| Home >> Lost Sermons

The "Prepareful" Mysteries

The Prepareful Mysteries.

1) Introduction

Good Catholics love to pray the Rosary, among other reasons because God Himself said the Virgin Mary is our Mother [Jn 19:27]. Praying the Rosary involves meditating important moments in the Life of Christ (i.e. "mysteries"). Traditionally, there are three series of five mysteries, but recently Saint John Paul II added another series:

- The Joyful Mysteries (Annunciation, Visitation, Nativity, Presentation of Jesus at the Temple, Finding of Jesus in the Temple).

- The Luminous Mysteries (Baptism of Jesus, Wedding at Cana, Jesus' Proclamation of the Kingdom of God, Transfiguration, Institution of the Eucharist).

- The Sorrowful Mysteries (Agony in the Garden, Scourging at the Pillar, Crowning with Thorns, Carrying of the Cross, Crucifixion and Death of our Lord).

- The Glorious Mysteries (Resurrection, Ascension, Descent of the Holy Spirit, Assumption of Mary, Coronation of the Virgin).

In this article, because the Church (and all of Mankind) is apparently headed for disaster, I propose a new series of mysteries, to help us prepare for this disaster. A bit facetiously, I call them the "Prepareful" mysteries.

2) Can we add other mysteries to the Rosary?

Saint John Paul II, in his beautiful Rosarium Virginis Mariae, says:

11. [...] Mary constantly sets before the faithful the "mysteries" of her Son, with the desire that the contemplation of those mysteries will release all their saving power. In the recitation of the Rosary, the Christian community enters into contact with the memories and the contemplative gaze of Mary.

13. [...] it is also necessary to recall that the spiritual life "is not limited solely to participation in the liturgy. Christians, while they are called to prayer in common, must also go to their own rooms to pray to their Father in secret

19. Of the many mysteries of Christ's life, only a few are indicated by the Rosary [...] the traditional pattern [of 15 mysteries is] left to the freedom of individuals and communities [my emphasis]

Since there are many more mysteries than 15 (or 20) in the Life of Christ, and since this is private prayer (not like Mass where we must respect the will of the Church for the liturgy, i.e. Say the black and do the red), and since Mankind (and even the current Pope) is abandoning the Social Kingship of Christ (which inevitably leads to disaster, since "without a Creator the creature vanishes" [CCC, #308]), it seems logical to me to add the "Prepareful Mysteries" to the Rosary.

3) The Prepareful Mysteries

3.1) First Decade: Horrible disasters are coming, prepare to flee!

Flee to the mountains.
[Source]

[...] flee to the mountains, a person on the housetop must not go down to get things out of his house, a person in the field must not return to get his cloak. [...] at that time there will be great tribulation, such as has not been since the beginning of the world until now, nor ever will be.
[Matthiew 24:11-21]

Remember this is Almighty God ordering to flee to the mountains. Why give such a commandment, if fleeing was useless? Also, some people present Christianity as a kind of "opium of the people", a religion of "happy-talk" and "let's all hold hands and sing Kumbaya". But that is not what the Word of God says. The Word of God warns us of horrible disasters, if we abandon Him. And have we ever abandoned Him today! As John Lamont says about the doctrine of Christ the King: "If the rejection of the true religion by state and society is now so deep that this disaster cannot be avoided, the doctrine still needs to be urgently announced in order to enable people to prepare for disaster."

Other quotes:

A Prudent man sees danger and takes refuge, but the simple keep going and suffer for it.
[Proverbs 22:3]

Before Christ's second coming the Church must pass through a final trial that will shake the faith of many believers.
[Catechism of the Catholic Church, #675]

The Church will enter the glory of the kingdom only through this final Passover, when She will follow her Lord in His death and Resurrection.
[Catechism of the Catholic Church, #677]

3.2) Second Decade: God, Guns, Gold, Groceries

Jesus teaches His disciples.
[Source]

But now let the one who has a moneybag take it, and likewise a knapsack. And let the one who has no sword sell his cloak and buy one.
[Luke 22:36]

Remember, Jesus is God, so this is God telling us to grab our moneybag (our gold), our knapsack (which certainly included some groceries) and to get a gun (in those days, a sword).

3.3) Third Decade: Situational awareness

Jesus prays all night on a mountaintop.
[Source]

Jesus went out to a mountainside to pray, and spent the night praying to God.
[Luke 6:12]

First, Jesus was physically able to pray all night, in other words he had the stamina, the physical toughness, to work all day and pray all night. Jesus certainly did not have a beer belly and smoker's yellow teeth. He was certainly fit as a fiddle.

Second, Jesus could keep mentally active for a long period of time, without needing a big library or YouTube to compensate for an empty brain. His mind was filled with good things already. Theology teaches us that He has all the human virtues, including intellectual virtues (which includes all skills, which includes survival skills!).

This physical and mental preparedness allowed Jesus to pray all night, but it also reminds us that your most important material weapon is your body, and survival skills take zero bulk and have zero mass, so you always have them with you (even if you walk up to a mountaintop with just the clothes on your back, and find out you have to spend the whole night there). In other words, one of the most important things to prepare is yourself: a healthy mind in a healthy body (i.e. "Mens sana in corpore sano").

Finally, Jesus used this healthy mind in a healthy body to maintain "situational awareness". If bad things are coming our way, we need to stay awake (which includes avoiding the "mental sleep" of entertainment).

Other quotes:

Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit?
[1Co 6:19]

Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.
[1P 5:8]

3.4) Fourth Decade: When the SHTF, Bug Out!

Joseph takes Mary and Jesus into Egypt.
[Source]

So [Joseph] got up, took the child and his mother during the night and left for Egypt
[Matthew 2:14]

In the middle of the night, saint Joseph grabs his family and his bug out bag and leaves for a foreign country, in a hurry, using back roads. And remember all children under two years of age and living in that general area will be massacred in a few hours. How much more SHTF can things get for a young and poor family? But saint Joseph was ready, and took massive action to save his family, despite there being very few signs that a disaster was incoming.

3.5) Fifth Decade: Don't go overboard with this prepper stuff.

Jesus peacefully surrenders in Gethsemani.
[Source]

For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me and for the gospel will save it.
[Mark 8:35]

Life here below is not the most important thing. We have to make reasonable efforts to protect it, but we also have to be ready to sacrifice our earthly life, if it's the only way of avoiding sin (and sin is the Ultimate Bad Thing, not some earthly disaster). Jesus could have escaped from the armed thugs who came to capture Him in the Garden of Gethsemani (saint John ran, and nobody caught him). But He just walked up to them and said bravely: "I am He" [John 18:5].

Christian Fundamentalists preparing for the Apocalypse.
Christian Fundamentalists preparing for the Apocalypse.
[Source]

Another way of saying the same thing is that if you want to see Catholic survivalists preparing for the End of the World, go into a church to watch the lineup in front of the Confessional: there! The Sacrament of Confession (which includes sincere repentance for all your faults and fixing all the damage you've done) is the only thing you can do to prepare for the End of the World (and when you die, it's "the End of the World" for you...).

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Les Mystères «Prépareux»

Les Mystères «Prépareux».

1) Introduction

Les bons catholiques aiment à prier le chapelet, entre autres parce que Dieu Lui-même a dit que la Vierge Marie est notre Mère [Jn 19:27]. Prier le chapelet implique la méditation de moments importants dans la Vie du Christ (c'est-à-dire les «mystères»). Traditionnellement, il y a trois séries de cinq mystères, mais récemment saint Jean-Paul II a ajouté une autre série:

- Les Mystères joyeux (L'Annonciation, La Visitation, La Nativité, La présentation de Jésus au Temple, Le recouvrement de Jésus au Temple).

- Les Mystères lumineux (Baptême du Christ, Noces de Cana, Proclamation du Royaume, Transfiguration, L'institution de la sainte Eucharistie).

- Les Mystères douloureux (L'agonie de Jésus à Gethsémani, La flagellation, Le couronnement d'épines, Le portement de la Croix, La crucifixion et la Mort de notre Seigneur).

- Les Mystères glorieux (La Résurrection, L'Ascension, La Pentecôte, L'Assomption de la Vierge, Le Couronnement de la Vierge).

Dans cet article, parce que l'Église (et toute l'Humanité) se dirige apparemment vers un désastre, je propose une nouvelle série de mystères, pour nous aider à nous préparer pour ce désastre. Un peu en rigolant, je les appelle les Mystères «prépareux».

2) Pouvons-nous ajouter d'autres mystères au chapelet?

Saint Jean-Paul II, dans sa magnifique lettre Rosarium Virginis Mariae, dit:

11. [...] Marie propose sans cesse aux croyants les «mystères» de son Fils, avec le désir qu'ils soient contemplés, afin qu'ils puissent libérer toute leur force salvifique. Lorsqu'elle récite le Rosaire, la communauté chrétienne se met en syntonie avec le souvenir et avec le regard de Marie.

13. [...] il convient aussi de rappeler que la vie spirituelle «n'est pas enfermée dans les limites de la participation à la seule sainte Liturgie. Le chrétien, appelé à prier en commun, doit néanmoins aussi entrer dans sa chambre pour prier son Père dans le secret

19. Parmi tous les mystères de la vie du Christ, le Rosaire [...] n'en retient que quelques-uns [...] un ajout serait opportun [au patron traditionnel des 15 mystères] tout en le laissant à la libre appréciation des personnes et des communautés [mes gras]

Puisqu'il y a beaucoup plus de mystères que 15 (ou 20) dans la Vie du Christ, et puisque nous parlons de prière privée (pas comme à la Messe où nous devons respecter la volonté de l'Église pour la liturgie, c'est-à-dire qu'il faut Dire le Noir et faire le Rouge), et puisque l'humanité (et même le Pape actuel) est en train d'abandonner la Royauté sociale du Christ (ce qui mène inévitablement au désastre, puisque «la créature sans le Créateur s'évanouit» [CÉC, No. 308]), Il me semble logique d'ajouter les «Mystères Prépareux» au chapelet.

3) Les Mystères Prépareux

3.1) Première dizaine: Des désastres horribles s'en viennent, préparez-vous à fuir!

Fuyez vers les montagnes.
[Source]

[...] fuyez vers les montagnes, que celui qui sera sur la terrasse ne descende pas dans sa maison pour prendre ses affaires, et que celui qui sera aux champs ne retourne pas en arrière pour prendre son manteau! [...] Car il y aura alors une grande tribulation, telle qu'il n'y en a pas eu depuis le commencement du monde jusqu'à ce jour, et qu'il n'y en aura jamais plus.
[Mt 24:11-21]

N'oubliez pas que c'est Dieu tout-puissant qui donne l'ordre de fuir dans les montagnes. Pourquoi donner un tel commandement, si fuir était inutile? Aussi, certaines personnes présentent le christianisme comme une sorte «d'opium du peuple», une religion de «bla-bla béat» et «tenons-nous tous par la main et chantons Jésus, je t'aime plus que mon cheval, pour un cowboy c'est pas normal». Mais ce n'est pas ce que la Parole de Dieu dit. La Parole de Dieu nous avertit de désastres horribles, si nous L'abandonnons. Et comme nous L'avons abandonné aujourd'hui! Comme Lamont le dit à propos de la doctrine du Christ-Roi: «Si le rejet de la vraie religion par l'État et la société est maintenant si profond que ce désastre ne peut pas être évité, cette doctrine doit quand même être annoncée de manière urgente afin d'aider les gens à se préparer pour le désastre».

Autres citations:

L'homme avisé voit le malheur et se cache, les niais passent outre, à leurs dépens.
[Pr 22:3]

Avant l'avènement du Christ, l'Église doit passer par une épreuve finale qui ébranlera la foi de nombreux croyants
[Catéchisme de l'Église catholique, No. 675]

L'Église n'entrera dans la gloire du Royaume qu'à travers cette ultime Pâque où elle suivra son Seigneur dans sa mort et sa Résurrection
[Catéchisme de l'Église catholique, No. 677]

3.2) Deuxième dizaine: Seigneur, sabre, sesterces, saucisses (en anglais «God, Guns, Gold, Groceries»)

Jésus enseigne ses disciples.
[Source]

Que celui qui a une bourse la prenne, de même celui qui a une besace, et que celui qui n'en a pas vende son manteau pour acheter un glaive.
[Lc 22:36]

N'oubliez pas, Jésus est Dieu, alors c'est le Seigneur qui nous dit d'attraper notre bourse (qui contient notre argent, nos sesterces), notre besace (qui contient de la nourriture, comme par exemple des saucisses sechées et salées), et d'obtenir une arme (comme un sabre, ou un fusil, etc.).

3.3) Troisième dizaine: Conscience de la situation

Jésus prie toute la nuit sur une montagne.
[Source]

[Jésus] s'en alla dans la montagne pour prier, et il passait toute la nuit à prier Dieu.
[Lc 6:12]

D'abord, Jésus était physiquement capable de prier toute la nuit, en d'autres mots il avait l'endurance, la résistance physique, pour travailler toute la journée et prier toute la nuit. Jésus n'avait certainement pas une bedaine de bière et les dents jaunies du fumeur. Il était certainement pétant de santé.

Deuxièmement, Jésus pouvait rester mentalement actif pour une longue période de temps, sans avoir besoin d'une grosse bibliothèque ou de YouTube pour compenser pour une cervelle vide. Son esprit était déjà rempli de bonnes choses. La théologie nous enseigne qu'Il a toutes les vertus, incluant les vertus intellectuelles (ce qui comprend toutes les habiletés, ce qui inclut les habiletés de survie!).

Cet état de préparation physique et mentale permettait à Jésus de prier toute la nuit, mais cela nous rappelle aussi que notre arme matérielle la plus importante est notre corps, et que les habiletés de survie ont zéro encombrement et zéro masse, alors vous les avez toujours avec vous (même si vous arrivez sur un pic montagneux avec seulement les vêtements que vous avez sur le dos, et que vous vous apercevez que vous devez passer la nuit là). En d'autres mots, une des choses les plus importantes à préparer est vous-même: un esprit sain dans un corps sain (c'est-à-dire «Mens sana in corpore sano»).

Finalement, Jésus a utilisé cet esprit sain dans un corps sain pour maintenir la «conscience de la situation» («situational awareness» en anglais). Si des choses mauvaises se dirigent vers nous, nous devons veiller (ce qui inclut d'éviter le «sommeil mental» du divertissement).

Autre citations:

Ne savez-vous pas que votre corps est un temple du Saint Esprit?
[1Co 6:19]

Soyez sobres, veillez. Votre partie adverse, le Diable, comme un lion rugissant, rôde, cherchant qui dévorer.
[1P 5:8]

3.4) Quatrième dizaine: Quand la MFLV, prenez la poudre d'escampette!

Joseph prend Jésus et Marie et fuit en Égypte.
[Source]

[Joseph] se leva, prit avec lui l'enfant et sa mère, de nuit, et se retira en Égypte
[Mt 2:14]

En plein milieu de la nuit, saint Joseph prend sa famille et son sac d'escampette et part pour un pays étranger, à toute vitesse, en prenant les routes secondaires. Et n'oubliez pas que tous les enfants de moins de deux ans d'âge et vivant dans les environs vont être massacrés dans quelques heures. Comment les choses pourrait-elles être plus MFLV pour une jeune et pauvre famille? Mais saint Joseph était prêt, et il a agi virilement pour sauver sa famille, malgré le fait qu'il y avait très peu d'indices qu'un désastre était imminent.

3.5) Cinquième dizaine: N'exagérez pas avec ces histoires de préparation.

Jésus se rend pacifiquement à Gethsémani.
[Source]

Qui veut en effet sauver sa vie la perdra, mais qui perdra sa vie à cause de moi et de l'Évangile la sauvera.
[Mc 8:35]

La vie ci-bas n'est pas la plus importante. Nous devons faire des efforts raisonnables pour la protéger, mais nous devons aussi être prêts à sacrifier notre vie terrestre, si c'est la seule manière d'éviter le péché (et le péché est le Mal Ultime, pas un quelconque désastre terrestre). Jésus aurait pu se sauver des bandits armés qui sont venu le capturer au Jardin de Gethsémani (saint Jean s'est sauvé, et nul ne l'a attrapé). Mais Il s'est tout simplement dirigé vers eux et a dit courageusement: «C'est moi» [Jn 18:5].

Fondamentalistes chrétiens se préparant pour l'Apocalypse.
Fondamentalistes chrétiens se préparant pour l'Apocalypse.
[Source]

Une autre manière de dire la même chose est que si vous voulez voir des survivalistes catholiques se préparer pour la fin du Monde, allez dans une église regarder la file de gens devant le confessionnal: voilà! Le Sacrement de la Confession (ce qui inclut se repentir sincèrement pour toutes ses fautes et réparer tout le mal qu'on a fait) est la seule chose qu'on puisse faire pour se préparer pour la fin du Monde (et lorsqu'on meurt, c'est «la fin du Monde» pour nous...).

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus