| Home >> Philosophy

How To Evolve A Debate Against A Darwinist

René Magritte. The Art of Conversation.
(René Magritte. The Art of Conversation. Source)

1) Introduction

I'm not an expert in either Philosophy or Biology, but I think some Catholics have an inappropriate approach to the debate on Evolution.

To explain, I'll paraphrase a passage of the infamous TV series by Carl Sagan on the appearance of life on Earth:

First, there was the erupting of egos out of which flowed huge streams of red hot, molten ignorance, then there were the waves in the sea of discordant opinions which brewed and mixed all the undefined terms, and then there was the thunder of beliefs and the lightning of insults, and then ...
TRUTH appeared!

Catholics are not supposed to agree with Darwinists who claim that mindless, purpose-less Evolution can produce immensely complex results. Maybe we should start listening to our own advice, and inject a bit of "Intelligent Design" into our debates about Evolution.

(Disclaimer: OK, OK, I admit this text is mostly a reminder to myself ;-)

2) Some tips to avoid sinking into the primordial ooze of bad debates with scientists

In a way, what follows is just an application of the Philosopher's Glove to the debate on Evolution (and other scientific topics), so you should first memorize that text before you continue here. Assuming that's done, some additional tips might be:

2.1) Check your heart before you open your mouth. Having good intentions is not enough to act well, and on top of that, we cannot act well if our intentions are bad. If we enter into a debate with the purpose of petting our pride, we probably won't advance the cause of science.

2.2) Don't forget everything you already know about debating. A debate on Evolution is first of all a debate, so you should respect your habitual debating method.

2.3) Be wary of scientific terms which taste and smell like the ordinary ones you know well. There are numerous examples of misunderstandings caused by technical terms which are spelled just like their non-technical counterparts, but which mean something quite different. Take the word "nothing" for example. In Physics, "nothing" means "nothing we can detect with our instruments". In Philosophy, "nothing" really means nothing, no creatures and no God, no being whatsoever [CARROLL, William E. "Big Bang Cosmology, Quantum Tunnelling From Nothing, and Creation" in Laval théologique et philosophique, 44, 1 (février 1988), p. 68]. Another example is the word "cause". In Physics, "cause" just means "the necessary antecedent linked to the consequent by Nature's determinism" (i.e. the famous "If P, then Q"). In Philosophy, a "cause" is much more than that, it requires the communication of some perfection. The list just goes on with words like time, dimension, universe, number, etc.

2.4) Be wary of the fairy tales behind the fudge factors. To understand what is a "fudge factor", you first need to know that mathematicians can "bend" and "twist" functions into just about any shape. For example, as explained in "Thomas' Calculus", p. 18, you can make a function "move up or down":

Fig. Shifting a graph vertically

or "move left or right":

Fig. Shifting a graph horizontally

This "bending and twisting" of functions can get quite complicated (using exponentials, for example). Just remember that mathematical functions can be made to conform to just about anything, given the right "little additional ingredients".

Now, when scientists study nature, they often plot graphs, based on experimental data. Let's imagine an oversimplified example, like the average distance traveled per hour by a wolf over a period of a day. A scientist will study real wolves, then draw graphs based on his observations. Then, the scientist will look in a big catalogue of mathematical functions, and pick the one that looks the most like the graph of his wolf movements. Normally, the mathematical curve won't exactly fit the experimental data, so the scientist will, often by trial and error, find the "little additional mathematical ingredient" that makes the mathematical curve fit. This is often called a "fudge factor". So if wolves tend to move a lot around 3 PM, creating a spike in the plot, the scientist will find some "fudge factor" to make the mathematical curve fit, and maybe give it a name, like "The Little Red Riding Hood Constant", to help remember that this constant "explains" why wolves move a lot around 3 PM. (If you think I'm exaggerating too much, read up on Quantum Mechanics and Planck's Constant, for example).

A surprising number of misunderstandings arise from this association between mathematical descriptions of solid experimental data, and the sometimes vivid imagery used informally to talk about it. Time and time again, bad popular science writers will point to the spike in the graph of wolf movements to try to justify their belief in the existence of the Little Red Riding Hood! (Of course, in real life, I don't claim it's always easy to disentangle the irrelevant imagery from the actual philosophical implications of scientific discoveries).

2.5) Beware of the scientific hat trick. Bad scientists often play a "hat trick" on unwary listeners. They'll put on their scientist's hat and talk for a while about perfectly valid scientific theories, then quickly swap on their philosopher's hat and boldly assert a corrupt philosophical position like atheism or materialism, then swap back on their scientist's hat and claim that what they've just said has been scientifically proved! Typical perpetrators are real scientists but pseudo-philosophers like Stephen Hawkins, Richard Dawkins, Hubert Reeves, Albert Jacquard, Jacques Monod, etc.

2.6) Beware of the argument "by ignorance". Some scientists use the argument "by ignorance" to justify the theory of Intelligent Design. (For example: Micheal J. BEHE, in the otherwise excellent Darwin's Black Box: The Biochemical Challenge to Evolution, New-York, The Free Press, 1996.) Roughly speaking, they claim that since nobody is able to explain such and such a thing using evolution, "therefore" evolution cannot explain those facts. The "therefore" is not justified by our current ignorance. We have to know why it isn't possible, and not just ignore it. We have to be able to show not only that we don't have an explanation, but also that it isn't possible, based on principles that are even more certain. We have to show that physical or chemical laws simply don't permit that.

2.7) Don't grant more certainty to a theory, than the certainty granted to it by its proponents. (See also #2.5 in Error: "All Philosophers Contradict Each Other!") If a scientist puts forth a theory as simply probable, given the facts before him at that point of time, don't attack him after his death, when new facts are available!

As in astronomy the theory of eccentrics and epicycles is considered as established, because thereby the sensible appearances of the heavenly movements can be explained; not, however, as if this proof were sufficient, forasmuch as some other theory might explain them.
[Saint Thomas Aquinas, Summa Theologica, Ia, q. 32, a.1, ad. 2.
See also Thonnard, PHDP, §255, (3)]

2.8) Be deeply suspicious of scientists who say Philosophy is unscientific. They probably neither know what Philosophy nor Science is, and their beliefs about Evolution are probably some random mutation that evolved out of the atheistic cesspool of the mainstream media. Don't abandon these poor misadapted organisms to the merciless forces of natural selection. Treat them as unique, unrepeatable persons who are loved by God, and set them free from their religious beliefs.

3) Additional tips concerning the theological primordial ooze

The rest of these tips apply mostly to Catholics, although all will probably benefit by reading them:

3.1) Make sure you quote Church documents accurately. I'll take an example from the debate on abortion. Suppose you try to defend the unborn by saying: "The Catholic Church teaches that the embryo is a human person starting from conception". The actual document says: "Thus the fruit of human generation [...] demands the unconditional respect that is morally due to man in his bodily and spiritual totality." [Donum Vitae]. They say it must be treated as a human person, but they are careful to avoid saying they can prove it is a person right from conception (a bit earlier they say: "Certainly no experimental datum can be in itself sufficient to bring us to the recognition of a spiritual soul [...] The Magisterium has not expressly committed itself to an affirmation of a philosophical nature"). Why such "weasel-wording"? Because if we could detect with certainty the exact moment when the human soul was infused, then that soul would not be spiritual! We can detect material beings, but not spiritual beings (directly anyway). So in this case, an incorrect quotation of a Church document actually ends up stripping the human embryo of all human dignity! I bet it's possible to screw up a debate on Evolution with similar incorrect quotes.

3.2) Don't forget who God entrusted with interpreting the Bible. Pagans and atheists can be forgiven if they misinterpret the Bible, but Catholics should never be caught with their hands in that cookie jar! Only the Magisterium has, by divine mandate, the authority to interpret Sacred Scriptures. The Bible itself teaches that the Bible can be hard to interpret [Ac 8:30-35; 2P 3:16; etc., quoted in The Interpretation of the Bible in the Church, Introduction].

3.3) Don't underestimate the number of good theologians and philosophers you can fit inside a phone booth already jam-packed with good scientists. To take an example used elsewhere on this site, if a pretty girl walks into the ballroom and all heads turn toward her, she might be the "center" of that room, even though she is geometrically in a corner. Somewhat in the same way, planet Earth is the center of the universe, even though geometrically Earth spins around the Sun, since Earth is where the most important event in the universe occurred (the passion, death and resurrection of our Lord). Another example is creation. To use a metaphor, imagine two books stacked on top of the other, but imagine they have been that way for eternity. It would still be true that the book on the bottom was supporting the book on top. It's somewhat the same thing for creation. Creation is not a change or a process. Creation means that the creatures are "supported out of nothingness" by the Creator. Even if the universe had always existed, creatures would still be created.

4) Conclusion

Firstly, a nasty quote from a canonized saint and Doctor of the Church, saint Augustin, who said over 1500 years ago:

Usually, even a non-Christian knows something about the earth, the heavens, and the other elements of this world, about the motion and orbit of the stars and even their size and relative positions [...] Now, it is a disgrace and dangerous thing for an infidel to hear a Christian, presumably giving the meaning of Holy Scripture, talking nonsense on these topics [...] Reckless and incompetent expounders of Holy Scripture bring untold trouble and sorrow on their wiser brethren when they are caught in one of their mischievous false opinions and are taken to task [by non-Christians] For then, to defend their utterly foolish and obviously untrue statements, they will try to call upon Holy Scripture for proof and even recite from memory many passages which they think support their position, although "They understand neither what they say nor the things about which they make assertion" [1Tm 1:7]
[Saint Augustin, De Genesis ad litteram, I, 39, quoted in CARROLL, ibid, p. 74.]

Secondly, I'll claim that humility is one of the best weapons against atheists and materialists who claim to be justified by Darwin. Think about it: either they are wrong, or we are wrong. If we are wrong, we need to sit down, ask them intelligent questions, and take notes. If they are wrong, a good way to indirectly point out their mistakes is also to sit down, ask them intelligent questions, and take notes (especially when their story unravels!). Either way, the meek and humble Christ will be glorified.

| Home >> Philosophy

| Accueil >> Philosophie

Comment faire évoluer un débat contre un Darwiniste

René Magritte. L'art de la conversation.
(René Magritte. L'art de la conversation. Source)

1) Introduction

Je ne suis pas un expert ni en philosophie, ni en biologie, mais je pense que certains catholiques ont une approche inappropriée au débat sur l'Évolution.

Pour m'expliquer, je vais paraphraser un passage de la tristement célèbre série télévisée de Carl Sagan sur l'apparition de la vie sur Terre:

D'abord, il y eut les éruptions des égos, desquelles ruisselèrent le magma de l'ignorance, puis il y eut les vagues dans l'océan des opinions discordantes, qui malaxèrent et firent mijoter les mots mal définis, puis il y eut le tonnerre des croyances et les éclairs des insultes, et puis ...
la VÉRITÉ apparut!

Les catholiques ne sont pas supposés être d'accord avec les Darwinistes qui prétendent qu'une Évolution inconsciente et sans but peut produire des résultats immensément complexes. On devrait peut-être commencer à écouter nos propres conseils, et injecter un peu de «Conception Intelligente» («Intelligent Design» en anglais) dans nos débats sur l'Évolution.

(Désistement: Bon d'accord, j'avoue que ce texte est surtout un rappel pour moi-même ;-)

2) Quelques conseils pour éviter de s'enliser dans le bouillon primordial des mauvais débats avec les scientifiques

D'une certaine manière, ce qui suit n'est qu'une application du Gant du philosophe au débat sur l'Évolution (et autres sujets scientifiques), alors vous devriez d'abord mémoriser ce texte avant d'aller plus loin. En supposant que c'est fait, d'autres conseils pourraient être:

2.1) Tâtez votre coeur avant d'ouvrir votre bouche. Avoir de bonnes intentions ne suffit pas pour bien agir, et de plus, on ne peut pas bien agir si nos intentions sont mauvaises. Si nous participons à un débat avec pour but de flatter notre orgueil, nous ne ferons probablement pas avancer la science.

2.2) N'oubliez pas tout ce que vous savez déjà sur les débats. Un débat sur l'Évolution est avant tout un débat, alors vous devriez respecter votre méthode de discussion habituelle.

2.3) Méfiez-vous des termes scientifiques qui ressemblent furieusement aux termes ordinaires que vous connaissez bien. Il y a des exemples nombreux de malentendus causés par des termes techniques qui s'épellent exactement comme leurs homologues non-techniques, mais qui ont une signification très différente. Prenez le mot «rien» par exemple. En Physique, «rien» signifie «rien de détectable par nos instruments». En philosophie, «rien» signifie rien, pas de créatures et pas de Dieu, aucun être quel qu'il soit [CARROLL, William E. «La cosmologie du Big Bang, le tunnelage quantique de rien, et la création» dans Laval théologique et philosophique, 44, 1 (février 1988), p. 68]. Un autre exemple est le mot «cause». En physique, la «cause» n'est que «l'antécédent nécessaire lié au conséquent par le déterminisme de la nature» (c'est-à-dire le célèbre «Si P donc Q»). En philosophie, une «cause» est bien plus que cela, elle exige la communication d'une certaine perfection. La liste ne fait que s'allonger avec des mots comme le temps, la dimension, l'univers, le nombre, etc.

2.4) Méfiez-vous des contes de fées derrière les facteurs enjoliveurs. Pour comprendre ce qu'est un «facteur enjoliveur» («fudge factor», en anglais), vous devez d'abord savoir que les mathématiciens peuvent «plier» et «tordre» les fonctions pour leur faire assumer à peu près n'importe quelle forme. Par exemple, tel qu'expliqué dans «Thomas' Calculus», p. 18, vous pouvez faire bouger une fonction «vers le haut ou le bas»:

Fig. Déplacer une courbe verticalement

ou «vers la gauche ou la droite»:

Fig. Déplacer une courbe horizontalement

Ce «pliage et tordage» de fonctions peut devenir très compliqué (en utilisant des exponentielles, par exemple). Souvenez-vous seulement qu'on peut s'arranger pour que des fonctions mathématiques se conforment à presque n'importe quoi, étant donné les «bons petits ingrédients supplémentaires».

Maintenant, lorsque les scientifiques étudient la nature, ils vont souvent tracer des courbes, en se basant sur des données expérimentales. Imaginons un exemple simplifié à outrance, comme la distance moyenne parcourue par heure par un loup, durant une période d'un jour. Un scientifique va étudier de vrais loups, et ensuite tracer des graphiques en utilisant ses observations. Ensuite, le scientifique va fouiller dans un gros catalogue de fonctions, et choisir celle qui ressemble le plus à son graphique des déplacements des loups. Normalement, la courbe mathématique ne va pas s'agencer parfaitement avec les données expérimentales, alors le scientifique va, souvent par tâtonnements, trouver le «petit ingrédient mathématique supplémentaire» par lequel la courbe mathématique va se conformer. C'est ce qu'on appelle souvent un «facteur enjoliveur». Alors, si les loups ont tendance à se déplacer beaucoup vers 15h00, créant une pointe dans la courbe, le scientifique va trouver un «facteur enjoliveur» pour faire conformer la courbe, et peut-être lui donner un nom, comme «La Constante du Petit chaperon rouge», pour qu'il soit plus facile de se rappeler que cette constante «explique» pourquoi les loups se déplacent plus vers 15h00. (Si vous pensez que j'exagère trop, lisez un peu sur la Mécanique quantique et la Constante de Planck, par exemple).

Un nombre surprenant de malentendus sont causés par cette association entre des descriptions mathématiques de données expérimentales rigoureuses, et l'imagerie parfois étonnante utilisée informellement pour en parler. Encore et encore, les mauvais vulgarisateurs de la science vont montrer la pointe dans le graphique des déplacements des loups, pour tenter de justifier leur croyance en l'existence du Petit chaperon rouge! (Bien sûr, dans la vraie vie, je ne prétends pas qu'il est toujours facile de faire le partage entre l'imagerie superflue et les implications philosophiques des découvertes scientifiques).

2.5) Méfiez-vous du tour du chapeau scientifique. Les mauvais scientifiques jouent souvent un «tour du chapeau» aux auditeurs peu avertis. Ils vont mettre leur chapeau de scientifique et parler pendant un certain temps de théories scientifiques tout-à-fait valables, pour ensuite rapidement mettre leur chapeau de philosophe et affirmer audacieusement leur position philosophique corrompue comme l'athéisme ou le matérialisme, puis remettre rapidement leur chapeau de scientifique et prétendre que ce qu'ils viennent de dire a été scientifiquement prouvé! Les coupables typiques sont de vrais scientifiques mais de pseudo-philosophes comme Stephen Hawkins, Richard Dawkins, Hubert Reeves, Albert Jacquard, Jacques Monod, etc.

2.6) Méfiez-vous de l'argument «par ignorance». Certains scientifiques utilisent l'argument «par ignorance» pour justifier la théorie de la «conception intelligente». (Par exemple, Micheal J. BEHE, dans le livre, autrement excellent, intitulé Darwin's Black Box: The Biochemical Challenge to Evolution, New-York, The Free Press, 1996.) En gros, ils disent que puisque personne n'est capable d'expliquer telle ou telle chose par l'évolution, «donc» l'évolution ne peut pas expliquer ces faits. Le «donc» n'est pas justifié par notre ignorance actuelle. Il faut savoir pourquoi ce n'est pas possible, et non pas seulement simplement l'ignorer. Il faut non seulement montrer qu'on n'a pas d'explication, mais aussi que ce n'est pas possible, en se basant sur des principes encore plus certains. Il faut montrer que les lois chimiques, physiques, ne permettraient pas ça.

2.7) N'accordez pas plus de certitude à une théorie, que la certitude que lui accordent ses défenseurs. (Voir aussi No. 2.5 de Erreur: «Tous les philosophes se contredisent!») Si un scientifique présente une théorie comme étant simplement probable, étant donnés les faits qu'il a devant lui à ce moment, ne l'attaquez pas après sa mort, lorsque de nouveaux faits sont disponibles!

Ainsi en astronomie on donne comme raison (des phénomènes observés) la théorie des excentriques et des épicycles, étant donné que ce qui apparaît aux sens des mouvements des astres est respecté par cette hypothèse; ce n'est pourtant pas une preuve décisive (que telle est la vraie cause de ces phénomènes), car il n'est pas dit qu'une autre hypothèse ne les respecterait pas aussi.
[saint Thomas d'AQUIN, Somme théologique, Ia, q. 32, a.1, ad. 2.
Voir aussi Thonnard, PHDP, §255, (3)]

2.8) Méfiez-vous surtout des scientifiques qui prétendent que la philosophie n'est pas une science. Ils ne savent probablement pas ni ce qu'est la philosophie, ni ce qu'est la science, et leurs croyances sur l'Évolution sont probablement une mutation aléatoire qui a évolué du cloaque athée des médias ordinaires. N'abandonnez pas ces pauvres organismes mésadaptés aux forces sans pitié de la sélection naturelle. Traitez-les comme des personnes uniques et irremplaçables qui sont aimées de Dieu, et libérez-les de leurs croyances religieuses.

3) Conseils supplémentaires à propos du bouillon primordial théologique

Les autres conseils s'appliquent surtout aux catholiques, quoi que tous profiteront probablement de leur lecture:

3.1) Assurez-vous de citer correctement les documents de l'Église. Je vais prendre un exemple tiré du débat sur l'avortement. Supposons que vous tentez de défendre les enfants à naître en disant: «L'Église enseigne que l'embryon est une personne humaine dès la conception». Le document en tant que tel dit: «Ainsi le fruit de la génération humaine [...] exige le respect inconditionnel qui est moralement dû à l'homme dans sa totalité corporelle et spirituelle». [Donum Vitae]. Ils disent que l'embryon doit être traité comme une personne humaine, mais ils évitent soigneusement de dire qu'il est possible de prouver que c'est une personne dès la conception (un peu plus tôt ils disent: «Certainement aucune donnée expérimentale n'est en soi suffisante pour nous amener à la reconnaissance d'une âme spirituelle [...] Le Magistère ne s'est pas expressément engagé à une affirmation de nature philosophique»). Pourquoi «couper ainsi les cheveux en quatre»? Parce que si on pouvait détecter avec certitude le moment précis où l'âme humaine était insufflée, alors cette âme ne serait pas spirituelle! On peut détecter des êtres matériels, mais pas des êtres spirituels (pas directement, en tout cas). Ainsi, dans ce cas, une mauvaise citation d'un document de l'Église finit par priver l'embryon humain de toute dignité! Je parie qu'il est possible de gâcher un débat sur l'Évolution avec de semblables mauvaises citations.

3.2) N'oubliez pas à qui Dieu a confié l'interprétation de la Bible. On peut pardonner les païens et les athées lorsqu'ils se trompent dans leurs interprétations de la Bible, mais les catholiques ne devraient jamais se faire prendre la main dans ce sac-là! Seul le Magistère a, par mandat divin, l'autorité pour interpréter les Écritures Saintes. La Bible elle-même enseigne que la Bible est parfois difficile à interpréter [Ac 8:30-35; 2P 3:16; etc., cité dans L'Interprétation de la Bible dans l'Église, Introduction].

3.3) Ne sous-estimez pas le nombre de bons théologiens et philosophes que vous pouvez entasser dans une cabine téléphonique déjà pleine à craquer de bons scientifiques. Pour reprendre un exemple utilisé ailleurs sur ce site, si une jolie demoiselle arrive dans la salle de bal et que toutes les têtes se tournent vers elle, elle pourra être le «centre» de cette salle, même si elle se trouve géométriquement dans un coin. Un peu de la même manière, la planète Terre est le centre de l'univers, même si géométriquement la Terre tourne autour du soleil, puisque c'est sur la Terre que s'est passé l'événement le plus important de l'univers (la Passion, Mort et Résurrection de Notre-Seigneur). Un autre exemple est la création. Pour prendre une métaphore, imaginez deux livres empilés l'un par-dessus l'autre, mais imaginez qu'ils aient été ainsi depuis toujours. Il serait encore vrai que le livre du dessus est soutenu par le livre du dessous. C'est un peu la même chose pour la création. La création n'est pas un changement ou un processus. La création signifie que les créatures sont «soutenues hors du néant» par le Créateur. Même si l'univers avait toujours existé, les créatures seraient quand mêmes créées.

4) Conclusion

D'abord, une citation méchante d'un saint canonisé et Docteur de l'Église, saint Augustin, qui a dit il y a plus de 1500 ans:

Normalement, même un non-chrétien connaît certaines choses sur la Terre, les cieux et les autres éléments de ce monde, ainsi que le mouvement et les orbites des étoiles, et même leurs tailles et positions relatives [...] Or c'est une chose honteuse et dangereuse pour un infidèle d'entendre un chrétien, supposément en train d'interpréter l'Écriture Sainte, raconter des âneries sur ces sujets [...] Les interprètes téméraires et incompétents des Écritures Saintes attirent des tracas et tristesses innombrables sur leurs frères plus sages lorsqu'on les surprend dans une de leurs fausses opinions malicieuses et qu'ils sont confrontés par des [non-chrétiens] Car à ce moment, pour défendre leur énoncés insensés et manifestement faux, ils tenteront de s'appuyer sur les Écritures Saintes et réciteront même de mémoire plusieurs passages qui selon eux viennent appuyer leur position, même «s'ils ne comprennent ni ce qu'ils disent, ni les choses dont ils parlent» [1Tm 1:7]
[Saint Augustin, De Genesis ad litteram, I, 39, cité dans CARROLL, ibid, p. 74.]

Ensuite, je vais prétendre que l'humilité est une des meilleurs armes contres les athées et les matérialistes qui prétendent que Darwin les justifie. Pensez-y: soit qu'ils se trompent, soit que nous nous trompons. Si nous sommes dans l'erreur, nous avons besoin de nous asseoir, de leur poser des questions intelligentes, et de prendre des notes. Si c'est eux qui se trompent, une bonne manière de leur signaler indirectement leur erreur est aussi de s'asseoir, de leur poser des questions intelligentes, et de prendre des notes (surtout lorsque leur histoire va commencer à s'effilocher!). D'une manière ou de l'autre, le Christ doux et humble de coeur sera glorifié.

| Accueil >> Philosophie