, depending on their constitution, their training, their membership, etc., are more or less vulnerable to "social viruses". Morever, even if infected with the same virus, they can react differently. ("Receptum est in recipiente per modum recipientis" [Summa Theologica, Ia, q. 84, a. 1, in corpus])

Fundamentally, what is the Opus Dei "cult of insignificance"? I claim it's just another strain of the Catholic heterostupidity virus. (This Opus Dei strain can be described by the following subset of paragraphs: 3.2, 3.4, 3.5, 3.6, 3.8, 3.15. Notice on the other hand the complete absence of paragraphs 3.1, 3.7, 3.10, etc.) Whether they like it or not, the Opus Dei in Quebec City is subject to the same harmful social influences which surround us all. So far they have stood up very well to these harmful influences, perhaps better than all the other "Catholic social bodies" in the Province of Quebec. But I claim they have not escaped unscathed.

6) Conclusion

I have referred, and I will continue to refer young persons to the Opus Dei. But on the other hand, if the Opus Dei in Quebec City is not purged of this "Cult of insignificance", then its members will continue to be taught the art of being vanquished. In their own particular way, they will contribute to the eradication of the Catholic Faith here in Quebec.

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

L'Opus Dei, et le culte de l'insignifiance

Opus Dei: trop secret?
«Un membre de l'Opus Dei? Où ça? Je n'en vois pas!»

1) Introduction

«Qu'est-ce que l'Opus Dei?» Ce texte n'essaie pas de répondre à cette question, puisqu'il y a déjà tant d'excellentes sources d'information disponibles sur ce sujet, en commençant avec leur propre site web (www.opusdei.org). «Que dire de cette histoire de Code de Da Vinci?» Ce texte n'a pas de temps à perdre avec des romans idiots, alors SVP consultez The Da Vinci Hoax (OLSON, Carl, MIESEL, Sandra. Ignatius Press, 329 pages) ou un ouvrage équivalent. «Toutes ces rumeurs malicieuses à propos de l'Opus Dei sont-elles réellement vraies?» À ma connaissance, certaines le sont, et c'est ce dont je vais parler ici.

2) Ce que je ne condamne pas dans l'Opus Dei

Il y a plusieurs choses dans l'Opus Dei que je ne condamne pas, au contraire. Je chante leurs louanges et j'en remercie le Seigneur!

2.1) Un Fondateur saint. Saint Josémaria Escriva est précisément cela: un saint!

2.2) Fidélité totale au Magistère. L'Opus Dei ne fait qu'enseigner ce que l'Église catholique enseigne officiellement. Ceci peut sembler aller de soi, mais de nos jours, c'est malheureusement très rare.

2.3) Le contrôle de la qualité. J'ai rencontré ou vu des membres des Jésuites, des Dominicains, des Pères Assomptionistes, etc., qui étaient tout-à-fait hérétiques. Mais je n'ai jamais rencontré un prêtre de l'Opus Dei qui n'était pas entièrement catholique. Aussi, j'ai entendu parler d'au moins deux personnes à Québec qui ont été mises à la porte de l'Opus Dei parce qu'elles rejetaient certains enseignements de l'Église. En fait, l'Opus Dei est peut-être une des dernières organisations religieuses catholiques au Québec qui a un système de contrôle de la qualité qui fonctionne encore.

2.4) Excellente direction spirituelle. J'ai eu quatre directeurs spirituels au fil des ans, et à part le Père Engelbert Lacasse, S.J., ils ont tous été des prêtres de l'Opus Dei. Ce n'est pas de leur faute si je ne suis pas meilleur, car ils m'ont tous donné d'excellents conseils.

2.5) La nature de leurs ennemis. Certaines des personnes les plus stupides et corrompues que je connaisse attaquent l'Opus Dei. Que ce soit les Avorteurs, les Buveurs de bière, les Casseurs d'église, les Détracteurs de l'autorité, etc., c'est tout l'alphabet des pécheurs qui est uni dans sa haine de l'Opus Dei. Comme Blaise Pascal le dit pour l'Église catholique, le type même des gens qui La rejettent est aussi une preuve de Son origine divine.

2.6) La fidélité aux intentions du Fondateur. Saint Josémaria n'a pas fondé un parti politique, ou un syndicat, ou une ligue de défense des droits des catholiques, etc. Heureusement, jusqu'à maintenant, l'Opus Dei a réussi à être fidèle à l'esprit du Fondateur: aider ses membres à se sanctifier.

2.7) Une vraie action ici, pas de bonnes intentions pour ailleurs. Malheureusement, plusieurs organisations «catholiques» de nos jours militent pour toutes sortes de bonnes intentions, mais concernant des problèmes très, très loins, tout en ignorant des énormes problèmes ici et maintenant! L'Opus Dei, lui, encourage ses membres à prier, à recourir fréquemment aux Sacrements (surtout la Confession et l'Eucharistie), à lire de bons livres de spiritualité, à suivre humblement les conseils de leur directeur spirituel, et à faire leur travail quotidien de leur mieux, afin de sanctifier leur travail, de se sanctifier eux-mêmes par le travail, et de sanctifier les gens autour d'eux au travail.

2.8) Bon livres. Certains des meilleurs livres dans ma bibliothèque ont été écrits par le Fondateur ou des membres de l'Opus Dei.

Etc., etc...

3) Certaines mauvaises choses que je n'aime pas dans l'Opus Dei

D'abord, un désistement. Je n'ai pas fait une étude scientifique sur l'Opus Dei, alors peut-être que ce que j'ai observé ne s'applique qu'à la section masculine de l'Opus Dei dans la ville de Québec.

Mon alléguation fondamentale est que certains membres de l'Opus Dei ont tendance à cultiver leur propre insignifiance. Satan tord certains bons enseignements de saint Josémaria, afin d'essayer d'annuler la bonne influence de l'Opus Dei. Ce culte de l'insignifiance permet aux membres de l'Opus Dei d'avoir bonne conscience et de respecter en apparence les enseignements de leur saint fondateur, tout en laissant le Diable détruire l'Église. Voici ce qui m'apparaît come des indicateurs de ce comportement:

3.1) L'Omertà catholique. Ma principale source d'inspiration pour l'Omertà catholique est les discussions que j'ai eu avec des prêtres de l'Opus Dei.

3.2) L'image de l'Opus Dei est plus importante que le salut des âmes. À plusieurs occasions, j'ai discuté du problème des «Prions en Église» (Voir le paragraphe No. 6.5 de «Mon évaluation subjective du Cardinal Ouellet») avec un prêtre de l'Opus Dei. Il est d'accord avec moi qu'ils contiennent des hérésies, qu'ils servent aussi à promouvoir la vente de livres hérétiques, et qu'il est horrible qu'on les distribue dans toutes les églises catholiques, à tous les dimanches. Serait-il prêt à écrire une lettre pour dénoncer cet état de fait? «Non, parce que le jour suivant l'Opus Dei serait dans tous les journaux.» Personnellement, si j'avais été à sa place, j'aurais dit: «Bien sûr! On s'en fiche bien de l'image corporative de l'Opus Dei, d'abord que nous fassions tout en notre pouvoir pour protéger les brebis de Jésus!» Mais ce prêtre n'a fait que dire: «Nous ne nous en servons pas, alors ce n'est pas notre problème.»

3.3) «La crédibilité de nos démentis est inattaquable!» («Cancerman», dans l'émission X-Files). Les membres de l'Opus Dei vont s'impliquer dans d'autres associations, à condition que cela n'entame pas la crédibilité de leurs démentis. S'ils ne peuvent pas se cacher dans cette association, ils vont avoir tendance à l'éviter. Par exemple, on m'a encouragé à éviter Le Parti de l'Héritage chrétien, pour plutôt me diriger vers un gros parti comme les Libéraux ou les Conservateurs, où j'aurais pu «travailler de l'intérieur, comme le levain dans la pâte». J'ai répondu que tous les autres partis politiques au Canada appuyaient l'avortement (incluant les Conservateurs), ce qui ne peut absolument pas être approuvé par un chrétien, mais cela ne semblait pas important.

Un autre exemple de l'importance excessive qu'ils accordent à «la crédibilité de leurs démentis» est ce texte-ci. Jusqu'à maintenant, deux prêtres de l'Opus Dei m'en ont parlé, mais en évitant soigneusement de laisser des traces. Appels téléphoniques, rencontres en privé, oui. Mais surtout pas de courriels ou de lettres, car «littera scripta manet», les documents écrits sont plus difficiles à démentir.

3.4) L'ignorance des dossiers environnementaux. Je n'ai jamais entendu parler d'un membre de l'Opus Dei qui s'impliquait dans une quelconque cause environmentale. Un prêtre de l'Opus Dei m'a même carrément dit que l'Église était là pour envoyer les gens au Ciel, alors on n'avait pas besoin de se soucier de l'environnement. Bien sûr, je suis tout-à-fait d'accord que le Paradis est une priorité infiniment plus élevée que de sauver les pandas ou les bélugas! Mais le Christ dit clairement que afin d'aller au Ciel, nous devons donner à manger aux affamés, à boire aux assoiffés, etc. [Mt 25:35]. La destruction de notre environnement s'oppose directement à cela! Par exemple, le réchauffement planétaire pourrait menacer des millions d'hommes avec des inondations, des ouragans et d'autres désastres climatiques. (Une des nombreuses indications de cette ignorance est le dédain qu'ils ont pour quelqu'un qui se présente à la Messe en semaine, vétu de shorts bermudas qui déscendent jusqu'au genoux. Vous pouvez presque les entendre penser: «Primo, les genoux sont des organes génitaux, et secundo, tous les membres de l'Opus Dei sont assez riches pour se payer une voiture, alors pourquoi n'es-tu pas capable de t'acheter une bicyclette à l'air climatisée?»)

3.5) L'action collective publique est découragée, en faveur d'actions individuelles secrètes. De tous les moyens disponibles pour défendre l'Église, le seul qui est disponible pour l'Opus Dei semble être d'écrire des lettres au Rédacteur-en-chef du quotidien local. Ceci est encouragé verbalement, de même que dans des livres de l'Opus Dei, comme «Conversation avec Dieu». J'ai tenté une fois de montrer le manque d'efficacité de telles actions, puisqu'il est si facile pour un journal anti-catholique de simplement jeter des lettres. Au minimum, nous devrions au moins envoyer une seule lettre avec plusieurs signatures, et ainsi transformer une seule lettre en une pétition populaire et bien connue! Non. L'action collective publique est spécifiquement découragée, même (bien sûr) si l'Opus Dei n'est jamais mentionné. On fait peu de cas de toute personne qui tente d'organiser les catholiques de manière à mieux défendre leurs droits, et on balaie du revers de la main, et avec un petit sourire satisfait, les efforts en ce sens. Pourquoi? Je ne sais pas, mais cela entamerait peut-être la crédibilité de leurs démentis. (Voir No. 3.3 ci-dessus).

3.6) Se cacher derrière saint Josémaria et l'Église. Tout membre de l'Opus Dei va avouer avec empressement que, individuellement, ils sont tous pécheurs et donc imparfaits, mais un problème systématique avec l'Opus Dei est considéré comme impossible. Toute personne qui dit quoi que ce soit de négatif à propos de l'Opus Dei est considéré comme attaquant le saint Fondateur et l'Église catholique. Ceci les empêche bien sûr de voir et de corriger un problème systématique, même un problème systématique qui n'est pas relié aux excellents enseignements de saint Josémaria et du Magistère.

Bruce Willis Die Hard 3.
À un moment donné, entre ceci, et se mettre des sacs de papier sur la tête,
il doit bien y avoir un juste milieu pour les membres de l'Opus Dei!
(Source)

4) Quelques irritants mineurs de l'Opus Dei

Il y a d'autres problèmes beaucoup moins sérieux, qui sont surtout des irritants:

4.1) Le plombier mythologique de l'Opus Dei. Il est possible d'être membre de l'Opus Dei sans être un professeur d'université ou un avocat. Vraiment! M'enfin, je vais devoir les croire sur parole!

4.2) L'auto-publicité doucereuse. Au cours des années, j'ai reçu plusieurs courriels, circulaires et annonces faites de bouche-à-oreille provenant de l'Opus Dei. En m'appuyant sur une analyse statistique de tout cela, j'en ai conclu que Copernic s'est trompé, et que la planète Terre tourne autour de saint Josémaria. Sérieusement, ça ferait du bien, de temps en temps, de voir l'Opus Dei faire la promotion de autre chose que lui-même.

Pendant que j'argumentais avec mon directeur spirituel, j'ai essayé de donner un exemple de quelque chose que l'Opus Dei aurait pu encourager à Québec: la Chaîne pour la vie. C'est un événement nord-américain, pour toutes les dénominations chrétiennes, approuvé par des évêques catholiques bien connus, etc. J'avais fourni toute l'information à l'Opus Dei, incluant des circulaires pour l'événement. Le prêtre m'a répondu, sans se rendre le moindrement compte qu'il était en train de prouver que j'avais raison et qu'il avait tort: «Mais bien sûr qu'on ne pouvait pas faire la promotion de cet événement, il n'était pas organisé par l'Opus Dei!»

4.3) «Riches? Nous ne sommes pas riches!» J'aime bien l'actuelle maison de l'Opus Dei dans le quartier le plus riche de la haute-ville à Québec (belle, confortable, bien organisée, etc.), mais je me demande pourquoi ils n'ont pas une autre maison dans le quartier le plus pauvre de la basse-ville. D'abord, ça ne coûterait pas cher, et ensuite, cela les aiderait à garder contact avec la réalité. (Comme j'habite aussi en haute-ville, j'ai le même problème. Récemment, j'ai commencé à participer à un autre groupe, mais dans la basse-ville. Au début, je me sentais comme si je visitais un pays étranger!)

4.4) Les points de démérite furtifs. Aspirant-membres de l'Opus Dei, attention: lorsque vous vous faites inviter à une de leurs récollections mensuelles, chaque invitation est comptée. Même si c'est apparemment une invitation informelle, faite par une personne qui jase avec vous à bâtons rompus, c'est néanmoins comptabilisé par le prêtre responsable de cette section. Après quelques absences, votre «Permis d'apprenti» est révoqué sans tambour ni trompette, et vous n'obtiendrez jamais votre licence! Dans mon cas, j'y avais été, mais j'avais été déçu parce que: (i) j'entendais à peine l'instruction donnée par le prêtre, à cause de son fort accent espagnol, et sa voix faible; (ii) l'autre instruction donnée par un laïc était plutôt diluée, pour une personne comme moi qui étudie souvent les enseignements officiels de l'Église; (iii) je me sentais comme si nous avions tous un sac de papier sur la tête et du ruban-à-tout-faire sur la bouche. J'avais hâte de rencontrer d'autres personnes fidèles au Magistère (défendre le Pape n'est pas une activité populaire au diocèse de Québec). Mais le prêtre m'a expliqué plus tard que c'était comme ça intentionnellement: pas de camaraderie, pas de lait et de biscuits, etc., de manière à filtrer tous ceux qui ne veulent pas désespérément devenir membres de l'Opus Dei.

4.5) Le dilemme du «regrouper ou disperser». J'énumère ce point en dernier, car il n'est basé que sur des conversations que j'ai eu avec un seul prêtre de l'Opus Dei. Je me suis fait dire très clairement que ma lettre intitulée «Pitié, M. le Cardinal, pourriez-vous nous laisser une paroisse?» était mauvaise, et que le Cardinal ne devrait pas nous fournir une paroisse où la liturgie, les Sacrements et les homélies seraient compatibles avec les enseignements officiels de l'Église catholique. Manifestement, je suis tout-à-fait en désaccord, car si vous mettez 100 rameurs dans un bateau à rames, 20 qui rament dans la bonne direction, et 80 qui rament dans la mauvaise, le bateau va, bien sûr, aller dans la mauvaise direction! Si vous voulez aller dans le bon sens, il faut discipliner les 80 mauvais rameurs, ou mettre les 20 bons rameurs dans un autre bateau. L'aspect drôle de cette conversation est que le même prêtre m'a clairement dit que je ne pourrais jamais devenir un membre de l'Opus Dei, tant que «je n'aurais pas une sorte de conversion, et que je ferais un acte de foi dans l'Approche de l'Opus Dei». En d'autres mots, je ne pourrais pas monter à bord de leur bateau, tant que je ne ramerais pas exactement dans la même direction qu'eux! Ce qui est encore plus drôle c'est que, comme vous pouvez le voir par la Section 2 ci-haut, l'Opus Dei et moi sommes d'accord à 100% sur tous les éléments essentiels du catholicisme! Mais la situation au diocèse de Québec est totalement différente! Ces «80 rameurs libéraux protestants» ne sont même pas dans la même Église que les autres «20 rameurs catholiques»!

5) La vulnérabilité spécifique de l'Opus Dei

La science nous enseigne que les corps humains peuvent être plus ou moins vulnérables aux virus, selon leur âge, leur santé, leur patrimoine génétique, etc. Je prétend que c'est la même chose pour les «corps sociaux». Les organisations, selon leur constitution, leur formation, leurs membres, etc., sont plus ou moins vulnérables aux «virus sociaux». De plus, même s'ils sont infectés par le même virus, ils peuvent réagir différemment. («Receptum est in recipiente per modum recipientis» [Summa Theologica, Ia, q. 84, a. 1, in corpus])

Qu'est-ce que «le culte de l'insignifiance» de l'Opus Dei, au fond? Je prétend que ce n'est qu'une autre souche du virus de l'hétérostupidité catholique. (Cette souche de l'Opus Dei peut être décrite par le sous-ensemble suivant de paragraphes: 3.2, 3.4, 3.5, 3.6, 3.8, 3.15. Remarquez par contre l'absence complète des paragraphes 3.1, 3.7, 3.10, etc.) Que cela leur plaise ou non, l'Opus Dei à Québec est soumis aux mêmes influences sociales néfastes qui nous entourent tous. Jusqu'ici, ils ont bien résisté, peut-être mieux que tous les autres «corps sociaux catholiques» au Québec. Mais je prétend qu'ils ne s'en sont pas tirés indemnes.

6) Conclusion

J'ai référé, et je vais continuer à référer des jeunes à l'Opus Dei. Par contre, si l'Opus Dei à Québec ne se débarasse pas de ce «Culte de l'insignifiance», alors ses membres vont continuer à se faire enseigner l'art d'être vaincus. À leur manière bien particulière, ils vont contribuer à l'élimination de la Foi catholique ici à Québec.

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus