| Home >> Lost Sermons

Why I Burned A Koran On 9/11

Pastor Terry Jones, of the «Dove World Outreach Center» in Florida.
Pastor Terry Jones, of the «Dove World Outreach Center» in Florida.
(Source)

1) Introduction

For several days now, the Media has been talking about some Protestant Pastor, Terry Jones, of the «Dove World Outreach Center» in Florida, USA. This Pastor apparently invited people to burn the Koran this September 11th.

At first, I was against the idea of burning a Koran. But after having read several articles, and having reflected, and slept on it, and listened to Priests and other Catholics, and prayed, I changed my mind.

2) First, what could never justify burning a Koran

Let's start with "non-reasons", i.e. what absolutely can't justify the burning of a Koran:

2.1) Hatred of Muslims is not acceptable. We must not hate our neighbor. Jesus clearly says: "Love one another" [Jn 13:34], and "Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you" [Lc 6:27-28], etc. Hatred of Muslims is not acceptable, especially on the part of Christians!

2.2) The sins of some Muslims doesn't give us a free pass to do evil. Yes, it's true that some bloodthirsty criminals claim that Islam and the Koran justify their actions. But nevertheless it remains that two wrongs don't make a right.

2.3) There are some good things in the Koran. I'm the guy who likes to carefully read texts written by my opponents, in order to find all the assertions I agree with. I'm certain that there are some true assertions in the Koran, and I certainly don't condemn those assertions, on the contrary. I agree with whatever partial truths can be found in Islam. (See among others Nostra aetate, #3.)

2.4) Insulting people to gain some advantage is not acceptable. Yes, History unfortunately shows us that by insulting certain categories of people, it's possible to become famous, or make money, or get elected, etc. But the end never justifies the means.

2.5) I want to adore God, not insult Him. I'm absolutely not an Atheist, and I want to love God with all my heart, with all my soul, and with all my strength. I especially do not want to insult God!

2.6) Regular events to insult people are bad. Yes, it's normal that people who adore the Holy Banana will not agree with the religious beliefs of those who adore the Holy Pumpkin. But as far as possible, the disciples of the Holy Banana and those of the Holy Pumpkin should try to peacefully co-exist. A large and regular event, for example "Let's all gaily squish some Holy Pumpkins!", doesn't make sense in my opinion. (On the other hand, if somebody decides to eat pumpkin pie, nobody should threaten to kill him!)

Etc.

The same Word of God, underneath in a Missal respected for a lifetime, and on top in a «Prions en Église» thrown away every week.
The same Word of God, underneath in a Missal respected for a lifetime,
and on top in a «Prions en Église» thrown away every week.

3) A few reasons to avoid taking this issue too seriously

After having eliminated the "non-reasons" to burn a Koran, let's examine a few reasons not to exaggerate the importance of this whole issue:

3.1) Where is the Vatican when the Word of God is burned every week in our churches? Being one of the rare persons in the Province of Quebec to publicly complain about the fact we throw away the Word of God, every week, and in almost all Parishes, I find it a bit ridiculous that the Vatican (and Quebec journalists) are silent about this aberration, while screaming blue murder when someone threatens to burn a Koran [Communiqué Concerning "Koran Burning Day", Vatican Information Services, 2010-Sept-08].

3.2) Where are the Leftists who are always harping on "freedom of expression"? In the USA, when an "artist" puts a Crucifix in a bottle filled with his urine, and he calls it "Piss Christ", he get's Government grants! And many Leftists would "man the barricades" to defend such "freedom of expression". It would be instructive to make a list of offending gestures, for Christians on one side, and for Muslims on the other, and then to compare the behavior of the Media.

3.3) Burning a book isn't killing someone. I totally agree we have to avoid insulting people as far as possible, but "insult" and "injury" are not the same thing. Using the word "violence" to describe the carbonization of a book, is verbal inflation. (Even threatening to kill someone doesn't qualify as "violence", in my opinion, although you could metaphorically call it "verbal violence".)

3.4) There were suicidal assassins before Terry Jones, and there will be some after. A religion can be more or less compatible with terrorism. Before claiming that Islam is "The Religion Of Peace (TM)", we have to go check the facts: the actual content of the Koran, the personal life of Muhammad, the recent and less recent history of peoples having been influenced by Islam, etc.

3.5) Are there really that many people who respect the religious feelings of Muslims? I live in a province where a large number of French-Canadians constantly uses blasphemous language, where even members of my own family have ridiculed me because I thought The Da Vinci Code was insulting to Christians, where even private Catholic schools don't have the right to teach Catholicism, etc. The Québécois people might have qualities, but respect for the religious feelings of others certainly isn't one of them!

On the other hand, among the people whom I personally know and who are guilty of this kind of disrespect, many are those who almost choke with rage at the thought that somebody might offend Muslims a tiny bit. Is this because they respect the religious feelings of Muslims, or are we simply observing that violent intimidation works?

3.6) The idea that "all religions must be respected" is silly. See Section 2 of Must We Respect All Religions?

3.7) If something is so sacred, why does that religion leave it lying around? Imagine a new religion, a religion that considers some pebbles to be "sacred". Except the disciples of that religion would scatter those pebbles in the street, and if some pedestrian stepped on one of them, they would threaten to kill him! Would you consider that rational and socially acceptable?

Now, compare that to the Catholic religion. There is something considered very sacred by all real Catholics. It's called many names, like "consecrated Host", or "what used to be a piece of bread before Transubstantiation", or just plain "Jesus Christ". Where can you find such consecrated Hosts? Not at your local shopping mall, sitting there on a shelf like any other product! To get your hands on a consecrated Host, you would need to break into your local Catholic church and pry open the kind of locked safe in which They are stored (technically called a "Tabernacle", and Catholic law requires them to be "inviolable"). Even if you came during a religious ceremony, you'd have trouble getting access (if the Priest realizes you are not a Catholic, or that you have bad intentions, Catholic law requires him to avoid giving you a consecrated Host). In other words, for a sacrilege against a consecrated Host to happen, a Priest has to commit a big sin, or a layman needs to go inside a Catholic temple with a big crowbar, or a big lie.

Etc.

John Paul II kissing the Koran. Benedict XVI receiving the Koran with pleasure.
Left: John Paul II kissing the Koran. (Source)
Right: Benedict XVI receiving the Koran with pleasure. (Source)

4) These days, does an exaggerated respect for the Koran cause scandal?

The basic laws of Logic tell us that either Jesus is God, or He is not. The Catholic Church says Jesus is God, the Koran says He is not. If Jesus really is God, then we have to go teach it to the whole world! If Jesus is really God, then it's a scandal to treat the Koran as if it were the Word of God.

These days, Popes kiss the Koran and go pray in mosques. Even the Vatican press release, quoted here above, makes a mental restriction. What makes it deceitful isn't so much what it asserts, as what it fails to say. After having said that we must, as far as possible, avoid insulting people, it should have added something like: "... but of course, burning a Koran is not a sacrilege, since the Koran doesn't contain the Word of God."

Are we now in a situation where keeping silent would be verging on causing scandal? As far as I know, Pastor Terry Jones eventualy did not burn a Koran. I haven't heard of anyone else doing it, either. And from what I read, many "Christian" churches in Florida decided to have readings of the Koran during their services this September 11th, to "show their solidarity" with Muslims. Come to think of it, I can't remember an official declaration by a recent Pope that clearly asserts the Koran is not the Word of God.

5) Answer to a few objections against burning a Koran

I sent the first draft of this text to some good Catholics, for their comments. Some expressed objections:

5.1) "You'll prevent Muslims from converting to Catholicism!" The Koran says Muslims who convert to Catholicism must be killed. [2:217; 4:89, etc.]

5.2) "Jesus wouldn't have done that!" Did Jesus give a kiss to the money changers in the Temple, to encourage universal Peace and Harmony? (Hint: Mt 21:12.) Did Moses give a kiss to the golden calf, to encourage inter-religious dialogue? (Hint: Ex 32:20.) Did saint Thomas Aquinas give a kiss to the Koran, to show the Templars their approach was anti-Evangelical? (Hint: Summa Theologica, IIa-IIae, q. 188, a. 3, "Whether a religious order can be directed to soldiering?") Did Pope Saint Pius V kiss the Muslim warships to welcome them on October 7th, 1571, during the Battle of Lepanto? (Hint: see the reasons for the institution of the Feast of Our Lady of the Rosary).

5.3) "You are going to increase violence against Christians!" First, the reactions of a Muslim are the choice of that Muslim. Don't insult Muslims by claiming they are mindless slaves under my control. Second, I chose a religion which encourages me to pray for those who persecute me. That was my choice, but it's a choice also available to all Muslims. Third, have you ever spoken with Christians persecuted by Islam? Do they want us to shut up, and cave in to all the demands of the Muslims? Or do they rather want truth about Islam to be known, whatever the cost may be, so that their sacrifices may not be in vain?

If we think about it a bit, we realize this problem isn't new. It's just the standard moral dilemma of terrorism: a big bad terrorist threatens to kill (or rape, or chop into pieces, etc.) the innocent hostages if you don't do what he orders you to do (like give him money, or free his terrorist friends whom you've jailed, or kiss a Koran, etc.). The standard answer to that standard dilemma will never change: the more you cave in to terrorists, the more they will terrorize. Yes, it's sad for the hostages, but you're not the one who kills those hostages, it's the terrorists. (Technically, it's once again an application of the Principle of Double-Effect.) No use negociating with terrorists: they are crazy and dangerous.

5.4) "You are going to help Muslim recruters!" Don't worry, I injected a dangerous computer virus into the crucial picture. Muslim recruters (and leftist journalists) will have difficulty using it.

5.5) "Your actions are not sowing peace!" First, those who ignore History, expose themselves to repeating its errors. Go re-read how Neville Chamberlain, Prime Minister of England from 1937 to 1940, "sowed peace" for years, by trying to "appease" Adolf Hitler. Caving in to violent intimidation only encourages even more violent intimidation.

Second, why take my word for it? Go yourself try a scientific experiment. Take actions which according to you "sow peace", and go try to live like a good Catholic in a Muslim country, like Iran or Saudi Arabia. Either your Catholicism will tend to disappear, or you will!

5.6) "Good Catholics imitate the Pope. You should be kissing Korans!" I'm having more and more trouble not criticizing some "non-magisterial" acts by recent Popes, despite my original good intentions. Sorry. If I had been Pope, I would have had pictures of me taken while I was playing soccer with Muslim kids, or while I was volunteering in a Muslim hospital, but not while kissing a Koran. I find praiseworthy the efforts you make, when you try to explain those gestures by saying the Pope was just trying to be polite. That explanation would be easier to defend, both for you and for me, if a recent Pope put on his sequin-glittered pants, and sang officially and explicitly that the Koran is not the Word of God.

5.7) "Burning a Koran solves nothing!" Strictly speaking, I agree. Burning a material object, while hiding in a closet, will not change human intellects. In order to change human intellects, we have to act publicly.

On the other hand, since this is a teaching activity, it's not necessary to burn more than one Koran. (If you've noticed, I don't invite people to some "International Burn A Koran Day".) In my opinion, it's only when some essential truths are being forgotten by a large number of people, or when Muslims tend to forget where the line is drawn in a free and democratic society, that a Koran needs to be burned.

5.8) "Don't burn a Koran! It's too dangerous!" Really? Honest, I was very careful. Look at the picture below: I had my big fire extinguisher, a pail of water, and I did this over the kitchen sink, so any flaming bits of paper would do no harm.

5.9) "Don't do it! Those guys are maniacs! They'll kill you!" First (if you're like most people who said that to me), why do you vote for political parties who encourage unconditional Muslim immigration? Why do you vote for political parties who don't impose any conditions to the construction of mosques and to the dissemination of Islam? Why don't you speak up when people around you say Islam is "The Religion Of Peace (TM)"?

Second, don't worry about me. I often drag myself into the confessional, to try to be always in a state of grace. Moreover, I chose not to have a spouse and kids, among others so I'd be able to tell the truth without fearing retaliation. Finally, I pray in advance for God to forgive the sins of my eventual executioners.

Islam. The religion of peace.
(Source)

6) Truth and Freedom, or death!

When a large number of people risks being dragged down into the darkness of a serious error, it can become necessary to publicly reject that error. For example, if a religion considers it a terrible insult to refuse to sacrifice to its idols, we still have to refuse to sacrifice to idols!

In truth, the Koran is only a book written by a liar. The Koran is not the Word of God, and I can prove it. Yes, some persons will not agree with that last statement, but I invited them long ago to a serene and rational debate on that topic.

Do you think the Koran is the Word of God? Send me your arguments, and I'll answer them carefully. If your arguments are better than mine, on top of giving you money, I'll gladly go kneel down, arms outstretched as on a cross, in front of the mosque of your choice, to publicly apologize for having insulted God.

But if the Koran is not the Word of God, what's wrong with me going to the local bookstore, buying a book that was just sitting there on an ordinary shelf like any other ordinary book, reading it, and then getting rid of it, in the comfort and privacy of my own home?

I'm free. I'm an American, born in the USA. Truth and Freedom, or death!

Stefan Jetchick burning a very ordinary book on September 11, 2010.
Stefan Jetchick burning a very ordinary book on September 11, 2010.

7) Post-Scriptum

Same thing as me, but done much better!

Ann Barnhardt burns a Koran

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

Pourquoi j'ai brûlé un coran le 11 septembre

Le Pasteur Terry Jones, du «Dove World Outreach Center» en Floride.
Le Pasteur Terry Jones, du «Dove World Outreach Center» en Floride.
(Source)

1) Introduction

Depuis plusieurs jours, les médias parlent beaucoup d'un certain Pasteur protestant, Terry Jones, du «Dove World Outreach Center» en Floride, USA. Ce pasteur aurait invité les gens à brûler le coran ce 11 septembre.

Au début, j'étais contre l'idée de brûler un coran. Mais après avoir lu plusieurs articles, et avoir réfléchi, et laissé la nuit porter conseil, et écouté des prêtres et autres catholiques, et prié, j'ai changé d'idée.

2) D'abord, ce qui ne pourrait jamais justifier de brûler un coran

Commençons par les «non-raisons», c'est-à-dire ce qui ne justifie absolument pas de brûler un coran:

2.1) La haine des musulmans n'est pas acceptable. Il ne faut pas haïr son prochain. Jésus dit bien: «Aimez-vous les uns les autres» [Jn 13:34], et «Aimez vos ennemis, faites du bien à ceux qui vous haïssent, bénissez ceux qui vous maudissent, priez pour ceux qui vous diffament» [Lc 6:27-28], etc. La haine des musulmans n'est pas acceptable, surtout de la part des chrétiens!

2.2) Les péchés de certains musulmans ne nous donnent pas la permission de faire le mal. Oui, il est vrai que certain criminels sanguinaires prétendent que l'islam et le coran justifient leurs actions. Mais il demeure que le péché des autres n'absout pas les nôtres.

2.3) Il y a de bonnes choses dans le coran. Je suis le gars qui aime lire soigneusement les textes écrits par mes adversaires, afin de trouver toutes les affirmations avec lesquelles je suis d'accord. Je suis certain qu'il y a des affirmations vraies dans le coran, et je ne condamne certainement pas ces affirmations, au contraire. Je suis d'accord avec toutes les vérités partielles qu'on peut trouver dans l'islam. (Voir entre autres Nostra aetate, No. 3.)

2.4) Insulter des gens pour en tirer un avantage n'est pas acceptable. Oui, malheureusement, l'Histoire nous montre qu'en insultant certaines catégories de personnes, il est possible de devenir célèbre, ou de faire de l'argent, ou de se faire élire, etc. Mais la fin ne justifie jamais les moyens.

2.5) Je veux adorer Dieu, pas L'insulter. Je ne suis absolument pas athée, et je veux aimer Dieu de tout mon coeur, de toute mon âme, et de toutes mes forces. Je ne veux surtout pas insulter Dieu!

2.6) Des événements organisés pour insulter les gens sont mauvais. Oui, il est normal que les adorateurs de la Sainte Banane ne soient pas d'accord avec les croyances religieuses de ceux qui adorent la Sainte Citrouille. Mais autant que possible, les disciples de la Sainte Banane et ceux de la Sainte Citrouille devraient s'efforcer de co-exister pacifiquement. Un gros événement récurrent, par exemple «Tous ensemble, écrasons gaiment des Saintes Citrouilles!», n'a pas de sens selon moi. (Par contre, si quelqu'un décide de manger de la tarte à la citrouille, il ne devrait pas se faire menacer de mort!)

Etc.

La même Parole de Dieu, dessous dans un Missel respecté toute une vie, et dessus dans un «Prions en Église» qu'on jette à chaque semaine.
La même Parole de Dieu, dessous dans un Missel respecté toute une vie,
et dessus dans un «Prions en Église» qu'on jette à chaque semaine.

3) Quelques raisons pour ne pas prendre ce dossier trop au sérieux

Après avoir éliminé les «non-raisons» pour brûler un coran, examinons quelques raisons pour ne pas exagérer l'importance de toute cette histoire:

3.1) Où est le Vatican quand on brûle la Parole de Dieu à chaque semaine dans nos églises? Étant une des rares personnes au Québec à se plaindre publiquement du fait qu'on jette aux vidanges la Parole de Dieu, à chaque semaine, et dans presque toutes les paroisses, je trouve un peu ridicule que le Vatican (et les journalistes québécois) passe sous silence cette aberration, tout en jouant la vierge offensée quand on menace de brûler un coran [Communiqué Concerning "Koran Burning Day", Vatican Information Services, 2010-sept-08].

3.2) Où sont les gauchistes qui se gargarisent constamment de «liberté d'expression»? Aux USA, lorsqu'un «artiste» met un Crucifix dans une bouteille remplie de son urine, et qu'il appelle ça «Piss Christ», il se fait donner des subventions! Et nombreux sont les gauchistes qui «montent aux barricades» pour défendre ce genre de «liberté d'expression». Il serait instructif de faire une liste de gestes offensants, d'un côté pour les chrétiens, et de l'autre pour les musulmans, et ensuite de comparer le comportement des médias.

3.3) Brûler un livre n'est pas tuer une personne. Je suis tout-à-fait d'accord qu'il faut éviter d'insulter les gens autant que possible, mais «injure» et «blessure» ne sont pas la même chose. Utiliser le mot «violence» pour décrire la carbonisation d'un livre, c'est de l'inflation verbale. (Même menacer de tuer quelqu'un n'est pas de la «violence», selon moi, quoique vous pourriez métaphoriquement appeler ça de la «violence verbale».)

3.4) Il y avait des assassins suicidaires musulmans avant Terry Jones, et il y en aura après. Une religion peut être plus ou moins compatible avec le terrorisme. Avant de prétendre que l'islam est «La Religion De La Paix (MD)», il faut aller voir les faits: le contenu en tant que tel du coran, la vie personnelle de Mahomet, l'histoire récente et moins récente des peuples ayant subi l'influence de l'islam, etc.

3.5) Y a-t-il vraiment tant de gens que ça qui respectent les sentiments religieux des musulmans? Je vis dans une province où un grand nombre de Canadiens-Français ne cesse de blasphémer le nom de Dieu, où même des membres de ma famille m'ont ridiculisé parce que je trouvais que le Code de Da Vinci était insultant pour les chrétiens, où même les écoles catholiques privées n'ont plus le droit d'enseigner le catholicisme, etc. Le Peuple québécois a peut-être des qualités, mais le respect des sentiments religieux des autres n'en est certainement pas une!

Par contre, parmi les gens que je connais personnellement et qui sont coupables de ce genre de manque de respect, nombreux sont ceux qui s'étouffent presque de rage à l'idée que quelqu'un puisse offenser un tant soit peu les musulmans. Est-ce par respect des sentiments religieux des musulmans, ou sommes-nous tout simplement en train de constater que l'intimidation violente fonctionne?

3.6) L'idée qu'il faut «respecter toutes les religions» est farfelue. Voir la Section 2 de Doit-on respecter toutes les religions?

3.7) Si quelque chose est si sacré, pourquoi est-ce que cette religion le laisse traîner? Imaginez une nouvelle religion, une religion qui considérerait que certains cailloux sont «sacrés». Sauf que les disciples de cette religion répandraient ces cailloux dans la rue, et si un piéton marchait sur l'un d'entre eux, ils menaceraient de le tuer! Cela serait-il rationnel et socialement acceptable, selon vous?

Maintenant, comparez cela à la religion catholique. Il y a quelque chose qui est considéré comme très sacré par tous les vrais catholiques. C'est appelé par plusieurs noms, comme «Hostie consacrée», ou «ce qui n'était qu'un morceau de pain avant la Transsubstantiation», ou tout simplement «Jésus-Christ». Où pouvez-vous trouver de telles Hosties consacrées? Pas au centre d'achats près de chez vous, là sur une étagère comme les autres produits! Pour mettre la main sur une Hostie consacrée, vous devriez entrer par effraction dans l'église près de chez vous et briser le genre de coffre-fort dans lequel Elles sont entreposées (techniquement appelé «Tabernacle», et la loi catholique exige qu'ils soient «inviolables»). Même si vous veniez durant une cérémonie religieuse, vous auriez de la misère (si le prêtre se rend compte que vous n'êtes pas catholique, ou que vous avez de mauvaises intentions, la loi catholique exige qu'il ne vous remette pas une Hostie consacrée). En d'autres mots, pour qu'un sacrilège contre une Hostie consacrée se produise, un prêtre doit commettre un péché grave, ou un laïc doit entrer dans un temple catholique avec un gros pied-de-biche, ou un gros mensonge.

Etc.

Jean-Paul II embrassant le coran. Benoît XVI recevant avec plaisir le coran.
Gauche: Jean-Paul II embrassant le coran. (Source)
Droite: Benoît XVI recevant avec plaisir le coran. (Source)

4) De nos jours, un respect exagéré pour le coran cause-t-il scandale?

Les lois élémentaires de la logique nous disent que soit Jésus est Dieu, soit Il ne l'est pas. L'Église catholique dit que Jésus est Dieu, le coran dit qu'Il ne l'est pas. Si Jésus est vraiment Dieu, alors il faut aller l'enseigner à toute la terre! Si Jésus est vraiment Dieu, c'est un scandale de traiter le coran comme si c'était la Parole de Dieu.

De nos jours, les Papes embrassent le coran et vont prier dans les mosquées. Même le communiqué de presse du Vatican, cité ci-haut, fait de la restriction mentale. Ce qui le rend mensonger n'est pas tant ce qu'il affirme, que ce qu'il passe sous silence. Après avoir dit qu'il faut, autant que possible, éviter d'insulter les gens, il aurait dû rajouter quelque chose comme: «... mais bien sûr, brûler un coran n'est pas un sacrilège, car le coran ne contient pas la Parole de Dieu.»

Sommes-nous maintenant dans une situation où garder le silence serait assimilable à causer un scandale? À ma connaissance, le Pasteur Terry Jones a fini par ne pas brûler de coran. Je n'ai pas non plus entendu parler de quelqu'un d'autre qui l'aurait fait. Et d'après ce que j'ai lu, plusieurs églises «chrétiennes» en Floride ont lu des passages du coran durant leurs services religieux, afin de «montrer leur solidarité» avec les musulmans. À bien y penser, j'ai peine à me remémorer une citation officielle d'un Pape récent, affirmant bien clairement que le coran n'est pas la Parole de Dieu.

5) Réponse à quelques objections contre brûler un coran

J'ai envoyé la première ébauche de ce texte à de bons catholiques, pour leurs commentaires. Certains ont exprimé des objections:

5.1) «Tu vas empêcher les musulmans de se convertir au catholicisme!» Le coran dit de tuer les musulmans qui se convertissent au catholicisme. [2:217; 4:89, etc.]

5.2) «Jésus n'aurait pas fait ça!» Est-ce que Jésus a donné un bec aux changeurs de monnaie dans le Temple, pour encourager la Paix et l'Harmonie universelle? (Indice: Mt 21:12.) Est-ce que Moïse a donné un bec au veau d'or, pour encourager le dialogue inter-religieux? (Indice: Ex 32:20.) Est-ce que saint Thomas d'Aquin a donné un bec au coran, pour montrer aux Templiers que leur approche était anti-Évangélique? (Indice: Summa Theologica, IIa-IIae, q. 188, a. 3, «Un ordre religieux peut-il avoir pour but de faire la guerre?») Est-ce que le Pape saint Pie V a donné un bec aux navires de guerre musulmans pour leur souhaiter la bienvenue le 7 octobre 1571, lors de la Bataille de Lépante? (Indice: voir les raisons pour l'institution de la Fête de Notre-Dame du Rosaire.)

5.3) «Tu vas augmenter la violence contre les chrétiens!» Primo, les réactions d'un musulman sont le choix de ce musulman. N'insultez pas les musulmans en les traitant d'esclaves écervelés sous mon contrôle. Secundo, j'ai choisi une religion qui m'encourage à prier pour ceux qui me persécutent. C'est mon choix, mais c'est aussi un choix disponible à tous les musulmans. Tertio, avez-vous déjà parlé à des chrétiens persécutés par l'islam? Est-ce qu'ils veulent qu'on se taise, et qu'on cède à toutes les demandes des musulmans? Ou veulent-ils plutôt que la vérité sur l'islam soit connue, coûte que coûte, afin que leurs sacrifices ne soient pas en vain?

Si on prend un peu de recul, on se rend compte que ce problème n'est pas nouveau. C'est le dilemme moral standard du terrorisme: un gros méchant terroriste menace de tuer (ou violer, ou couper en morceaux, etc.) les otages innocents si vous ne faites pas ce qu'il ordonne de faire (comme lui donner de l'argent, ou libérer ses amis terroristes que vous avez mis en prison, ou embrasser un coran, etc.). La réponse standard à ce dilemme standard ne changera jamais: plus vous cédez au terroristes, plus ils vont terroriser. Oui, c'est triste pour les otages, mais ce n'est pas vous qui tuez les otages, ce sont les terroristes. (Techniquement, c'est encore une application du Principe de l'effet double.) Il ne sert à rien de négocier avec des terroristes: ils sont fous et dangereux.

5.4) «Tu vas aider les recruteurs musulmans!» Ne vous inquiétez pas, j'ai injecté un dangereux virus informatique dans la photo cruciale. Les recruteurs musulmans (et les journalistes gauchistes) pourront difficilement l'utiliser.

5.5) «Tes gestes ne sèment pas la paix!» Primo, ceux qui ignorent l'Histoire, s'exposent à en répéter les erreurs. Allez relire comment Neville Chamberlain, Premier Ministre de l'Angleterre de 1937 à 1940, a «semé la paix» pendant des années, en tentant «d'apaiser» Adolf Hitler. Céder à l'intimidation violente ne fait qu'encourager encore plus d'intimidation violente.

Secundo, pourquoi me croire sur parole? Allez tenter vous-même une expérience scientifique. Prenez des gestes qui selon vous «sèment la paix», et allez essayer de vivre comme un bon catholique dans un pays musulman, comme l'Iran ou l'Arabie Saoudite. Soit votre catholicisme va tendre à disparaître, soit vous!

5.6) «Les bons catholiques imitent le Pape. Vous devriez embrasser des corans!» J'ai de plus en plus de misère à ne pas critiquer certains gestes «non-magistériels» des Papes récents, malgré mes bonnes intentions au début. Désolé. Si j'avais été Pape, je me serais fait prendre en photo en train de jouer au soccer avec des enfants musulmans, ou en train de faire du bénévolat dans un hôpital musulman, mais pas en train d'embrasser un coran. Je trouve louable les efforts que vous déployez, quand vous tentez d'expliquer ces gestes en disant que le Pape voulait seulement être poli. Cette explication serait plus facile à défendre, pour vous comme pour moi, si un Pape récent mettait ses pantalons à sequins, et chantait officiellement et explicitement que le coran n'est pas la Parole de Dieu.

5.7) «Brûler un coran ne règle rien!» Strictement parlant, je suis d'accord. Brûler un objet matériel, en se cachant dans un garde-robe, ne changera pas les intellects humains. Pour changer les intellects humains, il faut agir publiquement.

D'un autre côté, puisque c'est une activité d'enseignement, il n'est pas nécessaire de brûler plus d'un coran. (Si vous avez remarqué, je n'invite pas les gens à une sorte de «Journée internationale de brûlage de corans».) Selon moi, c'est seulement lorsque des vérités essentielles sont en train d'être oubliées par un grand nombre de personnes, ou lorsque les musulmans ont tendance à oublier où la ligne est tracée dans une société libre et démocratique, qu'un coran a besoin d'être brûlé.

5.8) «Ne brûle pas un coran! C'est trop dangereux!» Vraiment? Pourtant, j'ai fait très attention. Regardez la photo ci-bas: j'avais mon gros extincteur, une chaudière d'eau, et j'ai fait ça au-dessus de l'évier de cuisine, pour que tout petit bout de papier enflammé ne puisse pas causer de dommages.

5.9) «Ne fais pas ça! Ce sont des maniaques! Ils vont te tuer!» Primo (si vous êtes comme la plupart des gens qui m'ont dit ça), pourquoi votez-vous pour des partis politiques qui encouragent l'immigration sans condition de musulmans? Pourquoi votez-vous pour des partis politiques qui n'imposent aucune condition à la construction de mosquées et à la diffusion de l'islam? Pourquoi ne vous objectez-vous pas lorsque les gens autour de vous disent que l'islam est «La Religion de la Paix (MD)»?

Secundo, ne vous inquiétez pas pour moi. Je me traîne souvent au confessionnal, pour tenter d'être toujours en état de grâce. De plus, j'ai choisi de ne pas avoir d'épouse et d'enfants, entre autres pour pouvoir dire la vérité sans craindre de représailles. Enfin, je prie d'avance pour que Dieu pardonne les péchés de mes bourreaux éventuels.

L'Islam. La religion de la paix.
(Source)

6) La Vérité et la Liberté, ou la mort!

Lorsqu'un grand nombre de personnes risque d'être entraîné dans les ténèbres d'une erreur grave, il devient nécessaire de rejeter publiquement cette erreur. Par exemple, si une religion considère cela comme étant gravement offensant et outrageant de refuser de sacrifier à ses idoles, il faut quand même refuser de sacrifier aux idoles!

En vérité, le coran n'est qu'un livre écrit par un menteur. Le coran n'est pas la Parole de Dieu, et je peux le prouver. Oui, certaines personnes ne seront pas d'accord avec cette affirmation, mais je les ai invitées depuis longtemps à un débat serein et rationnel à ce sujet.

Pensez-vous que le coran est la Parole de Dieu? Envoyez-moi vos arguments, j'y répondrai soigneusement. Si vos arguments sont meilleurs que les miens, en plus de vous donner de l'argent, j'irai volontiers m'agenouiller, les bras en croix, devant la mosquée de votre choix, pour m'excuser publiquement d'avoir insulté Dieu.

Mais si le coran n'est pas la Parole de Dieu, quel mal pourrait-il y avoir à aller à la librairie près de chez moi, acheter un livre qui était là tout bêtement sur une étagère ordinaire comme tout autre livre ordinaire, le lire, puis m'en débarasser, dans le confort et l'intimité de ma propre maison?

Je suis libre. Je suis un Américain, né aux USA. La Vérité et la Liberté, ou la mort!

Stefan Jetchick brûlant un livre bien ordinaire le 11 septembre 2010.
Stefan Jetchick brûlant un livre bien ordinaire le 11 septembre 2010.

7) Post-Scriptum

Même chose que moi, mais beaucoup mieux fait!

Ann Barnhardt brûle un coran

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus