| Home >> Varia >> Software Engineering

A Few Software Rules For This Web Site

Web site logo

1) Introduction

The goals of this document:

- Be a "cheat sheet" for myself, so I'll at least be consistent with myself for the organization and programming of this web site!
- Let other webmasters know how to manage this web site.
- Be general enough (especially sections 2 and 3 here below) to help other web sites.

2) General Rules

2.1) Of course, the Legal Considerations of this site have precedence over these rules!. In other words, programming presupposes Morality and Law. For example, we have to avoid hateful propaganda, avoid foul language, respect other people's intellectual property, etc. A simple way of doing this is to visibly adhere to a "Catholic Web Site Code of Ethics" (see for example #2.4, "Charter of Duties of Catholic Media", in "The Mediatic Body of Christ").

2.2) Multilingualism. Generally, if we live in an officially multilingual country, all the contents of the web site must be available in the official languages. In my case, since I'm in Canada, everything must be translated into English and French (that's the minimum! I'd love to add Latin and Spanish!). Tolerated exceptions: correspondence, reactions of people to this web site, other sites we link to, less-important documents in the "Varia" section.

2.3) No ads on the web site. Never, of any kind. See also Legal Consideration #24.

2.4) No flashing and spinning do-dads. As far as possible, text and simple images only. Modern society tries to hyperstimulate the senses and the imagination, in order to snuff out study and prayer. I want to do just the opposite!

2.5) No hyperlinks to suspicious web sites. Of course, I don't control the content of other web sites, but I must make efforts to never point toward bad sites.

2.6) No information overload. In general, web sites tend to put too much information on one page.

2.7) Usable locally. I must be able to copy the folder containing all files for the web site onto some other media (USB thumbdrive, DVD, compressed file sent by e-mail, etc.), hand it over to somebody else, and that person must be able to use the whole web site on their computer, without installing any software other than a standard web browser.

Reminder to myself to avoid excessive use of JPG files.
Reminder to myself to avoid excessive use of JPG files.
(Source)

3) More technical rules

3.1) Never change neither the names or locations of HTML files. To avoid breaking other people's hyperlinks, including those of search engines like Google.

3.2) The least possible programming complexity. Only HTML. No ASP, no PHP, no Java applets, no CMS, etc. Many reasons argue for this: ease of indexing by search engines (see #3.1 here above), reduction in maintenance costs for the web site, ease of changing webmasters, increased tendency to focus on the contents of the web site rather than the accessories (see #2.4 here above), faster page loading, site usable by antiquated computers and/or computers not connected to the Internet (see #2.7 here above), site usable by "smart telephones" and other mobile devices with small screens (see for example Google Mobile-Friendly Test to test mobile-friendliness), etc.

3.3) Web site usable in text mode. The poor don't have high-speed Internet access, and disactivate image loading. The site must be perfectly functional in text mode.

3.4) Respect the standards of www.w3.org. All the pages must pass without errors the automated validation test (HTML 4.01). (I use A Real Validator by Liam Quinn to check the whole web site in batch mode.)

3.5) Mirror site for dependability. If a web site is important, it should be "mirrored", i.e. copied entirely on another site, preferably physically in another country. Tell users about this site in the "index.htm" file in the root, and in "contact.htm".

Link rot.
[Source]

3.6) External hyperlinks. We must as far as possible use the wealth of the Internet, while minimizing broken hyperlinks (link rot). I don't know how to avoid the link rot problem. The least bad current solution is:

External hyperlinks are classified in two: the important ones, i.e. those which must be fixed when they are broken, and the others (which must still be kept, often for copyright reasons, and which even when broken can often be used to find the original document given a few efforts with Google). Moreover, all external hyperlinks must be flagged with a little icon next to the hyperlink, like this (even if this particular one isn't external but internal! It's just to show the little icon!).

(Note for myself: I've tried already to put all non-important hyperlinks on separate web pages, with a "footnote"-style pointer. What a heap of extra work! And for no result: the broken external hyperlinks remain broken. In August 2015, I went back to the old method of just sticking the external hyperlinks in the web pages.)

3.7) Fast page loading. Among others, pages should have less than 50K or so, to let them load fast.

3.8) Spell Checker. All HTML must be spell-checked by software. Of course, ideally, they are also scrutinized by professional reviewers.

3.9) Respect certain conventions on file and folder names. No uppercase, no accents, no spaces, no plural. Keep the names short. On this site, I somewhat arbitrarily decided to use only French for file and folder names. The idea is to chose a convention, then stick to it.

3.10) Respect the General template for a page and the Folder hierarchy. See below.

3.11) No junk in the despicable PDF format. People come on the web site to read information. They don't want to be told to go download some PDF monster.

3.12) No "under construction" dead-end pages. Don't pretend something is online until it's actually online!

3.13) Fixed format for internal hyperlinks. Hyperlinks that point inside a document on this site must have the format: "s" + section number + "p" + sub-section number ("p" is for "point").
For example, the hyperlink for this paragraph is "regles_site.htm#s3p13".

3.14) No EXIF metadata in ".JPG" files. I currently use Metability Software QuickFix Filemind to clean files.

3.15) Currently, don't respect all official rules for French typography. See French version for this item.

4) General template for a page

4.1) Title of page.

4.2) stylesheet.css. All pages on this site must refer to a CSS (Cascading Style Sheet), so the visual appearance of the whole web site can be controlled by touching a single file.

4.3) Header styles. Titles and sub-titles must have "Header 1, 2, or 3" styles. There must not be any paragraphs marks before or after titles (because we can changes the space below or above a title with the styles).

5) Folder hierarchy

root
	fr: content per se of the site. Contains only HTML files.
		serm: the "Lost Sermons". Articles.
			cormed: see project description.
		philo: Philosophy section.
			artic: Articles.
			manu: See project description.
		polit: Politics section.
			artic: Articles.
			prog: See project description.
		faq: Frequently Asked Questions about this web site
		(as well as anything else which doesn't fit elsewhere).
			sjj: SJJ's personal FAQ
			ajout: chronological list of modifications to this site.
			even: recurring events.
		info: Computer Science section
			artic: Articles.
			gepsys: new programming language (English side only).
				testament: "Marketing" material.
		esd: Mr. Bachelor's Little Kit.
			artic: Articles.
			list: Lists of objects for Kit.
		livre: a few digitized books (Almost only on the French side).
	fig: the figures, graphics, zipped files, executable files, MP3, etc.
	Repeat here the same hierarchy as for "en" and "fr", but putting only non-
	HTML files. I repeat: outsite "fig", there should only be HTML files! This
	makes it easier to quickly upload modified content, without the images.
	Also, put the figures only on the French side, except when there needs
	to be one version per language (e.g. a image with a caption that must be
	translated). Try to avoid putting comments on graphics (since they would
	have to be in one language or other), but only letters which can be
	explained in a legend in an HTML file. Also, if an article has more than
	two images associated with it, make a folder with the same name as the
	article file, and put all its images in it, numbered from "01" up.
	en: ideally, the same contents as "fr", but in English.
	lt: same comment as for "en", but for Latin.
	corr: correspondance with people (not sorted by language).
	chp: web site for Christian Heritage Party EDA for Louis-Hébert.
		Don't move it because www.chp-quebec.ca points to it.
	pvq: web site for Quebec Pro-Life ("Pro-Vie Québec").
		Don't move it because www.proviequebec.ca points to it.
	anima: web site for "À L'école de Marie-Immaculée"

6) Correspondence

Quantity-wise, my web site contains a lot of correspondence. Why? (1) I feel forced to answer because of [1P 3:15]; (2) Legal Consideration #10 grants readers a right of rebuttal; (3) the prevalence of philosophical and theological errors detectable in e-mails is a factor in my prioritization algorithm; (4) I'm lazy, and e-mails that attack the Church or me are often an excellent source of motivation to make me write; (5) many web sites these days have a "Comment" section after each article, but I don't like them, so I need another way to let readers express themselves.

How should this correspondence be done? See How To Write A Good E-Mail, and the following rules:

6.1) By default, obtain permission before posting any personal information. But this rule is not absolute (See Legal Consideration #2).

6.2) Verbatim. E-mails received must be posted as far as possible with a plain "copy-paste" (including the header indicating sender, receiver, timestamp, etc.), to preserve an accurate record. The only exception is minor formatting (rearranging line breaks, removing HTML, encoding e-addresses, replacing unprintable words sent by [deleted expletive] twits, etc.).

6.3) No Third Quote Level. The "first quote level" is whatever is written by the sender or me. The second quote level is whatever is prefixed with ">>". I may not use third and subsequent levels of quoting. When you say that I said that you said this or that, I get confused. And if I can't understand something, I shouldn't say it.

6.4) English mistakes. I must not correct English mistakes in e-mails received. But in my e-mails, even if I'm quoting what was sent, I have to be impeccable.

| Home >> Varia >> Software Engineering

| Accueil >> Varia >> Génie logiciel

Quelques règles informatiques de ce site web

Logo du site web

1) Introduction

Les buts de ce document:

- Me servir d'aide-mémoire, afin que je sois au moins cohérent avec moi-même dans la programmation et l'organisation de ce site!
- Permettre à d'autres webmaîtres de savoir comment s'occuper de ce site.
- Être assez général (surtout les sections 2 et 3 ci-bas) pour aider d'autres sites web.

2) Règles générales

2.1) Bien sûr, les Considérations juridiques de ce site priment sur les règles informatiques!. En d'autres mots, la programmation suppose la morale et la loi. Par exemple, il faut éviter la propagande haïneuse, ne pas utiliser de grossièretés, respecter la propriété intellectuelle d'autrui, etc. Une façon simple de satisfaire cette exigence est de se conformer visiblement à un «Code de déontologie pour site web catholique» (voir par exemple le No. 2.4, «Charte des devoirs des médias catholiques», dans «Le Corps médiatique du Christ»).

2.2) Multilinguisme. Généralement, si on vit dans un pays officiellement multilingue, il faut que tout le contenu du site soit disponible dans les langues officielles. Dans mon cas, comme je suis au Canada, tout doit être traduit en anglais et en français (au minimum! J'aimerais bien rajouter le latin et l'espagnol!). Exceptions tolérées: la correspondance, les réactions des gens à ce site, les autres sites vers lesquels on pointe, les documents moins importants de la section «varia».

2.3) Pas de publicité sur le site. Jamais, d'aucune sorte. Voir aussi Considération juridique No. 24.

2.4) Pas de bidules qui clignotent et qui tournicotent. Autant que possible, du texte et des images simples seulement. La société moderne cherche à hyperstimuler les sens et l'imagination, afin d'étouffer l'étude et la prière. Je veux faire exactement le contraire!

2.5) Pas d'hyperliens vers des sites douteux. Bien sûr, on ne contrôle pas le contenu des autres sites, mais il faut faire des efforts pour ne jamais «pointer» vers de mauvais sites.

2.6) Pas de surcharge d'information. En général, les sites web ont tendance à mettre trop d'information sur une page.

2.7) Utilisable localement. Il faut pouvoir copier le répertoire contenant tous les fichiers du site web sur un autre medium (barrette de mémoire USB, DVD, fichier compressé envoyé par courriel, etc.), passer ça à quelqu'un d'autre, et cette personne doit pouvoir utiliser tout le site web sur leur ordinateur, sans installer de logiciel autre qu'un fureteur web standard.

Rappel pour moi, en vue d'éviter l'utilisation excessive des fichiers JPG.
Rappel pour moi, en vue d'éviter l'utilisation excessive des fichiers JPG.
(Source)

3) Règles plus techniques

3.1) Ne jamais changer ni le nom, ni l'emplacement des fichiers HTML. Pour éviter de casser les hyperliens des autres, incluant ceux des moteurs de recherche comme Google.

3.2) Le minimum de complexité de programmation possible. Rien que du HTML. Pas de ASP, de PHP, d'applet Java, de CMS, etc. De nombreuses raisons militent en ce sens: facilité d'indexage par les moteurs de recherche (voir No. 3.1 ci-haut), réduction des coûts d'entretien du site, facilité de changer de webmaître, tendance accrue à se concentrer sur le contenu du site plutôt que sur les accessoires (voir No. 2.4 ci-haut), chargement rapide des pages, site utilisable par des ordinateurs désuets et/ou des ordinateurs sans connection Internet (voir #2.7 ci-haut), site utilisable par des «téléphones intelligents» et autres dispositifs mobiles avec des petits écrans (voir par exemple Google Mobile-Friendly Test pour tester la convivialité-mobile), etc.

3.3) Site utilisable en mode texte. Les pauvres n'ont pas Internet haute-vitesse, et désactivent le téléchargement des images. Le site doit être tout-à-fait utilisable en mode texte.

3.4) Respecter les normes de www.w3.org. Toutes les pages doivent passer sans fautes le test de validation automatique du validateur (HTML 4.01). (J'utilise A Real Validator de Liam Quinn pour vérifier tout le site web en mode "en lot" ("batch mode").)

3.5) Site miroir pour la fiabilité. Si un site est important, il devrait avoir un «miroir», c'est-à-dire être copié intégralement sur un autre site, préférablement physiquement dans un autre pays. Annoncer ce site miroir sur le «index.htm» dans la racine, et dans «contact.htm».

Pourriture des hyperliens.
[Source]

3.6) Hyperliens externes. Il faut autant que possible profiter des autres richesses sur le web, tout en minimisant les hyperliens externes cassés («pourriture» des hyperliens ou «link rot» en anglais). Je ne sais pas comment éviter le problème de la pourriture des hyperliens. La moins mauvaise solution actuelle est la suivante:

Les hyperliens externes sont classés en deux: les importants, c'est-à-dire ceux qu'il faut réparer lorsqu'ils sont brisés, et tous les autres (qui doivent quand même être conservés, souvent pour des raisons de copyright, et qui même brisés peuvent souvent servir à retrouver le document original avec quelques efforts sur Google). De plus, tout hyperlien externe doit être identifié avec un petit icône, comme ceci (même si celui-ci n'est pas externe, mais interne! C'est juste pour montrer le petit icône!).

(Note pour moi-même: j'ai déjà essayé de mettre tous les hyperliens non-importants sur des pages séparées, avec renvoi style «note de bas de page». Quelle somme de travail immense! Et pour aucun résultat: les hyperliens externes brisés restent brisés. En août 2015, je suis revenu à l'ancienne méthode de mettre tous les hyperliens externes que je veux, intégrés à même les pages.)

3.7) Accès rapide des pages. Entre autres, les pages devraient avoir moins d'une cinquantaine de kilo-octets, pour quelles se chargent rapidement.

3.8) Vérificateur d'orthographe. Toutes les pages HTML doivent être passées au vérificateur d'orthographe. Bien sûr, idéalement elles sont aussi révisées par des réviseurs professionnels.

3.9) Respecter certaines conventions pour les noms de fichiers et de dossiers. Pas de majuscules, pas d'accents, pas d'espaces, pas de pluriel. Garder les noms brefs. Sur ce site-ci, j'ai un peu arbitrairement choisi de n'utiliser que le français pour les noms de fichiers et de dossiers. L'idée est de choisir une convention, et ensuite de s'y tenir.

3.10) Respecter le gabarit de page, et la hiérarchie des dossiers. Voir ci-bas.

3.11) Pas de saleté en format PDF. Les gens viennent sur le site pour lire l'information. Ils ne veulent pas se faire dire d'aller se taper le téléchargement d'un monstre en PDF.

3.12) Pas de pages cul-de-sac «en construction». Ne faites pas semblant que quelque chose est en-ligne avant que ça soit en-ligne!

3.13) Format fixe pour les hyperliens internes. Les hyperliens qui pointent à l'intérieur d'un document sur ce site doivent avoir le format: «s» + numéro de section + «p» + numéro de sous-section («p» pour «point»).
Par exemple, l'hyperlien pour ce paragraphe-ci est «regles_site.htm#s3p13».

3.14) Pas de métadonnées EXIF dans les «.JPG». J'utilise en ce moment Metability Software QuickFix Filemind pour nettoyer les fichiers.

3.15) En ce moment, je me permet certaines entorses à la typographie française. Voir Correspondance avec Monsieur Philippe Guidal.

4) Gabarit général d'une page

4.1) Titre de la page.

4.2) stylesheet.css. Toutes les pages sur ce site web doivent référer au CSS (Cascading Style Sheet), pour que l'apparence visuelle de tout le site web puisse être contrôlée en ne modifiant qu'un seul fichier.

4.3) Styles d'en-tête. Les titres et les sous-titres doivent avoir le style «En-tête 1, 2 ou 3». Il ne doit pas y avoir de sauts de paragraphe avant ou après les titres (car on peut changer l'espacement avant et après avec les styles).

5) Hiérarchie des dossiers

racine
	fr: le contenu en tant que tel du site. Seulement des fichiers HTML.
		serm: les Sermons perdus. Articles.
			cormed: Voir description de projet.
		philo: Section de philosophie.
			artic: Articles.
			manu: Voir description de projet.
		polit: Section de politique.
			artic: Articles.
			prog: Voir description de projet.
		faq: Foire Aux Questions à propos de ce site
		(et fourre-tout pour ce qui ne va pas ailleurs).
			sjj: FAQ personnelle de SJJ
			ajout: liste chronologique des modifications à ce site.
			even: événements récurrents.
		info: Section d'informatique.
			artic: Articles.
			gepsys: nouveau language de programmation (côté anglais seulement).
				testament: matériel de «marketing».
		esd: Trousse du parfait petit célibataire.
			artic: Articles.
			list: Listes d'objets pour la Trousse.
		livre: quelques livres numérisés (Presque uniquement du le côté
			français).
	fig: les figures, graphiques, fichiers zippés, fichiers exécutables,
		MP3, etc. On répète ici la même hiérarchie que pour «en» et «fr», mais
		en y plaçant seulement les fichiers non-HTML. Je répète: à l'extérieur
		de «fig», il devrait y avoir seulement des fichiers HTML! Ceci permet
		entre autres d'amontcharger rapidement le contenu modifié, sans les
		images. Aussi, on met les figures seulement du côté français, sauf
		quand il faut avoir une version par langue (par exemple, une image avec
		un libellé à traduire). On évite si possible de mettre des commentaires
		sur les graphiques (car ils seraient dans une langue ou l'autre), mais
		seulement des lettres qu'on expliquera dans une légende dans un fichier
		HTML. Aussi, si un article a plus de deux images associées avec lui,
		faire une chemise du même nom que le fichier de l'article, et mettre
		toutes ses images dedans, numérotées de «01» en montant.
	en: idéalement, le même contenu que «fr», mais en anglais.
	lt: même commentaire que pour «en», mais pour le latin.
	corr: correspondance avec les gens (non trié par langue).
	chp: site web de l'Asso. de comté du Parti de l'Héritage chrétien
		(«Christian Heritage Party»)
		Ne déplacez pas car www.chp-quebec.ca y réfère.
	pvq: site web pour Pro-Vie Québec.
		Ne déplacez pas car www.proviequebec.ca y réfère.
	anima: site web pour «À L'école de Marie-Immaculée».

6) Correspondance

Au point de vue de la quantité, mon site web contient beaucoup de correspondance. Pourquoi? (1) Je me sens obligé de répondre à cause de [1P 3:15]; (2) La Considération juridique No. 10 accorde aux lecteurs un droit de réplique; (3) la prévalence des erreurs philosophiques et théologiques détectable dans les courriels est un facteur dans mon algorithme de priorisation; (4) je suis paresseux, et les courriels qui attaquent l'Église ou moi sont souvent une excellente source de motivation pour me faire écrire; (5) plusieurs sites web de nos jours ont une section «Commentaires» après chaque article, mais je ne les aime pas, alors j'ai besoin d'une autre manière pour laisser les lecteurs s'exprimer.

Comment cette correspondance devrait-elle être faite? Voir Comment écrire un bon courriel, et les règles suivantes:

6.1) Par défaut, obtenir la permission avant d'afficher quelque information personnelle que ce soit. Mais cette règle n'est pas absolue (Voir Considération juridique No. 2).

6.2) Mot-à-mot. Les courriels reçus doivent être affichés autant que possible avec un simple «copier-coller» (incluant l'en-tête indiquant l'expéditeur, le destinataire, l'horodate, etc.), pour des archives fidèles. La seule exception est pour le formattage mineur (réarranger les changements de ligne, enlever le HTML, encoder les adrélecs, remplacer des mots qu'on ne peut répéter envoyés par des [grossièreté censurée] bêtas, etc.).

6.3) Pas de troisième niveau de citation. Le «premier niveau de citation» est ce qui est écrit par l'expéditeur ou moi. Le deuxième niveau est ce qui est préfixé par «>>». Je ne peux pas utiliser les niveaux de citation troisième ou subséquents. Lorsque vous dites que j'ai dit que vous avez dit ceci ou cela, je deviens déconcerté. Et si je ne comprends pas quelque chose, je ne devrais pas le dire.

6.4) Fautes de français. Je ne dois pas corriger les fautes de français dans les courriels que je reçois. Mais dans mes courriels, même si je cite ce qu'on m'a envoyé, je dois être impeccable.

| Accueil >> Varia >> Génie logiciel