| Home >> Lost Sermons

The FSSP In Quebec City

The first parish Priest of the FSSP in Quebec City, Fr. Guillaume Loddé.
The first parish Priest of the FSSP in Quebec City, Fr. Guillaume Loddé.
[Source]

1) Mass schedule and coordinates

See the official web site of the FSSP in Quebec City.

3) My opinions on the FSSP

First, I normally agree with FSSP Priests (except for the crypto-lefebvrists). The local FSSP Priest is so far the only one who dares to come and pray at the Life Chain, even if all the Bishops and Priests (roughly 300 clergymen) of the Diocese are invited every year. Also, their sermons are usually good, contrary to the usual sirupy, toxic and bland sermons.

Secondly, I have nothing against the Catholic Mass, on the contrary! I love all valid Catholic Masses, whether they are celebrated according to the ordinary form ("the Vatican II Mass") or the extraordinary form ("the Latin Mass"). Everybody has a right to his tastes, and I have a personal preference (the Vatican 3 Mass), but currently there are no Parishes in my Diocese where the ordinary form is correctly celebrated.

Thirdly, I hate of course all heresies, among them those of Extreme Traditionalism. But the FSSP officially rejects those heresies, therefore I have nothing against the FSSP, in itself. (Misinformed people have a tendency to confuse the FSSP with Monsignor Lefebvre's schism).

4) Is the FSSP going to get "sandbagged" in Quebec City?

Sometimes, I have the impression that Cardinal Ouellet is placing his pawns on the chessboard in order look good in the eyes of Rome, while making sure the FSSP fails in Quebec City. To understand my impression, compare Cardinal Marc Ouellet, with Cardinal Cram Telleuo:

4.1) Speed of the invitation. Cardinal Telleuo would have begged the FSSP to come, two weeks after having arrived in Quebec City. Compare that with all the efforts (and even the threats of going up to Rome, by one parishioner frustrated by the backstage meddlings at the Diocese) that had to be deployed to make Cardinal Ouellet move.

4.2) Publicity. Cardinal Telleuo would have celebrated himself the first Mass in the FSSP Parish, back to the people, in Latin. Then, a few times a year, he would have done it again, to show all the faithful that not only is this Mass permitted, but it's recommendable. He would have dismissed critics by reasserting that the Liturgy has two absolutely valid forms (ordinary and extraordinary). But Cardinal Ouellet? Invisible.

4.3) The location. Cardinal Cram Telleuo would have put the FSSP in a decent location. For example, here in my neighborhood, there is Saint-Charler-Garnier's church. (Not a beauty, but not a post-Vatican II horror either.) It's well-maintained, with a huge parking lot, fairly close to Laval University (because we need to attract young persons to Christ and to priestly and religious vocations). Parishioners are relatively rich, so no financial problems. It's central, visible from Laurier Boulevard (the "main street" in Quebec City!), etc. On top of that, it's currently a Parish that is merged with another one (Saint-Michel-de-Sillery), so we're giving it back a Parish Priest, rather than removing anything.

What dit Cardinal Ouellet do? The contrary, once again. A decrepit and beat-up building, in a poor neighborhood, far from everything, with no parking lot, no rectory, etc.

On the other hand, Cardinal Marc Ouellet could also have done much worse. He did eventually invite them, and he doesn't actively oppose them, and he has rented them the St-Zéphirin-de-Stadacona church for 1 dollar for 10 years, as well as square the bureaucratic circle in order to give the FSSP Priest the powers of a "curé", without putting him under the "Loi des fabriques" which would put him at the mercy of a committee of laypersons.

5) Conclusion

A real Catholic Priest? In a good church building? It would be a "massacre". No more heretical tracts distributed every Sunday to the parishioners. No more Baal. No more horrible hymns and electric guitars. No more sacrilegious communions and suspicious "marriages".

We could have only Latin Masses, whether those of before Vatican II, or those after. Indeed, as we speak (October 2011), there is no Rome-approved French translation of the Vatican II Mass (Editio typica tertia, 2002). Therefore, in theory, all Masses in the Diocese should be in Latin!

The wolves in the Diocese would howl in pain. Heretics would scurry into their bomb shelters, while air raid sirens warned of incoming bombers. The anti-Catholic media would spring into action, trying to slow down the inevitable mass stampede toward a real Catholic Parish. Only one thing could scare them more: a real Catholic Priest promoted to Director of the Quebec City Seminary!

Ah! That would be so cool!


6) Post-Scriptum: Is the current FSSP priest a crypto-lefebvrists?

While Fr. Loddé was in Quebec City, I was able to go to Sunday Mass without fearing the usual abominations.

Unfortunately, my support for the FSSP has recently been shaken by the arrival of Fr. Loddé's replacement, Fr. Pierre-Henri Gouy. I wish I'm wrong, but he seems to be a crypto-lefebvrist. I'm not the local Bishop, so I can't decide, but if you want to know what my opinion is based on, read my correspondence with Fr. Pierre-Henri Gouy.

| Home >> Lost Sermons

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus

La FSSP à Québec

Le premier curé de la FSSP à Québec, l'abbé Guillaume Loddé.
Le premier curé de la FSSP à Québec, l'abbé Guillaume Loddé.
[Source]

1) Horaire des Messes et coordonnées

Voir le site web officiel de la FSSP à Québec.

3) Mes opinions sur la FSSP

Primo, je suis normalement d'accord avec les prêtres de la FSSP (sauf pour les crypto-lefèbvristes). Le prêtre de la FSSP est, jusqu'à maintenant, le seul qui ose venir prier à la Chaîne pour la Vie, même si tous les évêques et les prêtres (environ 300 membres du clergé) du diocèse sont invités à chaque année. Ensuite, leurs sermons sont normalement bons, tout le contraire des sucreries toxiques typiques.

Secundo, je n'ai rien contre la Messe catholique, au contraire! J'aime toutes les Messes catholiques valides, qu'elles soient célébrées selon la forme ordinaire («la Messe de Vatican II») ou selon la forme extraordinaire («la Messe en latin»). Chacun a le droit d'avoir ses goûts, et j'ai une préférence personnelle (la Messe de Vatican 3), mais en ce moment il n'y a aucune paroisse dans mon diocèse où la forme ordinaire est célébré correctement.

Tertio, je déteste bien sûr toutes les hérésies, entre autres celles du traditionalisme extrême. Mais la FSSP rejette officiellement ces mêmes hérésies, donc je n'ai rien contre la FSSP, en soi. (Les gens mal informés ont tendance à confondre la FSSP et le schisme de Mgr Lefebvre).

4) La FSSP va-t-elle «se faire avoir» à Québec?

J'ai parfois l'impression que le Cardinal Ouellet manoeuvre de manière à bien paraître aux yeux de Rome, tout en s'arrangeant pour que la FSSP ne réussisse pas à s'implanter à Québec. Pour comprendre mon impression, comparez avec moi le Cardinal Marc Ouellet, et le Cardinal Cram Telleuo:

4.1) Vitesse d'invitation. Le Cardinal Telleuo aurait supplié la FSSP de venir, deux semaines après être arrivé à Québec. Comparez cela avec tous les efforts (et même les menaces de recourir à Rome, par une paroissienne outrée des manigances au diocèse) qu'il a fallu déployer pour faire bouger le Cardinal Ouellet.

4.2) Publicité. Le Cardinal Telleuo aurait lui-même célébré la première Messe dans la paroisse de la FSSP, dos au peuple, en latin. Ensuite, à quelques reprises à chaque année, il aurait récidivé, pour bien montrer à tous les fidèles que non seulement cette Messe est permise, mais qu'elle est recommandable. Il aurait envoyé promener les détracteurs en réaffirmant que la liturgie a deux formes tout-à-fait valides (ordinaire et extraordinaire). Le Cardinal Ouellet? Invisible.

4.3) L'emplacement. Le Cardinal Cram Telleuo aurait mis la FSSP dans un endroit décent. Par exemple, ici dans mon quartier, il y a l'église de Saint-Charler-Garnier. (Pas une beauté, mais pas non plus une horreur moderne post-Vatican II.) Elle est bien entretenue, avec un immense stationnement, assez près de l'université Laval (car il faut attirer les jeunes vers le Christ et vers les vocations au sacerdoce et à la vie religieuse). Les paroissiens sont relativement riches, alors pas de problèmes financiers. C'est central, bien visible du boulevard Laurier (la «rue principale» de la ville de Québec!), etc. En plus, c'est en ce moment une paroisse fusionnée avec une autre (Saint-Michel-de-Sillery), donc on lui redonne un curé, plutôt que de lui enlever quoi que ce soit.

Qu'a fait le Cardinal Ouellet? Le contraire, une fois de plus. Une bâtisse mal foutue et décrépite, dans un quartier pauvre, loin de tout, sans stationnement, sans presbytère, etc.

D'un autre côté, le Cardinal Marc Ouellet aurait pu aussi faire bien pire. Il a fini par les inviter, et il ne s'oppose pas activement à eux, et il leur a loué l'église St-Zéphirin-de-Stadacona pour 1 dollar pendant 10 ans, de même que faire les pirouettes bureaucratiques afin de donner au prêtre de la FSSP les pouvoirs d'un curé, sans le mettre sous la «Loi des fabriques», qui le placerait à la merci d'un comité de laïcs.

5) Conclusion

Un vrai prêtre catholique? Dans une bonne église? Ça serait un «massacre». Fini les tracts hérétiques distribués à chaque dimanche aux paroissiens. Fini Baal. Fini les chants horribles et la guitare électrique. Fini les communions sacrilèges et les «mariages» douteux.

On pourrait avoir seulement des Messes en latin, soit celles d'avant Vatican II, soit celles d'après. En effet, en ce moment (octobre 2011), il n'y a pas de traduction française approuvée par Rome de la Messe de Vatican II (Editio typica tertia, 2002). Donc, en théorie, toutes les Messes au diocèse devraient être en latin!

Les loups du diocèse hurleraient de douleur. Les hérétiques iraient se terrer dans leurs abris anti-bombes, au son des sirènes hurlant la venue d'un raid de bombardement. Les médias anti-catholiques se précipiteraient sur la brèche, pour tenter d'endiguer l'inévitable mouvement de foule vers une vraie paroisse catholique. Une seule chose pourrait leur faire plus peur: un vrai prêtre catholique promu Directeur du Grand Séminaire de Québec!

Ah! Ça serait si beau!


6) Post-Scriptum: Le prêtre actuel de la FSSP est-il un crypto-lefèbvriste?

Pendant que l'abbé Loddé était à Québec, j'ai pu aller à la Messe dominicale sans craindre les abominations habituelles.

Malheureusement, mon appui pour la FSSP a récemment été ébranlé par l'arrivée du remplaçant de l'abbé Loddé, l'abbé Pierre-Henri Gouy. Je souhaite être dans l'erreur, mais il me semble être un crypto-lefèbvriste. Je ne suis pas l'évêque du lieu, alors je ne peux pas décider, mais si vous voulez savoir sur quoi se fonde mon opinion, lisez ma correspondance avec l'abbé Pierre-Henri Gouy.

| Accueil >> Sermons perdus