| Home >> Lost Sermons

How to Chase People Away From Jesus
By Hugging Your Fridge

Bad boy
"Whose god is their belly" [Ph 3:19]

1) What does Jesus have to do with my fridge?

Imagine an immensely talented surgeon, able to cure blindness. What would happen if this surgeon placed a huge neon sign outside his clinic saying:

Hey! Blind people! Come here, I can cure you!

Quite probably, few blind people could read his sign.

It's somewhat the same thing for us Catholics. We have Faith, so we clearly see the spiritual world, but it's useless to "post a big sign" that the unbelievers can't read! We can talk all we want about Jesus and the Bible, but the unbelievers (by definition) don't yet believe in Jesus, so they might not see the point. Of course we have to continue to talk about Jesus and the Bible, but we also have to attract the unbelievers with things they can see and appreciate.

Another way of saying this is that we have to avoid giving "negative testimonies" to unbelievers. A negative testimony is a bit like a big speaker (that the blind can hear) that blares: "Go away, blind people, we can't do anything to help you!"

Some negative testimonies are horrible and almost guaranteed to chase unbelievers away from Jesus (like bad inquisitions, for example). Other negative testimonies are far less serious, yet they still harm the Church

One of these minor negative testimonies is the obesity of Catholics. Unbelievers might not know what the Immaculate Conception is, or Transubstantiation, but they know what's a healthy weight. They also know that Jesus said we have to love ourselves (as well as God and our neighbors) [Mc 12:29]. Perhaps they are even aware that the Catholic Church teaches that the Sacraments confer Grace, and that Grace and prayer permit us to do God's will.

Unbelievers can therefore come up with these arguments:

"This Catholic is fat, therefore he doesn't love himself, which is contrary to the teachings of Jesus. Therefore the Catholic Church is not the Church of Jesus."

or again:

"This Catholic is fat, but he tries to lose weight without succeeding. If it's because of some endocrine disorder or something like that, it's not his fault. But if it's by lack of willpower, then the Catholic religion is false, since the Catholic Sacraments are supposed to cure man from his spiritual diseases, among them the lack of willpower to do good."

These arguments can seem simple, even simplistic, but they have a large proportion of truth, and a truth that even the spiritually blind can see. And there is no use replying that these people should be able to see "beyond our appearances" and see the "beauty of our soul". These people aren't crazy. They know we can be physically ugly and morally beautiful. But on the other hand, they also see that normally, if the Catholic religion were true, Catholics as a group should be not only at their healthy weight, but also sober, courageous, just, humble, charitable, and so on.

Homo McDonaldiens

2) A few good reasons to lose weight

Before taking your resolution to return to your healthy weight, you need to list in writing all the good reasons you have to lose weight. Here are a few suggestions to jog your imagination:

2.1) To convert unbelievers. If you cut short your love affair with your fridge, you'll be in better shape to attract and convert unbelievers!

2.2) To mortify ourselves. The words of Jesus are like the good seed we must sow in good soil. To have good soil, we have to remove rocks, pull out weeds, till the ground. More specifically, we have four good reasons to mortify ourselves: (1) we must mortify the remains of original sin which incline us to evil; (2) we must mortify the remains of our personal sins; (3) we have to mortify ourselves because of the infinite elevation of our supernatural end; (4) we have to mortify ourselves to imitate Jesus crucified. [The Three Ages of the Interior Life, p. 406 in the French edition].

2.3) To be the bulwark of purity. Let's not forget that gluttony is the advance guard of impurity. When we feel a bit of hunger, it's as if the divine Alarm System was ensuring us that the barbarians were locked out of the our soul's castle!

2.4) Because Jesus is the chocolate of our life! Seriously, the more we seek out divine consolations, the less we need human consolations, whether fancy dishes, or TV, or daily newspapers, etc.

2.5) To gain more willpower. "Inevitability exists only through of the spinelessness of beings" [V. Cousin].

2.6) To improve our intellectual life. It's hard to concentrate when you're busy shoveling food into your mouth, or drinking at the trough. "Food that is light and simple, moderate in quantity and in preparation, will grant readiness and freedom to your work. A thinker doesn't spend his life in digestion sessions." [Sertillanges, The Intellectual Life, chap. 2.4].

2.7) To avoid type-II diabetes. The medical community is talking more and more about a pandemic of type-II diabetes in North America. It's a wave that is hitting us, and some say it will have terrible consequences on our hospitals and taxes. And yes, I've also done a conference on wound management where I saw pictures of the feet of diabetics, and heard physicians explain how they could stick a huge hypodermic needle right through a foot, with no blood coming out, and without the patient noticing, and how they "debrided" (cut out all the dead stuff) before sewing over it all with a "flap" of flesh. I've also heard a physician laugh at the expression of people who claim to have "a little bit of diabetes". There is no such thing. You can't be a little bit pregnant, and you can't have "a little bit of diabetes". It is a terrible disease, and when you have it, you have it, and it will follow you to your grave.

2.8) To reduce the risks of Cardio-Vascular Diseases. Excess body mass is directly related to Cardio-Vascular Diseases. If the preceding sentence doesn't hit you, go push some stretchers in the hospital wing that deals with such people (yes, I did that). Look at the adults, sometimes tall and strong and rich, who are tied up to the wall with all kinds of wires and tubes. Look at them, while they beg for help to go to the bathroom. See their bank accounts draining out because they can't work anymore. See all the pain they impose to the members of their family, who now have to take care of them, just because they lacked the moral fiber to quit eating chips and Coka-cola...

(Oops, did I forget to mention that as soon as you have a cardiac attack, you automatically become diabetic afterward?)

2.9) To have some clothes on our back! Returning to one's healthy weight often means getting a free wardrobe of almost new cloths (our own!).

2.10) To be more mobile and independent. By coming back to a healthy diet (higher food quality and lower quantity), and by exercising regularly, we get rid of a whole slew of little slaveries: long and complex meal preparations; complexity in our kitchen (you need all kinds of culinary implements to cook refined meals!); trips to the grocery store that are frequent, tedious and dominated by all kinds of small rules to be respected; whisperings and complaints as soon as we have to eat elsewhere than in our own kitchen adapted to our culinary whims; etc.

2.11) To pay the rent. Franklin used to say: "One vice costs more to feed than two children". Eating better means getting financially richer.

2.12) To run faster and climb higher. It's not easy to run, when you're dragging the equivalent of a backpack filled with several kilograms of butter! (Also, the heavier you are, the more your articulations wear out. By losing weight, you might avoid painful and costly knee replacement surgery, etc., when you get older.)

2.13) To live more ecologically. By eating well, we often reduce our "ecological footprint" (think of all the plastic containers, the bags of chips, the electricity to cook fancy meals, etc.).

2.14) To avoid being deformed. Let's not forget that the human body was invented by God. Getting fat out of sheer gluttony is vandalizing the Temple of the Holy Spirit [1Co 3:16].

Etc., etc.

Why is obesity bad? One-slide conclusion of an advanced explanation by Dr. André Tchernof.
Why is obesity bad? One-slide conclusion of an advanced explanation by Dr. André Tchernof.

3) The Anti-Miraculous Catholic Diet: Principles

3.1) There is nothing miraculous about a diet. Fat is just excess "food fuel" stocked by our body. If we eat more fuel than what we burn through physical exertion, we get fatter. And conversely, if we burn more fuel than we eat, we get thinner.

3.2) Eat less, eat better, move more. It's the only good way to lose weight. (It's also an excellent metaphor for learning Philosophy, but that's another story!)

3.3) A diet is essentially a resolution. To learn more about resolutions, see among others New Year's Resolutions: A Satanic Plot?.

3.4) It's enjoyable to be on a diet. Warning! Food quacks will try to make you believe that you can lose weight while pandering to your vices. This is false. At some point of time, you have to deny yourself, at least a little bit. On the other hand, with God's Grace, prayer, Sacraments, natural means and good resolutions, you can develop a virtue! And once you've developed this virtue of food temperance, respecting your diet becomes easy and enjoyable.

3.5) A diet is for life. If your medulla oblongata and your pons stopped controlling your breathing, you'd stop breathing and die. This control is a life-long process. It has to be the same thing for your diet. Some not-too-bright persons quote statistics according to which people who stop dieting return to their previous excessive weight. Well duh! If you stop controlling your feeding, your feeding will be out of control!

3.6) Flee from drugs, alcohol and tobacco. All of this dieting stuff aims at giving you bodily health, so of course dieting is pretty useless if you also do things that destroy the health of your body!

Good shoes for fast walking, cardiometer and something heavy.
Good shoes for fast walking, cardiometer and something heavy.

4) The Anti-Miraculous Catholic Diet: Practical Advice

4.1) Consult your family physician before and during your diet. A diet is partly something "in your head", but it's also something that occurs in your body. The experts on the human body are medical doctors.

4.2) Think as little as possible about food, and as much as possible about your noble ideal. Some persons are completely obsessed with food. Their whole existence revolves around their stomach, and a diet is for them the opportunity to think even more about food. You have to do the exact opposite. Find a healthy passion, a noble ideal. Think about this noble ideal, give yourself body and soul to this healthy passion, and you'll forget about your stomach.

4.3) Kick out all the food quacks. If you are being monitored by a physician, and you eat appropriately, you can kick out the whole circus of food quacks. Anybody who tries to sell you something complicated and expensive to lose weight is a food quack. Anybody who tries to convince you that you need ultra-special food recipes to lose weight is a food quack. Anybody who suggests that you can lose weight without at least a bit of self-denial is a food quack. Anybody who tries to convince you (with an annoying Parisian accent) that "No! No! It's absolutely not a question of burning more calories than you eat! Buy my book and you'll see the light!" is a food quack.

4.4) Buy a bathroom scale that is metric, with a large digital LED display, and at least half a kilo precision. "Catholic" rhymes with "Metric", and body mass is measured in kilograms. Moreover, the large digital LED display means you can check your mass easily. Finally, by being sufficiently precise, you can check your "food cruising speed" on a daily basis.

4.5) Your interventions to control your body mass should be barely perceptible. A good diet could be called a "food cruising speed". You have to "aim" for the right number on your bathroom scale, and accelerate if you dip below, and brake if you go over. By weighing yourself regularly (once a day max), you'll never have any big nasty surprises, and your interventions to maintain your healthy body mass will be barely perceptible, and cause little pain.

4.6) Generous portions of whole grain products, of fresh fruits and vegetables, reasonable quantities of milk products, and finally of proteins. You can consult the Canadian Food Guide, among others.

4.7) Eliminate Junk Food. Get rid of the capitalists who want to exploit you like cattle to get richer. Our body is hard-wired to be attracted to salty, sweet and fatty foods (small quantities of these things are necessary for life). Junk food abuses these natural tendencies.

4.8) Forbid yourself to eat between meals. (Of course, we're not talking here about people with special medical conditions.) Burning fat is slow and painful, accumulating fat is quick and fun. In a few minutes of overeating, you can destroy the efforts of many days of hard physical exercise. "Losing weight is 20% gym, and 80% kitchen".

4.9) Jump on every opportunity to exercise. Eliminate elevators and escalators. Hunt down opportunities to walk to go to work, to shop, to visit your pals, etc. Believe me, as your diet will progress, your town will shrink.

4.10) Equip yourself for walking, not fashion shows. Buy good trail running shoes (non-slip sole, good support for the foot and ankle, shock-absorbing to protect the joints, etc.), a good little backpack, and real outdoor cloths. It's amazing to see how few people know how to dress for rain, wind and cold (even here in the Province of Quebec!). I guarantee you that if you're reasonably healthy, and appropriately equipped, you'll be able to exercise in the worst weather, and yet be as comfortable as if you were in your living room (except for hot weather, since you can't take your air conditioner with you!). This is not really an expense for losing weight, since you need these things anyway.

4.11) If you're a woman, throw out your fashion magazines. Forget the silhouettes of those fashion models (who are often anorexic). First of all, those photos aren't real: most are heavily modified with powerful software, to "improve" those poor scrawny models. You'll never look like that, and anyway, your body is declining day by day. You're headed for the grave, and your body will be eaten by worms. Put your treasure in Heaven, where it will be safe.

4.12) Reduce the amount of meat you eat, without falling into the vegetarian superstition. Maybe it is possible to be a vegetarian without falling into some superstition, but I've never come across such a person. On the other hand, most North Americans eat too much meat, and meat production puts a huge strain on the environment.

4.13) Educate the people who share your fridge. If for example you're married, and your wife doesn't buy fresh vegetables at the grocery store, or she brings you large bowls of chips when you're reading in the living room, you'll find it harder to respect your diet.

4.14) Respect your fat cells. The human body is a wonderful machine, invented by an Engineer who always had 100% on all His exams. A fat cell is a fantastic energy reserve. First, you don't need to eat greasy foods to get fat: the body is able to transform any excess food energy into fat. Second, fat contains roughly three times more energy than sugar, which explains why losing weight takes so much time. Cheer up, because this also explains why we're not all dead already, like a silly cell phone that uses up its battery!

4.15) Maybe buy a bit of equipment. In theory, equipment is almost totally useless, since to exercise, you just need to go outside and run, or walk briskly, or swim, or chop wood, etc. But since I'm lazy, my "brisk walk" tends to briskly turn into a "nonchalant daydream"! My cardiometer calculates a heart rate that is reasonable for my age, weight, sex and general fitness level, then it goes "beep-beep" when I slow down too much!

As far as exercising inside when the weather is too bad, I like to use two things that are very easy to find: water and gravity! Water is heavy, and exerting a force on a mass to make it go up is almost the definition of work! (Joule = Newton * meter, or kg*m*m/s*s) With a bit of imagination, you can make just about all your muscles work, without injuries (by putting the right amount of water), without making noise (gravity is usually pretty silent!), and cheaply!

4.16) Each time you feel an irresistible urge to eat, go on an "urban pilgrimage" . If you live in the Province of Quebec, there is probably a Catholic church near you. Go on foot! Go see Jesus in person! If you want to double the effectiveness of your pilgrimage, distribute some Lost Sermons in that church: you'll then have to run away! That's an excellent way to burn calories!

5) Conclusion

Go hug your fridge for the last time. It's all over between it and you. Your heart and your stomach now belong to Jesus.

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Comment chasser les gens loin de Jésus
en donnant des câlins à son frigo

Mauvais garçon
«Ils ont pour dieu leur ventre» [Ph 3:19]

1) Quel est le rapport entre Jésus et mon frigo?

Imaginez un chirurgien immensément talentueux, capable de redonner la vue aux aveugles. Qu'arriverait-il si ce chirurgien mettait une immense affiche au néon à l'extérieur de sa clinique disant:

Eh! Les aveugles! Venez ici, je peux vous guérir!

Fort probablement que peu d'aveugles pourraient lire son affiche.

C'est un peu la même chose pour nous les catholiques. Nous avons la Foi, et donc nous voyons clairement le monde spirituel, par contre il ne sert à rien de «mettre une affiche» que les incroyants ne peuvent pas lire! On peut bien parler de la Bible et de Jésus, mais les incroyants (par définition) ne croient pas encore en Jésus, alors ils risquent de ne pas voir où on veut en venir. Il faut bien sûr continuer de parler de la Bible et de Jésus, mais il faut aussi attirer les incroyants avec des choses qu'ils peuvent voir et apprécier.

Une autre manière de le dire, c'est qu'il faut éviter de donner des «contre-témoignages» aux incroyants. Un contre-témoignage c'est comme un gros haut-parleur (que les aveugles peuvent entendre!) qui hurle: «Allez vous-en les aveugles, on ne peut rien faire pour vous aider!»

Certains contre-témoignages sont horribles et presque garantis de chasser les incroyants de Jésus (comme les mauvaises inquisitions, par exemple). D'autres contre-témoignages sont beaucoup moins graves, mais ils causent quand même du tort à l'Église.

Un de ces contre-témoignages mineurs est l'obésité des catholiques. Les incroyants ne savent peut-être pas ce qu'est l'Immaculée-Conception ou la Transsubstantiation, mais ils savent ce qu'est le poids-santé. Ils savent aussi que Jésus a dit qu'il fallait s'aimer soi-même (ainsi que Dieu et son prochain) [Mc 12:29]. Peut-être même sont-ils au courant que l'Église catholique enseigne que les Sacrements confèrent la grâce, et que cette grâce et la prière nous permettent de faire la volonté de Dieu.

Les incroyants pourront donc se faire des raisonnements comme:

«Ce catholique est gros, donc il ne s'aime pas, ce qui est contraire aux enseignements de Jésus. Donc l'Église catholique n'est pas l'Église de Jésus.»

ou encore:

«Ce catholique est gros, mais il veut perdre du poids sans en être capable. Si c'est à cause d'une maladie endocrinienne ou quelque chose du genre, ce n'est pas de sa faute. Mais si c'est par manque de volonté, alors la religion catholique est fausse, car les Sacrements catholiques sont supposés guérir l'homme de ses maladies spirituelles, entre autres le manque de volonté pour faire le bien.»

Ces raisonnements peuvent nous paraître simples, mêmes simplistes, mais ils ont une grande part de vérité, et une vérité que même les aveugles spirituels peuvent voir. Et il ne sert à rien de rétorquer que ces gens devraient pouvoir voir «au-delà de nos apparences» et voir «la beauté de notre âme». Ces gens ne sont pas fous. Ils savent très bien qu'on peut être laid physiquement, et beau moralement. Par contre, ils voient aussi que normalement, si la religion catholique était vraie, les catholiques devraient en général être non seulement à leur poids-santé, mais aussi sobres, courageux, honnêtes, justes, humbles, charitables, et ainsi de suite.

Homo McDonaldiens

2) Quelques bonnes raisons pour perdre du poids

Avant d'aller prendre votre bonne résolution pour retrouver votre poids-santé, il faut énumérer par écrit toutes les bonnes raisons que vous avez pour perdre du poids. Voici quelques suggestions pour stimuler votre imagination:

2.1) Pour convertir les incroyants. Si vous cessez vos amourettes avec votre frigo, vous pourrez plus facilement attirer les incroyants et les convertir!

2.2) Pour se mortifier. Les paroles de Jésus sont comme le bon grain qu'il faut semer dans la bonne terre. Pour avoir une bonne terre, il faut enlever les roches, arracher les mauvaises herbes, bêcher le sol. Pour que notre coeur soit une «bonne terre», il faut se mortifier. Plus précisément, nous avons quatre bonnes raisons pour se mortifier: (1) il faut mortifier les suites du péché originel qui nous inclinent au mal; (2) il faut mortifier les suites de nos péchés personnels; (3) il faut se mortifier à cause de l'élévation infinie de notre fin surnaturelle; (4) il faut se mortifier pour imiter Jésus crucifié. [Les Trois âges de la vie intérieure, p. 406].

2.3) Pour être le rempart de la pureté. La gourmandise est l'avant-garde de l'impureté, ne l'oublions pas. Quand on sent un peu la faim, c'est comme le Système d'alarme divin qui nous assure que tous les barbares sont embarrés à l'extérieur du château de notre âme!

2.4) Parce que Jésus est le chocolat de notre vie! Sérieusement, plus on cherche les consolations divines, moins on a besoin des consolations humaines, que ce soit les petits plats délicats, ou la télévision, ou les journaux quotidiens, etc.

2.5) Pour fortifier sa volonté. «La fatalité n'existe que par la veulerie des êtres» [V. Cousin].

2.6) Pour avoir une meilleure vie intellectuelle. Il est difficile de se concentrer quand on est tout occupé à enfourner de la nourriture, ou à s'abreuver à l'auge. «Une nourriture légère, simple, modérée en quantité et en apprêts vous permettra un travail plus prompt et plus libre. Un penseur ne passe pas sa vie en séances de digestion.» [Sertillanges, La vie intellectuelle, chap. 2.4].

2.7) Pour éviter le diabète de type-II. La communauté médicale parle de plus en plus en Amérique du Nord du fléau du diabète. C'est une vague qui déferle, et certains disent qu'elle aura des conséquences terribles sur nos hôpitaux et nos impôts. Et oui, j'ai déjà fait une conférence sur le traitement des plaies, où j'ai vu des photos de pieds de diabétiques, et entendu des médecins expliquer comment ils pouvaient planter une énorme seringue hypodermique directement au travers d'un pied, sans qu'une seule goutte de sang sorte, et sans que le patient le sache, et comment ils ont fait le «parage» (découper toutes les choses mortes) avant de recoudre par-dessus avec une «languette» de chair. J'ai aussi entendu un médecin rire de l'expression des gens qui prétendent «faire un peu de diabète». C'est impossible. Vous ne pouvez pas être un peu enceinte, et vous ne pouvez pas «faire un peu de diabète». C'est une maladie terrible, et quand vous l'avez, vous l'avez, et elle va vous suivre jusque dans votre tombe.

2.8) Pour diminuer les risques de maladies cardio-vasculaires. L'excédent de masse corporelle est directement relié aux maladies cardio-vasculaires. Si la phrase précédente ne vous frappe pas, allez pousser des civières dans l'aile de l'hôpital qui s'occupe de ces gens (oui, j'ai fait ça). Regardez les adultes, parfois grands et forts et riches, qui sont attachés au mur par toutes sortes de fils et de tuyaux. Regardez-les, pendant qu'ils doivent quêter de l'aide pour aller à la salle de bains. Voyez leur compte de banque se vider car ils ne peuvent plus travailler. Voyez toutes les souffrances qu'ils imposent aux membres de leur famille, qui doivent maintenant prendre soin d'eux, juste parce qu'ils ont été trop lâches pour couper dans les croustilles et le Coka-cola...

(Oups, ai-je oublié de mentionner que dès que vous faites une crise cardiaque, vous devenez automatiquement diabétique après?)

2.9) Pour avoir quelque chose à se mettre sur le dos! Retrouver son poids-santé signifie souvent obtenir gratuitement toute une garde-robe de beaux vêtements presque neufs (les nôtres!).

2.10) Pour être plus mobile et indépendant. En retrouvant une alimentation saine (en qualité améliorée et quantité réduite), et en faisant de l'exercice régulièrement, on se débarrasse d'une foule de petits esclavages: préparation longue et complexe de petits plats raffinés; complexité dans la cuisine (il en faut, des instruments pour préparer des plats raffinés!); voyages à l'épicerie fréquents, laborieux et dominés par une foule de petits règlements à respecter; murmures et plaintes dès qu'on doit manger ailleurs que dans notre cuisine adaptée à nos caprices alimentaires; etc.

2.11) Pour payer son loyer. Franklin disait: «Un vice coûte plus cher à nourrir que deux enfants». Bien s'alimenter signifie s'enrichir financièrement.

2.12) Pour courir plus vite et grimper plus haut. Pas facile de courir, quand on traîne l'équivalent d'un sac-à-dos rempli de plusieurs kilogrammes de beurre! (Aussi, plus on est lourd, plus nos articulations s'usent. En maigrissant, vous éviterez peut-être des chirurgies douloureuses et coûteuses pour faire remplacer vos articulations de genoux, etc., quand vous serez plus vieux.)

2.13) Pour vivre plus écologiquement. En mangeant normalement, on diminue souvent son «empreinte écologique» (pensez à tous les contenants en plastique, les sacs de croustilles, l'électricité pour faire cuire les plats raffinés, etc.).

2.14) Pour ne pas être difforme. Le corps humain a été inventé par Dieu, ne l'oublions pas. Se laisser engraisser par gloutonnerie, c'est vandaliser le temple du Saint-Esprit [1Co 3:16].

Etc., etc.

Pourquoi l'obésité est-elle mauvaise? Conclusion en une diapositive d'une explication avancée du Dr. André Tchernof.
Pourquoi l'obésité est-elle mauvaise? Conclusion en une diapo d'une explication avancée du Dr. André Tchernof.

3) Le Régime catholique anti-miraculeux: Principes

3.1) Un régime n'a rien de miraculeux. La graisse, c'est tout bêtement du «carburant alimentaire» de trop, que notre corps emmagasine. Si on mange plus de carburant qu'on en brûle par l'activité physique, on engraisse. Et inversement, si on brûle plus de carburant qu'on en mange, on maigrit.

3.2) Mangez moins, mangez mieux, et bougez davantage. C'est la seule bonne manière de perdre du poids. (C'est aussi une excellente métaphore pour apprendre la philosophie, mais ça, c'est une autre histoire!)

3.3) Un régime, c'est essentiellement une résolution. Pour savoir comment prendre de bonnes résolutions, voyez entre autres Les Bonnes résolutions du Nouvel An: un complot satanique?.

3.4) Un régime alimentaire est agréable à respecter. Attention! Les charlatans alimentaires vont tenter de vous faire croire qu'on peut perdre du poids tout en flattant ses vices. C'est faux. À un moment donné, il faut se renoncer, au moins un peu. Par contre, avec la grâce de Dieu, la prière, les sacrements, les moyens naturels et de bonnes résolutions, on peut développer une vertu! Et une fois qu'on a développé cette vertu de tempérance alimentaire, respecter son régime devient agréable et facile.

3.5) Un régime, c'est pour la vie. Si votre myélencéphale et votre protubérance annulaire cessaient de contrôler votre respiration, vous cesseriez de respirer, et vous mourriez. Ce contrôle s'exerce toute votre vie. Cela doit être la même chose pour votre régime. Certaines personnes, pas trop futées, citent des statistiques selon lesquelles les gens qui cessent leur régime reprennent leur masse excédentaire. Mais c'est évident! Si vous cessez de contrôler votre alimentation, votre alimentation sera hors de contrôle!

3.6) Fuyez la drogue, l'alcool et le tabac. Toutes ces histoires de régime visent à vous donner la santé corporelle, alors bien sûr, être au régime est pas mal futile, si vous faites par ailleurs des choses qui détruisent la santé de votre corps!

Bons souliers pour la marche rapide, cardiomètre et quelque chose de lourd.
Bons souliers pour la marche rapide, cardiomètre et quelque chose de lourd.

4) Le Régime catholique anti-miraculeux: Conseils pratiques

4.1) Consultez votre médecin de famille avant et pendant votre régime. Un régime, c'est en partie «dans la tête», mais aussi dans le corps. Les spécialistes du corps humain sont les médecins.

4.2) Pensez le moins possible à la nourriture, et le plus possible à votre idéal noble. Certaines personnes sont complètement obnubilés par l'alimentation. Toute leur vie tourne autour de leur ventre, et un régime n'est pour eux que l'occasion de penser encore plus à la nourriture. Il faut faire exactement l'inverse. Trouvez-vous une bonne passion, un idéal noble. Pensez à cet idéal, donnez-vous corps et âme à cette bonne passion, et vous ne penserez même plus à votre ventre.

4.3) Envoyez promener les charlatans alimentaires. Si vous êtes suivis par un médecin, et si vous vous alimentez convenablement, vous pouvez balayer du revers de la main toute la ribambelle des charlatans alimentaires. Toute personne qui essaie de vous vendre quelque chose de compliqué et coûteux pour perdre du poids est un charlatan. Toute personne qui essaie de vous convaincre qu'il faut des recettes de cuisine ultra-spécialisées pour perdre du poids est un charlatan. Toute personne qui insinue qu'on peut perdre du poids sans au moins un peu d'abnégation est un charlatan. Toute personne qui tente de vous convaincre (avec un accent parisien énervant) que «Non! Non! Ce n'est absolument pas une question de brûler plus de calories qu'on en mange! Achetez mon livre et vous verrez la lumière!» est un charlatan.

4.4) Achetez un pèse-personne avec un gros affichage numérique lumineux, précis au demi-kilo au moins. Laissez les livres aux bibliothèques. «Catholique», ça rime avec «Métrique», et la masse corporelle se mesure en kilogrammes. De plus, l'affichage numérique grand format et lumineux fait qu'on peut voir notre masse facilement. Finalement, une précision suffisante permet de vérifier notre «vitesse de croisière alimentaire» une fois par jour.

4.5) Vos interventions pour contrôler votre masse devraient être à peine perceptibles. Un bon régime pourrait s'appeler une «vitesse de croisière alimentaire». Vous devez «viser» le bon nombre sur votre pèse-personne, et accélérer si vous descendez en bas de ce nombre, et freiner si vous le dépassez. En vous pesant régulièrement (une fois par jour maximum), vous n'aurez jamais de grosses mauvaises surprises, et vos interventions pour maintenir votre masse-santé seront à peine perceptibles, et peu douloureuses.

4.6) Portions généreuses de produits céréaliers entiers, de fruits et de légumes frais, des quantités raisonnables de produits laitiers, et enfin de protéines . Vous pouvez consulter à ce sujet le Guide alimentaire canadien, entre autres.

4.7) Éliminez la malbouffe («Junk Food» en anglais). Débarrassez-vous des capitalistes qui veulent vous exploiter comme du bétail afin de s'enrichir. Notre corps est câblé pour être attiré par le salé, le sucré et le graisseux (des petites quantités de ces choses sont nécessaires pour vivre). La malbouffe exploite à outrance ces tendances naturelles.

4.8) Interdisez-vous de manger entre les repas. (Bien sûr, on exclut ici les gens qui ont des conditions médicales spéciales.) Brûler le gras est lent et douloureux, accumuler le gras est rapide et agréable. En quelques minutes de gavage, vous pouvez détruire les efforts de plusieurs jours de dur exercice physique. «Perdre du poids est 20% gym, et 80% cuisine».

4.9) Sautez sur toutes les occasions de faire de l'exercice. Éliminez les ascenseurs et les escaliers roulants. Évitez l'auto comme la peste. Pourchassez les occasions de marcher pour aller au bureau, au magasin, chez vos copines et copains, etc. Croyez-moi sur parole: au fur et à mesure que votre régime va avancer, votre ville va rapetisser.

4.10) Équipez-vous pour marcher, pas pour les défilés de mode. Achetez-vous de bons souliers de course sur sentier (semelle anti-dérapante, bon soutien pour le pied et la cheville, absorbant les chocs pour protéger les jointures, etc.), un bon petit sac-à-dos et de vrais vêtements d'extérieur. C'est remarquable comme peu de gens savent s'habiller convenablement pour la pluie, le vent et le froid (même ici au Québec!). Je vous garantis que si vous êtes le moindrement en santé, et équipé convenablement, vous pourrez faire de l'exercice dehors dans les pires intempéries, comme si vous étiez confortablement installés dans votre salon (sauf pour les grandes chaleurs, car on ne peut pas traîner son climatiseur avec soi!). Ce n'est pas vraiment une dépense pour maigrir, car vous avez besoin de ces choses-là de toute manière.

4.11) Si vous êtes une femme, jetez aux vidanges vos revues de mode. Oubliez les silhouettes des mannequins professionnels (souvent anorexiques). D'ailleurs, ces photos ne sont même pas authentiques: la plupart sont amplement modifiées avec des logiciels puissants, pour «améliorer» ces pauvres mannequins décharnés. Vous ne ressemblerez jamais à ça, et d'ailleurs votre corps dépérit de jour en jour. Vous vous dirigez vers la tombe, et votre corps sera dévoré par les vers de terre. Mettez votre trésor au Ciel, là où il sera en sécurité.

4.12) Réduisez la quantité de viande que vous mangez, sans tomber dans la superstition végétarienne. Il est peut-être possible d'être végétarien sans tomber dans une quelconque superstition, mais je n'en ai jamais rencontré. D'un autre côté, la plupart des nord américains mangent trop de viande, et la production de viande impose des contraintes énormes sur l'environnement.

4.13) Éduquez les gens qui partagent votre frigo. Si par exemple vous êtes marié, et que votre épouse n'achète pas de légumes frais à l'épicerie, ou qu'elle vient vous porter des gros bols de croustilles dans le salon quand vous lisez, vous aurez plus de difficultés à respecter votre régime.

4.14) Respectez vos cellules adipeuses. Le corps humain est une merveilleuse machine, inventée par un Ingénieur qui a toujours eu 100% à tous Ses examens. Une cellule adipeuse est une réserve fantastique d'énergie. Primo, nul besoin de manger des aliments graisseux pour engraisser: le corps est capable de transformer toute énergie alimentaire excédentaire en graisse. Secundo, le gras contient environ trois fois plus d'énergie que le sucre, ce qui explique pourquoi maigrir prend tant de temps. Consolez-vous, car ceci explique aussi pourquoi nous ne sommes pas tous morts comme un vulgaire téléphone cellulaire qui a épuisé sa batterie!

4.15) Peut-être acheter un peu d'équipement. En théorie, l'équipement est presque totalement inutile, car pour faire de l'exercice, il suffit de sortir dehors et de courir, ou marcher vigoureusement, ou nager, ou fendre des bûches, etc. Mais comme je suis paresseux, ma «marche rapide» a tendance à devenir rapidement une «rêverie nonchalante»! Mon cardiomètre calcule un rythme cardiaque qui est raisonnable pour mon âge, poids, sexe et état de santé général, et ensuite il fait «bip-bip» quand je ralentis trop, ce qui m'aide beaucoup à m'éperonner.

Pour ce qui est de faire de l'exercice dans la maison quand il fait trop mauvais dehors, j'aime bien utiliser deux choses très faciles à trouver: l'eau et la gravité! L'eau est lourde, et exercer une force une masse pour la faire monter est presque la définition du travail! (Joule = Newton * mètre, ou kg*m*m/s*s) Avec un peu d'imagination, on peut faire travailler à peu près tous nos muscles, sans se blesser (en mettant la bonne quantité d'eau), sans faire de bruit (d'habitude, la gravité est très silencieuse!), et à peu de frais!

4.16) À chaque fois que vous avez une folle envie de manger, faites un «pèlerinage urbain». Si vous habitez au Québec, il y a très probablement une église catholique près de chez vous. Allez-y à pied! Allez voir Jésus en personne! Si vous voulez doubler d'efficacité de votre pèlerinage, distribuez des Sermons perdus dans cette église: vous devrez ensuite vous sauver en courant! Excellente manière de brûler des calories!

5) Conclusion

Allez embrasser une dernière fois votre frigo. C'est fini entre lui et vous. Votre coeur et votre ventre appartiennent désormais à Jésus.

Mais il est pourri ce régime! Du 2011-déc-11 au 2012-fév-22, j'ai pris deux livres!
Mais il est pourri ce régime! Du 2011-déc-11 au 2012-fév-22, j'ai pris deux livres!

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus