| Home >> Lost Sermons

So, You Married The Wrong Person?

Typical mismatched couple.
Typical mismatched couple.
[Source]

1) Introduction

What happens if you marry the "wrong" person? Why does the Catholic Church forbid divorce? And especially, why does the Catholic Church refuse Eucharistic Communion to people who had the "bad luck" of marrying the "wrong" person, and are just guilty of trying to "rebuild their life" with a new "relationship"?

All these questions are important, and I'm far from an expert. Let's see if we can shed some light.

2) Eucharistic Communion as an official seal of approval on your moral life

There are many religions, and each religion normally has many religious ceremonies. We can like or dislike those ceremonies, but we don't have the authority to change the meanings of those ceremonies. It's a lot like other social "ceremonies". For example, if you pass your driver's test, the Transportation Authority will grant you a driver's License. The meaning of that "ceremony" is: "You're a good driver; we approve your driving skills". In the same way, if a policeman stops you and gives you a ticket for speeding, that "social ceremony" means: "You have been misbehaving as a driver".

The reception of the Eucharistic Host (or "Communion") during a Catholic Mass is a very complex event. One of the many meanings of that ceremony is: "The Church considers that your moral life is apparently OK". You can agree or disagree with such a ceremony, but you cannot deny the fact that such a ceremony exists, and that such a ceremony has (among others) such a meaning.

Here are a few proofs of that fact:

Therefore whoever eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord unworthily will have to answer for the body and blood of the Lord.
[1Cor 11:27]

Anyone conscious of a grave sin must receive the sacrament of Reconciliation before coming to Communion.
[CCC, #1385]

Those [...] obstinately persevering in manifest grave sin are not to be admitted to holy Communion.
[Code of Canon Law, #915]

However, the Church reaffirms her practice, which is based upon Sacred Scripture, of not admitting to Eucharistic Communion divorced persons who have remarried.
[Familiaris consortio, #84]

3) Should the Catholic Church have a ceremony that excludes people?

So we've established that the Church teaches that you cannot go to Communion if you are in a state of mortal sin, and that a good Catholic Priest must refuse to give you the Eucharistic Host if that sin is "manifest and obstinate". But should the Church pass judgment on people, especially in such a public way? In other words, should the Church have any kind of ceremony that can potentially exclude people?

As usual, nobody really disagrees with the Church. To see this, all you have to do is perform a simple "prejudice swap". If the person you are talking with thinks being divorced and remarried is OK, then choose another example. Take rape, or "gay-bashing", or exterminating Jews in concentration camps, etc. Given that permitting access to Communion means the Church doesn't consider you to be in a manifest mortal sin, then giving Communion to a Nazi would mean: "Everything is fine, Mister Nazi, and by the way, you have such a pretty concentration camp!"

A church, any church, that publicly and officially approves something horribly wrong, is a bad church. This is not something related to such-and-such a Pope, but something fundamental about sociology and religion. If a religion has a ceremony that means: "You are not doing something obviously very wrong in your life", then automatically that religion will, sooner or later, have to decide what to do about people who try to access that ceremony to whitewash their reputation.

4) Isn't divorce sometimes a good thing?

Divorce.
[Source]

So far, we've established that people don't have an automatic right to go to Communion. We've also established that a good religion must not publicly approve things that are very bad. But is divorce really that bad? How can we compare a bloodthirsty Nazi who exterminates Jews with, for example, a poor woman who ran away from a violent husband, and finally found true love with a caring and respectful heman?

Before we can even start answering that question, we have to dispel many errors. The anti-Catholic media incessantly repeats a whole series of lies about marriage, divorce, and the teachings of the Church:

4.1) "The Church teaches that an abused woman must always remain with her husband". False. The Church condemns divorce, not physical separation. When a spouse endangers the soul or the body of the other spouse or the children, physical separation is legitimate [Canon 1153].

4.2) "The Church punishes poor women who have been abandoned by a husband who imposed a divorce". False. You can't commit a sin if you are not responsible. If a divorce was imposed on you, and knowing that the valid marriage bond is indissoluble, you refrain from becoming involved in a new union, nothing prevents you from going to Communion [Familiaris consortio, #83]

4.3) "The Church is against true friendship after a failed marriage". False. The Church has nothing against being friends. The problem is that the expression "true friendship" is often verbal manipulation that really means "sexual copulation with a new partner".

4.4) "The Church refuses to see that sometimes we marry a stranger, a person very different from the one we fell in love with". False. If there is one institution on the face of the Earth that is in favor of helping you carefully examine who you really "fell in love" with, it's the Catholic Church. One of the reasons why the Church condemns pre-marital sex, is so you can better find out what are the real intentions of this stranger, and so you can dump him or her more easily if something is wrong. It is not a coincidence that the popularity of the expression "long and chaste betrothal" is inversely proportional to the rate of divorce.

4.5) "The Church is too arrogant to see that love is something free that cannot be controlled". False. Erotic desire is beyond complete control, but love strictly speaking is something intensely human, i.e. subject to our free will. See Vive La Différence Between Charity And Emotions Of Love!

Etc., etc...

5) How could divorce be so bad?

How could divorce be so bad? Short answer: Because marriage is so good.

Somehow, there is a connection between marriage, and the infinite goodness of God. As you know, there is only one God, one Divine Nature, yet there is a mystery of communion of Persons "inside" God, since the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit love each other:

God is love and in Himself He lives a mystery of personal loving communion. Creating the human race in His own image [...] God inscribed in the humanity of heman and woman the vocation, and thus the capacity and responsibility, of love and communion.
[CCC, #2331]

Holy Scripture affirms that heman and woman were created for one another: "It is not good that the heman should be alone" [Gn 2:18]. The woman, "flesh of his flesh" [Gn 2:23], i.e., his counterpart, his equal, his nearest in all things, is given to him by God as a "helpmate" [Gn 2:18], she thus represents God from whom comes our help. "Therefore a heman leaves his father and his mother and cleaves to his wife, and they become one flesh" [Gn 2:24]. The Lord himself shows that this signifies an unbreakable union of their two lives by recalling what the plan of the Creator had been "in the beginning": "So they are no longer two, but one flesh" [Mt 19:4].
[CCC, #1605]

In order to fully understand just how bad divorce is, I would need to fully understand many more things than I currently understand. It's the same as if I wanted to understand just how bad it is to put sand in the oil intake of a car engine. Because the lubrification system has an influence on just about every part of the engine, we cannot understand all the damage sand can do, unless we learn about pistons travelling inside cylinders, crankshafts turning inside main bearings, intake and exhaust valves sliding inside valve guides, etc.

Because marriage is so fundamental, understanding the harmful effects of divorce requires expertise in many domains:

5.1) Child psychology. The mental development of a child is directly influenced by the love (or absence of love) that the parents have for each other. I hope someday to find a good book explaining all the damage that a divorce does to a child's development.

5.2) Adult psychology. The mental health of an adult strongly depends on how sincere that adult is with himself or herself. Once you disconnect yourself from reality, there is no limit to the psychological damage you can inflict on yourself and others. At at the root of every divorce, there is usually a lie. Also running away from your problems instead of solving them is of course not the best way of building character. Another problem is "infantilization": only adults can sign contracts and keep their word (and marriage is such a serious committment).

5.3) Economics. Marriage is the basis of the family, and the family is the fundamental cell of society. This is not only true politically, but also economically. Because divorce reduces the attractiveness of marriage for young persons and encourages hedonism, there is a corresponding shift in the economy. Young persons will tend to waste their money more, like traveling to foreign countries with their concubine, or spending their two incomes on luxury goods, instead of investing in the procreation and the education of a family (which tends to encourage the local economy while preparing the next generation of workers).

5.4) Political Science. By attacking Natural Law (which requires the indissolubility of marriage), divorce encourages all citizens to believe that good and evil are just a matter of voting. This in turn weakens the very foundations of civilization.

5.5) Sociology. A society that tolerates and even encourages divorce soon breeds a whole series of other social pathologies, like unmarried cohabitation, insufficient fertility rates, higher numbers of single men and women who never settle down and get married, etc.

5.6) Criminology. There is no substitute for children raised in a stable, loving family. Divorce certainly doesn't automatically cause children to become criminals, but criminals are disproportionately often the products of broken homes.

5.7) Moral Theology. Attacking a valid marriage bond causes the loss of sanctifying grace, which means eternal Hellfire (unless one repents). Not a minor detail!

Etc., etc...

Someday I hope to become less ignorant, so I can make that list longer and add many bibliographical references. In the meantime, you can take the Church's word for it:

Divorce is a grave offense against the natural law. It claims to break the contract, to which the spouses freely consented, to live with each other till death. Divorce does injury to the covenant of salvation, of which sacramental marriage is the sign. Contracting a new union, even if it is recognized by civil law, adds to the gravity of the rupture: the remarried spouse is then in a situation of public and permanent adultery.
[CCC, #2384]

Divorce is immoral also because it introduces disorder into the family and into society. This disorder brings grave harm to the deserted spouse, to children traumatized by the separation of their parents and often torn between them, and because of its contagious effect which makes it truly a plague on society.
[CCC, #2385]

6) Conclusion

So, you married the "wrong" person? Then become the right person!

This is not harsh advice. It's common sense, and Christian doctrine. In a way, we are all "prisoners of a bad marriage", since we are all stuck with a person who is too often stupid, lazy, vain and hedonistic: ourself! Nobody can be happy with such a person, whether our spouse, our children, or ourself. (A fancy way of saying the same thing is "Amicitia inter malos esse non potest", i.e. friendship between vicious persons is impossible.) Divorce won't solve that problem. We need to repent for our sins and be redeemed by Christ. Every day.

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Alors, tu as épousé la mauvaise personne?

Couple mal apparié typique.
Couple mal apparié typique.
[Source]

1) Introduction

Qu'est-ce qui arrive si on épouse la «mauvaise» personne? Pourquoi l'Église catholique interdit-Elle le divorce? Et surtout, pourquoi l'Église catholique refuse-t-Elle la Communion Eucharistique aux gens qui ont eu la «malchance» d'épouser la «mauvaise» personne, et qui ne sont coupables que d'essayer de «reconstruire leur vie» avec une nouvelle «relation»?

Toutes ces questions sont importantes, et je suis loin d'être un expert. Essayons de voir si nous pouvons jeter un peu de lumière sur ce sujet.

2) La Communion Eucharistique comme sceau d'approbation officiel sur votre vie morale

Il y a de nombreuses religions, et chaque religion a normalement plusieurs cérémonies religieuses. Ces cérémonies peuvent nous plaire ou nous déplaire, mais nous n'avons pas l'autorité de changer la signification de ces cérémonies. Ça ressemble beaucoup à d'autres «cérémonies» sociales. Par exemple, si vous passez votre examen de conduite, la Régie des transports va vous accorder un Permis de conduire. La signification de cette «cérémonie» est: «Vous êtes un bon conducteur; nous approuvons vos habiletés de conduite». De la même manière, si un policier vous arrête et vous donne une contravention pour excès de vitesse, cette «cérémonie sociale» signifie: «Vous vous êtes mal comporté en tant que conducteur».

La réception de l'Hostie Eucharistique (ou «Communion») durant une Messe catholique est un événement très complexe. Une des nombreuses significations de cette cérémonie est: «L'Église considère que votre vie morale est apparemment correcte». Vous pouvez être d'accord ou pas avec une telle cérémonie, mais vous ne pouvez pas nier le fait qu'une telle cérémonie existe, et que cette cérémonie a (entre autres) une telle signification.

Voici quelques preuves de ce fait:

Si quelqu'un manque de respect quand il mange le pain ou boit le calice du Seigneur, il pèche contre le corps et le sang du Seigneur.
[1Cor 11:27]

Celui qui est conscient d'un péché grave doit recevoir le sacrement de la Réconciliation avant d'accéder à la Communion.
[CÉC, No. 1385]

Ceux qui persistent avec obstination dans un péché grave et manifeste, ne seront pas admis à la sainte Communion.
[Code de droit canonique, No. 915]

L'Eglise, cependant, réaffirme sa discipline, fondée sur l'Ecriture Sainte, selon laquelle elle ne peut admettre à la Communion eucharistique les divorcés remariés.
[Familiaris consortio, No. 84]

3) L'Église catholique devrait-elle avoir une cérémonie qui exclut des gens?

Bon, alors nous avons établi que l'Église enseigne que vous ne pouvez pas aller communier si vous êtes en état de péché mortel, et qu'un bon prêtre catholique doit vous refuser l'Hostie Eucharistique si ce péché est «manifeste et obstiné». Mais l'Église devrait-elle juger ainsi les gens, surtout d'une manière aussi publique? En d'autres mots, l'Église devrait-elle même avoir une seule cérémonie qui pourrait potentiellement exclure des gens?

Comme d'habitude, nul n'est vraiment en désaccord avec l'Église. Pour le voir, il suffit de faire une petite «permutation de préjugé». Si la personne avec laquelle vous discutez est en faveur du remariage des divorcés, alors prenez un autre exemple. Prenez le viol, ou le «tabassage des tapettes», ou l'extermination des juifs dans des camps de concentration, etc. Étant donné que permettre l'accès à la Communion signifie que l'Église ne considère pas que vous êtes en état de péché mortel manifeste, alors donner la Communion à un Nazi voudrait dire: «Tout va très bien, Monsieur le Nazi, et en passant, il est super-mignon votre camp de concentration!»

Une église, n'importe quelle église, qui approuve publiquement et officiellement quelque chose d'horriblement mauvais, est une mauvaise église. Ce n'est pas quelque chose qui a rapport à tel ou tel Pape, mais quelque chose de fondamental à propos de la sociologie et de la religion. Si une religion a une cérémonie qui signifie: «Vous ne faites rien de manifestement très mauvais dans votre vie», alors automatiquement cette religion devra, tôt ou tard, décider quoi faire avec les gens qui essayent d'accéder à cette cérémonie afin de blanchir leur réputation.

4) Le divorce n'est-il pas parfois une bonne chose?

Divorce.
[Source]

Jusqu'ici, nous avons établi que les gens n'ont pas automatiquement le droit d'aller communier. Nous avons aussi établi qu'une bonne religion ne doit pas approuver publiquement des choses très mauvaises. Mais le divorce est-il vraiment si mauvais que ça? Comment peut-on comparer un Nazi sanguinaire qui extermine des juifs avec, par exemple, une pauvre femme qui s'est sauvée d'un mari violent, et qui a enfin trouvé le vrai amour avec un vir tendre et respectueux?

Avant de même pouvoir commencer à répondre à cette question, il faut réfuter bien des erreurs. Les médias anti-catholiques répètent sans cesse toute une série de mensonges concernant le mariage, le divorce et les enseignements de l'Église:

4.1) «L'Église enseigne qu'une femme battue doit toujours rester avec son mari». Faux. L'église condamne le divorce, pas la séparation physique. Lorsqu'un des époux met en danger l'âme ou le corps de l'autre époux ou des enfants, la séparation physique est légitime [Canon 1153].

4.2) «L'Église punit les pauvres femmes qui ont été abandonnées par un mari qui a imposé un divorce». Faux. Vous ne pouvez pas commettre un péché, si vous n'êtes pas responsable. Si on vous a imposé un divorce, et sachant que le lien d'un mariage valide est indissoluble, vous vous abstenez de vous impliquer dans une nouvelle union, rien ne vous empêche d'aller communier [Familiaris consortio, No. 83]

4.3) «L'Église est contre la vraie amitié après un échec dans un mariage». Faux. L'Église n'a rien contre l'amitié. Le problème est que l'expression «vraie amitié» est souvent de la manipulation verbale qui signifie plutôt «copulation sexuelle avec un nouveau partenaire».

4.4) «L'Église refuse de voir que parfois, nous épousons un étranger, une personne bien différente de celle avec qui nous sommes tombés en amour». Faux. S'il y a bien une institution sur cette planète qui est en faveur de vous aider à examiner soigneusement avec qui vous êtes «tombé en amour», c'est l'Église catholique. Une des raisons pour laquelle l'Église condamne le sexe avant le mariage, c'est pour que vous puissiez mieux voir quelles sont les vraies intentions de cet étranger, et pour que vous puissiez vous en débarasser au plus vite si quelque chose ne tourne pas rond. Ce n'est pas une coïncidence que la popularité de l'expression «longues et chastes fiançailles» est inversement proportionnelle au taux de divorce.

4.5) «L'Église est trop arrogante pour voir que l'amour est quelque chose de libre qui ne peut pas être contrôlé». Faux. Le désir érotique n'est pas parfaitement contrôlable, mais l'amour strictement parlant est quelque chose d'intensément humain, c'est-à-dire sujet à notre libre arbitre. Voir Vive la différence entre la charité et les émotions amoureuses!

Etc., etc...

5) Comment le divorce pourrait-il être si mauvais?

Comment le divorce pourrait-il être si mauvais? Réponse brève: parce que le mariage est si bon.

D'une certaine manière, il y a une connexion entre le marriage, et la bonté infinie de Dieu. Comme vous le savez, il n'y a qu'un seul Dieu, une Nature divine, néanmoins il y a un mystère de communion de Personnes «à l'intérieur» de Dieu, puisque le Père, le Fils et le Saint-Esprit s'aiment les uns les autres:

Dieu est amour. Il vit en lui-même un mystère de communion et d'amour. En créant l'humanité du vir et de la femme à son image [...] Dieu inscrit en elle la vocation, et donc la capacité et la responsabilité correspondantes, à l'amour et à la communion
[CÉC, No. 2331]

Que le vir et la femme soient créés l'un pour l'autre, l'Écriture Sainte l'affirme: «Il n'est pas bon que le vir soit seul» [Gn 2:18]. La femme, «chair de sa chair» [Gn 2:23], son égale, toute proche de lui, lui est donnée par Dieu comme un «secours» [Gn 2:18], représentant ainsi le «Dieu en qui est notre secours». «C'est pour cela que le vir quittera son père et sa mère et s'attachera à sa femme, et les deux deviennent une seule chair» [Gn 2:24]. Que cela signifie une unité indéfectible de leur deux vies, le Seigneur lui-même le montre en rappelant quel a été, «à l'origine», le dessein du Créateur: «Ainsi, ils ne sont plus deux, mais une seule chair» [Mt 19:4].
[CÉC, No. 1605]

Afin de comprendre jusqu'à quel point le divorce est mauvais, il faudrait que je comprenne complètement beaucoup plus de choses que je ne comprends en ce moment. C'est comme si je voulais comprendre jusqu'à quel point il est mauvais de mettre du sable dans le réservoir d'huile d'un moteur d'auto. Parce que le système de lubrification a une influence sur presque toutes les pièces du moteur, nous ne pouvons pas comprendre tout le dommage que du sable peut faire, à moins d'en apprendre sur les pistons qui vont et viennent dans les cylindres, sur les vilebrequins qui tournent dans les paliers de vilebrequin, sur les soupapes d'admission et d'échappement qui glissent dans leurs guides de soupape, etc.

Parce que le mariage est si fondamental, on ne peut pas comprendre tous les effets nocifs du divorce sans connaître de nombreux domaines:

5.1) La psychologie enfantine. Le développement mental d'un enfant est directement influencé par l'amour (ou l'absence d'amour) que les parents ont l'un pour l'autre. J'espère un jour trouver un bon livre qui explique tous les dommages qu'un divorce fait au développement d'un enfant.

5.2) La psychologie adulte. La santé mentale d'un adulte dépend beaucoup de sa sincérité envers lui-même ou elle-même. Une fois que vous vous êtes déconnectés de la réalité, il n'y a pas de limites aux dommages que vous pouvez infliger à vous-même et aux autres. À la racine de tout divorce, il y a normalement un mensonge. Aussi, fuir vos problèmes plutôt que de les régler n'est pas la meilleure manière de façonner votre caractère. Un autre problème est «l'infantilisation»: seul un adulte peut signer un contrat et tenir parole (et le mariage est un tel engagement sérieux).

5.3) L'économie. Le mariage est la base de la famille, et la famille est la cellule fondamentale de la société. Ceci n'est pas seulement vrai politiquement, mais aussi économiquement. Parce que le divorce diminue l'attrait du mariage pour les jeunes, et encourage l'hédonisme, il y a un changement correspondant dans l'économie. Les jeunes vont avoir tendance à gaspiller plus leur argent, comme voyager dans des pays étranger avec leur concubine, ou dépenser leurs deux revenus sur des biens luxueux, plutôt que d'investir dans la procréation et l'éducation d'une famille (qui tend à encourager l'économie locale tout en préparant la prochaine génération de travailleurs).

5.4) La science politique. En attaquant la Loi naturelle (qui exige l'indissolubilité du mariage), le divorce encourage tous les citoyens à croire que le bien et le mal ne sont qu'une question de vote. Ceci à son tour affaiblit les fondements de la civilisation.

5.5) La sociologie. Une société qui tolère et même encourage le divorce, se met bientôt à engendrer toute une série de pathologies sociales, comme le concubinage, les taux de fertilité insuffisants, un nombre plus élevé de célibataires qui ne fonderont jamais de foyer, etc.

5.6) La criminologie. Il n'y a pas de substitut pour des enfants élevés dans une famille stable et aimante. Le divorce ne transforme pas automatiquement les enfants en criminels, mais les criminels sont de manière disproportionnée les produits de foyers disloqués.

5.7) La théologie morale. Attaquer le lien d'un mariage valide cause la perte de la grâce sanctifiante, ce qui signifie le feu éternel de l'Enfer (à moins de se repentir). Ce n'est pas un petit détail!

Etc., etc...

Un jour, j'espère devenir moins ignorant, pour que je puisse allonger cette liste et que je puisse y ajouter de nombreuses références bibliographiques. En attendant, vous pouvez croire l'Église sur parole:

Le divorce est une offense grave à la loi naturelle. Il prétend briser le contrat librement consenti par les époux de vivre l'un avec l'autre jusqu'à la mort. Le divorce fait injure à l'Alliance de salut dont le mariage sacramentel est le signe. Le fait de contracter une nouvelle union, fût-elle reconnue par la loi civile, ajoute à la gravité de la rupture: le conjoint remarié se trouve alors en situation d'adultère public et permanent.
[CÉC, No. 2384]

Le divorce tient aussi son caractère immoral du désordre qu'il introduit dans la cellule familiale et dans la société. Ce désordre entraîne des préjudices graves: pour le conjoint, qui se trouve abandonné; pour les enfants, traumatisés par la séparation des parents, et souvent tiraillés entre eux; pour son effet de contagion, qui en fait une véritable plaie sociale.
[CÉC, No. 2385]

6) Conclusion

Alors, vous avez épousé la «mauvaise» personne? Dans ce cas, devenez la bonne personne!

Ce n'est pas un conseil dur. C'est le gros bon sens, et la doctrine chrétienne. D'une certaine manière, nous sommes tous «prisonniers d'un mauvais mariage», puisque nous sommes tous pris avec une personne trop souvent stupide, paresseuse, orgueilleuse et hédoniste: nous-même! Nul ne peut être heureux avec une telle personne, que ce soit notre époux ou notre épouse, nos enfants, ou nous-même. (Une manière fleurie de dire la même chose est «Amicitia inter malos esse non potest», c'est-à-dire l'amitié entre personnes vicieuses est impossible.) Le divorce ne réglera pas ce problème. Nous devons nous repentir de nos péchés et être rachetés par le Christ. Tous les jours.

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus